Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Visibility: Glass, Side/Rear Problems

2004 Pontiac Vibe (Page 1 of 2)

CarComplaints.com Notes: The Pontiac Vibe is the mechanical twin of the Toyota Matrix.

Both models were a joint GM-Toyota venture, manufactured together at a NUMMI production facility in Fremont, CA. Only the heating & A/C systems are different.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
63,651 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Pontiac Vibe windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Pontiac Vibe:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Pontiac Vibe Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #25

Oct 172015

Vibe

  • 188,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Pontiac Vibe. While closing the driver side window, the window shattered without warning and the pieces struck the contact's face. The contact stated that pieces of glass stuck to her face and required medical attention. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was 188,000.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #24

Aug 082012

Vibe

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Pontiac Vibe. The contact stated that the driver side window regulator mechanism failed. In addition, the driver side window made an abnormal noise, contained a deep, horizontal crack, and was becoming off track. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 08V162000 (visibility). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Norwell, MA, USA

problem #23

May 162014

Vibe

  • 200,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Pontiac Vibe. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 08V162000 (visibility). The contact mentioned that after the repairs were completed, the door glass became separated from the window regulator and caused the window to become stuck. The technician advised the contact that the regulator was fractured and needed to be replaced. The contact felt that the failure was due to the recall not rectifying the initial failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 200,000.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #22

Jun 112011

Vibe 4-cyl

  • 87,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Pontiac Vibe. The contact stated that as she closed the front passenger side window, it shattered. The vehicle was not taken to have the failure diagnosed or repaired. Prior to the failure, the contact would intermittently hear a popping noise coming from the window. The failure and current mileages were 87,000. Updated 8/29/11 updated 09/16/11

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #21

Apr 302011

Vibe 4-cyl

  • 144,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Pontiac Vibe. The contact stated the vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 08V162000 (visibility:glass, side/rear). Approximately two years later while driving approximately 20 mph, the contact attempted to close the front passenger side window when the glass dropped down into the door panel. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that the front passenger window regulator was missing. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 144,000. The dealer informed the consumer the problem was with the regulator and motor. The consumer believed the bolt failed and the regulator became detached. The consumer believed the recall that was performed two years prior was shoddy or that the power windows were just defective and prone to safety problems. Updated 06/09/11

- Arlington, VA, USA

problem #20

Jun 082008

Vibe 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,627 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Pontiac Vibe. The contact is experiencing failure with the windows on his vehicle. When he rolls down the windows, it sounds as if a twelve gauge shotgun was fired. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number 08V162000 (visibility:glass, side/rear) and took the vehicle to have it repaired. The manager at the dealer and the service manager heard the noise, but could not provide a remedy. The vehicle was repaired four times and is scheduled for its fourth repair next week. The failure mileage was 41,627. Updated 09/29/08. Updated 09/29/08. The consumer stated the issue was with the driver's side window. The consumer stated the problem started after the recall was performed. Updated 10/18/08.

- Clinton Twnshp, MI, USA

problem #19

Apr 242006

Vibe

  • 102,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 08V162000 (visibility:glass, side/rear). The failure previously occurred on April 24, 2006; however, the contact was unaware of any recalls at the time and paid for the repair. The driver side window was popping as stated in the recall. He took the vehicle to the dealer for the free repair, but the window continued to pop and make clicking noises. The manufacturer stated that because of the age and mileage of the vehicle, they would not cover the cost of any future repairs to the windows. The failure mileage was 102,000 and current mileage was 107,000. Updated 07/15/08. Updated 07/15/08

- West Plains, MO, USA

problem #18

Jun 032008

Vibe

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Pontiac Vibe. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer for NHTSA campaign id number 08V162000 (visibility:glass, side/rear). He was informed that the repair had previously been performed on the vehicle. The contact tested his windows before leaving the dealer along with a salesperson. They discovered that the windows were still making a popping noise as if they were about to shatter. The salesperson almost jumped into the other seat when he tested the window. The current and failure mileages were unavailable.

- Bryans Road, MD, USA

problem #17

Jun 182007

Vibe

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Pontiac Vibe. On June 18, 2007 and June 25, 2007, while the vehicle was parked, the front passenger side window shattered. A couple of days later, the rear passenger window shattered. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the windows were repaired. On May 29, 2008, the contact received a safety recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 08V162000 (visibility:glass, side/rear). When the contact called Pontiac regarding reimbursement for the windows, he was asked to forward a fax of the repair invoice, in addition to a fax from the place where the windows were repaired. This information was sent to Pontiac, but now they want to know if the bolts were repaired as well as the windows. The reimbursement will most likely be denied. A police report was filed. The current mileage was 52,000 and the failure mileage was unavailable. Updated 6/16/08 updated 06/16/08

- Laurel, MD, USA

problem #16

Sep 252007

Vibe 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Pontiac Vibe. While driving 5 mph and operating the driver side front window, the contact heard a grinding noise and a pop sound. The following day, she attempted to put down the power driver side window, but the window would not go down. The grinding noises continued. The contact was unsure if the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign id number 08V162000 (visibility:glass, side/rear). The failure mileage was 75,000. Updated 05/19/08. Updated 05/19/08.

