If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

2006 Pontiac G6 engine NHTSA complaints: Engine And Engine Cooling

NHTSA — Engine And Engine Cooling Problems

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2006 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2006 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2006 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for this power steering issue, up to 10 years/100k miles. However a large number of 2006 G6 owners have reported they were not covered by this campaign, based on VIN#.

As of late 2013 the NHTSA had well over 700 steering complaints on file for the 2006 G6, with 21 crashes & 12 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2006 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2006 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
50,567 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Pontiac G6 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments

problem #18

Sep 202011

G6

  • 86,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

TL- the contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the vehicle exhibited an excessive crank and would sporadically fail to start. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer for diagnostic testing but the test did not determine any defects within the vehicle. The contact took the vehicle to a local mechanic and the mechanic advised that the fuel pump was faulty. The mechanic replaced the fuel pump but the repair did not remedy the problem. The failure mileage was 86,000. The VIN was not available. Kmj

- Campbell , MO, USA

problem #17

Nov 232011

G6 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
I bought this car a little over a year ago and I have never had any problems with it whatsoever. All of a sudden I go to start my car this morning and my engine light is on. Also, my clock is displaying the words, "power steering" and "engine power reduced." I have no idea what happened but I could not control the car very well and the engine was remming high and low even after I had stopped the car. I had to press really hard down on the brakes to get it to stop moving but the engine was still remming high and low. Luckily, this happened as I was just pulling out of my apartment complex so I was able to make it back home. As you can see though, had this happened while out on a main road or on the highway, this could be a major issue or my car just shutting down.

- Columbus , OH, USA

problem #16

Aug 182010

G6 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
I have had a thumping in the car when turning the steering wheel and was told that the steering gear needs to be replaced and there could be other defective parts once they get into it. At present I cannot afford to fix the problem and am saving up to get the $800 repair started. I feel this is a recall issue that GM needs to be forced to recall the G6's for this problem because a faulty steering system is a safety issue. I do not feel safe driving my car but it is the only means of transportation I have, so at this time I have no choice. Also, I have had other major problems with this car every year since I bought 3 years ago. The first year was a sensor in the transmission, the second was the catalytic converter, and now this year the thermostat and sensor and this steering problem. This car is a lemon and needs to be recalled!

- Kennesaw, GA, USA

problem #15

Nov 022011

G6 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have had my Pontiac G6 for almost 6 years now, very close to paying it off and now I am having trouble with it. Earlier this year I had the faulty catalytic converter. Luckily I was able to have that replaced free of charge. Now nearly six months later I am having problems with my power steering. Like before researching it online I discovered that this is a serious issue that some have been able to have replaced free and others have went through a terrible nightmare. I was on my way to work this morning and was turning out of the parking lot of where I live when suddenly power steering came up on the menu and my steering wheel locked up. With force I was able to maneuver the car over to the side of the road and turned the car off. When I turned it back on it was fine. Luckily there was no on coming traffic or there would have been a serious accident. I'm having the car looked at first thing in the morning to determine what is wrong and what is covered. I'm having serious doubts about my vehicle and where will the faulty parts end? I hope the next one will not cause my death or someone else's. GM needs to fix this!

- Burlington, NC, USA

problem #14

Feb 032010

G6

  • 110,000 miles
I own a Pontiac G6 2006 its the worst car I have ever owned I have put 4000-6000$ in to this car and still continue to have problems on a daily basis from the power steering catalytic converters brakes tire rod ends wheel bearings and numerous other problems I have paid more on fixing the problems on the car than I have paid on the car there are currently no recalls to my knowledge but I strongly believe the entire car should be recalled and GM should pay back what the car was purchased for!

- Andover, IA, USA

problem #13

Mar 252010

G6

  • 55,000 miles
Electric steering assist kicks in and out. Steering wheel turned hard to the left on its own while I was going down the highway at 65mph. It took both hands to take back control. Power steering light blinked on the radio. When I stopped the wheel was making clicking sounds and turning violently to the left and right. After restarting the car the steering temporarily went back to normal. I have been have similar problems with the steering for the past year. Took to the dealar showing them bulletin # 10183 describing the exact problem for 2005 and 2006 G6's but they did nothing stating my VIN # was not in the affected range. This is extremely dangerous and will kill someone.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #12

Mar 032011

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the vehicle would stall several times while driving at any speed over 35 mph and the check engine warning light would illuminate. The vehicle was towed to a local mechanic who performed diagnostics, but was unable to diagnose or duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 43,300. Updated 03/29/11 the dealer replaced the power train control module. 07/11/11

- Buffalo, NY, USA

problem #11

Sep 272010

G6 6-cyl

  • miles
While driving my G-6 Pontiac to work, I tried to turn the corner, & I had a sudden loss of power steering assist, & went into the oncoming traffic because I couldn't turn the wheel hard enough. I received a letter in the mail from Pontiac which stated that the power steering assist is covered under a special coverage program. My car did not qualify because it had to many miles. I feel this is a safety hazard & should have been a recall instead. You have issued a recall on the 2007-2009 mazda3 and mazda5 power steering voluntary safety recall. Have you not gotten enough complaints on the G6 Pontiac, or does it take a lot of accidents or loss of life for a different vehicle to get the same recall. I had to spend $708 to get my vehicle fixed. I should not have had to put out that kind of money. I didn't get any satisfaction from General Motors corporation, but I do hope you consider also making the G-6 problem a total recall.

