If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

2003 Saturn Vue transmission NHTSA complaints: Power Train:Automatic Transmission

NHTSA — Power Train: Automatic Transmission Problems

2003 Saturn Vue (Page 3 of 6)

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
33,269 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Saturn Vue transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Saturn Vue:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Saturn Vue Owner Comments (Page 3 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #67

Aug 012007

Vue 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Total failure of the vti transmission (Saturn Vue 2003, 4 cyl). Replaced 3 times. Car junked, waste of over $20,000, I can't believe there has been no recall. Multiple consumer complaints. Contact me, anyone so I can get on class action lawsuit. Saturn service and products terrible.

- Pearland, TX, USA

problem #66

Jun 012007

Vue 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 79,000 miles
After regular preventative maintenance, 2003 Saturn Vue has continuously experienced transmission problems from 70,000K point on. Vehicle drops gear (often in busy traffic, at intersections, occasionally while just traveling down a road at 30-40 mph), does not shift into higher gear (causing sudden loss of speed during highway travel), makes loud grinding noises while turning and accelerating and otherwise fails to operate properly. Recently had vehicle serviced ($1,000 in charges) and was told that modular was cracked and transmission fluid needed replacement. Problems continue after servicing. Have read extensive reports and complaints involving Saturn Vue VT1 transmission. Saturn needs to have a recall - it's consumers can't afford all of these repairs for what is clearly a faulty transmission that has been discontinued!

- Proctor, VT, USA

problem #65

Jul 252007

Vue 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,973 miles
Saturn of manchester has advised us that Saturn is no longer utilizing the vti transmission in any of their AWD 4 cyl. Saturn vehicles, because the transmission just did not work out. We have had problems with this transmission in our vehicle. However, as the vehicle gets older, it seems to require more and more transmission service. The 100,000 mile extended warranty we purchased ourselves is now almost over. As seniors living on a fixed income, we thought this automobile would last us for more than only 100,000 miles. Who would buy it knowing about the transmission" we think this problem makes this model a lemon from the beginning. We have read so many complaints about the vti transmission on this Vue. We read that over 88,000 were sold. The only thing Saturn has done, is extend the original warranty from 36000 to 75000 miles. Saturn claims to have all american parts, but this transmission seems to have been made in hungary. There is in progress a class action suite being formed against Saturn for using the vti transmission. We found the following online: "26th Mar 2007, 07:15 there is current a class action case under review in madison co, il for the AWD 2.2 Saturn Vue transmission. If you email or phone us, we will give you the attorney's email address, phone number, and name of the investigator and his phone number. We pursued it and have been in touch with the investigator at the law firm. He claims that he now has just about enough claims in enough states to file a class action case against Saturn corporation. Would you please be kind enough to look into this problem asap. See if this is true or not and let us know if we can claim our car as a lemon or get some kind of compensation" just yesterday, the Saturn service had to replace half of the vti transmission and gave us a 12,000 mile warranty on it. This warranty does us no good because we still have 13,000 miles of warranty on our warranty we purchased ourselves, so they overlap.

- Tamworth, NH, USA

problem #64

May 082007

Vue 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2003 Saturn Vue vti transmission failed at 59K miles. It was repaired under the extended warranty on the transmission. This new transmission lasted 12 hundred miles. It was again repaired under the warranty, then 1200 miles later it failed again. It was "rebuilt" by the Saturn dealership each time. It is now driving exactly the way it did after the 2nd repair and I believe it is only a matter of time until it fails again.

- Gap, PA, USA

problem #63

Mar 102007

Vue 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,101 miles
Failed vti transmission..started on 12/03/03 with 9199 miles. Reduced power light, car would not go when placed in gear, fix-code P0107, map sensor low circuit voltage transmission control system on 6/28/04 with N14807 miles. Wrench lit, Saturn allegedly not found on 12-02-04 with 20178 miles not properly shifting, wrench light, fixed. Dtc B2707 into shift lock transmission on 6/30/05 with 27797 miles ses light, not found. On 7/17/06 with 48664 mi.les wont shift gears. Fix total rebuild as per Saturn extended warranty. On 11/21/06 4with 8664 miles not shifting, stopped, then went into heavy traffic. Would not go in reverse, fix ed again. On 3/10/07 with 50107 miles stopped in heavy traffic then went. Intermitently shook in heavy traffic when at operating temperatures. As per Saturn not found. Also, air bag/horn issues, on 1/31/06 with 38441 miles air bag light was on..Saturn alleged not found on 4/10/06, and on 41040 miles again air bag li, as per Saturn dtcb1800472, ,dtcb1001, replaced modual assembly.was charged $578.40.after that horn was going on own, assumed was part of alarm system. Horn burned out, and Saturn wanta about $1500 to repair when there iwas a an admitted design flaw. Alarm system was verified by outside source operational, not even sure if air bag will deploy in an accident.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #62

Feb 232007

Vue 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2003 vti transmission in Saturn Vue. The transmission requires constant trips to dealership for monitoring updates or repairs. Gets fixed, only to have same problems return again very soon. See www.saturnfans.com blog to see high reports of problems. Tried to trade in vehicle on newer Vue without vti transmission. Dealer offered trade-in value substantially lower than kelly blue book. Dealer stated "we won't put a vti Vue on lot for resale." Saturn discontinued problematic transmission in 04.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #61

