Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Exterior Lighting: Brake Lights Problems

2007 Pontiac G6 (Page 2 of 2)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

CarComplaints.com Notes: Unfortunately the 2007 Pontiac G6 continues a serious trend of steering problems from the prior model year.

2.6

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
55,542 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Pontiac G6 lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #15

May 082013

G6

  • 88,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the brake lights would remain illuminated when the brakes were not engaged and failed to illuminate when the brakes were applied. The contact mentioned that the cruise control would disengage independently. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 88,000 and the current mileage was 93,000.

- East Quogue, NY, USA

problem #14

Feb 062012

G6 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the brake lights would illuminate when the brake pedal was not being depressed and they would not illuminate when the brakes were being depressed. The contact also stated that the cruise control would independently activate and deactivate when the brakes were being depressed. The failure mileage was unknown, but the current mileage was 75,000.

- Adrian, MI, USA

problem #13

Apr 082012

G6 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the brake lights failed to illuminate when the brake pedal was depressed. The brake lights also remained illuminated when the brakes were not being engaged. The failure recurred intermittently. In addition, the contact stated that the cruise control engaged and disengaged independently. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or a repair shop for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 75,000. The current mileage was 90,000. Updated 12-16-13 updated 12/18/13

- Pittsboro, IN, USA

problem #12

May 112011

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the brake lights malfunctioned and would not illuminate when the brakes were depressed and when the brakes were not being depressed, the brake lights would remain illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the rear brakes were recalibrated and the brake lights replaced however, the failure recurred. The failure mileage was 35,000 and the current mileage was 42,000. Updated 09/25/13 updated 09/27/2013

- Jenison , MI, USA

problem #11

Oct 152007

G6 4-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. The contact stated while driving various speeds the brake lights would continue to illuminate on there own without depressing the brake pedal. The vehicle was included in the recall under NHTSA campaign number: 09V036000 (exterior lighting). After the dealer repaired the recall, the failure continued to occur. The approximate failure mileage was 1,000...updated 03/18/13 the consumer stated the dealer advised there were no recalls on the vehicle. The failure has caused the drivers of the vehicle to be ticketed. Updated 05/09/2013

- Chesterfeild, VA, USA

problem #10

Jul 152011

G6 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
There is a current recall on the brake lights of the 2005-2006 G6 cars, NHTSA campaign id number: 09V036000. But there are a lot of owners of 2007 cars that are having the exact same issues but we can not get the fixes applied to our cars because it's not covered in the recall dates....you guys should really think about things before you randomly slap a date on things. I bought my G6 in Dec of 2006, I have had issues with the sunroof, the right side headlight wiring melted, the brake lights are coming on by themselves and we are on our third engine, which the dealership said was because we did not change the oil, but they did the oil changes. I am tired of pouring money into this crappy car, the least you guys could do is realize that there were probably some of the same parts on the floor when the next years models were started and the first few months of the next year after they changed the parts are most likely going to be affected by the issues and should be included in the recall.

- Yakima, WA, USA

problem #9

Jun 012011

G6 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2007 Pontiac G6. Consumer writes in regards to recall concerning brake lights dielectric grease the consumer stated he noticed the brake lights were on, when the brake was not being applied, the cruise control would not engage and it was difficult to get the vehicle out of park. Other times the brake lights would not come on when the brake was applied. The consumer discovered recall# 09V036000 which was issued on Jan 28, 2009 to address the very same problem. The recall was for the 2005- 2006 and not the 2007 models which were built in late 2006. The problem was fixed by applying dielectric grease to the C-2 connector, which was the very same fix for the recall.

- Bluemont, VA, USA

problem #8

Jul 222011

G6 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
I have a 2007 Pontiac G6 sedan. Last year my exterior braike lights were struck on. I had my brack switch replaced and had the BCM reprogrammed. It has not even been a year and now my brake lights are struck on again. When I'm driving the lights are on and when I push on the brake they go off. This a safety hazard and very costly seeming how I have to keep getting this issue fixed. I read on the internet this problem exist for many people. Why haven't this been recalled?

