Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Air Bags Problems

2006 Pontiac G6 (Page 2 of 4) Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague Notes: The 2006 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2006 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2006 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for this power steering issue, up to 10 years/100k miles. However a large number of 2006 G6 owners have reported they were not covered by this campaign, based on VIN#.

As of late 2013 the NHTSA had well over 700 steering complaints on file for the 2006 G6, with 21 crashes & 12 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2006 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2006 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 1
Average Mileage:
67,598 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Pontiac G6 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #45

Mar 152011


  • 75,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the air bag warning light intermittently illuminated. The contact also stated that the front passenger seat heated independently. The failure occurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 75,000.

- Holliston, MA, USA

problem #44

Dec 182013

G6 4-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
I checked my VIN on my 2006 Pontiac G6 to see what recalls popped up. My vehicle does not fall under any of the recalls for power steering, air bags, or seat belts but I have had many issues. My power steering quits working randomly. I have to pull over, shut the car off, then turn it back on and it will work agian. Just yesterday the warning light came on and said service air bags. Also the sensor for the seat belts will sometimes not work. The bell will continuously ding to alert you that the seat belt is not buckled and it actually is. Funny thing is, my car has had none of the problems that it is under recall for and all of the problems it's not under recall for. I have three children and this is my only transportation. I am afraid to put them in this car and drive anywhere with them.

- Sterling, MI, USA

problem #43

Apr 032011


  • 110,135 miles
Driving my power steering and exterior lighting goes out all the time. Also my passenger air bag says service air bag all the time. My car has also just shut down on me on numerous occasions on the highway etc.

- Ypsilanti, MI, USA

problem #42

Aug 152014

G6 6-cyl

  • 145,000 miles


Was following a car they want to stop and I couldn't stop and rear ended the car.

- Cumberland, MD, USA

problem #41

Aug 112014

G6 6-cyl

  • miles
Steering wheel locks up while driving, interior electric have glitches.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #40

Jan 012014


  • miles
I was concerned that the airbag alert when a passenger was with me was reading airbag off then while driving it would come on and go off again. I called GM and they said my car was not on the recall list. Further investigation I have just discovered that this was a recall when I first bought the car and had the cloth seats changed to leather. The recall date was Oct 31 2006 and I purchased the car in July I 2006 I believe. I 'am scared to have anyone ride up in the front and GM says there is no recall. Recall I.D 47191this recall began on Nov 6 2006 and GM was to repurchase these vehicles. I never was notified and still they don't see my vehicle on there recall list.please help me.

- Palm Bay, FL, USA

problem #39

Mar 072013

G6 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,300 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the brake light remained illuminated when the brakes were not engaged. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 39,300. Updated 09/11/14 updated 1/5/15

- Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #38

May 022012

G6 6-cyl

  • miles
Used from hurd R.I my Pontiac G6 2 years ago and about 3 months after I was having trouble with the steering, they replace something but never give me paper work then around 8 months ago the heater blow went and had to replace it the steering light on dash go off at least 2 time a months the first time I thought I need steering flu I was told you don't put that in this car..air bag my seats are after market leather seats and sometimes the light indicates the seat is on they also have heated seats that work when they want brake the I had it changed 4 time this past year I bring it to the place I brought it and they push me off and say it's fine.

- Cranston, RI, USA

problem #37

Mar 052012

G6 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
My power steering light comes on, loss of steering, also air bag light goes off. I am unable to steer the car. It just happened a couple weeks ago again. It is dangerous and happens without warning! my car was manufactured 2 months later than the recall is through. Obviously, all cars have not been recalled appropriately.

- Johnson City , TN, USA

problem #36

Apr 022014


  • 168,440 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the driver side air bag warning light intermittently illuminated while the vehicle was in motion. This failure recurred for a period of one week. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer. The manufacturer was not notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 168,440.

- Mount Vernon, TX, USA

problem #35

Oct 012013

G6 6-cyl

  • 105,000 miles


My vehicle is experiencing faulty power steering, which goes out without any notification. It does this when just starting to pull out and it also does it in the middle of a turn. This is very dangerous. It makes you lose control of the steering and could result in a wreck. My vehicle also has been experiencing the service aiir bag warning that has also been recalled in other GM vehicles. The breaking system on my GM is also faulty with the lighting. When the break is pressed the brake lights go off and when the brake is not pushed the brake light goes on. I have contacted GM numerous times and am told that the recall is not model specific that it is VIN specific. If my car is having all of the same dangerous issues, why is it not also recalled?

