Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Steering: Hydraulic Power Assist System Problems

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2005 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2005 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2005 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for power steering problems, up to 10 years/100k miles.

As of early 2013 the NHTSA had 300+ steering complaints on file for the 2005 G6, with 12 crashes & 4 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2005 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2005 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.

3.9

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
30,669 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Pontiac G6 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments

problem #11

Apr 132009

G6

  • 139,864 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6. The power assist motor was replaced. In 2007 she received a recall notice; however, the vehicle did not have a problem at the time. The notice stated they would replace the motor on the vehicle if it is 7 years or 70,000 miles. Her vehicle started having problems on 4/13/09 when the power steering light illuminated.. the contact was responsible for paying $568 and GM will not reimburse her. The failure mileage was 139,864. Updated 04-29-09 updated 05/27/09 the dealer replaced the power steering motor, however a month later, the power steering light illuminated again. Updated 06/02/09.

- Hurlock, MD, USA

problem #10

Jun 252008

G6

  • 36,000 miles
June 25th, 2008 my power steering went out in my 2005 Pontiac G6 and jerked violently to the left causing me to swerve into oncoming traffic. I had my 3 yr old in the car and barely avoided a head on collision on a two lane highway. I have not had it fixed.

- Chickasha, OK, USA

problem #9

Jun 192007

G6 6-cyl

  • 39,981 miles
2005 Pontiac G6 power steering failure. Consumer states that power steering has failed and been repaired twice. He states that the manufacturer reimbursed him for $100 and he would like the remainder of the repair cost reimbursed.

- Milton, IN, USA

problem #8

Jun 232007

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power steering failure. The first instance, I was accelerating to highway speed the car chimed two twice. The check engine light came on, a warning came on the information center, stating power steering. At that point I tried steering the car to another lane and found I had no power steering. After exiting the highway at the next exit and coming to a stop I turned the car off. After restarting the car functioned normally. Two days later I noticed that steering from center point to the left was extremely easy. When steering from center point to the right there was hardly any assist. No warnings were given during this problem. This condition lasted two days. This evening I drove about three block and made a left hand turn and the warning chime came on and power steering warning occurred again with a loss of all steering assist. I turned the car off and it performed normally until I hit a bump and the system failed again. This happened two more times on bumps. Driving back home it functioned normally. The problem occurred quickly, almost no notice, and you had immediate loss of power steering. A couple of times I almost went into the wrong lane from loss of assist. The car was very hard to steer without the assist.

- Huntington, WV, USA

problem #7

May 072007

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,200 miles
Just bought the car used. Within one day the power steering warning message appeared on the driver's information center. Did some research and noticed that an investigation was being done.

- Parma, OH, USA

problem #6

Dec 222006

G6

  • miles
First, the power steering light came on while I was driving down the road, but the power steering remained operable. Thereafter, the power steering went out on two occasions, one while driving at approximately 40 mph and the other at about 70 mph while driving down the interstate. The failure occurs without warning and the power steering will come back on when the vehicle is turned off and restarted. So far I have been able to prevent any resulting accidents, but if this failure were to occur mid-turn the result could be very dangerous.

- Russellville, AR, USA

problem #5

Jul 312006

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,700 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated while driving at various speeds, the power steering locked and there was a loss of all power steering. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who replaced the hydraulic power steering motor module assembly and circuits. Afterwards, the same failure occurred and the dealer determined the power steering module needed replaced again. The manufacturer was alerted.

- Newtown, PA, USA

problem #4

Jul 252006

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,172 miles
The contact stated that the vehicles power steering column locks up while driving 45 mph or less. The warning sign prior to failure is the steering would pull to the left under normal road conditions. The vehicle was taken into the dealers but they were unable to duplicate the problem. The dealers replaced the steering column. The vehicle presented further problems with the steering column. The vehicle was taken back tot he dealer and they replaced the shaft and motor assembly. The contact called the manufacturer and file a complaint with a representative. Updated 8/21/2006 - the harmonic balancer was not seated properly.

- Stockton, CA, USA

problem #3

Jun 112006

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,983 miles
My power steering light keeps coming on. I have taken to dealer several times (6-7), they have recalibrated codes, replaced module, replaced wiring harness, reset codes. All of which have not fixed the problem. Pontiac's solution to this problem that has been going on for well over a month is to give me a rental vehicle and send an engineer to look at the car. This could take up to 3 weeks.

- Craig, CO, USA

problem #2

Oct 052005

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,801 miles
Intermittent power steering failure. Steering wheel will occasionally lock up with power steering message in radio display and error message in odometer display. First time dealership replaced the BCM. Second occurrence dealership replaced steering column and installed fault analyzer. Analyzer is still installed and scheduled for removal 11/11/05 for readout.

- Saint Peters, MO, USA

problem #1

Feb 202005

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,362 miles
Power assisted steering locks up. This has happened in cold weather and mainly in low speed situations immediately after starting my vehicle. The failure prevents you from turning the wheel at all and you are unable to steer the vehicle for a limited amount of time.

- Clinton, IA, USA

Not what you are looking for?