Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Visibility Problems

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2006 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2006 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2006 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for this power steering issue, up to 10 years/100k miles. However a large number of 2006 G6 owners have reported they were not covered by this campaign, based on VIN#.

As of late 2013 the NHTSA had well over 700 steering complaints on file for the 2006 G6, with 21 crashes & 12 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2006 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2006 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.

3.8

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
32,065 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Pontiac G6 windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments

problem #8

Mar 072012

G6

  • 35,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

About 2 years ago my G6 started leaking water around the drivers side sun visor and I also noticed that the passenger side seat belt would become wet when it rained and it has progressively gotten worse to the point it soaks the drivers seat and headliner and the entire car holds so much moisture you can't even see out of the windows. I have a sunroof by the way. This past weekend I did a little research and saw a lot of people having the same problem so I pulled back some of the headliner and like they said the drainage tubes were not even connected. We tried to reconnect them but they are so short it is impossible. I read somewhere that they were aware of this problem and that they had shrunk due to heat but apparently nothing has been done to make this right and they are charging $1000 at the dealership to replace it when this is a manufacture screwup to begin with. This car has gave me more problems than anything. I've had the issue with the tail lights staying on when the brake pedal wasn't being depressed and have took it to the dealership multiple times for that only for them to tell me my car wasn't part of the recall even though it was doing the same thing and then they tried to charge me some ridiculous amount claiming it was the brake switch causing it to do that and finally I got irritated and found out how to do what they would to fix the recall myself and haven't had any more issues with that so far. Long story short this car is a piece of junk and I wish I would have never bought it. It only had 5000 miles on it when I got it and only has 40000 on it now and I have had problems almost the entire time I have had it.

- Grovetown, GA, USA

problem #7

Dec 162010

G6 6-cyl

  • miles
Power steering goes out on my car several times aday. It has gone out on me while driving as fast as 40mph. This car is dangerous to drive. When it goes out I have to shut the car off before the power steering will start working again. Once it comes back on the steering does not feel right. When I try to steer to the right it is stiff when I steer to the right it is very loose. I have had this car for about 4 yrs. Loved it until I got afraid to drive it! also, what dummy came up with having the windshield wiper on the passenger side of the car stop right in the front of the driver? it is almost impossible to see out the window when it is raining..

- Foster, WV, USA

problem #6

Sep 032011

G6 6-cyl

  • 93,000 miles
I was driving on I-94 near ann arbor, mi during a rain storm. I had the wipers going and I heard a quiet 'pop' sound and suddenly the wipers no longer worked as I was in the left lane going 70mph. I eased off the highway on the left-hand side and immediately put my flashers on to avoid causing an accident. Fortunately, a police officer arrived on the scene and escorted me and my wife to the right shoulder of the road. I found on a car forum on the internet that this appears to be a common complaint that a small plastic insert wears out and the wiper motor disconnects from the linkage. I bought a replacement wiper linkage with a lifetime warranty from a local junk yard. I am in the automotive business (a test engineer) and thought this is a big enough safety concern that it should be reported.

- Portage, MI, USA

problem #5

May 092011

G6

  • 116,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I hit a pothole and the bracket holding the control wires for the ABS and traction control on the passenger side broke and my shocks ripped the wires. I now no longer have ABS or traction control, atleast on stated tire. My idiot lights in the dash are now constantly on and put out an alert ding every time the car is started. I previously had some alignment work done, but that was over 4 months ago. This incident happened immediately after hitting said pothole. I hit a curb back in 2007 which led to the alignment work that was done a few months ago. The plastic used for the windshield washer jets has also recently corroded and fell apart, so they no longer work either.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #4

Jan 012009

G6

  • miles
My sun visor mirror covers are nonfunctional as they don't stay open and do not work properly. I see that in bulletin # 05094 in December 2005 this was addressed but there was never a recall on these and they cost over $250 to fix. This is something faulty with the car and I am curious as to why there is no recall.

- Great Falls, MT, USA

problem #3

Dec 292006

G6 6-cyl

  • 20 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6 GT. While driving the vehicle off the dealer lot at approximately 2 mph, there was an electrical failure with the power windows. In addition, the cell phone charger fuse continued to blow out. The dealer stated that they would make repairs under warranty. There was bubbling in the paint job that was also repaired under warranty. Whenever the vehicle is started, the stereo changes from xm fm to am. The screen for the xm radio is blank, the clock is always behind, and the fuel gauge never works properly. It is difficult to tell exactly how much fuel is in the vehicle. The engine ticks periodically and it sometimes stalls upon starting. The nuts in the door loosen every two weeks and make a loud clunking sound when they are coming loose. There is also something wrong with the power steering. The failure mileage was 20 and current mileage was 18,000. Update 09/10/08 the power steering failed and was replaced, but it still was not right. The drive shaft began to unusual noises. Updated 09/10/08.

- Allmogordo, NM, USA

problem #2

Jun 082007

G6 6-cyl

  • 12,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact noticed that the air bag warning light sporadically illuminated on the instrument control panel. She took her vehicle to the dealer, but they could not duplicate the failure. Two weeks later, the air bag light illuminated again more consistently. She took the vehicle back to the dealer and they replaced the module on the side air bag inflater. A few months later, the air bag warning light illuminated again. The dealer replaced the entire air bag system because it was inoperative. The contact has pictures of the failed component. She also filed a formal complaint with the manufacturer. The failure mileage was 14,000 and current mileage was 12,000. Updated 03/13/08. The consumer stated after the rack was replace, the vehicle still pulled to the right. The dealer adjusted the alignment. The sun visor kept falling down. Updated

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #1

Aug 102006

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 500 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While driving at various speeds, the sun visors sporadically dropped down and impaired the contact's visibility. The visors have been replaced four times and continue to obstruct his visibility. The contact notified the manufacturer, but they have yet to correct the failure. The failure mileage was 500 and current mileage was 25,000. Updated 12-12-07. The consumer stated the sun visor will not maintain its position and moves down progressively over time blocking the consumers line of sight. The visor has been replaced 4 times. The consumer has to hold the visor with one hand and drive with the other. Updated

- Castle Rock, CO, USA

Not what you are looking for?