Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Power Train Problems

2006 Pontiac G6 (Page 1 of 3) Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague Notes: The 2006 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2006 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2006 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for this power steering issue, up to 10 years/100k miles. However a large number of 2006 G6 owners have reported they were not covered by this campaign, based on VIN#.

As of late 2013 the NHTSA had well over 700 steering complaints on file for the 2006 G6, with 21 crashes & 12 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2006 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2006 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
83,011 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Pontiac G6 drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #43

May 252016


  • 90,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While the vehicle was parked, the gear shifter became stuck and was unable to move out of the park position. In addition, the cruise control failed to operate and disengage. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electronic stability control, electrical system, vehicle speed control). The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 90,000.

- Owosso, MI, USA

problem #42

Aug 092015

G6 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While driving approximately 50 mph, the vehicle was difficult to shift into first and second gear and the security and check engine warning indicators illuminated. The failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the intake oxygen needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 130,000...updated 10/15/15

- Batesville, MS, USA

problem #41

Jul 302015

G6 6-cyl

  • 133,687 miles
While putting vehicle in gear it jerks very hard. When driving, the vehicle shifts really hard and while driving, the security light comes on and it shuts down. While in reverse, the brake light continues to blink off and on. Took to transmission shop and put it on test they said wiring was bad. Took it to dealer and they didn't fix it. Also, they fix recall for power strain and gear shift cable and car been acting up ever since service light on and not changing properly.

- Batesville, MS, USA

problem #40

Jul 212015


  • 179,340 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While reversing at approximately 3 mph into a parking space, the vehicle failed to shift back into drive. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was previously repaired by the dealer for a transmission shift cable failure. The vehicle was not taken to an independent mechanic or the dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 179,340.

- Chattanooga, TN, USA

problem #39

Mar 132015


  • 147,000 miles
I was in the merging lane to merge onto the interstate and my car loss power. My car was still drivable, but would not go past 2 RPM. Display panel displayed "reduced power".

- Hoover, AL, USA

problem #38

Feb 142013


  • 122,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the power steering failed. The steering became difficult to maneuver and a humming sound emitted from the steering column. The contact stated that the key became stuck in the ignition switch and the vehicle stalled. In addition, the contact stated that the transmission slipped and the vehicle accelerated while in first and second gear. The vehicle was not diagnosed. The failure mileage was 122,000.

- Radcliff, KY, USA

problem #37

Jan 012009

G6 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 146,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While driving approximately 55 mph, the vehicle jerked and jolted across the highway. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the rack and pinion failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred on two other occasions and was repaired both times. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 146,000. Updated 4/29/15

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #36

Mar 042015

G6 6-cyl

  • 157,000 miles
On March 4, 2015, I was driving home from work at a starting speed from a stop light, when my 2006 Pontiac G6 transmission gave out without any warning signs. I had my vehicle inspected to verify that my vehicle had adequate amount of automatic transmission fluid, which the fluid was a clean color red. My vehicle was purchased on February 2014, from a used car dealership.

- Fresno , CA, USA

problem #35

Feb 152013


  • miles
Intermediate atearing shaft. 3rd time for replacement! 1st time under warranty. 2nd time had to pay, 3rd time had to pay. This not a cheap part or cheap labor.

- Cobden, IL, USA

problem #34

May 052014

G6 6-cyl

  • 105,874 miles
The transmission shifter cable broken on this car. To repair the car, it had to be towed as it was not drivable. GM later issued a recall for this problem. It is GM safety recall 14152 issued in July 2014, but noted there were no parts available for this recall notice. A follow-up notice was issued by GM in September 2014. I completed the customer reimbursement request form for the repairs completed on May 5, 2014 and submitted to GM on 10/15/2014. The total bill for repairs was $451.61. GM has refused to pay for the tow bill of $158. The car was not drivable with the shifter cable broken and towing the car was the only was to get it repaired. The GM customer reimbursement form states that all "reasonable and customary costs to correct the condition described will be considered for reimbursement". I feel the tow bill of $158 is reasonable and was required to repair this car a full two months before GM issued a recall for this defective condition as noted in their recall notice 14152. I can provide all billing documentation I have for the repairs if needed. GM (via their dealer kindred Chevrolet) paid $293.61 on 12/18/2014 using their claim number [xxx]. as I stated above, they refuse to pay the rest of the bill ( $158) for towing the car on May 5, 2014 for repairs. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Smithville, MO, USA

problem #33

Jan 012014


  • 50,000 miles


When accelerating from a stop feels like the transmission silos then bangs into gear. Others on internet describe that it feels like car hit from behind. I agree.

- Marlboro, NJ, USA

problem #32

Nov 052014


  • 129,210 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the vehicle began to experience failures after the dealer performed recall repairs. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to the dealer for an unknown recall. The specific repairs were also unknown. A mechanic indicated that the vehicle was repaired. Another mechanic stated that they did not check under the hood and inspect the vehicle. The contact mentioned that the service engine sensor and the check engine sensor illuminated. There was also a ticking noise after the repairs from the dealer were performed. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer, but they would not repair the vehicle because it was not able to restart. The vehicle was not repaired. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control), 14V153000 (steering), and 14V224000 (power train). The vehicle was not repaired. The local dealer did not specify when the parts would become available nor when the three recall repairs would be performed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 129,210.