- Florissant , MO, USA

problem #7

Aug 092010

G6

  • 21,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the brakes lights would only illuminate and remain illuminated when depressing the accelerator pedal. The brake lights would not illuminate when applying the brakes. In addition, the rotors and brakes needed replacing at 19,000 miles. The tires were also wearing prematurely. The brake lights were repaired under warranty. There were no further repairs. The VIN was unavailable. The current and failure mileages were approximately 21, 000.

- Nanticoke, PA, USA

problem #6

Aug 102010

G6

  • 104,000 miles
Our 2007 G6 has a safety problem that results in the brake lights being on when the brakes are not applied and off when you apply the brakes. We have also experienced cruise control drop out at speed several times as well as difficulties shifting into drive unless extreme pressure is applied to the brake pedal. All three of these concerns line up with NHTSA campaign id number 09V036000 however our vehicle was built after the recall period. GM has been notified of the concern but reports that there are not recall notices or service bulletins for this vehicle. All three symptoms indicate that the recalled connector sited in 09V03600 continues to be a safety concern for vehicles manufactured after the recall period of 2005-2006. Related to, but witnessed before, the brake light problems on our vehicle I followed a G6 on I75 North of auburn hills mi that had it's brake lights illuminated while at speed but they turned off when the driver slowed due to traffic. This is a concerning safety problem that must be addressed.

- Flushing, MI, USA

problem #5

Aug 012010

G6

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

NHTSA campaign id number: 09V036000 unfortunately does not cover 2007 model year Pontiac G6 vehicles and I am experiencing the exact same issue. This is a safety hazard with the potential for major injury. The brake lights come on at random and turn off when the brake pedal is pressed. From your own bulletin: Brake lamps that are not operating properly may not warn a driver in a following vehicle of the braking status and could lead to a crash without prior warning. All Pontiac G6 models should be included due to the safety issue at hand.

- Pen Argyl, PA, USA

problem #4

Jul 152010

G6

  • 42,000 miles
NHTSA campaign id number: 09V036000 I have the same issue on my 2007 G6.

- Collierville, TN, USA

problem #3

Jun 302009

G6

  • 40,000 miles
I own a 2007 Pontiac G6, purchased in November 2008. After several months, I was alerted by another motorist that my vehicle's brake lights were not illuminated when I stepped on the brake but were illuminated when I was accelerating. The problem appears to be intermittent and the dealer claims to not know how to fix the problem. A recall was issued for 2005 and 2006 models (NHTSA campaign 09V036000) but not the 2007 model. This is extremely dangerous to myself and other drivers on the road.

- Bohemia, NY, USA

problem #2

Nov 112009

G6

  • 66,563 miles
I recently became aware of an issue my 2007 Pontiac G6 is having. People that are following me report that my brake lights are sometimes on when I am not pushing the brakes, and off when I am pushing the brakes. I have also had intermittent issues with my cruise control not working. I found a recall for 2005, and 2006 Pontiac G6's with this exact same problem (NHTSA id# 09V036000). I want you to be aware that this problem is with my 2007 model as well.

- Mansfield, OH, USA

problem #1

Aug 072008

G6

  • 17,000 miles
I have a 2007 Pontiac G6 I just purchased 6-27-07 I am now at about 17,000 miles and my brake lights are turning on when I do not have my foot on the brake pedal.. and when I actually put my foot on the pedal to stop my brake lights turn off... I have had it @ the dealer once already and they said there nothing wrong.. last night I almost got into an accident with another vehicle because my brake lights wouldn't come on when I approached an intersection.. I am afraid if I take the car back to the dealer they are still going to find nothing wrong and the next time I am behind the wheel im afraid I am really going to get hit next time. The brakes have been calibrated which was only a temporary fix... 2 different occasions this has happened and is now continuing...

- Turtle Creek, PA, USA

Not what you are looking for?