- Circleville, OH, USA

problem #15

Mar 062008

Vibe 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased 2004 Pontiac Vibe from a dealership. Noticed right away problem with windows "clanking", "shaking" when in operation. Dealer was waiting on part to correct problem. On my way to work and dropping my daughter off at school, I lowered driver side window to check mail box. Upon closing window, it shattered all over me and inside of car. (this while car was in motion!) needless to say, I missed work and my daughter missed classes that day as we waited on dealer to pick up car for repair. Window was "repaired" but problem continued. To this date am not able to use any of the windows as the passenger side has same problem as well as rear!! we are entering hot temperatures and would like to be able to lower windows for air when air conditioning should not be required. Not to mention when needed in drive through situations (bank, etc.) please advise as to "where do we go from here." Thank you for your kind attention to this matter.

- Fletcher, NC, USA

problem #14

Jun 102007

Vibe 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
During January of 2007 I noticed that my driver's side window was making a rattling noise everytime I would open and shut my door. I needed to get some work done so I took my car to the dealer for a regular tune up and mentioned the rattling in the door and my concern with the window. After my car was returned they had assured me that my window was looked at and nothing was wrong with it. After a couple months the rattling started again. One warm night I had my window down and after trying to put it up, my window came up crooked. I slowly put my window down and tried to pull it up slowly and straight in fear of rain that night. After one time of trying to put it back up my window shattered on me while sitting in my driver's seat. I was covered in glass and suffered from minor glass cuts. There are still pieces of glass I am finding throughout my driver's side door. After getting my window fixed a couple days later I was told that my window should be stable and in working properly. By the end of October, I started noticing a noise coming out of the top left corner of the driver's side window. I noticed that my window was out of place and there is a quarter of an inch of window that does not meet the seal. Along the edges the seal is starting to peal out and there is air getting through. This has also started along the front passenger side window as well. In December of 2007 I went to put my window down at a drive through and found that my window, once again, was coming in crooked. Although it hasn't shattered again on me yet, there is still a gap between the window and the seal.

- Northfield, OH, USA

problem #13

May 242007

Vibe 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles
Rolling up driver side window the window popped and shattered. I took it to a dealer and had it replaced - $250. It had recently come off track again and while looking under the door panel myself I can see where the bolt is grinding into the door and not moving all the way up the track.

- Greenville, OH, USA

problem #12

Jan 212008

Vibe

  • miles
The drivers side front window makes a strange popping noise when closing. It sounds like it's trying to crack.

- Saint Anne, IL, USA

problem #11

Dec 032007

Vibe 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,940 miles
Passenger window shattered while driving down the road.

- Flushing, MI, USA

problem #10

Oct 202007

Vibe 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 43,000 miles
Driver side window started making noises when putting it up. As time went on, the noises got worse, until the window finally shattered. We had the window replaced, and shortly after that, the same problem started to happen again.

- Anderson, CA, USA

problem #9

Sep 292007

Vibe 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles
I am a resident of Canada but think you should here my complaint. We have heard a clicking noise in the front passenger window of our 2004 Pontiac Vibe. The window finally failed and came off the track and right out of the outside of the frame while driving down the road. Luckily we did not use it any more until we went to the dealer and they put it back on track and in place. They then told us it would cost almost $400 to repair a stripped window regulator. Our warranty was up 3 months ago due to timing. There is still only 35000miles on vehicle. We did not have the repair and contacted G.M. Canada they said they would look into it, have not heard back. I then seen the articles that nhts is investigating many similar failures in other Vibes. I contacted Transport Canada but their investigator did not think it was safety related. That is why I am contacting you to make sure this problem is brought to your attention. It definitely think it is safety related as far as I'm concerned and think the manufacturer should be made recall and repair these vehicles.

- Chesley, 00, USA

problem #8

Oct 172007

Vibe 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 97,700 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Pontiac Vibe. The contact heard a loud pop when he raised the passenger side front window. The front part of the window detached from the door and a small part of the window came apart. As of October 18, 2007, the dealer had not inspected the vehicle. There is a defect investigation open for the visibility: Glass, side/rear (NHTSA action number PE07049). The current and failure mileages were 97,700.

- Bolingbrook, IL, USA

problem #7

Oct 152007

Vibe 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 54,000 miles
My 2004 Pontiac Vibe drivers side window exploded. I heard a metal clang, like a part falling off inside the door when the window was rolled down. Shortly window afterward the driver side window exploded cutting my wife who was driving at the time.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #6

Oct 012007

Vibe 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Drivers side power window produces metallic rubbing sound upon raising or lowering window glass.

- Canton, MI, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?