Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Suspension: Rear Problems

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
43,362 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Saturn Vue suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Saturn Vue:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Saturn Vue Owner Comments

problem #16

Aug 202011

Vue 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Saturn Vue. The contact was driving approximately 5 mph when a loud bang was heard. The vehicle was maneuvered to the shoulder of the road, but the contact could not locate the failure. The contact continued to drive and noticed that the steering wheel was difficult to control. The vehicle was again maneuvered to the shoulder of the road where the contact noticed that the rear passenger wheel was detached from the frame. The vehicle was not taken to have the failure diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure, but offered no assistance. The failure and current mileages were 85,000. Updated 09/30/11 the consumer stated as his wife was coming to a stop, she heard a noise. She soon discovered the driver side rear lateral strut had come off the frame, due to the bolt head shearing off, which allowed the strut to break away from the frame causing the left rear tire/wheel to sit inward at an angle. The same occurrence happened on July 27, 2005, which was performed under a recall. Updated 10/05/11

- Zanesville, OH, USA

problem #15

May 052011

Vue 4WD 8-cyl

  • 128,861 miles
We have a 2004 Saturn Vue, and while driving heard noise, but didn't notice anything right away. When parked, realized that the tires were bowed outward. Brought it to a mechanic, and found out the rear suspension was sheared off.

- Xenia, OH, USA

problem #14

Mar 282010

Vue

  • 92,132 miles
While driving the vehicle, the driver heard a loud "pop" from rear of car. After pulling over the driver saw that the top of the right rear wheel was tipped in. The car was towed to a repair station. It was determined that the right rear lateral link assembly broke. The mounting bolt broke causing the mounting flange to brake off of the frame. This action also caused the frame to bend. It was necessary to replace the frame, links, control arms and shock absorber. Total cost to me was $1,900.42. Saturn said they were not responsible and would not pay for any expenses. A recall ( campaign #04067001 ) to replace the rear lateral links was performed on this vehicle on 5/21/2005. Apparently, this recall work was not effective. The driver was not speeding, did not hit a pot hole or other object. There was no accident involved, and no one was injured. These are not parts that require periodic maintenance or upkeep. The parts on this car failed. The mechanic at the Chevrolet dealer that performed the work said that all the bolts in that area were rusted and needed replaced. If this failure would have occurred on an interstate road going at a much faster rate of speed, I can't imagine the consequences. Thank you for your help.

- Freedom, PA, USA

problem #13

Jul 122010

Vue

  • 116,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Saturn Vue. While driving approximately 35 mph a loud noise was heard and the rear passenger side tire began to shake. The contact was able to drive the vehicle to his residence. Upon examining the rear passenger side tire it was bent. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer where both the rear toe links were being replaced because a bolt sheared off. The failure and current mileages were 116,000.

- New Bedford, MA, USA

problem #12

Aug 102009

Vue 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 70,100 miles
2004 Saturn Vue rear suspension causes wheel to collapse due to shearing of bolt under constant load. This problem spurred a voluntary GM recall in 2004. My vehicle had the recall work completed. In August, 2009, the wheel collapsed again while my wife and kids were in the car. I'm not sure how they drove it home with that condition without a rollover or accident. I had the repair made free of charge after much argument but am concerned that in 4-5 years, bolt fatigue will cause the situation to repeat once again. I have the sheared bolt head in my possession. I am writing due to concern that many many others will again, soon, this year, experience the same wheel collapse after having their voluntary recall repairs made in 2004. It seems like a mandatory recall of the GM voluntary recall is in order. Excerpt from Consumer Affairs article, August 5, 2004: General Motors is voluntarily recalling the Saturn Vue to fix a problem with the rear suspension. In doing so, it may be hoping to avoid litigation that could result from accidents occurring while government safety agencies conduct their own investigations. The recall affects 246,433 Vues in the 2002-2004 model years, including 231,123 in the United States and 15,310 in Canada. It all started when a Saturn Vue owner wrote to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) to complain that the rear wheels of his car collapsed on a tight turn, causing the vehicle to roll over. The Agency decided to conduct a test of its own, taking tight turns at 45 mph, and sure enough, the rear suspension collapsed and the car rolled over. The same thing happened when a two-wheel drive model of the Vue was put through the same test. Read more: www.consumeraffairs.com/recalls04/vue_recall.html#ixzz0H1hxnun0.

- North Royalton, OH, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #11

Aug 102009

Vue 4-cyl

  • 70,100 miles
2004 Saturn Vue rear suspension causes wheel to collapse due to shearing of bolt under constant load. This problem spurred a voluntary GM recall in 2004. My vehicle had the recall work completed. In August, 2009, the wheel collapsed again while my wife and kids were in the car. I'm not sure how they drove it home with that condition without a rollover or accident. I had the repair made free of charge at the dealer after much arguing but am concerned that in 4-5 years, bolt fatigue will cause the situation to repeat once again. I have the sheared bolt head in my possession. I am writing due to concern that many many others will again soon, this year, experience the same wheel collapse after having their voluntary recall repairs made in 2004. It seem like a mandatory recall of the 2004 GM voluntary recall is in order. Excerpt from caug 5, 2004 onsumer affairs article: General Motors is voluntarily recalling the Saturn Vue to fix a problem with the rear suspension. In doing so, it may be hoping to avoid litigation that could result from accidents occurring while government safety agencies conduct their own investigations. The recall affects 246,433 Vues in the 2002-2004 model years, including 231,123 in the United States and 15,310 in Canada. It all started when a Saturn Vue owner wrote to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) to complain that the rear wheels of his car collapsed on a tight turn, causing the vehicle to roll over. The Agency decided to conduct a test of its own, taking tight turns at 45 mph, and sure enough, the rear suspension collapsed and the car rolled over. The same thing happened when a two-wheel drive model of the Vue was put through the same test. Read more: www.consumeraffairs.com/recalls04/vue_recall.html#ixzz0H1hxnun0.

