Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.2

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
72,208 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Toyota 4Runner body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Toyota 4Runner:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Toyota 4Runner Owner Comments

problem #6

Mar 242015

4Runner 4WD 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The frame is rusting almost in two. Looks like it could break any time. Rear axel is also very rusted with pieces falling off.

- Charleston, WV, USA

problem #5

Mar 132014

4Runner 6-cyl

  • 112,109 miles
I filed a NHTSA complaint (ODI number 10569206 was assigned) on 13 March 2014 about this vehicle. On 14 March 2014, I took my 4runner to my local Toyota dealership after contacting Toyota customer service and logging a complaint ( case number [xxx] ) with them on the 14th of March 2014 at their office in California and the customer service rep telling me documentation of the issue at my dealership would help me. This vehicle was bought in NY and remained up North for 10 years and according to emerson Toyota auburn, me records at 85,199 miles on 07/11/2012. Service adviser, [xxx] condition1 at 85,199 miles. Used car prep. Vehicle being wholesaled per rich. Needs engine light on, A/C inop, rear axle housing very rusted and cracked, hood latch inop, radiator leaking, frame is soft. It had 85,404 miles when it came to Florida on 07 September 2012 my 2002 Toyota 4runner SR5 with only 112109 miles at coggin Toyota at the avenues dealership on philips hwy in jacksonville, Florida at 12:20pm on 14 March 2014 my complaint at the dealership on 14 March 20014 at 12:20.........customer states rear subframe is rusted. Check and advise. Their findings at 12:55pm on 14 March 2014... case number [xxx], found severe frame rust, holes in frame on right side, holes rusted through frame by gas tank on left side.holes rusted through gas tank and leaking fuel. Upper rear track bar bracket rusted off of rear end housing, rear shocks rusted off. Front brake rotor backing plates rusted through. The vehicle is unsafe to drive due to fuel leak and extreme rust through of frame. I want this vehicle frame and axle fixed or bought back by Toyota. A Toyota dealership in auburn, me knew of this problem almost 2 years ago and sent it out the door. Totally unsatisfactory. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #4

Mar 132014

4Runner 6-cyl

  • miles
My vehicle is a 2002 Toyota 4runner SE5 with 112,080 miles. I have severe frame rust on this vehicle. Holes though frame on right side and frame to rear axle is completely broken to right side of attachment at differential axle. Toyota has recalled the U.S version of the Tacoma truck which is the same frame, etc. As the 4runner but not the 4runner which is made in Japan with the same issues. This vehicle is completely unsafe and truth be known undriveable and needs to be addressed immediately. Toyota 4runner forum is full of these 3rd generation 4runners with the same issue. Toyota needs to step up and add the 3rd generation 4 runner to be included in the recall on the Tacoma, Tundra and sequoia vehicles.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #3

Sep 262013

4Runner 6-cyl

  • 113,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

(there was no category offered for frame). During a recent automotive service for brakes on 9-26-13 for my 2002 Toyota 4runner, I was notified of a rust perforation in the frame body near a rear support mount for the axle making it unsafe for operation. This is a situation where rust forms in the interior of the frame and works its way out destroying the structural integrity of the vehicle. It seems the service technician used to work at a Toyota dealership and knew exactly where to look from his prior experience with other 4runner failures. The Toyota dealer informed that this would not be covered. My ?02 4runner is from the same generation (3rd) and of similar design to the Tacoma that was recalled for this the dealer instructed me to contact the torrance, ca Toyota customer service as his dealership would be unable to assist in anyway. It was clear they had encountered this before. Through discussion with Toyota ca they have no intention of providing any means of relief for a known and well documented safety problem. One rep did comment that the Tundra and sequoia had been recently added to the recall but the 4runner was "not yet? on the recall list. It seems Toyota views the products to be different due to the body style differences or us vs Japanese built products. They also clearly have no intention to escalate internally. I was instructed to file a complaint with NHTSA and ntsb. Research on line shows that there is a very widespread issue that Toyota is clearly choosing to ignore. Web information suggests that cold climate and the axle bracket in close proximity to the exhaust, are primary factors. How can you recall one model for a rusted frame due to safety but not another" personal photos available. Huge numbers of photos and reports available online - search " rusted frame 4runner" or similar.

- West Lebanon, NH, USA

problem #2

Jul 202013

4Runner 6-cyl

  • miles
Frame rusted through at lower control arm area. Toyota has had recalls for other models for rusted frames but not acknowledging 4runner frame issues that are dangerous.

- Wolcott, CT, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #1

Sep 302011

4Runner

  • 148,138 miles
My 2002 Toyota 4 runner that is in excellent body and running condition was in for a routine service and the dealer told us the frame had a hole in it and it was unsafe to drive, it was inspected by two representatives of Toyota who said that it is not a warranty issue and there are no "programs' and they would do nothing about it even thou there is a history of frame failures with Toyota's.

- Wellfleet, MA, USA

Not what you are looking for?