Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Fuel System, Gasoline Problems

2006 Pontiac G6 (Page 2 of 2)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2006 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2006 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2006 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for this power steering issue, up to 10 years/100k miles. However a large number of 2006 G6 owners have reported they were not covered by this campaign, based on VIN#.

As of late 2013 the NHTSA had well over 700 steering complaints on file for the 2006 G6, with 21 crashes & 12 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2006 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2006 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.

2.6

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
55,977 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Pontiac G6 fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #7

Feb 012009

G6

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Pontiac G6 issue: Fuel gauge wouldn't work as there was gasoline in the car but the fuel gauge wouldn't establish how much gasoline in the tank. I had to get it fix.

- St. Catharines , 00, USA

problem #6

Sep 042007

G6

  • miles
I purchased a 2006 Pontiac G6 April 21, 2007. Afterwards I started noticing a popping noise when I would turn, so I took the car in to be serviced 9-2007. They replaced the tie rod adjuster & reset toe-in, but again I still had the same problems. Also I've been having problems with the window leaking on the drivers side. The ac / heater blower stays on when car is not on which caused my battery to drain so I took the car in again April 11, 2008 and they told me they replaced the drive shaft & blower motor resistor but still having the same problems. Now I am noticing that the passenger side air bag indicator doesn't register when someone is in the front seat w/ seatbelt on. Sometimes it comes on when there is no one in the seat. The starter continues to crank while trying to start car and sticks when the car is started. Last but not least, after purchasing fuel the car gas gauge drops drastically only after going about a mile or two.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #5

Nov 032008

G6

  • 107,000 miles
I have two complaints. I have a 2006 Pontiac G6. It has 107,000 miles, they are all highway miles. My fuel tank recently started leaking alot of gas. I took it to the mechanic and he said that is not something that I could have caused and that it is a defective part. I am very concerned because my car can catch on fire. The second is the power steering has been bad since I bought the car, they just keep telling me they can't find anything wrong with it. What can I do to get this resolved? the power steering just locks up sometimes and I have to turn my car off and back on to make it work properly. The power steering light always comes on.

- Hemet, CA, USA

problem #4

Sep 012008

G6

  • 53,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Smelled gas approximately a month ago. I thought someone was stealing my gas. I bought a gas cap that locks but my gas was still vanishing. Today, I had puddles within an hour of the car sitting. The gas leak is all other my muffler and exhaust system. This is a serious hazard therefore I will not drive it. The car is only 2 years old.

- N Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #3

Dec 292006

G6 6-cyl

  • 20 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6 GT. While driving the vehicle off the dealer lot at approximately 2 mph, there was an electrical failure with the power windows. In addition, the cell phone charger fuse continued to blow out. The dealer stated that they would make repairs under warranty. There was bubbling in the paint job that was also repaired under warranty. Whenever the vehicle is started, the stereo changes from xm fm to am. The screen for the xm radio is blank, the clock is always behind, and the fuel gauge never works properly. It is difficult to tell exactly how much fuel is in the vehicle. The engine ticks periodically and it sometimes stalls upon starting. The nuts in the door loosen every two weeks and make a loud clunking sound when they are coming loose. There is also something wrong with the power steering. The failure mileage was 20 and current mileage was 18,000. Update 09/10/08 the power steering failed and was replaced, but it still was not right. The drive shaft began to unusual noises. Updated 09/10/08.

- Allmogordo, NM, USA

problem #2

Jul 032008

G6

  • 40,000 miles
When I first purchased the car it only had 10 miles on it and within the next 6 months it would not start and had to be towed to the dealership 3 times. The first 2 times I was told that there was some loose wiring or that the wire was to close to a component and the component melted the plastic covering the wires. The third time I was told there was a problem with the security information but, it was corrected. Then at 40,000 miles the car started jerking whenever I drove it. It seemed as if the gas was not getting to the engine quick enough (I'm not a mechanic) then the mileage went considerably down. For a full tank of gas I used to get 451 miles this is told through the fuel monitor that is in the car. But, after this began occurring the monitor would state 239 miles after I filled it up! I have had to fill-up 6 times in 2 weeks. When a tank of gas used to last 2 weeks for me. I went to the dealership that I purchased the vehicle from and was told that I am no longer under warranty so they would have to charge me to diagnose the vehicle. Once they diagnosed the car they stated that it was the catalytic converter and the would replace free of charge and that I would not have to pay for the diagnostic test either. While I was ecstatic to know that they were going to fix my vehicle at no charge to me, warning bells did sound off immediately. When I received the invoice back from them it stated that these items were replaced: Oxidation catalytic converter, 2 gaskets, 1 pipe and 2 manifold core chg. And after all of this work which took from 8:30A.M to 2:00pm, my mileage monitor is now reporting 300 miles for a full tank of gas when originally I was getting 451. After reading all of these complaints re. This vehicle I am just disgusted. I will review this site when purchasing my next vehicle which I think will be pretty soon.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #1

Dec 022007

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,380 miles
I have a 06 Pontiac G6 w/ 20K miles. At 4K miles it went to the dealership for a cd player problem. Now I have more problems. 3 weeks ago we went to use the vehicle and the battery was dead. It was towed to dealership and batt. Found to be bad. Last Monday 29th we found the battery to be dead again so it was towed back to te dealership again. Once again battery was bad and replaced. Then we had been noticing problems with the fuel range, mileage and low fuel light. You would be driving and the gas gauge would say you had 1/4 tank left and 39 miles to empty. You drive a mile and the gauge is on empty and it says low fuel!!! the dealership says " no problem found, working as manf. Built" then it would say you have X amount of miles to empty then the number would jump up and down. Took to dealership who said. " no problem found, working as manf. Built". I picked it up from the dealership and it said 206 miles to empty, I drove a half mile and it said 180 miles to empty. Then drove a quarter mile and it said 193 miles to empty. This was under normal speeds and acceleration. My dealership finally refused to work on the vehicle so I took it to another dealership who said "cannot duplicate the problem" so I dropped it off to have the oil changed. Come back 15 hours later and the battery was dead. Towed to the dealership again. They replaced the battery again. I picked it up once again and the fuel mileage said 142 I drove a half mile and it went to 130 I drove a quarter mile and it said 126 miles and then I drove 700 feet and it said 116 miles. I drove it back to the dealership and when I stopped I had 131 miles to empty. This car has been in the shop every day since Monday the 29th.

- Pocomoke, MD, USA

Not what you are looking for?