Nov 192004

Vue

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 11/19/2004 29,021 miles. Noise in engine area. Saturn replaced transmission fluid. Was told if it happened again would have to replace transmission. 9/12/2005 61,695 miles. Car wouldn't go when put into gear. All gears were tried. Contacted Saturn was told to get it towed in and they would inspect it. Brought to attention that the letter I received about the vti transmission having problems and again was told it was my responsibility to have car towed in. Also had to rent my own car. Was reimbursed but only for a small portion on the rental car cost and nothing for the tow. Finally got my car back on 9/21/2005. 5/31/2006 89,412 miles. Again car would not go into gear. Took it to a transmission specialist as I will not go back to Saturn. Another transmission was put in another vti as no other transmission can be put in this car. This one at my expense. 9/26/2006 105,000. Car lost power on a canyon road had to pull over and be towed. Was told transmission overheated and was now running fine. 2/8/2007 117,000 miles. Here we go again the transmission needs to be replaced again. When will a recall be issued. How many people need to complain about this unsafe and shoddy transmission. Please help. I cannot afford another transmission.

- Ranchos De Taos, NM, USA

problem #60

Dec 052006

Vue 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Vti transmission has a propensity to reduce power when wheels slip. If pulling out into an intersection, when engine rpms drop there is a chance for being broadsided by vehicles. We've had several near misses. Driver is never quite sure if the power will be available to safely enter traffic or cross intersection. This reduction in power can result from a light dusting of snow to slippery crosswalk painted lines, to dirt, gravel or oil on roadway.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #59

Nov 092006

Vue 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 76,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving 60mph on the interstate, the vehicle operated at a reduced speed without warning. The vehicle was towed to a dealer who determined the automatic transmission needed to be replaced. After the repair, the problem persisted, and the vehicle was returned to the dealer. The dealer determined the automatic transmission was not large enough to accommodate size of the engine and the automatic transmission needed to be replaced again. The manufacturer was not alerted.

- Edwardsville, IL, USA

problem #58

Aug 022006

Vue 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,500 miles
Saturn has ongoing problem with transmissions that they are refusing to recognize. My wife's Vue suddenly lost power today in traffic when the transmission failed and almost got in to a wreck. I am tired of them failing to take notice of this; the complaints about this are all over the internet.

- Stockton, CA, USA

problem #57

Apr 012003

Vue 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated there has been ongoing problems with the vehicle since it was purchased. The suspension was unstable which caused the vehicle to sway and transmission caused the vehicle to pull to one side. The sales dealer has inspected the vehicle several times and determined there was nothing wrong with the vehicle. The contact was informed by the dealer the 30-day limit on a lemon had expired.

- Birdsboro, PA, USA

problem #56

Jun 162006

Vue 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,500 miles
The vti transmission in my 2003 Saturn Vue has failed repeatedly and without warning, usually on highways at high speeds. Suddenly, the transmission will disengage and the car cannot be driven. Saturn has now fixed the problem five times in 38,000 miles and most recently admitted that it did not know why this failure occurred and did not know if the repairs it made would fix the problem. The incident date noted below is the most recent date this occurred. When these incidents occur, sometimes the transmission will reset after turning the car off and restarting it. But other times, the vehicle has required towing to the dealership. We are concerned about the ongoing safety and reliability of this car, as the consequences of one of these unannounced failures could be catastrophic. So far, we have been lucky that no injury or accident has occurred.

- Peninsula, OH, USA

problem #55

Jan 062005

Vue 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Have taken car to dealer more than once for following items: (1) ignition does not release when key removed. The first time all they did was make a new key, today (Feb 16, 2006) they changed a spring on the 1st "level". problem still exists intermittent, after I left dealer. First reported apx Sept 2005. (2) major skidding on slight grades when sudden braking. Dealers maint fluffed it off each time saying nothing wrong. Problem since 2004. (3) when shifting down from drive to park intermittent sticking at reverse position, very subtle but definitely not normal. Problem just started (Jan 2006). Date listed under "incident date" was just to be able to input into computer. There are 3 different issues from different dates and yrs. All are apx.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #54

Feb 032006

Vue 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,062 miles
First time driving Saturn Vue on free way, motor started racing and Vue had no gears, lost speed, had to get off road and have Vue towed to dealership, they installed new transmission calibration and new transmission fluid and additive and informed me for the first time that my Vue had a vti transmission and this type of transmission may experience certain transmission concerns that might affect customer satisfaction and may require repair or replacement. 2nd time I was driving on road and again motor started to race and gears would not work, again I had to get off road and have Vue towed to dealer, they replaced transmission speed sensor inside transmission valve body cover. 2nd time driving on road.

- Lodi, CA, USA

problem #53

Feb 102006

Vue 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving at any speeds, the engine revs high and the vehicle completely stops. The transmission slipped out of gear and the vehicle became inoperable. The vehicle was towed into the local dealership for inspection. The dealer determined the transmission needed replaced. However, the same transmission would be used. Although, the dealer was aware of the problem but no repairs were made.

