Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Electronic Stability Control Problems

2007 Pontiac G6 (Page 1 of 2) Seal Of This Might Hurt Notes: Unfortunately the 2007 Pontiac G6 continues a serious trend of steering problems from the prior model year.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,299 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Pontiac G6 brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

Oct 022016


  • 28,000 miles


I bought this car brand new. It is a Pontiac G 6 GT convertible with an optional gtp high output engine and drivetrain. This is a top of the line vehicle with all options. Since new, the vehicle does not steer well. It lurches unexpectedly from side to side when going around turns or just straight ahead. It has been very well taken care of and only has 28,000 miles on it as of today. It is still in the 36,000 mile GM warranty period. There has been a snapping/popping noise in the steering wheel/column since new when you turn the steering wheel from side to side, sitting still or driving. The steering feels very unstable. Recently the vehicle started constantly pulling to the right. If I let off the steering wheel it will drive off the road. The steering wheel shakes back and forth and the steering feels loose and bumpy. The entire steering system needs to be replaced from the steering wheel to the wheels. This steering is electric. The parts are very expensive. The rack and pinion is also making noise and bumpy, needs replacement. The wheels appear out of alignment and the tires appear to be wearing on the outside edges. This is basically a brand new vehicle. It has been kept in a garage in Florida. No rust. Looks and drives new. Except for the electric steering system. This is a known problem with these vehicles. Internet search and dealer phone call confirmed that. GM has several recalls and extended warranties for this, but my car does not qualify. The steering system is maintenance free. There is nothing the customer can do. The steering column sensor ring is defective also. The upper steering column needs to be replaced also. This could cost well over a $1500 just for parts. This vehicle is unsafe to drive. It steers it self. The traction control seems defective and unreliable also.

- Carleton, MI, USA

problem #22

Oct 272014


  • 121,605 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. While driving, the contact attempted to activate the cruise control, but was unsuccessful. The contact was informed by another driver that the brake light was constantly illuminated while the vehicle was being driven. The vehicle was taken to the dealer to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that the body control module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired per NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control); however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 121,605.

- Milaca, MN, USA

problem #21

Aug 122009


  • miles
I have had this car since 2009. One of the first problems I noticed was what seemed to be electrical with the lights in the car going dim for a bit, then kicking back in. This only happens every so often. Low beam headlight on driver side keeps going out, even when putting a new light in. Passenger side window is the only window that works at all times. All three other windows are inoperable and have been for years. Automatic transmission will jerk while shifting gears. Feels like I am driving a stick shift vehicle, but this indeed a automatic. This has been going on for several years as well. Back break lights constantly stayed on. They would go off for a few seconds when you press on the breaks and release, but then would come back on right away while accelerating. --this was a recall that has been fixed--

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #20

Jun 012012


  • 97,000 miles


Electrical spasms. All gauges(including speedometer and tac) flake out, bounce around, go to zero. Traction control shuts down. HVAC electrical goes out. No way to see out windshield as defrost will not work when this occurs. Warning lights come on an off and on again etc. This can occur when driving or stationary, you never know when it will occur. Very unsafe and relates very well with recall already made by GM on 05/15/2014 for 2007 G6 but not for my G6"?? how??" I have been fighting this for many years and can't get them to take care of it properly. Dealer did actually fix one problem once when the blower fan would come on whenever it felt like it even when the car was off, key out of the ignition, doors locked, and us walking away. Needless to say we had a few dead battery instances. Actually had a dealer and GM involved. Dealer wanted to have a blank check to continue to do diagnostics after having see the problem and extracted 17 error codes from the vehicles computer. They couldn't figure it out, asked GM who had no idea, and wanted me to let them diagnose with no limit. Unbelievable. Many reports of the same problem can be found on the internet.

- Ham Lake, MN, USA

problem #19

Sep 142015

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while driving various speeds, both brake lights illuminated continuously even though the brake pedal was not depressed. In addition, whenever the brake pedal was engaged, the brake lights failed to illuminate. The VIN was not included in the NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control). The contact replaced both brake lights however, the failure persisted. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 55,000. The VIN was unavailable. Updated 06/29/16

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #18

Jul 162015


  • miles
I want to know how to get a letter regarding a recall on my vehicle. I went to and my vehicle was listed as having recalls.