- St. Peters, MO, USA

problem #10

Jun 242010

G6

  • 33,005 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While making a left or right turn the vehicle stalled without warning. She was able to move the vehicle onto the emergency lane. The check engine light illuminated after the failure occurred. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that the computer caused the failure to occur. The vehicle was repaired. Approximately a year ago, she experienced brake failure when the brakes were applied and crashed into the vehicle in-front of her. The failure mileage was 33,005 and the current mileage was 35,000.

- Buffalo Grove, IL, USA

problem #9

Apr 302010

G6 6-cyl

  • 41,500 miles
2006 Pontiac G6 V6 stalling while in drive and park. There were no events leading up to this and has occurred six times. While driving at low speeds or in park, the car will suddenly turn off and the check engine light will illuminate. The brake and steering will also lock up. Upon turning the car off and placing it in park it will restart, I have placed the car in the shop two times to have this fixed. Last time (May 18) was to tape engine wires and clean the fuel injector, which they said would fix it. This repair cost me $500. Since then the problem has increased, happening three times in the past three days. I have contacted Pontiac numerous times but they are unwilling to help. Both my GM dealer and I have used a code reader to see if the car is throwing out a code when it stalls but nothing can be found. My car has quickly become a liability to myself and those around me, as the last time I stalled I almost drifted into a busy intersection. Something needs to be done to fix this problem, which is apparently quite widespread in 2006 G6S.

- Severna Park, MD, USA

problem #8

May 032010

G6

  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Clunking sound coming from engine compartment when turning.

- North Platte, NE, USA

problem #7

Aug 162009

G6

  • 31,000 miles
Steering failure...almost had a major accident but recovered car in time. Reported to dealer.

- North Miami Beach, FL, USA

problem #6

Aug 142009

G6

  • 42,000 miles
I purchased my 2006 Pontiac G6 in August 2008 with 36,000 miles.less than a year later, the ac compressor on this three year old vehicle seized. The serpentine belt snapped while I was at a red light and everything failed, the power steering, battery, everything. My mechanic says it will cost $1700 to repair. There is no way a car that new should have such a failure. In addition to that, the factory installed cd player stopped working for no reason. The arm on the passenger side seat stopped working. And they key fob that automatically opens the doors and trunk stopped working a week after purchase and a new battery did not solve the problem. I will never again buy an american made car!

- Riviera Beach, FL, USA

problem #5

Jun 042009

G6

  • 42,000 miles
2006 G6 air compressor freezes up and causes the belt to break completely disabling the vehicle within seconds. No power steering, battery stops charging, car runs hot, and loses traction. One belt runs everything in this vehicle and when it breaks everything in the engine begins to fail. It cost over $1,000 to repair. GM will not cover the entire cost, but should since it is a mechanical failure. My car had 42,000 miles on it when this happened. My fiance's car was 3 months old when it happened to her vehicle. She also had a 2006 Pontiac G6. If I hadn't been within a half a block from my driveway, or running at a high rate of speed, it would have caused a crash.

- Guyton, GA, USA

problem #4

Jan 162009

G6

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While driving approximately 55 mph on normal road conditions, the vehicle came to a complete stop. He applied pressure to the accelerator pedal and, immediately, the engine power drastically reduced. The "traction control", "engine power reduced", and "check engine" warning indicators illuminated on the instrument panel. The failures occurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnostic testing and they stated that the failures were related to the throttle body. The technician cleaned the throttle body, but the failures recurred the same day. The vehicle was taken back to the authorized dealer that recommended the throttle body be replaced, but they were unable to guarantee that the remedy would prevent the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The contact is waiting on a response from the manufacturer. The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure mileage was 65,000 and current mileage was 65,400.

- Eaton, OH, USA

problem #3

May 132006

G6

  • 99 miles
My problems started with this car before I even got home with my new purchase. I had 2 children in the car and the tire blew off the rim damaging the fender notes from the invoice state that "parts and labor to be billed to 67D 67F, cannot warr tire that has been mounted wrong on 1st repair" then on 6/26/06 paint was refinished due to clear coat peeling on the hood. On 11/06/06 radio does not play cd's and radio was replaced. 3K mile service with motor silk. Also airbag light was staying on and they said they found a wire to SDM loose and repaired wire. Also right rear tire was leaking air. 4/20/2007 engine was knocking loud when first started in morning at that time they replaced the lifters. The engine was replaced shortly after that and again had problems with the air bag light staying, dealership again said it was a sensor but this is only a few of many issues I've been having with this car. Please contact me and we will go through each one or you can contact the dealership where this lemon was purchased and request the records (I have a copy too)....

- Richmond, KY, USA

problem #2

Feb 162008

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,300 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While driving 65 mph, the steering column locked up for a brief moment. When it unlocked, the vehicle spun out of control and crashed into a pole on the side of the interstate. A police report was filed. The insurance company did a crash inquiry and, according to their information, there were nineteen similar failures. The powertrain was unknown. The current and failure mileages were approximately 50,000.

- Dawson, SC, USA

problem #1

Aug 262006

G6 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles
I purchased a new 2006 Pontiac G6 in Jan 06, at 3000 miles the car was in the dealership service center with low coolant, it's been in the 2 times since and is going back for the same reason 10/16/06. Total this car has been in the service center 7 times including this trip. This will be the fourth time for coolant leak. 1 for an electrical shortage, 1 for a pinched brake line, and 1 to repair items the service center left undone. 7 times in the service center in 9 months, wow sounds as if something may be wrong huh? I have contacted the GM 800 spoke to 5 different reps they seem to be of the opinon nothing is wrong with it.

- Macon, GA, USA

Not what you are looking for?