- North Royalton, OH, USA

problem #10

Oct 092007

Vue 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,938 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2004 Saturn Vue with 18,938 miles. The vehicle was sitting in my driveway when I heard a very loud bang. I thought someone threw a rock at my car. I failed to find reason for noise until I drove my car out of the driveway. When I pulled out, the rear end was very loose, swaying from side to side, and it felt like there was no control. Returned to my driveway and found a washer laying on the ground. The loud noise I heard must have been a bolt(s) that sheared, while the car was just sitting. Took vehicle to dealer where they determined that both bolts for the lateral links were broken and twisted. Tech replaced both rear lateral links and set toe.

- Denville , NJ, USA

problem #9

Nov 112006

Vue 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
2004 Saturn Vue: At 50,000 miles the rear bearing / hub assemblies on both sides, start to fail. They gradually start making a lot of noise and need to be replaced before they either fall apart, lock up a wheel or cause an accident. I believe this should be a recall item and fixed under warranty.

- Brighton, MI, USA

problem #8

Oct 142006

Vue 4-cyl

  • 45,169 miles
2004 Saturn Vue was purchase 1/24/04. We noticed a very loud noise so we took it into the dealership. They said we needed to have a rear wheel bearing replaced. We have never had this repaired on an auto before. The car has 45169 miles which seems a small amount to need a bearing replaced. The repair cost us $400. In addition, our daytime running lights no longer work. They didn't work once while under warranty. Saturn told us it was a bulb. They aren't working again (now out of warranty) and now we are told it isn't the bulb, but they will not repair under warranty. We also had to have the rotors resurfaced in 11/05. We are not happy with our first experience with a Saturn vehicle. The Saturn employees are great, but the vehicle isn't. I wish I'd never bought the car. We were all set to buy a Saturn relay in the spring, but now are thinking Buick, or maybe our first foreign car. Thanks!

- Batavia, OH, USA

problem #7

Oct 232005

Vue

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2004 Vue multiple issues... first issue less then 100 miles on vehicle, depressed brakes car continued to creep at stop sign. Diagnostics at Saturn dealership: Split in brake line, replaced under warranty. Second issue: Less then 300 miles on vehicle, quick stop caused rear seat safety harness to become disconnected from vehicle wall.. daughter was not restrained and slid forward in seat. Saturn diagnostics: Someone was not doing their job the day it was made... they tightened screw back into wall of car and have not had issues since... this was uncalled for and should have been caught during safety inspection. Third issue: Saw details on news about recall on this model of Vue, contacted Saturn dealership about it and was told that we would be getting information in the mail about repairs. Fourth issue: About 20,000 on Vue, went to store and was functional, came out and car would not start, over half a tank of gas in vehicle and gauge shows empty, bought gas can and put 5 more gallons of gas in car. Still shows empty and car would not start, no word on reason for failure beaches it happened today (10/23/05).

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #6

Dec 292004

Vue 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In the past year, I have already had to repair the rear suspension twice, the front suspension, my back seat latch, and my rotors. My Vue is the worst vehicle I have ever purchased. When driving in any bad weather I have no traction and slip all over the road.

- West Warwick, RI, USA

problem #5

Dec 122004

Vue

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,500 miles
While driving 60 mph and switching lanes rear wheel turned inward, causing the rear suspension to fail. As a result, the vehicle lost control and crashed into a guard rail. Upon impact, airbags deployed.

- Coventry, RI, USA

problem #4

Aug 092004

Vue

  • Manual transmission
  • 1,000 miles
Vehicle was recalled, and it will be 45-60 days before the part will be available, they will send her a letter. Manufacturer stated to consumer that they did not have to do recall repairs on the. Suspension seal. They were not forced to do this, and would not do it on their own.

- Lyndhurst, NJ, USA

problem #3

Aug 092004

Vue

  • Manual transmission
  • 1,000 miles
Vehicle was recalled, and there will be 45-60 days before the part will be available, they will send consumer a letter. Manufacturer stated to consumer they did not have to do recall repairs on the. Rear suspension seal. They were not forced to do this, and they would not do it on their own.

- Lyndhurst, NJ, USA

problem #2

Jul 262004

Vue 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
My son was driving my 2004 Saturn Vue on Monday, July 26, he apparently hit a patch of gravel which caused him to lose control. When he attempted to regain control of the vehicle it went into the ditch on the opposite side of the road where the passenger side rear wheel collapsed and the vehicle overturned. There is extensive damage to the vehicle on the front end and passenger side, as well as to the shift casing inside the Vue from when my son's knee slammed into it. The vehicle is still being estimated for insurance purposes (either to total it or repair it).

- Catawissa, MO, USA

problem #1

Jul 142004

Vue

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
I was involved in a car accident on July 14, 2004 while in my 2004 Saturn Vue front wheel drive. I was hit on the rear passenger tire area and the back tire bent under the car and my Saturn was tipped over and spun around with the drivers side down on the pavement. This was not a high speed accident. I was probably about 20miles per hour and the person that hit was probably between 25-35mph. My Saturn Vue sustained about $10,500 damage some of which was the rear suspension. I do not yet know of the final outcome with the insurance whether it will be repaired or totalled. I just happened to read the Kansas City star today 7-27-04 abiyt tge government safety Agency investigating the Saturn Vue and this fit the description completely.

- Overland Park, KS, USA

Not what you are looking for?