Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Steering Problems

2007 Pontiac G6 (Page 3 of 19)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

CarComplaints.com Notes: Unfortunately the 2007 Pontiac G6 continues a serious trend of steering problems from the prior model year.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
16 / 7
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 1
Average Mileage:
93,374 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Pontiac G6 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 3 of 19)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #334

Jun 012015

G6

  • 111,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving to work one day I noticed my steering wheel start to rattle while sitting still at a red light. Later I began feeling the steering wheel jerk to the left. These problems have only gotten worse and this is very dangerous. It is a struggle to drive to work and back trying to keep my car in line. It now swerves both ways and sometimes will not go straight. I have taken it to GM but there was no recall for my make and model. I have read about numerous others with these exact same problems and would really appreciate some sort of answer.

- Pikeville, KY, USA

problem #333

Jul 012015

G6

  • 158,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. While driving approximately 45 mph, the steering wheel started to vibrate and the engine warning light illuminated. The contact stated that this was a recurring failure. The vehicle was driven to a dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician diagnosed that the power steering sensor was defective and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 158,000.

- Gastonia, NC, USA

problem #332

Jul 102015

G6

  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. While driving at approximately 27 mph, the power steering light illuminated and the steering wheel seized. The vehicle was driven to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing. The technician was unable to repair the failure. The vehicle was then driven to an auto part store for another diagnostic testing. The attendant at the store stated that the electric power was failing. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 42,000.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #331

Jun 162015

G6 4-cyl

  • 201,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

During operation all supporting electrical power steering failed, leaving driver unable to steer vehicle, I note that other vehicles have been recalled for same issues during the close production period. [xxx] Pontiac 2007 G6. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Liberty Twp, OH, USA

problem #330

Mar 272015

G6

  • 101,318 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. While driving in reverse at approximately 2 mph, the power steering failed without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the power steering pump and belt needed to be replaced. The steering reservoir was replaced previously due to a leak. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 101,318.

- Cook, MN, USA

problem #329

Dec 102014

G6

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the power steering warning light flashed and suddenly remained illuminated. In addition, the steering wheel was difficult to turn left ot right. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the power steering failed. The vehicle was then taken to a dealer but was not diagnosed or repaired. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 14E044000 (steering) and 15V064000 (steering). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available.

- St Louis , MO, USA

problem #328

Mar 242015

G6

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I am the 2nd owner to a G6 have noticed since about a month or so after purchasing vehicle that when turning at slow speeds there is a clanking/banging noise. Have noticed several others mention of this same issue. Now it shows obvious recall for the U joint for this vehicle, yet both dealerships and Pontiac are only saying it is VIN specific which to me is a crock of (you fill in). There is obviously a problem with this yet they want to do nothing. Guess major accidents or death must need to result in order for them to fix the issue. Also at just any random time the airbag warning will just pop up on my dashboard. Vehicle has been in no accidents, so there should be no reason to that just randomly "poppign up" I will be making formal complaints to BBB and national safety website. If you post a recall for a vehicle, it is not VIN specific as they are all using the same parts. Come on GM we are not idiots here!!!!!

- Cochranville, PA, USA

problem #327

Jan 292015

G6 6-cyl

  • 101,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. When the contact shifted into reverse gear, the steering wheel became difficult to turn. The contact also stated when the brake pedal was depressed it failed to respond. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 101,000. Updated 09/02/15 updated 3/29/2016

- Cook, MN, USA

problem #326

Jun 232015

G6

  • 171,000 miles
Turned left going approximately 30mph lost power steering. Car was hard to turn and luckily I didn't go straight into the bridge. Drove approximately another mile to go home turned left again and lost power steering making the car hard to turn. This happened once before about a month ago and I checked power steering fluid levels which were ok. Once I restarted the car everything went back to normal and had no more problems until yesterday.(6/23/15) I called Pontiac today(6/24/15) they stated there were no recalls for my car concerning the steering. I know there was an update in February of this year concerning Pontiac G6's but I am being told my car is not in that. This problem needs addressed and fixed. I am going to schedule a dealer to look at this issue as soon as I can get it in.

