Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Power Train Problems

2007 Pontiac G6 (Page 1 of 4) Seal Of This Might Hurt Notes: Unfortunately the 2007 Pontiac G6 continues a serious trend of steering problems from the prior model year.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
74,124 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Pontiac G6 drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #74

Mar 012007


  • 1,400 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the vehicle was experiencing the same failure as NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control). The contact stated that the brake lights illuminated on and off occasionally. Also, the gear shifter would not switch out of the park position. The contact had to detach the battery cable to get the vehicle to go into the park position. The cruise control would not deactivate once the brake pedal was depressed. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was discovered that the failures were a part of an unknown recall. The failure mileage was 1,400.

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #73

Aug 252016


  • 72,300 miles
I could not take my car out of park the first time I tried because the button wouldn't press down. I pressed the break harder and the break had a weird moving/vibrating feel, but the button eventually pressed down and the vehicle went into drive. I know I got it to drive, but afraid other things might be affected.

- Lawrence, MA, USA

problem #72

Aug 062016

G6 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
There was recall on this car for transmission cable that caused may have caused the shifter to not properly stay in gear. My car did not have this issue, but the recall was fixed anyways. A year and half after recall was fixed the problem actually happened despite so called being "fixed". I called GM to report this and they stated they could only do something a year after the recall so I am 6 months out of this. Either their fix didn't work or their fixed caused the problem. Either way my car is now completely inoperable and I'm being forced to fix this out of pocket. I'm hoping you can possibly help get GM to actually fix this problem as it has been documented. I can get the copies of recall and it actually being fixed if necessary. How the problem happened: Car was parked in park position at a parking lot. Once started, and foot applied to brake pedal, transmission shifter would freely move instead of shifting properly. It would not come out of park. The vehicle had to be towed as it would not be allowed to remain parked. Thank you. The car is 2007 Pontiac G6 [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Alton, IL, USA

problem #71

Aug 042016


  • 152,000 miles


I had car in for recall of shift cable in 2014. On August 4 2016 I went to park car and there were no gears, car rolled into a fence before I could get it stopped. I had a mechanic look at car. He found what was wrong, which is part of shift cable that was recalled. I was told the shift cable was not replaced as the parts are original. I have pictures of original part on my car. I would like for the shift cable to be replaced properly but have gotten nowhere with any dealers, including the dealer who supposedly fixed part in 2014. I have been told that because the car was supposedly fixed that I am responsible to fix part on my own. This is an outrage! I will be in contact with a lawyer to sue the dealer and GM if car is not fixed. Thank you

- St.Louis, MO, USA

problem #70

Jul 162016


  • 81,000 miles
Brake lights fail & instrument panel shows trouble. Auto headlights don't go on/off when take foot of brake to put in drive or reverse or neutral car jerks badly & acceleration occurs even if I don't push foot pedal. Happens when car is stopped with foot on brake & when trying to park, when at red light stopped w foot on brake & try to put in neutral. Foot on brake then when engage any gear car lunges jerks & accelerates severely forward.

- Downers Grove, IL, USA

problem #69

Sep 212015


  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. While driving 45 mph, the air bag warning light illuminated. In addition, the vehicle jerked severely when the gear shifter stick was placed in any position. The failure occurred constantly. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the camshaft sensor and the evaporative control system failed and needed to be replaced. The mechanic did not provide details on the air bag issue. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #68

Apr 112016


  • 202,423 miles


I had a recall fixed (I thought) in October 2014 with the transmission cable and bracket. On April 11th 2016 this item failed on my car. I've owned this 2007 G6 for 7 years prior to the recall with no issues. I called the dealer to purchase the connecter that broke and left my car in reverse after backing out of a parking spot turning my wheel to the right. They say I have to buy the whole cable they replaced just one year and 6 months ago. I called the dealer that made the recall repair and they said the repair warranty is only good for a year. In my opinion their fix is more dangerous than the original problem. I can drive it for over seven years with no issues, but the "fix" is only good for a year and a half? I was backing out of a parking spot at a restaurant after taking my daughter to supper. I stopped and put it in drive then when I let off the brake and applied the gas my car stayed in reverse almost hitting the pedestrian that walked behind my car walking to their car. I could not put it in park and was on a slight hill with traffic pulling into the restaurant. I had to apply the emergency brake and try to put it in neutral and push it back into the parking spot. My car almost ran over me because it was locked in reverse. I ended up letting the cars pass me that were trying to turn in to go through the drive thru. I had to back out of the parking lot and into the street in reverse and back it into the exit of the restaurant and park my car in a spot on the other side to get it out of the way and back out of the street. I feel the "recall fix" is more dangerous and not a fix at all. They would not even talk to me about the repair because it was over one year since the recall replacement part was installed. I feel GM has engineered more danger into this and not fixing a problem, but creating revenue for them in more replacement parts and service charges.

- North Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #67

Nov 202012


  • miles
The car has been leaking engine oil and gas from the beginning and I have gotten no response, feedback. All I have been given was a constant repair list most of wich should have been done. I have had this car checked by several mechanics and they have told me from the beginning that my engine is leaking possible gaskets and leak somewhere in fuel pump. Rhodes auto sales as well as GM has given me a run for my life. Until recently have a friend gave me a carfax on this car that should not have been sold and being told how dangerous it's been for me to drive this car. Not sure of the exact purchase date but these problems have been since the beginning.