- Lake Worth, FL, USA

problem #17

Jul 022015


  • 108,000 miles


I was driving home going 65 mph down a major highway on a clear warm night. All of a sudden my 2007 Pontiac G6 pulled to the right and I couldn't correct it. When the car finally responded, I was thrown across the highway into the divider cables. My airbags didn't deploy and the entire front end was crushed. Thank goodness I was not around any of the semi-trucks that came up over the small hill behind me once I limped the car to the side of the road. I had to get the car towed and insurance totalled it out without any testing done. After reading on this site, it's sad to see that I'm not the only one this has happened to. Thank god I was not seriously injured.

- Inver Grove Heights, MN, USA

problem #16

Aug 262015

G6 4-cyl

  • 61,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. While driving 40 mph, the brakes were engaged and the brake lights failed to illuminate. The contact was aware of NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control); however, the manufacturer advised the contact that the vehicle had been previously repaired under the recall. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was 61,000. MA 10/14 the consumer stated the problem could be eliminated if the dealer would comply with the recall. Updated 01/11/16.

- Erie , PA, USA

problem #15

Aug 022015


  • miles
I do not remember the date or mileage but my car has many problems. The traction light came on, it says traction off. It affects the steering, breaks, it causes fishtailing. I bought this car for safety! the company should replace it or give the owners new cars or a discount on a new vehicle. I am having the traction sensors replaced costing me $400. I was told the timing chain needs to be replaced as well! I was also told it could be a recall but they are trying to charge me $1200 to change it! what do I do? its not my fault it was made with faulty parts

- Lakemont, GA, USA

problem #14

Jun 162015


  • 104,000 miles
The traction control light illuminated as off, causing the car to jerk and slow and be difficult to handle, this was intermittent for 1 week, then the ABS, airbag and check engine lights would randomly come on and off, in any order, one or two at a time, then off then another one off and on. I had a recall done on the BCM issue last December, yet was told this was a separate issue with the oil control celenoid module and very common in these vehicles, which I am now paying to repair. Regarding the head lamps this has been an issue for the past two years, the bulbs would randomly go off and come back on on either side, I would change the bulb and it would happen again. Today I discovered this was a "service bulletin" and am having it repaired. However, since GM recognizes this is a problem and, has made new part for the issue, I feel this should have been a recall. Both of these issues could have compromised my safety at any time, which is why I feel they should be reported.

- Evansville, IN, USA

problem #13

Aug 082014

G6 6-cyl

  • 73,000 miles


2007 Pontiac G6. Consumer writes in regards to GM recall# 13036.* ld the consumer is seeking reimbursement.

- Hammond, IN, USA

problem #12

Aug 272014


  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V224000 (power train) and 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control); however, the parts needed to repair the vehicle were unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Canton, MI, USA

problem #11

Sep 032014

G6 6-cyl

  • 43,113 miles
My son was driving at 5 pm in stop and go traffic. He had been cut off by a driver who then slammed on their brakes. (out of town driver) when the car ahead of him stopped my son was driving at approx 30 miles per hour. My son slammed on his brakes with two car lengths ahead of him and the G6 rear ended the car ahead of him. When I was contacted my son reported the car panic brake assist feature did not seem to work. He indicated the car was not stopping despite his hard braking. We have had new brakes installed on this car in February 2014. My concern: A GM recall 13036 was issued and parts were correct this panic assist braking features. The accident took place on 9/3/14 and I received a letter on 9/5/14 indicating parts to correct this were available. My son has never had a traffic citation or warning and is now considered responsible for the accident. Most likely the car has been totaled.

- Oxford, MI, USA

problem #10

May 132014

G6 4-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control). The dealer stated that the parts were unavailable to perform the recall repair and could not provide an estimated date of arrival. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 09/02/14 updated 11/7/2014

- Shirley, IN, USA

problem #9

May 292014


  • miles
I work nights and noticed my tail lamps were really bright when I drove by reflective signs. Though I didn't think much at the time this continued. I stopped for gas one morning when I couldn't get my car from park to drive. I really had to mash the brakes down to get from park to drive. I recently was pulled over due to my tail lights not working correctly. The police officer noticed that my tail lights were lit up while driving and would turn off when I came to a stop at the light and when he pulled me over. He didn't ticket me but wanted to let my know about the issue. I looked for recalls and sure enough my 07 G6 was on the recall list but apparently it's VIN specific. I even took it to the local GM dealer, kerry Chevrolet, and they couldn't find any recalls with my car. The person at the dealer ship gave me GM's number and even they told me I probably shouldn't drive the car. Though all my issues are on the recall from the NHTSA campaign number 14V252000 my car is not included in the recall. Nor is the transmission cable thing. I won't go into this. This is a problem waiting to happen. GM should make this right and all inclusive for all model years that are affected by this not just VIN specific. I've been loyal to you for many years but maybe not for long!