- Stockton, CA, USA

problem #31

Oct 102014

G6 6-cyl

  • miles
Took my car to dealer for recall 141152--after I waited along time for parts. Recall-13036--completed they claim recall--14116---claims at first--parts not available--oops then later he claims he found some in the back! recall--14152---completed they claim when we drove the car off the lot it still had shift problem----later found out the transmission pan was leaking, took car and had fluids re-done at jiffy lube. As the days went on the car would not go into gear--it was undriveable in 10 days. Car sits in driveway now and won, T go into any gear. Called Pontiac talked to senior advisor who said the same as the dealer----well we only fix recall stuff we do not look or check other things. So I recalled dealer who said " well bring in the car and we can check it out for $80 and if it transmission it will be $3000/4000 extra. So I did the recall items as told--and a car that was running good before I took it in, now is in driveway with power steering problems and won't go into any both the dealer and Pontiac said " well now it becomes the consumer problem not ours-we did the recalls". well I guess they fixed the safety issues---if you can't drive your car you have no chance of having problems, so your safe! I will file a complaint to other agencies etc. I am disabled and on a fixed income and this being my only car, cannot fix the car at that price!

- Conway, SC, USA

problem #30

Jun 022014


  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the traction control warning light illuminated intermittently and a loud abnormal noise emitted whenever the gears were shift. Also, the contact stated that when the accelerator pedal was depressed, the vehicle would rock back and forth. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 78,000.

- New Lennox , IL, USA

problem #29

May 092014


  • 100,000 miles
Recently in may I started having problem with my 2006 Pontiac G6 V6. Once the car was diagnosed for problems with the transmissions as far as the speed senor control, I took actions as far as getting quotes for repairs. Every transmission placed that I contacted was quoting a price no higher than 3,000 because of the type of transmission that was in the car. As the days and time goes by there was no way that I would be able to come with this money. I contacted the lien holder in June, stated that I wanted to return the car, because I was unable to come up that type of money to repair my car. As of 08/01/2014, I received a letter in the mail from GM stating that it was a recall on the transmission for the same problem that it was giving me. I have sent a copy of the letter to united auto credit thinking that they would take this in consideration. If I would have known that this problem would have occurred I would have kept my car, instead of going through the time and trouble being without a car, and paying on a car that I no longer have. Since I had my car I was never late on payments. The problem with this car has caused me an on 9 month probation period with my job, due to the fact that I had to call off work or late for work. Since the car was purchased, I have kept up the maintenance on the car. I also have documents to follow that, until the day it was returned to the lien holder. By, not knowing this recall was going to occur, this has cost me a lot of money that I have to pay bay to my lien holder. Considering that I had received the letter after the I had sent my car back. It's unfair to me, that I had to go through this situation and I have to pay my lien holder $5200 back, because of this. If you need further information for this matter, please feel free to contact me. I have all documents handy.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #28

Jun 162014


  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V224000 (power train); however, the dealer could not perform the recall repair for two months because the parts were not available. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Shirley, IN, USA

problem #27

Jul 012014


  • miles
I have received 2 separate recalls for my vehicle regarding the power steering, one in 2012 and one in June of 2014. Both recalls claimed that there are no parts available, and have not been for 2 years now. I have just received in July of 2014 (2) more recalls on my vehicle, regarding the body control module, and transmission shift cable, again stating that no parts are available. My fiance drives this vehicle and it frightened me to thing that her transmission cable could go, so I contacted GM about the issue to attempt to find out how long until the parts are available, since I worry about her safety. I was told to wait until the parts become available, one of which I have been waiting over 2 years, and to ignore the recall letters, that they don't mean much and they are "forced" to send them out. I was told to continue to wait like everybody else for the parts to become available, and not to worry unless I receive more letters. I have never seen such a blatant disregard for customer safety. I have already attempted to contact GM about this issue at no luck. Please help.

- Wesley Chapel, FL, USA

problem #26

Sep 102013

G6 6-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
The transmission slips severely between 1st and 2nd gear. When I am at a stop and push the gas to go the car has trouble shifting. Usually the speed is between 0-15 mph. I have stopped pulling out in front of any car because there isn't enough speed to go fast enough and it's going to cause a wreck. I have had this car looked at by a transmission mechanic and was told there isn't anything showing as wrong, I have taken it into a dealer and again they couldn't find anything wrong but suspected an issue to be module or solenoid that would cost over $1500 to fix and they couldn't guarantee it is the issue. Both mechanics drove the car, could feel the issue but couldn't figure out what was causing it. This is ridiculous there is an horrible issue with the car and no one can pin point what the issue is. And now the seat warmer on the drivers side keeps turning on by itself.

- Spencer, IN, USA

problem #25

Dec 012010


  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while driving at 45 mph during inclement weather, the traction control system failed causing the contact to crash into a wall. A police report was not filed and there were no injuries reported. In addition, the contact stated that there was an abnormal noise coming from the steering wheel and was difficult to maneuver. The contact also stated that while parked, the vehicle shifted out of gear. Additionally, the front passenger tie rod, ball joint, and the hub wore out prematurely. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 36,000.

- Covington, PA, USA

problem #24

Jul 012014

G6 6-cyl

  • 103,900 miles
Was raining, car is death trap. I love the car, but it handles terrible, can't put my finger on it, something is wrong in the front wheel drive.

- Lykens, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?