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #66

Jan 032015


  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. While driving 35 mph, the vehicle stalled and was unable to be restarted. In addition, the brake warning light illuminated. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The contact was unsure about what parts needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence. The vehicle was inspected by an independent mechanic. The mechanic diagnosed that the battery, rotors, and brake shoes needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the vehicle failed to start. The manufacturer was not notified of the failures. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes; hydraulic, vehicle speed control) and 14V224000 (power train). The failure mileage was 150,000.

- Washington, LA, USA

problem #65

Jan 252016


  • 179,000 miles
A recall had been done on the gear shift assembly for this vehicle which I had replaced through recall on 12/31/14 however 1 year and 25 days later the gear shift assembly did exactly what the recall was originally designed to fix. I went to park the vehicle and the gear shift slid easily into park but the car kept rolling, not recognizing the gear was placed in park. Upon shutting off the car, it would not start again as if it was in gear. The shift slides easily from park all the way down, not recognizing the gears. The problem remains that once the recall was fixed and a year past then the honoring of fixing the problem is not done.

- Decatur, GA, USA

problem #64

Aug 122009


  • miles


I have had this car since 2009. One of the first problems I noticed was what seemed to be electrical with the lights in the car going dim for a bit, then kicking back in. This only happens every so often. Low beam headlight on driver side keeps going out, even when putting a new light in. Passenger side window is the only window that works at all times. All three other windows are inoperable and have been for years. Automatic transmission will jerk while shifting gears. Feels like I am driving a stick shift vehicle, but this indeed a automatic. This has been going on for several years as well. Back break lights constantly stayed on. They would go off for a few seconds when you press on the breaks and release, but then would come back on right away while accelerating. --this was a recall that has been fixed--

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #63

Aug 232015


  • 89,999 miles
At red light, when light turned green, I stepped on gas and car acted as tho it was in neutral. It will not go except in reverse. I was able to drive it in the manual mode to get closer to home and same thing happened in manual mode in stopped traffic. I've since seen several other complaints on the Pontiac G6 owners forum, this is a problem with this year/make/model. I've gotten verbal estimates from a few transmission repair facilities and the cost to repair ranges from $2200-$3400. I cannot afford to fix this, and it's an issue that should be recalled as it has happened to so many other people. Just because no one has reportedly died it appears GM won't issue the recall. If this happens to someone on the highway in traffic it could very well cause injuries/fatalities. GM refuses to help when contacted. I need help, this is my only transportation and I could lose my job if I cannot get this fixed soon.

- Bristol, CT, USA

problem #62

Dec 112015


  • 131,809 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the vehicle remained in reverse even and failed to shift into drive. In addition, the contact stated that the vehicle would not start after being turned off. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 131,809.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #61

Dec 112015


  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while driving at 5 mph, a clicking sound was heard before the vehicle started jerking. In addition, while making a turn, the steering wheel became difficult to maneuver, and various warning lights started to illuminate before the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was not able to restart. The contact mentioned that the vehicle stalled in front of the residence. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 150,000.

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #60

Jan 162014


  • 98,000 miles
After coming to a complete stop - when I begin to accelerate the car does not want to move - then I have to let off the gas and try again it will slowly move and then jerk. It does a hardshift and will do this at random times- no matter if I have driven 0 or 10 or 100 miles. Sometimes it will hardshift when I first leave in the morning and sometimes it doesnt. Sometimes it hardshifts mid day - but it is always after a complete stop. If I use the tap shift then it does not do this. Others have been recalled for transmission problems exactly of this nature - but I do not see my specific VIN listed with a recall for this - I know 1 other person with this same car and they also have the same problem. Campaign# 14V224000 - recall # make, model and year are listed & I have owned my car since August 2013 and have never received anything regarding this recall. When I search my VIN this recall does not show up but there is obviously an issue -

- Galveston, IN, USA

problem #59

Jan 292015

G6 6-cyl

  • 101,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. When the contact shifted into reverse gear, the steering wheel became difficult to turn. The contact also stated when the brake pedal was depressed it failed to respond. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 101,000. Updated 09/02/15 updated 3/29/2016

- Cook, MN, USA

problem #58

May 042015

G6 6-cyl

  • 94,432 miles
After making a right hand turn, speedometer quit working and transmission seemed to be in a stalled state, however it then jerked hard and power resumed. This continued for the next 2 miles until I arrived at my stopping point. Odometer then displayed error. After the car sat for 2.5 hours, I started car to return home. Odometer displayed error, but once I shifted to drive error went away. Drove 3.5 miles, once speed dropped from 30 mph down to 20, transmission went to a stalled state again and then began jerking hard again with power surges.

- Spokane, WA, USA

problem #57

Jun 152014


  • 176,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that when the vehicle accelerated, it jerked without warning. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician diagnosed that there was a sensor failure and it needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 176,000.

- Lodi, CA, USA

problem #56

Feb 142015


  • 59,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. While attempting to drive, the gear lever was shifted into drive but the vehicle failed to move forward. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 59,000.

- Sacramento , CA, USA

problem #55

Feb 122015

G6 4-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
Power steering turned off without warning on the middle of the bay bridge.

- Annapolis, MD, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?