- Lodi, CA, USA

problem #52

Sep 052005

Vue 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,272 miles
The problem I encounter with my car is transmission related. Last year, I was stopped at a traffic light, then the light turned green, I accelerated as usual, the engine??S speed increased and the car did not move. Suddenly, with a loud noise the car jerked forward. The car behind me almost crashed into my car, and the driver screamed at me and waiving his hands. The car was taken to the Saturn dealer on July 30, 2004. They kept the car for a week, and repaired or replace the transmission. The problem recurred, and I brought the car to the dealer again on June 30, 2005. They could not duplicate the problem this time. Last July, the 07, I brought my car to the dealer for the same problem, and this time they replaced the transmission fluid, and reprogrammed the tcm. Septembers, 2005, I stopped at a stop sign to leave the complex where I reside, and the same phenomenon recurred: I accelerated, but the car did not move, then suddenly jerked forward, and again I almost crashed in the car coming from my left. I love my car, but I am afraid to drive it now! the first time the transmission was repaired, the car was about 10,000 miles. I had the same problem last June at 21,831 miles, and again last July, at 22,164 miles.

- Mami, FL, USA

problem #51

Sep 152005

Vue 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I purchased my 2003 AWD V6 Vue new from the same dealership that I take it to for repairs. Since I have owned it, I have reported several times that the vehicle "stalls" while accelerating. Usually around 40 mph. The RPM's rev up (to the red) and the car goes nowhere, like it has suddenly shifted into neutral. This happens while accelerating after a stop. Needless to say, I have had several incidents where I was almost rear-ended. I feel the dealership is trying to resolve the problem, but have been unable to get it to repeat. We are now looking at having one of the service tech drive it for a week or two to see if they can get it to occur. It happens to me at least 3-6 times a month, but intermittently. I do not have a vti transmission. I have two other problems with my Vue that have been unable to be fixed; the first is the steering/alignment. If I hold the steering wheel straight on, the car goes to the left. The dealership will fix the alignment, and within 2 days it off again. I have to steer to the right to keep the vehicle straight. It has never been involved in a wreck and I can see no reason for the alignment to go off so quickly. Secondly, the car makes a loud popping sound when idling if the A/C or heater is on. The dealership says this is normal. It just doesn't seem right. The vents also blow air when the system is off. My Vue has 46,001 miles. I stand behind the vehicle and my dealership. I just wish they could figure out what is causing it to rev out the way it does. It is quite alarming when it happens.

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #50

Jul 022005

Vue 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,000 miles
I have a 2003 Saturn Vue AWD V6 VIN [xxx]. when I had bought this vehicle there was a popping sound in the front drive-train while turning at any speed. I was about to purchase another Vue from a used car dealership, but upon reading the car facts report it was a 'factory buy back' for an un-fixed popping sound in the front end subsequently I did not purchase this vehicle. The other day I was out fishing down a dirt road I had passed my favorite spot. So, I had to make a 3 point turn on the uneven road, I turned the wheel all the way to the left and the front left tire went into a pot hole, I put it into reverse giving it gas while turning the wheel to the right and heard a sound pop!-cruuunch! after a quick field inspection it looked like the cv boot came loose and lost all the grease. So I drove it real slow back home and after taking the tire off I saw that there was metal shavings, bearings, pieces ect. On the front left axle. Saturn told me they would take care of it through the warranty an I am still awaiting the return of my vehicle. It is to my belief that this is an often occuring problem. Should this happen to someone who did not realize the seriousness of the problem death could result from hard braking or evasive manuvering with this existing condition to the axle. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Broken Arrow, OK, USA

problem #49

Oct 252003

Vue 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,358 miles
Consumer states: Took in vehicle on 5 separate times for transmission, whining noise was heard, almost like the engine was overheating. Was on highway, and no matter how much gas consumer gave it vehicle wouldn't move. When giving it more gas the engine would rev but still wouldn't go. Before problems with transmission, at a separate time, something with the computer went wrong. It completely shut down. Such as gas gauge showed empty tank and speedometer went to zero. When at a stop idle seems to drop and when accelerating from stop, vehicle hestiates and lurches. Transaxle speed sensor replaced. Transmission control module reprogramed due to whining noise. Hood won't open. Hood cable readjusted. Driver and passenger washer nozzle missing and replaced. Steering wheel making noise. Shaft boot greased. Service engine soon (ses) light on. Oxygen sensor was contaminated and replaced.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #48

Feb 062003

Vue 4-cyl

  • miles
Problems with transmission equipment on 2003 Saturn Vue.** answer required***. three weeks after the vehicle was purchased the consumer was notified of a transmission related recall on the vehicle. Four months later the transmission failed without warning in traffic. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was determined that the transmission needed to be replaced (vti transmission). The manufacturer is aware of the problems with the vti transmission but instead of replacing the with a different type of transmission they extended the warranty. The starter and rear wiper motor was replaced. Both fuel senders failed resulting in inaccurate fuel readings. The liftgate became stuck when opened.

- Milford, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?