If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2006 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2006 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2006 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for this power steering issue, up to 10 years/100k miles. However a large number of 2006 G6 owners have reported they were not covered by this campaign, based on VIN#.

As of late 2013 the NHTSA had well over 700 steering complaints on file for the 2006 G6, with 21 crashes & 12 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2006 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2006 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.

6.7

fairly significant
Typical Repair Cost:
$417.00
Average Mileage:
51,222 miles
Total Complaints:
12 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (5 reports)
  2. replaced pads (5 reports)
  3. left rear caliper leak, they replaced it (1 reports)
  4. replaced master cylinder and brake lines (1 reports)
2006 Pontiac G6 brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments

problem #12

Nov 102008

G6 V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,292 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I had called several times complaing of the breaks squeaking and they told me its because of the teflon system. I was not fixed.

- , Gatineau, Quebec, canada

problem #11

Oct 012012

G6 V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles

I have recently purchased my vehicle within the last four months and have already had my front brake pads changed twice and looking to change them once again very soon. There has been constant grinding in my brakes and has also maintained a squeaking noise none stop when using them. I do feel that by having my brakes replaced already twice in a short amount of time by two different places, there may seem to be a bigger issue at hand for not maintaining brakes, and could be a hazard to my life overall.

- , Lincolnton, NC, USA

problem #10

May 072011

G6 GT V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 54,000 miles

I bought this car in March, 2010 with 43,000 miles. Since the purchase, I have had to replace the control arm in April 2010; the rack pinion, and front end alignment in September 2010; changed my brakes and rotors in August 2010, then again in May 2011; the front passenger wheel hub in July 2011; NOW! I still hear loud clunking noises from the steering wheel, and when I turn, I feel something in the pedals (brake and accelerator) which doesn't seem right, and louder than a normal engine. I can't take it anymore. There should be a law against this outrageous scheme to sell a good-for-nothing vehicle to people when it clearly is a manufacturing issue. I'm ready to consider voluntary repossession. It would save me a hell of a lot more money.

- , Lansing, MI, USA

problem #9

May 282010

G6 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

A week after I purchased the car the breaks started squeeking. I had my brother (a mechanic) replace them and a week later they started squeeking again. Now they squeek at random times even though I've had them replaced. It doesn't happen all the time, but a lot of the time.

- , Portage, MI, USA

problem #8

Aug 152007

G6 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles

Started off when I first got it I had brakes that would squeal. Loud and annoying, embarrassing. We had the pads replaced and it continued soon after. We then had a complete brake job done at the tune of over 500.00. It helped for a bit then started up all over again. We replaced the pads 2 more times as well as the calipers. I called about recalls and there were none but numerous complaints about the same thing. It then developed into a more serious problem of my brakes locking up on me. Will submit that as a seperate issue. We had to replace the master cylinder and brake lines last week. So far so good but I am not holding my breath. I might turn blue.....

- , Texarkana, AR, USA

problem #7

Oct 302010

G6 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,356 miles

This car can be a pain in the ass! I like the car its, fun to drive, but I do not like its damn problems and the same ones I might add. I've had Brake issues with mine also lets start from the beginning. When driving at highway speeds and then having to apply brakes rather quickly there would be steering wheel vibration and the car itself would slightly vibrate not smoothly stopping the car is what I'm saying and the brakes would occasionally squeak. Two Months ago had both front brake pads and rotors replaced, that solved all those problems. Just recently my rear brakes would occasionally squeak not all the time, I just had my rear pads and rotors replaced and know the rear brakes are squeaking louder and a lot more frequent WTF I don't get it !! Im sick of pissin my $$ into this car NO MORE

- , Milford, CT, USA

problem #6

Apr 022010

G6 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 76,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was getting so tired of hearing my brakes squeal that I bought all of the stuff needed to change the brakes. I bought both front pads and rear pads. I thought how much I was paying a month and was having to change my breaks within a few months of purchasing, I could save money and do it myself. It took me forever to do each tire and then when I got to the back brakes I had to get a special expensive tool from O'Reily's to close the back break calipers. I have been driving around and no longer have the grinding when stopping but any pressure applied to the breaks brings the squealing. It is sooooo annoying along with all of the other crap that I am having to deal with and just bought this car 4 months ago!!!!!

- , North Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #5

Sep 172009

G6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles

I've already reported one of the problems that I've had with my car - well about 1 1/2 or so ago my computer chip went out.... what it would do when I was driving it would just die and then I would sit there and start it again - Which it worked, then it happened again... this time I pulled in a parking lot and was leaving it started and then died, I had to tow my car to the dealership to have it worked on.. Then I was told the computer chip went out.... another problem ever since I've had my car not long after I bought it, I would start my car (this didn't happen all the time and it still happens to this day) it would sound like it was get hung and kept trying to start.... so I would have to turn it off.. took it in to get looked out, they both times couldn't find nothing wrong with it.. come on I know my car isn't the only one doing that! another problem was brakes when I would back up it would make an awful noise... and scared me the first time! it happened when I would back up.... it did that for awhile! then it stopped on it's own... so I don't know what's going on with that! I tell you this is the worst time that I've ever had with a vehicle! one problem after another! the starter still does this from time to time! All should be recalls! I did mention the starter to GM put nothing accomplished! and I'm a chevy person! Warning there could be more and more problems!

- , Meeker, OK, USA

problem #4

Mar 102009

G6 Sedan V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

Ok I bought my car February 2007. It is a 06'. The car only had 15,000 miles on it. After having it a week I noticed it had a little squeaking sound when I applied the brakes but I was like maybe that's nothing because it wasn't often. It would come and go. It became really annoying to me the beginning of 2009 because it was more constant. So I had replaced the brake pads. The noise was still there. I took it to the repair shop and he said the brake pads were fine. He said they could flush them for a charge....lol but he informed me that he wasn't sure if that would solve the problem. I was like that's okay. So I took it home. The car does it here and there. sometimes it will constantly squeak. It's just annoying to hear that sound it bothers me so much. Now I am having an issue when I hit my brakes at a yield they sound like they are scrubbing the ground and my car starts vibrating. What is going on???

- , Mansfield, LA, USA

problem #3

Aug 222009

G6 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,000 miles

I developed a squeak in the front brakes. I appeared to come primarily front the front left tire. When the breaks were inspected they had about 1/2 to 1/4 life remaining. Despite this, I requested the brake pads to be changed. The brake pads were changed twice; rotors turned twice and finally replaced the rotors. The pads continue to squeak. I have been unable to fix the problem. It is high piercing squeak ant it is embarrassing.

- , Suffolk, VA, USA

problem #2

Jul 212009

G6 Chrome 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,574 miles

Only happened once, still waitin to hear that again, definitely aint no brake pads...

- , Selkirk, MB, Canada

problem #1

Sep 282007

G6 GT V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,440 miles

It is embarrassing when you pull up in a relatively new car and your brakes are squealing like you don't have brakes. If a car pulled up behind me sounding like that I would change lanes. I had to get another rental through the dealer and pay for the additional insurance again, plus take off work to bring the car in AGAIN.

- , St Louis, MO, USA

Not what you are looking for?