- Alexandria, KY, USA

problem #8

Jun 202014

G6 4-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
The car totally lost electrical power. My wife, daughter and two grand kids (1 & 4 yrs old) were in the car. The power windows had be acting up for a while but on this day all the power went out. After she controlled the car to a stop on the highway and waited 10 minutes it would start again. She then tried to drive back roads home. Only to have it happen multiple times again. Finally we had it towed to the dealer ship. And again they are saying there is no recall on this car. It will now cost us over $500 dollars to fix on top of the $2500 last time. The dealership in the past as been great but in this case have been of no help. Over $3000 dollar out without any compensation from GM or the dealer (betten / baker Chevrolet in coopersville, Michigan).

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #7

Jun 212014

G6 4-cyl

  • 176,000 miles
My hand hit the key in the ignition switch and the vehicle cut-off(lost all power).I could not accelerate, I had to stop in the middle of the roadway and turn the switch to off and crank the vehicle again. After thinking about it I can recall this happening years ago, I thought nothing of it.

- Decatur, GA, USA

problem #6

Nov 082013

G6 4-cyl

  • 149,000 miles
When traveling at about 25-30 mph 3 beeps were heard and a message on the dash said power steering. Right after that there was a total loss of the powersteering. When the car ignition was shut off and the car restarted powersteering was restored for up to 10-20 miles. Then the beeps were again heard and message again appeared and the powersteering went out again. On again off again. We had to operate the vehicle in this mode for a number of months. Finally it was too dangerous to operate and the vehicle has been parked for 2 months. I called GM and they said there was not any recall for such a problem. Then in the end of March of 2014 a GM recall (id # 102624) was sent out pertaining to 2005. 2006, 2008, and 2009 Pontiac G6S. 2007 cars like mine were not included in this recall. I learned that this recall could affect 1.3 million GM vehicles. [xxx], vice president of GM global vehicle safety, stated "with these safety recall and lifetime warranties, we are going after every(emphasized) car that might have this problem, and we are going to make it right" "we have recalled some of these vehicles before for the same issue and offered extended warranties on others, but we did not do enough." I request that NHTSA investigate why 2007 Pontiac G6S were left out of this recall. I must have the car repaired and I believe that GM should reimburse me for the repair. GM must answer if the 2007 G6S were materially different from the 2005,2006,2008 and 2009 models. Were totally new parts and systems only available in 2007 and then changed again for 2008 and 2009?. I have filed a complaint to GM and have had the problem analyzed by my local dealership. I am awaiting whether GM will provide any financial assistance in correcting this powersteering issue. Cost to repair approx $850. Request that NHTSA investigate this model year 2007 Pontiac G6. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Rollinsford, NH, USA

problem #5

Sep 032013

G6 6-cyl

  • 105,500 miles
Brake lights come on while traveling down road and go dim when brake is pressed. Hard to shift from park. If baking and turning ESC light (electronic stability control) comes on.

- Christiansburg, VA, USA

problem #4

Nov 282012


  • 80,654 miles
On the date of the incident, the driver was traveling at approximately 45 mph, at around 2:35 am, on a rural road. The driver swerved to miss a deer, and the electronic stability control performed as designed on the initial swerve. When the driver began to correct the vehicle the electronic stability control off symbol appeared on the dashboard, the ESC off displayed on the radio, and a warning chime was heard. Due to the system turning off unexpectedly for an unapparent reason, the driver lost control of the vehicle resulting in a crash. The driver suffered a mid-back injury after the accident. The vehicle was declared a total loss by the driver's insurance company. Prior to the incident stated above over a period of several months, the traction control system would randomly stop working, with the service tcs message displayed and the tcs off indicator light illuminated on the dashboard.. the vehicle would begin to behave as if the tcs was limiting wheel spin including: Reducing engine power and applying the brakes. When the vehicle would be turned off for ten seconds and then restarted, the system would not illuminate the tcs off light, and the service tcs message would not be displayed. When taken to a dealership, they stated that, after looking at the components for the tcs system, the components did not show any issues that would make the tcs malfunction. Vehicle was not serviced. Vehicle was bought in April 2012 with no known issues.

- Kendallville, IN, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?