Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Power Train: Automatic Transmission Problems

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2006 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2006 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2006 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for this power steering issue, up to 10 years/100k miles. However a large number of 2006 G6 owners have reported they were not covered by this campaign, based on VIN#.

As of late 2013 the NHTSA had well over 700 steering complaints on file for the 2006 G6, with 21 crashes & 12 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2006 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2006 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
66,922 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Pontiac G6 transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments

problem #15

May 222011

G6 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2006 Pontiac G6 gtp that I have owned since it was new. I have had all the recommended maintenance completed at the recommended mileage intervals, including the transmission flushed and filled at a GM dealer. Randomly, while driving without any notice the light to notify me that traction control isn't on comes on and my transmission will jerk violently when shifting between gears. Then sometimes the light will randomly go off and the transmission will continue to function as normal. Restarting the vehicle does not correct the issue, however turning the vehicle off then unhooking the battery or pulling the fuse under the hood for the transmission control module then replacing it and restarting the vehicle will temporarily fix the issue. I have had my transmission looked at by a GM dealer and they say that it is a faulty transmission control module. GM has a technical service bulletin for this issue but GM wants over $1000 to replace faulty equipment (transmission control module) that they made because my vehicle is out of warranty this has almost caused me to wreck several times, and I am afraid that eventually it will.

- College Grove, TN, USA

problem #14

Nov 262010

G6 6-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
On the day after thanksgiving, known as black Friday my granddaughter an I got into my 2006 Pontiac G6, and I was unable to steer my vehicle. The power steering had locked up. I was unable to maneuver the vehicle. GM sent me a notice in the mail 4 months prior to this happening. The letter stated that if I did not have a problem do not take my vehicle to the dealer, four months later I experienced the problem. I took it to the GM dealer and they kept the vehicle for 5 days and said that there was an electrical problem with the power steering and they had fixed the problem. I picked the vehicle up and 10 minutes later the same problem occurred. The car went back to the GM dealer and they said that they would have to replace the steering column. I have found over 100 consumers with the exact same problem throughout the us. GM knew about this problem for years, but took no action to recall this vehicle. I could have been seriously injured or killed due to this defect. I feel that it is time that NHTSA does something about this problem.

- Enfield, NC, USA

problem #13

Dec 072010

G6

  • 30,000 miles
My current problem with my 2006 Pontiac G6 sounds the same as the recall for the 2009 Pontiac G6. Today (12-8-10) I had to bring in my car in to the dealer after putting my car in park, which then proceeded to roll. The wiring system did not seem to recognize park or disconnected from the transmission. I later tried to turn the ignition and the car would not turn on at all. 4 months ago I brought it in for the key getting stuck in the ignition because the car didn't recognize it as being in park. Three other times I had issues with the brake/foot peddles. I would have to break to accelerate and drive to slow down or it would not accelerate at all until it reached 30mph. It would automatically drive in traction control and read decreased engine power on the panel. In addition, I have recently had a fountain of water pouring into my car surrounding the sunroof on either side of panels btwn the front and rear windows, resulting in severe interior damage and subsequent mold spores growing. Instead of the filter surrounding the sunroof filtering water out, it is filtering water in.

- Audubon, NJ, USA

problem #12

Sep 112010

G6

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased a 2006 Pontiac G6 gtp, I have recently caused many close calls of harming peoples life due to the failure of shifting of my transmission in a fairly new vehicle. The transmission slips and does not go into gear sometimes and when entering the highway everyday is a challenge if I will make it or not. The vehicle decides if it will go or not and I don't believe this 2006 vehicle should be on the road or others to be sold until this ongoing problem across the nation to be solved. It happens at 65,000 miles on all vehicles that have reported this issue.

- Fort Myers , FL, USA

problem #11

May 242006

G6 4-cyl

  • 83,000 miles
My friend's 2006 Pontiac G6 4-cylinder transmission is slipping gears and a hard 'thug' is heard while he was driving his vehicle. He has told me that this has happened to his car for a couple of months now and he has 83,000 miles on the vehicle. I researched the transmission problems on google and he is not the only one that has had this problem. The link is below for the website. www.fixya.com/cars/T1738315-2006_pontiac_G6_transmission_jerking has anyone complained about transmission jerking on their Pontiac G6 with the 4cylinder?

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #10

Apr 062010

G6 6-cyl

  • 135,134 miles
I bought my car in 2007; it is a 2006 Pontiac G6. Heard a clicking noise when turning the car; the dealership said it passed all point inspection; within the last 3 years I have had the steering randomly "locked" up or just didn't work at all. Finally went to ammaco to get a full diagnostic and was told that my rack and pinion steering is completely out which caused deficient wheel alignments, which caused the front control arms to prematurely wear out, which caused my tires to wear unevenly. Also my front brakes and rotors were impacted as well. The mechanics were surprised that I or my family wasn't dead since technically I had no control of the car by way of steering. I am out close to $2000 because this was found out after the warranty lapse (of course). Thanks GM.

- Mill Valley, CA, USA

problem #9

Aug 162009

G6

  • 31,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Steering failure...almost had a major accident but recovered car in time. Reported to dealer.

