Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Power Train Problems

CarComplaints.com Seal Of

CarComplaints.com Notes: The Pontiac Vibe is the mechanical twin of the Toyota Matrix.

Both models were a joint GM-Toyota venture, manufactured together at a NUMMI production facility in Fremont, CA. Only the heating & A/C systems are different.

3.4

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
38,886 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Pontiac Vibe drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Pontiac Vibe:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Pontiac Vibe Owner Comments

problem #8

Dec 122007

Vibe

  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac Vibe. While driving approximately 30 mph with the brake pedal engaged, the vehicle decelerated independently to 20 mph. The failure recurred numerous times intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 25,000.

- Mesquite , NV, USA

problem #7

Nov 022012

Vibe 4-cyl

  • 65,284 miles
This vehicle was driving down the road at highway speed and failed to respond to throttle. There was lots of traffic and this nearly caused an accident. The part that failed is the ECM/PCM and gave a code: P0604 and P0607. This part has recalls which apply to it, however, our manufacturer says the vehicle is not covered by this recall. If there is a recall on some of the vehicles how can the others be perfectly fine" the year coverage is from before and after this model year and yet only certain cars of this time frame are covered" stay away from these vehicles. They will kill you, they are unsafe and unreliable. Major safety hazard.

- Dubuque, IA, USA

problem #6

Nov 012010

Vibe

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac Vibe. The contact stated that the vehicle would vibrate abnormally and shifting was difficult. The contact later received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 10V387000 (engine and engine cooling), and the vehicle was taken to the dealer for repairs. After repairs, the failure persisted and the dealer advised the contact that there was nothing wrong with the vehicle. The contact did not inform the manufacturer of the failure. The current mileage was 61,000 and the failure mileage was unknown.

- East Emerst, NY, USA

problem #5

Feb 092007

Vibe 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After 27 September 2010 "Pontiac" finally "officially" advised of "important safety notice" regarding my 2007 Vibe, equipped with 1.8L mfi engine and 2 wheel drive transmission. On 3 December 2010, GM issued a "parts availability update" to dealers that replacement parts would not be available until mid-January and advising dealers they would be advised just before "recall notification letters" are issued. On 11 January 2011, the NHTSA ODI website indicated the safety recall is expected to begin on or about 14 jaunary. Contacted my dealer 11 January 2011 who advised that my VIN is "not currently listed a part of a recall." Found this odd since my vehicle has one of the recalled engine control modules (ecms), specifically part number 89661-02K30, which is one of two part numbers found on essentially all 2007 Pontiac Vibes and Toyota matrixs with above engine and transmission. Contacted GM customer no service at 1-800-762-2737 and received an incredibly self-serving line of "double-speak" clearly designed to not address my complaint. Essentially, the way this "game" works is that no vehicle already known to have a defective ECM is "official" identified in GM's database as "recalled" until they actually send out the second "recall" notices - notices that have been delayed over 4 months. GM won't even admit to their own dealers, much less their customers, that a GM vehicle with a defective ECM is in fact defective until they have parts in had to affect the repairs. Meanwhile they are deliberately leading their "customers" to believe they have a "safe" vehicle, knowing full well this is not the case. It is now 9 April and the notices for 2007 and 2008 Vibes have still not been issued, a delay that is now seven (7) months and counting. Again request a criminal investigation into unconsciousness practice and appropriate action take to compel GM to cease and desist this despicable, if not criminal behavior!

- Williamsburg, VA, USA

problem #4

Mar 152011

Vibe 4-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
I own an '07 Pontiac Vibe. On March of 2011 the car stalled pulling into a turning lane. Took a minute then started back up and drove about 5 miles. Later that day, the car stalled coming to a stop with all lights still on. Would not start at all that night and had to leave it stranded on the side of the highway. Next day, the vehicle started then made it about three miles to the nearest mechanic shop. They informed us that we would need to get the vehicle taken to a official GM dealer. That our PCM was the problem. The car did not start up again after that and had to be towed there for the cost of 65 dollars. I started doing my research on this part to get a better handle on the problem and what is would cost. I found that the "recall" for this part on '05 through '08 models was taking place. When I contacted to dealer about this they had no idea about the issue, and GM said my VIN number was not part of the recall. After contacting customer service about this (a very time consuming procedure) they admitted that there was in fact a recall. After the car had been at the dealership for a week I finally get a phone call telling me the PCM has been replaced but that my throttle positioning sensors were "off" and that it was to cost $864. Frustrated with the situation and still wanting to educate myself I kept doing research and calling mechanics (specifically my trusted mechanic, not con-artists) concluding that the PCM fails at its soldering points and creates a gap in the metal creating an arc destroying the next in line, which is the throttle positioning sensors. So I contact GM further to get that replace being as the bad PCM is the cause. Now the customer service agent has passed the case to her service manager. Now I am receiving nothing but a runaround and do not understand how they can conduct business in this way. My hopes are pretty low about the outcome.I have been car-less for two weeks now and yes it is my only one. I will never buy a GM vehicle again.

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #3

Feb 092007

Vibe 4WD 4-cyl

  • 0 miles
After 27 September 2010 "Pontiac" finally "officially" advised of "important safety notice" regarding my 2007 Vibe, equipped with 1.8L mfi engine and 2 wheel drive transmission. On 3 December 2010, GM issued a "parts availability update" to dealers that replacement parts would not be available until mid-January and advising dealers they would be advised just before "recall notification letters" are issued. Today, 11 January 2011, the NHTSA ODI website indicates that safety recall is expected to begin on or about 14 jaunary. Contacted my dealer 11 January 2011 who advises that my VIN is "not currently listed a part of a recall." Found this odd since my vehicle has one of the recalled engine control modules (ecms), specifically part number 89661-02K30, which is one of two part numbers found on essentially all 2007 Pontiac Vibes and Toyota matrixs with above engine and transmission. Contacted GM customer no service at 1-800-762-2737 and received an incredibly self-serving line of "double-speak" clearly designed to not address my complaint. Essentially, the way this "game" works is that no vehicle already known to have a defective ECM is "official" identified in GM's database as "recalled" until they actually send out the second "recall" notices - notices that have been delayed over 4 months. GM won't even admit to their own dealers, much less their customers, that a GM vehicle with a defective ECM is in fact defective until they have parts in had to affect the repairs. Meanwhile they are deliberately leading their "customers" to believe they have a "safe" vehicle, knowing full well this is not the case. Request a criminal investigation into this unconsciousness practice and appropriate action take to compel GM to cease and desist this despicable, if not criminal behavior. Please do post this on your website!

- Williamsburg, VA, USA

problem #2

Nov 012010

Vibe

  • 60,000 miles
Check engine light on, transmission fluid black, and hard shifting of the automatic transmission, diagnostic code P2716.

- Duluth, MN, USA

problem #1

Sep 202008

Vibe

  • 40,800 miles
My 2007 Pontiac Vibe was acting like it wanted to stall. Also rough starts and no acceleration. I found out through the service light that it was a bad P.C.U. I replaced and now it is fine. Vibe just had 40,000 miles on it I had to pay for it myself. I searched on computer and a lot of people have similar problems. But theirs was covered under warranty. Thank you for looking into this and have a great day.

- Canton, MI, USA

Not what you are looking for?