Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Electronic Stability Control Problems

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2006 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2006 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2006 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for this power steering issue, up to 10 years/100k miles. However a large number of 2006 G6 owners have reported they were not covered by this campaign, based on VIN#.

As of late 2013 the NHTSA had well over 700 steering complaints on file for the 2006 G6, with 21 crashes & 12 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2006 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2006 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.

3.9

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
31,697 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Pontiac G6 brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments

problem #16

Sep 202016

G6

  • 99,880 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

At 60,000 miles the power steering alert came on the dic and the steering was very hard. I turned the car off and back on and it reset. I didn't have any issues until recently. I replaced the whole steering column and everything to do with the suspension in this car costing me over $2500 dollars. The past month the wheel has been shaking badly and when driving the steering wheel will pull each way and have play and sometimes be stiff. This is a serious issue as I've almost caused myself to get in many accidents. This needs to be resolved by GM. I've taken it many times and my car VIN isn't under the recall. The car now just eclipsed over 100,000 miles and need to keep this car through the winter but I'm afraid with the winters we have in buffalo, I'm going to be seriously hurt. The cost to fix the jpower steering motor is over $1,000 and I'm not putting any more money into this car. Over the years I've had the car, I've put well over $6,000 into it. I'll never buy another GM product again. I called customer service (at GM) and the dealership and they are very rude and will do nothing about it.

- Cheektowaga, NY, USA

problem #15

Jul 192016

G6

  • 157,000 miles
Takata recall traction control light comes on randomly and check engine light comes on. When driving it shifts really hard if the tc light is on also while driving it trys to stall out. Also randomly all dash light will come on and gauges all go crazy and puts error on the dash where the odometer reading is and then car want start.

- Hudson, NC, USA

problem #14

Nov 192015

G6

  • 88,000 miles
During slippery road conditions, when I apply brakes, even at low speeds like 5mph, the traction control interferes with brakes and car does not allows me to apply brake. I feel this strong vibration in the brake pedal and can hear some mechanical noise. Its life threatening in winters to drive this car with family. Physically by brakes and rotors are in good condition. Seems like problem with traction control or ABS.

- Apple Valley, MN, USA

problem #13

Aug 312015

G6

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Having issues with the front lights. This evening I was driving down a back road and suddenly both low beam headlights went out simultaneously. I put on my high beams and 15 seconds later, both low beams came back on. This happened every few hundred feet for my entire drive home. There is definitely an electrical issue and as I'm looking online I see many others are also having lighting issues. If this is a frequent and known problem, GM should be responsible for fixing it. It was really scary having both headlights go out and I'm very thankful I did not crash! this car has been nothing but problems and recalls! as a long time GM customer, I'm extremely disappointed in this vehicle!

- Jeannette, PA, USA

problem #12

Aug 212006

G6

  • miles
Shortly after I purchased my 2006 Pontiac G6 (in 2006) it has been failing to start from time to time. The dealership stated that there is an electrical (shortage) problem that causes the car not to start and kills the battery. I have had to replaced the four(4) times. The car has totally died on me five (5) different times and had to be towed. The first and second times it died, it was between 25-40K miles ; therefore, still under warranty. The third time it was a little beyond 60K and the dealership would not honor the extended warranty, so I paid out of pocket. The fourth I replaced the battery again. The fifth after a few attempts the battery was recharged. Lost steering power while driving. The dic readout "check gas cap, " I would tighten the had cap, but still the engine light comes on. I have replaced the had cap the times. Lost power while driving. Car will not go above 40 mph. Transmission dipstick is missing.

- Silver Springs, FL, USA

problem #11

Jan 022015

G6 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
The car lost power steering and was virtually incapable of driving. This only occurs when trying to park or driving at very low speeds. I was unable to parallel park and as a result it took over 30 minutes of effort to try and get my car correctly into the spot. I had to keep shutting the car off and turning it back on to try and get the wheel to turn. This would only briefly fix the steering for a matter of seconds and was still hard to turn during those seconds. Eventually, I just gave up and moved my car into a spot that did not require parallel parking. However, this too was an issue to park. I have had this issue numerous times and it posses as a serious safely issue when using the car.

- Union City, NJ, USA

problem #10

Jun 232014

G6 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 Pontiac G6. Consumer writes in regards to GM recall #13036 and repair reimbursement.* ld the consumer stated the dealership would not honor the no charge provision.

