Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Air Bags Problems

2007 Saturn Sky (Page 6 of 8)

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,281 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Saturn Sky seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Saturn Sky:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Saturn Sky Owner Comments (Page 6 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #57

Jun 172014

Sky 4-cyl

  • 35,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My airbag sensor quit working. At this low mileage there should not be an issue. Now my car is out of warranty and I'm forced to pay to have it fixed out of pocket. From my research this appears to be a common issue. I encourage the NHTSA to investigate the issue and have GM recall vehicles with a similar issue. It is for the safety of the public.

- San Jose , CA, USA

problem #56

Mar 012014

Sky 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Service air bag warning is activated due to a defective sensor which results in air bag not functioning properly or being deployed in the event of an accident. This is an obvious safety concern that should be addressed by recall.

- Spring Hill, FL, USA

problem #55

Aug 012013

Sky 4-cyl

  • miles
Revs forward by reving forward I mean that when I come to a stop the car goes forward many times until I complete a stop and everytime that happens engine light goes on. I have already change the brakes and still problem continues. Air bag I have fixed it when it when off and spend around $1100 in total and months later when on again. I really dont have the money to fix it anymore so please help and fix my car.

- Ashburn, VA, USA

problem #54

Mar 062014

Sky 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Sky. The contact stated the reasonable amount of time had passed in order to have repairs performed for recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V171000 (electrical system). The dealer stated the part was not available for repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the problem. The vehicle had not exhibited the failure. Updated 08/14/2014's

- Hillsboro , OR, USA

problem #53

May 292014

Sky 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Sky. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph and applying the brakes, the engine stalled without warning and caused the driver to crash into another vehicle. The driver sustained injuries to the back. The vehicle was destroyed and a police report was not filed. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V171000 (electrical system) was received March 2012 however, the dealer had advised that the part was not available and placed the contact on a waiting list. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure and the current mileage was 70,000. Updated 08/14/2014

- Roanoke Rapids, NC, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #52

Mar 152013

Sky 4-cyl

  • 92,000 miles
The Saturn Sky was purchased with a failed sensor on the passenger side seat for the airbag. Upon research I discovered that this is a known issue with the Saturn Sky and Pontiac solstice. It affects multiple years and GM has known about it since it started happening. Yet upon review there has not been a recall issued for this problem. This is clearly a safety issue in regards to the safety of the passenger in a two seat car. GM is now issuing recalls for almost everything and I have read multiple reports to your organization in regards to the airbag sensor problem, but GM does nothing. When is this issue going to be taken seriously? I wish I had the statistics on how many have been injured or killed due to this failed sensor so I could include that.

- Kempner, TX, USA

problem #51

Apr 022014

Sky

  • 37,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Sky. The contact stated that the air bag indicator illuminated in the vehicle. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer and was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 37,000.

- Elizabethtown, PA, USA

problem #50

May 162014

Sky 4-cyl

  • 75,983 miles
Upon entering the vehicle on Friday, May 16th, 2014 I noticed the service airbag soon light and notification were displayed on the dic. After startup and vehicle system check the lights remained on and will not go out.

- Moncks Corner, SC, USA

problem #49

May 152014

Sky 4-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
My vehicle's air bag light came on and I had it inspected by keyes Chevrolet, a registered Saturn servicer. He informed me that the passenger side airbag module was faulty and it would be about 900-1000 dollars to fix it. They didn't print me the estimate or the part number. I went to an independent mechanic who said the part was indeed around 500 dollars, but the airbag sensor should not be faulty after only 62,000 miles. My extended service plan through Ford refuses to cover this extreme safety hazard. If anything ever happened to me or my passenger due to this issue I would absolutely file a lawsuit. This is not something I should have to pay nearly a thousand dollars to fix especially since I am going through a recall right now with the ignition- and they still do not have the parts in, may car could slip into drive or reverse while in park and they said it would take 2 months to get the recall parts in? this is all terrifying and unacceptable.

- Burbank, CA, USA

problem #48

Apr 192014

Sky

  • 93,000 miles
Service airbag light came on in vehicle. I took vehicle to dealer within 48 hours and they diagnosed it as a faulty passenger airbag sensor. I currently have no working airbags on the passenger side of the vehicle.

- Dunedin, FL, USA

problem #47

Mar 062014

Sky

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Sky. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id numbers: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system) and 14V171000 (electrical system), however the parts needed to complete each recall service were not available. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for when the remedy parts would become available. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Randolph, NJ, USA

problem #46

Apr 012014

Sky 4-cyl

  • miles
Sensor in passenger seat.

- Hixson, TN, USA

problem #45

Apr 302014

Sky 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
I have had 2 Saturn Sky's, both have randomly disabled their airbags while driving due to a faulty sensor in the passenger seat. When I went online I found this is a common problem and even read news broadcasts about this specific sensor failing. The following website is one of those stories. My dealership has stated that it is not a recall matter. www.wsmv.com/story/24037545/devices-triggering-passenger-air-bags-repeatedly-recalled

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #44

Mar 032014

Sky

  • 42,000 miles
The passenger airbag sensor came on. This should be part of the GM recall before somebody gets hurt or killed.

- Fullerton, CA, USA

problem #43

May 242013

Sky 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
Saturn 2007 Sky airbag light came on about at 70,000 miles passenger side. A lot of Saturn Skys are having this problem and it needs attention immediately!!!!!!!

- Plainfield , IL, USA

problem #42

May 242013

Sky 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
Saturan 2007 Sky airbag light came on about at 70,000 miles passenger side. A lot of Saturn Skys are having this problem and it needs attention immediately!!!!!!!

- Plainfield , IL, USA

problem #41

Mar 152013

Sky 4-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
Air bag sensor in passenger seat is defective. Light comes on, indicating sensor problem. This makes it impossible to pass safety inspections in the state of Virginia. Looking at $800 to replace what appears to be a known problem in these cars.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #40

Apr 052014

Sky

  • miles
Air bag sensor are malfunctioning on this model car and are not being addressed by GM. If air bags fail to deploy during a crash passengers could by fatally injured.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #39

Mar 172011

Sky 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Sky. The contact stated that he started the vehicle and the air bag light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection and they stated that the air bag sensor in the passenger seat was defective and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 40,000. Updated 05/28/14 updated 05/30/2014

- Catonsville, MD, USA

problem #38

Mar 012011

Sky 4-cyl

  • 29,000 miles
In March 2011 passenger side airbag sensor failed. Never in an accident. $700 to replace. Now, March 2014: Mileage 44,000. Again never in an accident. Airbag sensor and diagnostic module failure. It will be $821 to replace.

- Schererville, IN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?