- North Miami Beach, FL, USA

problem #8

Nov 242009

G6

  • 60,000 miles
I have a Pontiac G6 with 60,000 miles on it. My power steering keeps locking up going down the road and when I go to turn in somewhere my car completely goes dead. My car went dead in on a major hwy the other day when I was going to turn in and I was narrowly missed being hit by an 18 wheeler. I am very scared of what might happen with this issue. I had 3 small children in my car at the time of this incident and I fear that since this has happened to me repeatedly that me or 1 of my family members are going to be killed due to this defect. I know I am not the only one having this issue with this car and its needs to be resolved immediately before someone is killed. Another incident the other day I was going down the hwy 70 miles an hour made a slight curve to the left and my power steering locked up and the car stalled. Please help me with this issue I am terrified to drive this car now.

- Ripley , TN, USA

problem #7

Jun 252009

G6

  • 31,222 miles
Failure of the automatic transmission system at 31,222 miles on a 06 Pontiac G6 purchased new in December 2005. I first noticed shifting problems at the end of June 2009. The car was struggling to get into gear as though it was going up a hill; this was noticeable during freeway driving. It would also make a thump noise when it would accelerate from 0 during stop-and-go freeway traffic after prolonged driving. The engine light came on eventually. The mechanic determined that the transmission had to be rebuilt on 7/7/09. The mechanic tried replacing two of the computer sensors prior to that, but it did not improve the car's shifting. The car's warranty was 3 years or 36,000 miles, whichever came first. Because 3 years had passed, the car was out of warranty, even though it was still below 36,000 miles. I find that it is extremely unfair to have to pay $1,800 for a transmission on such low mileage and especially after regular maintenance.

- North Hollywood, CA, USA

problem #6

Jan 022009

G6

  • 56,000 miles
Transmission problems, took car to dealer, dealer wanted to charge to fix the problem since warranty was up on vehicle, the car is only 3 years old, brought the car brand new. The car shifts /slip gears, check engine light is on along with the tc control light. The cost to get the car fixed with be in the neighbor hood of $1000-$12000, why should I have to pay to get the car fixed since it is a manufactured problem.

- Killeen, TX, USA

problem #5

Nov 032008

G6

  • 107,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have two complaints. I have a 2006 Pontiac G6. It has 107,000 miles, they are all highway miles. My fuel tank recently started leaking alot of gas. I took it to the mechanic and he said that is not something that I could have caused and that it is a defective part. I am very concerned because my car can catch on fire. The second is the power steering has been bad since I bought the car, they just keep telling me they can't find anything wrong with it. What can I do to get this resolved? the power steering just locks up sometimes and I have to turn my car off and back on to make it work properly. The power steering light always comes on.

- Hemet, CA, USA

problem #4

Aug 012006

G6

  • 35,009 miles
Loss of power steering in Pontiac G6 GT on start up. If you turn it off and start again, it comes back, but I am afraid that it will fail during driving. This has happened three times in the last week.

- Rio Rancho, NM, USA

problem #3

Jan 012006

G6

  • 60,000 miles
I'm financing 2006 Pontiac G6, been having power steering problems since April 2008, vibration over 55mph, loose steering while on hwy, steering column and shaft replaced in April 2008 and still having same msg alert of power steering. GM need to recall before a fatal accident and a family like mine start a class action lawsuit.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #2

Jul 302007

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,161 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While driving various speeds, the contact noticed that the steering column vibrated excessively as if it were loose. She took the vehicle to the dealer on several occasions and they replaced the intermediate steering shaft, front driver side tie rod, and the steering rack. Several months after the repair, the failure recurred. The technician stated that the failure was normal and several of the parts for the steering unit were on a nationwide back order. The manufacturer was unable to assist. The failure mileage was 34,161 and current mileage was 36,493. Updated 09/15/08 the transmssion was shifting hard. The tie rod end was loose and worn. Updated 09/18/08

- Liver Pool, NY, USA

problem #1

Apr 212007

G6 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,300 miles
Several issues with the 2006 G6 that we purchased in 2005. We have had the entire front hub assembly replaced, I have taken the car in for what feels like a transmission issue, the passing gear on the car does not kick in. We had the car to the dealer a 2nd time on 04/23/2007 because when we were driving the car over the weekend the car didn't kick into the passing gear at 60 miles an hour and when it did the car dropped down to 20 miles an hour and jerked and finally about 10 minutes later it went back to a normal speed but still would accelerate and decelerate on its own. Took it to the deal who finally got it to do as we described but not has bad, on the next day they couldn't get the car to replicate the issue so we were told they couldn't do anything for us since it wasn't flashing any codes to let them know what the problem is. I am concerned because it feels as if the power of the car is dropping when you accelerate and I am afraid to pull out in traffic with my children in the car for fear that the car will not go and they will be injured. I could not believe that the dealer knowing that it had an issue turned around and told me they couldn't do anything for us because there were not codes telling them there was a problem, even though they drove the car and realized that the car seemed like it had a blockage that was causing the car to feel like it was stalling or the power was dropping. We have also had to have the ac module replaced. I don't feel this is a safe care for me to drive with my two children in the car.

- Sellersburg, IN, USA

Not what you are looking for?