Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Air Bags: Frontal: Sensor/Control Module Problems

2.7

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,116 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Saturn Vue seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Saturn Vue:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Saturn Vue Owner Comments

problem #4

Sep 062009

Vue

  • 57,632 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Saturn Vue. The contact stated that the air bag warning light remained illuminated on the instrument panel. As a consequence, in a situation that warrants, the air bags may fail to deploy. The contact is aware that a serious injury could occur in the event of a crash. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and a technician concluded that the air bag control module needed to be replaced; however, since the parts were on back order no repairs were made. The failure and current mileages were 57,632.

- Lansdale, PA, USA

problem #3

Nov 012007

Vue 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,550 miles
The switch in the airbag module gets stuck and the horn blows continuously and when it wants to; it has failed for me at least 6 times in one day before burning out the horn. Then after a body control module was replaced (not needed) and the horn the following Tuesday the horn began to blow out of control again. I have had to disable the horn (a safety feature of a car) to keep from it blowing more.

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #2

Mar 102007

Vue 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,101 miles
Failed vti transmission..started on 12/03/03 with 9199 miles. Reduced power light, car would not go when placed in gear, fix-code P0107, map sensor low circuit voltage transmission control system on 6/28/04 with N14807 miles. Wrench lit, Saturn allegedly not found on 12-02-04 with 20178 miles not properly shifting, wrench light, fixed. Dtc B2707 into shift lock transmission on 6/30/05 with 27797 miles ses light, not found. On 7/17/06 with 48664 mi.les wont shift gears. Fix total rebuild as per Saturn extended warranty. On 11/21/06 4with 8664 miles not shifting, stopped, then went into heavy traffic. Would not go in reverse, fix ed again. On 3/10/07 with 50107 miles stopped in heavy traffic then went. Intermitently shook in heavy traffic when at operating temperatures. As per Saturn not found. Also, air bag/horn issues, on 1/31/06 with 38441 miles air bag light was on..Saturn alleged not found on 4/10/06, and on 41040 miles again air bag li, as per Saturn dtcb1800472, ,dtcb1001, replaced modual assembly.was charged $578.40.after that horn was going on own, assumed was part of alarm system. Horn burned out, and Saturn wanta about $1500 to repair when there iwas a an admitted design flaw. Alarm system was verified by outside source operational, not even sure if air bag will deploy in an accident.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #1

Feb 092007

Vue 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,180 miles
It started with having strange clicking in the turn signals. Then the temp light would come on and the needle would bury itself into the red portion of the dial. We noticed no smell or problems with driving the car and the radiator and coolant resevior checked out to be fine. Next came the oil light on after we had already had the oil changed. Then the air bag light would stay on longer after starting the car. Then as suddenly as things started, everything went back to normal except the turn signals. A few weeks later it began. This time with the horn getting stuck, then the service light coming on and staying on along with the oil light. Then the airbag light started staying on longer and longer. By this time it is winter and I'm hearing strange sounds from the front of the car. One day we notice the horn is no longer working and the front end sound like it's going to fall off. We're afraid to use the heater defroster too much for fear the car may over heat. I take the vehicle in for oil change and diagnotic. It was not bought at a Saturn dealer. I am told that the housing for the oil filter is broken and needs replacing. I pay for half of that. I need new links in the front. The horn works. The temp gauge is going into the red. After I explained what was going on with the gauges. It was suggested I take it to a Saturn dealer. I went to my local Saturn dealer and they replaced the front links. They diagnosed the other problems as: Airbag steer wheel contacts collapsed - $800, shorted BCM- $449, horn shorted- $101, fuse blown-$23.60, not including labor. Spoke with Saturn Corp, they have agreed to pay $500 toward repair of airbag as long as we go to the Saturn dealer. Presently we're seeking monetary assistance from the selling dealership which has moved over 50 miles away. This case is still pending.

- Des Plaines, IL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?