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #34

Apr 112012

G6 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
When I turned the car on, the power steering light came on and the power steering would not work. I would turn the car off and restart it and it would be fine, but once I would get going it would quit working again. This has been happening at least twice a week since 4/11/12. It is getting more and more dangerous. Without any warning, as I'm driving the power steering just goes out. I have contacted GM regarding this and they tell me that my VIN number was not included in the break lights also stay on if the break is not pushed down and when you press the break pedal down the break lights go off. More recently, when someone sits in my passenger seat the service air bag light comes on. I contacted GM again and again they told me that my VIN number was not affected and not included in the recalls. My car is affected, because I am having the same problems. I live in the dfw area and the break light issue and the power steering issue are causing huge problems for me. It is terrifying each time I have to go anywhere. At the drop of a hat the power steering just quits. GM does not see this as an issue and I am repeatedly given the brush off.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #33

Feb 012014

G6 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
"service airbag" warning light started turning on intermittently during summer 2013. It would turn on for a minute or so, then turn off for several days/weeks/month. Called service advisor at dealer who stated that if it didn't stay on, it wasn't an issue to address. After a few months, in approximately February 2014, the service airbag warning light is on almost 90% of the time. Took it to dealer who said that the sensor wears down after a while, and that even if we do replace it, there is no guarantee that it won't come on again. I expressed that I am concerned that the airbags will not deploy when needed, but the advisor & mechanic stated that they will deploy when needed, but that the largest of the 3 levels of front airbags may deploy rather than one of the two smaller airbags, and that the weight of the person in the front seat may trigger the largest airbag even if they are underweight. As much as I would like to believe that the airbags will deploy when needed, I have no faith that this will happen. I suspect, as others have stated, that the airbags simply will not deploy. This would be an odd occurrence considering that we bought this particular car (not just this model, but this specific vehicle) because it has the additional side airbags. It would be a shame to buy a car for added safety features only to have safety features fail at the time of need. The airbag issue on all Pontiac should be further reviewed.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #32

Mar 202009

G6 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
Several times when attempting to start the vehicle by turning the key in the ignition the vehicle goes through the process but doesn't start. It will make a "winding" noise. It will take 2-3 attempts to get the vehicle started. This has occurred approximately 30-40 times since 2009. During this same period while driving the beep alarm inside the car begins going off cause it reads that someone is sitting in the passenger front seat without a seat belt. Each time this has happened the seat was empty. In addition, when a person has been sitting in the front passenger seat and vacates the seat the seat or sensor still registers a person there without a seat belt. During the same time period I have had to replace the headlights and front driver side about 6-8 times. I had the front driver side maker light replaced and it was noticed that it was completely corroded. I've had to replace the back brake lights 6-8 times. Lastly, the transmission has begun stalling both at initial acceleration and when driving above 35mph the vehicles suddenly loses its gear and begins to slow down in traffic. This vehicle has major electrical problems. To add, I have spoke to 4-5 other people that have the exact same and additional problems with either the same year, make, and model or the same problems with the same vehicle just a year different.

- Mukwonago, WI, USA

problem #31

Feb 022014


  • 112,000 miles
Service airbag light came on and stayed on. Airbag not on passenger seat.

- Clinton Twp.,, MI, USA

problem #30

Mar 052013


  • 162,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the passenger's side air bag light was illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 162,000.

- Window Rock , AZ, USA

problem #29

Aug 012013


  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) several months ago and stated the dealer informed her that the parts were not available for the repair. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Hampton, VA, USA

problem #28

Oct 302009

G6 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
We were on our way home from a family visit. About 30 miles out, two deer ran right into of, there was no way to Dodge them. Upon impact the front of the vehicle was destroyed and the engine was pushed back. Surprisingly none of the airbags worked or was deployed upon impact. There was a great force felt due to impact, but not one airbag deployed. The officer who responded to the scene was surprised to see so much damage done to the vehicle, but not one airbag deployed. He even stated that the airbags must be faulty.

- Macomb, IL, USA

problem #27

Oct 302012

G6 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
I was attending my aunts funeral in hackensack, NJ. I reside in Maryland, so its about a 5 hour drive for me. Half way there, my sister called me and asked why was I riding my brakes. I told her, I was not riding my breaks. She informs me that my brake lights flash all the time. I could not believe her. Coming home from the funeral, we witnessed the same thing. Then several days later, I could not get the car out of park. I had to sit at foodlion for about twenty minutes, before I was able to get the car in gear. I called GM 800-620-7668 and tried to issue a complaint. I was told there was no recall. But I happen to see this issue all over the internet. My issue is still occurring, again I called GM and I was brushed off. I feel this issue should be corrected by GM and not my bank account.

- Berlin, MD, USA

problem #26

Apr 022013

G6 6-cyl

  • 121,000 miles
Air bag error message shows. Not included in recall. Dealer says corrosion on coils and wires. This is also affecting the cruise control.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?