- Hampton, VA, USA

problem #9

Oct 072014

G6

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact received recall notifications for NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering). The parts needed were not available. The dealer did not provide a specific date when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Pueblo, CO, USA

problem #8

Sep 022014

G6 6-cyl

  • miles
2006 Pontiac G6. Consumer writes in regards to recall repairs. The consumer stated after receiving two recall letters, the parts finally came in. When the consumer arrived home, her husband reviewed the invoice, and discovered the parts, that were installed in the vehicle, were re-manufactured and not new. The dealer denied, the parts were re-manufactured.

- Perry, MI, USA

problem #7

Sep 132014

G6 6-cyl

  • miles
This vehicle has 3 recalls for everything that shouldn't be transmission power steering and brakes...the power steering just gives out without warning!

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #6

Aug 112014

G6 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Steering wheel locks up while driving, interior electric have glitches.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #5

Jun 162009

G6 6-cyl

  • 64,277 miles
Stated vehicle was in for repair at on the above date. Repairs completed on this date match the scope of work that should be completed under campaign # 14V153000. Vehicle was serviced at lavery automotive sales and service, llc. 1096 West state St P.O. Box 3545, alliance, Ohio 44601. Dealer phone: 330-238-1037. Dealer repair order # [xxx]. owner requesting reimbursement for repairs. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- North Canton, OH, USA

problem #4

Nov 012008

G6 6-cyl

  • miles
Brake lights are illuminated while driving and when car is in park, without brake being depressed. When brake is actually being depressed, brake lights are not illuminated. Cruise control works intermittently, sometimes going off while driving after being set. Difficult to switch gears out of park at times. Have taken it to mechanic twice. First time had a sensor replaced. Second time had the brake light switch replaced. Problems still not resolved. After seeing a previous recall in 2009 for this same issue I checked into it and my VIN number is not included in that recall. Driving with children in my car, it is a major concern for me, especially with the brake light issue. There are many times when people almost rear end us because of this issue. I hope that another recall is issued soon to correct this problem before people get seriously injured or killed as a result. Extremely dangerous malfunction!

- Rushville, IN, USA

problem #3

Aug 032013

G6 6-cyl

  • miles
This is the 2nd time I have had a problem with my steering wheel jamming up while the car is in motion on the highway, which is a very scary ordeal.the 1st time it happened I almost hit a city bus and had mi infant in the car. Called GM which advised me if it was the steering column assembly which they fixed in April 2013 now it August 2013 in im having the same problem I was on the highway in my steering wheel locked up on me out of no where, I was going 65mph which steering the car was very difficult to do while other cars are going at a fast rate I was scared for my life. Called GM once again had my car taken to a shop now I was told it was the motor in the steering wheel and that is not covered or on recall.. I have seen so many complaints about this same problem over the internet and GM has not done anything about it... GM wont do something until someone dies. But I will be going to the BBB, help me [xxx] and starting a petition something must be done so I will take matters into my own hands. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #2

Apr 052013

G6 6-cyl

  • miles
This is the 2nd time I have had a problem with my steering wheel jamming up while the car is in motion on the highway, which is a very scary ordeal.the 1st time it happened I almost hit a city bus and had mi infant in the car. Called GM which advised me if it was the steering column assembly which they fixed in April 2013 now it August 2013 in im having the same problem I was on the highway in my steering wheel locked up on me out of no where, I was going 65mph which steering the car was very difficult to do while other cars are going at a fast rate I was scared for my life. Called GM once again had my car taken to a shop now I was told it was the motor in the steering wheel and that is not covered or on recall.. I have seen so many complaints about this same problem over the internet and GM has not done anything about it... GM wont do something until someone dies. But I will be going to the BBB, help me [xxx] and starting a petition something must be done so I will take matters into my own hands. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #1

Oct 152008

G6 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
Power steering stop working, had it replace by a GMC dealer. After a few months it would go out again. This time it would work by resetting it. In Feb. Of 2009 started failing again for hours at a time sometimes a day or two. It was replace after an accident to car. It continued to go in and out at certain periods of time. Now March of 2012 it is completely out. All they want to do is change the whole unit out. I feel to believe that either the parts are defective or the dealers are out to cash in. Can somebody contact me about this matter. I think the only reason this hasn't been taken care of because enough lives were not lost.

- Hammond, LA, USA

Not what you are looking for?