Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
7,053 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Subaru Outback accessories - exterior problems

accessories - exterior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Subaru Outback:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Subaru Outback Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #89

May 102016


  • 25,000 miles


Windshield cracked from passenger side wiper area up and across windshield while car was parked. Had received a letter from Subaru indicating there was a potential weakness in windshield - dealer refused to replace windshield. Claimed damage was from a rock.

- Clovis, NM, USA

problem #88

Jul 172016


  • 24,800 miles
I was driving down a city street going 40 mph when I heard a pop coming from the windshield. When I looked over, there was a crack about midway up the windshield. It ran from the far right toward the middle about 10 inches and then downward. It was curving downward. There was one car in front about 25 yards away going about the same speed as I was. I could not believe that the car in front of me could have thrown a rock that far and hard enough to break my windshield. I have been hit many times before on the highway and my window had never broken. Only small nicks that I can see. I got to the theater and got out to look at the window. The crack started from the edge of the window. I could not see where anything had hit the window. It was a clean break. I had to take my Outback to the dealer because I'm having problems with the window express switch, and they looked at my windshield. They are going to replace it because I had purchased extended coverage and it was covered.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #87

May 272016


  • 23,245 miles
I was driving my 2015 Subaru Outback on the highway, northbound interstate 280, in woodside, California, on May 27, 2016. Suddenly I saw a small crack on my windshield that grew to about 6 inches in a few seconds, starting from the wipers, at the bottom and a bit towards the driver side and going up then curving towards the right, in an L shape. By the next morning the horizontal part of the crack had expanded at least 12 inches more. I did not hear the noise of impact of a stone or any other object.

- San Mateo, CA, USA

problem #86

May 262016


  • 25,000 miles


This is my original 2015 Outback. I own 2 2015S. My other one one had a windshield issue when I was driving around 35 on a cold night. There was a large pop and suddenly a crack appeared on the passenger side. Over the next days it grew into a backwards "J". dealer said it was not covered, however it was difficult to even see a mark that would indicate it was hit from a rock, and not defective. We went ahead and fixed it, even though we thought it was odd. The other morning, we went down to the garage and found that our original 2015 had a similar crack on the driver's side, in a similar shape and length. The day before, we drove the car to the beach. Nothing hit it, and the crack is smooth, with nothing found where it originates. Something is defective with these windshields. There is no way 2 windshields on 2 new cars should both have to be replaced. We own ours cars a long time, and have never had a windshield experience like this, and if a rock ever hits one, it's a tiny mark that can be handled by insurance. Something is wrong but Subaru has written it so any upper windshield issues are not included, and this is not right. We are going buying our second one in four months, with eyesight. There is a defect.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #85

Jan 212016


  • 17,500 miles
Driving on a road traveling approx. 35 miles an hour on a cold night. Heard a loud pop around the passenger side upper windshield. A small crack appeared. There was no bump or rock hit as the rest of the area appeared smooth. Crack spread into backwards "J" shape over next few days at least 12 inches long. Dealership told me it wasn't covered and there was a rock hit. But the area was smooth and I've been driving for 30 years and have never had this happen. We ate the cost because it needed to be repaired, even though considered it odd that this would happen. However, we happen to own another 2015 Outback. Yesterday, we went into the garage to start the car and there is a 12 inch crack - the same shape- on the driver's side in the same locations. No signs of a rock hit. Weather has been very warm, but this time, the car was parked. Something is wrong. 2 - 2015 Outbacks" 2 "J" shaped cracks" it's no coincidence and too many complaints on line from people with similar situations. Windshield is faulty and Subaru won't step up and include the upper part in its recalls. It needs to. Very dissatisfied customer.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #84

Apr 162016


  • 16,250 miles
Windshield cracked from drivers side bottom corner across the mid line above the steering wheel to passenger side without warning or impact from an rock or object. Crack begun while driving on freeway and within 45 seconds extended across the windshield from drivers side to the mid point of the windshield. Crack is in drivers line of sight, and a safety hazard. Took it to dealer, who responded, that it is a common occurrence in this model. Pulled over and found no impact or rock chip anywhere along crack. Windshield defective.

