Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Power Train Problems

2008 Pontiac G6 (Page 3 of 3)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

CarComplaints.com Notes: Unfortunately the 2008 Pontiac G6 continues a serious trend of steering problems from the prior model years.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
71,719 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Pontiac G6 drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 3 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #18

Jun 132012

G6 6-cyl

  • 51,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

A few weeks after I bought the car (had 50K) I knew there was something wrong with it I was entering onto the highway and it was hard to get it to 70 the trans was sputtering and the car was jerking. It does this at all speeds just super scary when im on the highway. Now I was pulling out onto a main road and it would hardly go and said engine power reduced, service traction. Sometimes its not on but it will come back on within a few minutes. When its in this mode it jerks to get it to 25 it feels like the transmission is going it jumps so badly and startles me I scream like a little girl. I made an appointment at GM dealer to look at it they had my car from open to close and told me to come get it and they did not have a chance to look at it. This is a huge safety issue. This car is unsafe. I have a whole list of issues with this car, its junk. I have to hold the key I the on position for up to an 8-9 count for it to start. Wheel shakes when I brake, I have new brakes and rotors still does it even though everything is in good repair. Right blinker does not turn off on its own, the left sometimes does not work either. I have a head light that keeps going out I've replaced it 3 times in 6 months!! the check engine (check gas cap) light is on. The shop said its some type of leak or air flow problem with the gas system. Also sometimes when I turn it on it starts to idle all crazy. This car is to new I take care of it, to be having all these problems im at the shop at least every other week. This car is an unsafe huge annoyance !!

- Westland, MI, USA

problem #17

Nov 122012

G6 6-cyl

  • 67,500 miles
My car was involved in the safety recall 12106. I found this information out via internet prior to the recall taking affect by GM. I took my car into the service dept after being stranded for several hours and having my car towed they stated it was just a bad battery and never even looked at the transmission cable and released my car to my father who is not the legal owner, never even spoke to me. The next day I was stranded again with my small children for a couple of hours in the cold. Had my car towed again to the service dept where they finally looked at the transmission cable. Argued with me that my car was not involved in the recall although I knew it was. I paid for it to be fixed $467.41. They released my vehicle to me several days later as they didn't have anyone for a few days to look at the car. Released the first time unfixed and unsafe and not even to the legal owner which is a huge liability. I took my car to les swab and paid over $100 for a new battery that wasn't needed only to be stranded again the very next day. When we took my car in the first time we told them what was wrong due to the recall I found online and they never even looked at the transmission cable per the service manager. This whole process took about a week and a half. They did provide me a rental car for 3 days which they covered. This was a very stressful situation and no one believed me that there was a recall. Recalls should really be put out asap as I happened to have this issue prior to the release date of the recall. I have filed a complaint with the BBB and have been told I should consult with a lawyer for releasing my car unfixed, unsafe and not to the legal owner. I should be compensated for my time, stress and their lack of responsibility for releasing my vehicle unsafe.

- Spokane Valley, WA, USA

problem #16

Nov 282012

G6

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that she attempted to schedule repairs to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 12V460000 (power train:automatic transmission:gear position indication (prndl)). Upon contacting the dealer, the contact was informed that the part would not become available until the end of January 2013. The contact stated that the remedy should have been available immediately, due to the severity of the consequences pertaining to the acknowledged defect. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Shoreline, WA, USA

problem #15

Nov 212012

G6

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Pontiac G6. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number 12V460000 (power train:automatic transmission:gear position indication (prndl) and contacted the dealer. The dealer advised the contact that the remedy part would not become available until January 2013. The recall was expected to begin November 12, 2012. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Kanasa City, MO, USA

problem #14

Oct 102012

G6

  • 51,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that when shifting into reverse, he had to use extreme force in order to move the gear shifter. The vehicle was able to be driven to the dealer where it was confirmed that the shift cable failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the issue and informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 12V460000 (power train:automatic transmission:gear position indication (prndl)). The failure mileage was 51,000 and the current mileage 52,550.

- Haverhill, MA, USA

problem #13

Oct 192012

G6 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the shift cable to the engine became disconnected and caused the gear shift not to lock into position. The contact stated that when they tried to park the vehicle, the vehicle rolled away and the emergency brake had to be utilized. The contact stated that the vehicle would not start after the failure. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer however, the dealer was not able to provide a reason for the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The failure and the current mileages were 50,000. Updated 12/06/12 the dealer replaced the shift cable and shift cable bracket. Updated 12/06/12

- Westmifflin, PA, USA

problem #12

Oct 012009

G6

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the gear shifter failed and the vehicle could not be engaged in park. The contact inspected the vehicle and located the failure as the gear shifter plastic insert failing due to defective plastic that became overheated by the motor. The gear shifter assembly was replaced six times however, the failure was not corrected. The vehicle was not repaired. The dealer was contacted and advised the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 12V460000 (power train: Automatic transmission: Gear position indication (prndl) the approximate failure mileage was 60,000 and the current mileage was 106,000.

- Carthage , TX, USA

problem #11

Jul 242012

G6

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Pontiac G6. The contact stated the transmission shift lever broke. As a result, the gear shift failed to shift out of park. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who inspected the vehicle and replaced the transmission shift cable. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance. The failure mileage was 40,000.

- Hershey , PA, USA

problem #10

May 012012

G6

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the gear shifter would not engage in park or reverse. As a result, the vehicle rolled away while still in park. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer to have a diagnostic performed. The manufacturer was contacted and advised the contact that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign id number: 12V460000 (power train: Automatic transmission: Gear position indication (prndl). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 75,000 and the current mileage was 80,000.