- New Lexington , OH, USA

problem #325

May 012008

G6

  • 23,824 miles
I have been having problems with clunking and rattling in the steering column for years, even shortly after I purchased my vehicle in 2007 the popping began, especially at low speeds.its to the point now that my car feels like its literally going to fall apart with all the rattling and vibrating. GM suggested I rotate tires, resurface rotors, replace tie rods and stabilizer bar control link`. I have paid for all of this at my mechanic and the problem still persists. I have had 2 mechanics(non GM) insist that its the steering column shaft and there have been several complaints about this same exact issue but GM refuses to fix the root of the problem. I believe they lubed the shaft some years ago but that was just a band aid.I understand they were replacing the shafts years ago but stopped because of the high cost for GM. I know that this is and has been my issues over the years and it is only getting worse. They should have fixed it the correct way the first time instead of giving me the run around and having all these other things done to my vehicle when the main issue is the steering column shaft. I have had enough spending money on my vehicle when Pontiac should be held responsible for replacing and or repairing my shaft. Im scared to drive my vehicle at time because im afraid its going to fall apart. Something has got to be done finally this this gone on far too long.

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #324

May 252015

G6

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. While driving at 45 mph, the power steering warning light illuminated. The vehicle became very difficult to steer after the power steering warning light initiated. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or an independent mechanic. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 55,000.

- Iuka, MS, USA

problem #323

Jun 122015

G6

  • 165,000 miles
The power steering lost power while I was in a parking lot. Steering was became manual was extremely difficult. I turned off the car and restarted and the power steering returned to normal. This happened on 6/5/15 and 6/12/15.

- Royal Oak, MI, USA

problem #322

May 222015

G6

  • 107,868 miles
My steering hose is too close to the exhaust so it burned thru the protective sleeve and into the hose causing it to burn and me losing power while steering almost getting in to an accident.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #321

May 232015

G6

  • 178,000 miles
I am having the same problem as hundreds of others. GM continues to ignore the safety of their consumers. I have an 07 Pontiac G6 and while driving on the freeway the power steering light illuminated and the steering became very tight, jerky, and hard to control. It is a miracle I was able to get off the busy freeway without causing an accident. This is the exact same problem other G6 vehicles are having and most have been recalled in campaign 15V064000. The 2007 and my VIN have not been recalled and who but GM knows why they are putting people in danger. There are close to 200 complaints on the NHTSA alone with people having the same problem with the same year. Why on earth is GM refusing to repair these cars like they are doing on other years of the same make and model. This was a dangerous situation to me, and the innocent drivers around me. GM needs to own up to their mistakes and include the rest of the VIN numbers that are having the same issue as the rest of the vehicles that have been recalled.

- Surprise, AZ, USA

problem #320

May 222015

G6

  • 125,000 miles
The power steering went out on my 2007 Pontiac G6. The vehicle was traveling at low speeds. It went out repeatedly. The power steering went out when turning the wheel more than approximately 15 degrees. The steering wheel tightened before going out and was followed by a vehicle alert that the power steering was lost. Power steering was recovered when turning off the car and turning it back on. However, steering continued to go out. It has since been intermittent and does not go out once exceeding approx 15-20 miles per hour.

- Burlingame, CA, USA

problem #319

May 052015

G6

  • miles
When making turns left or right the steering is stiffing and makes it very hard to turn and makes a loud noise

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #318

May 012015

G6

  • 148,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. After driving forty five minutes, the contact parked the vehicle. Once it was restarted, a burning odor was detected and smoke was present. There was a complete loss of power steering and fluid leaked onto the ground. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the power steering lines needed to be replaced. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V153000 (steering) and 14E044000 (steering). The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 148,000.

- Bartlett, TN, USA

problem #317

Jan 212015

G6

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. While driving at 60 mph, the steering wheel seized. As a result, the contact crashed into a divider and the air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed and no injuries were reported. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V064000 (steering). The failure mileage was 150,000.

- Rio Grande, TX, USA

problem #316

Dec 232014

G6 4-cyl

  • 139 miles
Steering makes a vibrating noise, instruments gauge says powering steering, the steering wheel goes left to right and right to left by itself while driving. The driver has little control while this is happening. Recall for steering for these cars announced 2/4/15 but my VIN no was not included but I am experiencing these same issues. Please advise how I can be included in the recall. My car's steering is defective. Please be responsible for reducing deaths and injuries due to motor vehicle crashes. My life and my family's life matters.

- Roanoke, VA, USA

problem #315

Apr 092015

G6 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the steering failed and the vehicle became very difficult to turn. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the electronic power steering unit needed to be replaced. The dealer informed the contact of NHTSA campaign number: 15V064000 (steering) but the vehicle was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was unknown.... updated 06-02-15...updated 06/09/15

- Philidelphia, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?