- Olivette, MO, USA

problem #83

Apr 222016


  • 27,156 miles


While driving the car, a crack appeared in my windshield on the driver side. It formed an reverse L about the middle of the windshield. There was no impact or anything hitting the windshield. The crack appeared before my eyes as I was driving up the road.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #82

Apr 102016


  • 10,000 miles
Subaru 2015 windshield crack: Driving into albuquerque nm from Santa Fe on hwy25, I saw a crack appear in my windshield, from the driver's side. The next day it had grown into an L 2 more days it had grown to an S shape. I did not see any cars close by or any rock at the time the crack appeared. When I called the dealer, I was told to come in on 4-27-16 for my annual maintenance, but was concerned because the crack kept growing. I went to the albuquerque garcia dealer today 4-14-16, I was told a tiny pinpoint spot on the left side of the windshield indicated a rock had caused the crack to start. But I have driven cars for 40 years and never seen anything this dramatic. I now have read online about dozens of complaints like mine and most victims believe the flexing of the car body may have caused this crack. The fragility of this windshield makes this car extremely dangerous. I believe this car should have a safety recall.

- Santa Fe, NM, USA

problem #81

Apr 122016


  • 11,787 miles
6-8 inch crack in windshield, no rock impact or previous damage. Windshield has to be replaced and eyesight system re-calibrated. Crack occurred driving straight on a 4 lane highway, no trucks in the area, not close to other cars.

- Gig Harbor, WA, USA

problem #80

Feb 112016


  • 9,000 miles
On 2/11/2016, I was driving my 2015 Outback on highway 50 near folsom, ca. There was no vehicle in front of my vehicle with in 300 feet. All of a sudden, I noticed there was a 5 to 6 inch long crack on the windshield located the driver side lower corner. Although later on we found there was a chip on the windshield, no body on the car heard anything hit the windshield, nor saw anything hit the windshield. Within a few days, that crack became a two feet long crack from the driver side lower corner all the way to the center of the windshield. And it keep reflecting strong lights from different directions which made it more difficult to see things in front of my vehicle. This was the second windshield I have within one year's ownership of this car. The first one was cracked when I parked my car in the parking lot of a costco warehouse. Looking at the complains filed against the 2015 and 2016 Outback on NHTSA, almost 50% complains are about windshield cracking issue. This ratio is the way higher than similar vehicles and previous model years. Although Subaru extended wind shield warranty under certain circumstances, the problem is not solved. That's why 2016 Outback owners are running into same situation. Please step in and urge Subaru to deliver a real solution.

- Newark, CA, USA

problem #79

Apr 012015


  • 23,750 miles


The contact owns a 2015 Subaru Outback. The contact stated that while driving at 65 mph, the contact heard an abnormal noise coming from the windshield as it began to fracture. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who diagnosed that the windshield needed to be replaced. The vehicle was then taken to an independent mechanic who replaced the windshield. However, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 23,750.

- Farmington, AR, USA

problem #78

Feb 192016


  • 7,500 miles
Front windshield developed a 20 inch crack, running from pillar on passenger side, toward center of windshield. No appearance of rock strike. No sound of rock strike when crack first developed. Crack started at around 14 inches, and continues to grow longer. Car was being driven at highway speeds when crack first appeared, at around 75 mph.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #77

Feb 172016


  • miles
We test drive a 2015 Outback Subaru at the dealership. It had a crack in it and didn't think to much of it 20K miles. We ended up purchasing this one privately and it has a cracked windshield as well. It only has 11K miles. The crack on the Outback that we purchased starts at the top middle of the windshield behind the rearview mirrow and cuts down and to the right about 8 inches. After reading the complaints on this site, it seems that there's a huge defect with the windshield and defroster that needs to be recalled. This is a massive safety issue!

- Layton, UT, USA

problem #76

Feb 032015


  • 15,000 miles
Twice in snowing condition, the windshield iced at the bottom and did not clear even though the defroster had been on. We were not able to complete our journey. Even though we stopped every ten minutes or less to scrape the windshield clear. I've had many cars in many conditions and never saw this lack of visibility. It took 4 hours on route 270 from fredrick to go 20 miles out and return. Very scary.