- Fort Riley, KS, USA

problem #9

Aug 202012

G6

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the vehicle would not remain secure in park. The indicator display determined showed that the vehicle was in park however, the shifter continued to slip from park. The vehicle was towed to a private mechanic where it was confirmed that the shift cable failed. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 12V460000 (power train:automatic transmission:gear position indication). The failure and current mileages were 80,000.

- Fountain, FL, USA

problem #8

May 102012

G6 6-cyl

  • 110,523 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Gear shift cable dislodged from the gear shift arm as I was putting the car into park. Car was left in drive and rolled forward to the curb & the car simultaneously shut off and was not able to be restarted. The gear shifter in the inside console was limp and able to move from gear to gear without pressing the release button. When I opened the hood this morning, I could see the plastic eyelet that is supposed to be attached to the inside orifice of the gear shift cable broke off. I keep my parking brake on and shifted the car to drive (with the engine off) and re-attached the gear shift cable to the shift arm. I was then able to shift the car into park and re start the car. In order to make it to the dealer, the gear shift cable is duct taped to the arm so it won't bounce off and stall the car while driving. It seems the 2007, 2009, 2010 models have recalls for this same problem. When will the 2008 be recalled before it is too late? thankfully this happened in my parking lot but if I was on the highway, the car would have lost all power, resulting in danger to myself and other motorists.

- East Windsor, NJ, USA

problem #7

Mar 012012

G6

  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the vehicle would not respond while the gear shifter was in drive. The contact shifted into park and the vehicle began to roll away. The contact the N shifted to neutral and applied the emergency brake to stop the vehicle. The contact restarted the vehicle one hour later and the gear shifter functioned as normal. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostics where the technician advised that the shifter cable would have to be replaced. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 09V073000 (power train:automatic transmission:lever and linkage:column shift) but was advised by the manufacturer that the VIN was not included in the recall. The recall only included the 2009 model Pontiac G6 vehicles. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 52,000.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #6

May 012011

G6 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Vehicle will not engage in park, must shift into neutral to start vehicle. When gear selector is in the "park" position, vehicle does not actually engage in park and will roll. Parking/emergency brake prevents rolling, but this is a serious safety issue if one forgets to engage parking brake, or if the parking brake ever failed. Dealer states the shift cable and bracket need to be replaced at a cost of $282. This appears to be a problem in other Pontiac G6 model years, and other GM vehicles some of which have been recalled for the problem, why is the 2008 model year not included?

- Kittery, ME, USA

problem #5

Jun 152011

G6

  • 98,672 miles
My problems started with the catalytic converter which failed and the dealer told me it was not covered under warranty which I later found out it was up to 100,000 miles. Next my airbag service light keeps coming on and now my traction control comes on and my engine powers down and I slow down at a rapid rate. Yesterday I was going down the interstate at 65 mph and the traction control light came on and the car completely lost all power almost causing me to crash and get hit by a tractor trailer and now it will not start.

- Rockport, WV, USA

problem #4

Sep 172011

G6 6-cyl

  • 69,000 miles
Vehicle would not restart in park. After getting the vehicle to start in neutral the vehicle would roll away in park gear. The vehicle would not act as if it was in a correct gear and it did not want to go in reverse. I took my vehicle in to have it service. It was repaired and finally was told that the gear shift cable was replaced. I initially took my vehicle in 9 days (7/25/11( after purchased (7/14/11 purchased date) back to the auto store to tell them my car acts as if I did not want to get gears or it would act ask it wanted to cut off in park. I was told nothing was wrong with my vehicle. After the car would not restart I took it back and told them the car would not start and it was still acting the same from my first visit on 7/25/11. After research, I realized that some 2009 Pontiac G6 were recalled due to gear shift cables. Mines is a 2008 that experience the same problem.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #3

Jun 072011

G6

  • 64,500 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that when placing the vehicle into park, the vehicle would independently shift into reverse. The vehicle was not inspected by a dealer nor repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and they offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 64,500.

- South Ben, IN, USA

problem #2

Sep 262009

G6

  • 18,412 miles
I was taking my grandma to the store, I made a right turn into the lot (5-10 mph tops) when suddenly my car came to an abrupt halt. I got out of my car to find that my right front tire snapped off. It is a 2008 G6 and is only 1 1/2 years old. I did not hit or run over anything. I am very disturbed at the thought of what could have happened had I been on the highway (which I travel very frequently). This is a safety hazard. Please do something before someone gets killed. My car is presently at the shop.

- Glenolden, PA, USA

problem #1

Jun 232008

G6

  • miles
I bought the car brand new with 5 miles in April with the extended warranty. At around 5500 miles, the car first stalled. It started back up that day without issue and without any warning lights so I didn't think much of it. After that, it would stall maybe once a week. This happened up until about 6200 miles. After that, I was getting check engine lights, reduced engine power(which was very sporadic), service traction, and engine lugging. It continued to stall 3 times a week or so. I have had it in twice to the dealership. The first time they could not replicate the issue. The next time which was just last week, they replaced the maf sensor. The car was fine for 4 days and it again, stalled as I was turning onto a state highway. It took 8 cranks to restart. It was fine for 2 days, then acted up again yesterday. It didn't stall, but the service traction, and check engine lights were on. Onstar has given me codes from the air intake system to the throttle control. The dealership itself does a good job and if its not acting up I know that there isn't anything they could do. However, researching the internet I found some GM Yukon having alot of the same issues related to wiring.

- Columbiana, OH, USA

Not what you are looking for?