- Front Royal, VA, USA

problem #75

Jan 102016


  • 8,700 miles
While I was driving I heard a pop, did see or notice anything. Next day I had a crack in my driver side windshield, about 8-10 inches crack. Thought I had glass coverage but its $1000 deductible. Safelite cost is $461.55. I have the 2015 Subaru Outback with eyesight, that means after safelight repairs the windshield I then need to bring the car to my Subaru dealer to have the eyesight recalibrate for about $200. My car only has 8700 miles. Looking at other comments, this seems to be a big problem with 2015 Subaru Outbacks. If I had full glass coverage I would have cared or wrote about this. Hope Subaru fixes this problem. Thanks and hope everyone stays safe. After seeing the note below I was in motion on a 2 lane street. I do drive from NY to Florida twice a year and don't know what I would do if this happened on a long trip. Doesn't seem safe if Subaru has defective windshields

- Long Beach, NY, USA

problem #74

Dec 072015


  • 10,000 miles
During a recent trip to Colorado, the front windshield on my new 2015 Subaru Outback developed a dozen small pits in the exterior glass surface from contact with very tiny pebbles. Two of the pits have developed large cracks that have grown to lengths exceeding 15 inches. The tiny pebble strikes should not have caused such pits based on my extensive driving experience. I believe there to be a defect in the glass itself, making it unusually brittle. The pebble strikes occurred while driving at highway speeds (I.e. 55-65 mph) on paved roadways. The temperature outside during the pebble strikes, which took place over several days of driving, ranged from 20 to 45 degrees F. the cracks appear to still be growing.

- Port St. Lucie, FL, USA

problem #73

Nov 172015


  • 19,000 miles
Purchased the 2015 Outback in Sept. 2014. Took to back to dealership service dept. October. 24, 2014 because of loud popping noise around windshield especially when bluetooth phone connected. They could not find any problems. Popping noise around windshield continued from time to time. Took back to dealer July 29, 2015 for popping noise around windshield and poor radio am reception. They replaced the radio but am radio reception still not great. Got in the Outback on Nov 17, 2015 and there was a 5" crack on the bottom of the windshield slightly right of the center. A couple of weeks before this I was driving and heard a very loud popping noise. It made me jump as I thought the windshield was going to shatter but nothing happened. I had received a letter from Subaru about windshield cracking problems so I contacted the dealership. I took it in so they could take a picture. At that time I also reported problems with the defroster not keeping the windshield clear especially on rainy days and nights. This problem with the defroster has occurred several times and it was I the lower portion of the windshield. I thought the Subaru had electrical L issues because of the popping, poor am radio reception and the defroster. Now the windshield! this is my first Subaru and possibly last if the problems persist. All of the incidents happened while driving but when I discovered the crack it was parked in the garage. Crack us now about 9".

- Springfield, IL, USA

problem #72

Oct 062015


  • 3,500 miles
Small pebble struck windshield passenger side at edge adjacent to heating element at level of mid windshield. This left a small shallow pit in outer glass. 12 hours later a crack developed at the windshield edge and extended 12 inches toward the middle of the windshield which is slowly extending

- Redding, CA, USA

problem #71

Aug 282015


  • 4,000 miles
While driving on the highway, a small rock hit our windshield in the passenger side deicer area. We have received a notice that Subaru knows there is an issue with windshields cracking at the deicer area, but the local dealer states that our crack initiated above the area for which they accept responsibility. The deicer area on our windshield extends above the spot where the rock hit, but Subaru is trying to limit responsibility to a lower area. Visibility is a highly important component of safe driving. The deicer area was not applied by two different manufacturing processes when it is a few inches apart. Subaru is trying to limit liability for a design or manufacturing flaw. We believe that should not be allowed.

- Friday Harbor, WA, USA

problem #70

Nov 042015


  • 8,300 miles
My windshield cracked while on the highway. I did not see or hear a stone hit. 3 other people were in the car when a 10 inch crack appeared from the driver side corner post toward the middle. No one saw or heard a stone hit. I came home and researched it and there are many complaints on the Outback forum about how easily their windshields broke. I think it is a safety issue if so many of Subaru's new windshields are cracking so easily.

- Bernardsville, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?