Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

4.3

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
26,966 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Toyota Avalon fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Toyota Avalon:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Toyota Avalon Owner Comments

problem #4

Mar 172014

Avalon 6-cyl

  • 72,763 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The check engine light came on with the vsc and slip lights on the dash. Had it scanned and the codes are P2195 and P0138. I am having a huge problem with this, I feel that Toyota should cover this problem or atleast most of it. It's $1700 to fix this problem that many Avalon owners are or have had with this!!! 06 Toyota Avalon - edmunds answers Jan 10, 2009 - P2195 - oxygen (A/F) sensor signal stuck lean (bank 1 sensor 1)... P0138 - oxygen sensor circuit high voltage (bank 1 sensor 2)..... after owning a certified pre-owned 2006 Avalon for 1 month, the "check engine"... 1 (rh) exhaust manifold" is that the P0031 code was on one not both af sensors. You visited this page on 3/19/14. P2195 Toyota - engine-codes.com engine-codes.com/P2195_toyota.htmlżż 2005-2007 Toyota Avalon, 2007-2008 Toyota Camry service bulletin obdii code P2195... 2005-2006 Toyota corolla service bulletin obdii code P2195. You visited this page on 3/19/14. Toyota technical service bulletin index - autopro import repair Apr 2, 2013 - some Avalon Camry and Solara vehicles may exhibit a rattle type noise coming from... some 2006 - 2009 model year Camry and 2007 - 2009 model year Camry hv.... a mil żżonż condition with diagnostic trouble code (dtc) P2420 stored...... mil "on" dtc P2195, P0138, and/or P0031(tsb-0066-10). You visited this page on 3/19/14. 1 complaints: 2005 Toyota Avalon check engine light is on www.carcomplaints.com/.../Avalon/2005/.../check_engine_light_is_on.S...żż Mar 10, 2014 - the 2005 Toyota Avalon has 1 complaints for check engine light is on.... was the check engine light codes = P0138 O2 sensor/P2195 af sensor.

- York, PA, USA

problem #3

Feb 242010

Avalon

  • 35,000 miles
Unintended accelleration of my 2006 Toyota Avalon with only 25,000 miles on it. Feb 24, 2010. I wsa driving 35 mph, having slowed for traffic, then changed lanes, barely touched the accelerator and the vehicle took off like a dragster. I was able to place in netural and brake the vehicle to a stop while the motor was at high end rev. I checked to see if the floor mats were obstructing the gas pedel. They were not. I turned off the vehicle and started it twice more, both times the engine was in extreme high rev mode. As I sat on the highway, the accelerator "sprang" back on it's own. I then started the engine again and it was operating normally. I called Toyota immediately and was directed to a customer service rep in California. I eventually made it to a Toyota dealer in tulsa, ok, where the on board computer was "flashed" and pedel recall was performed. Service tech wrote up a floormat issue and stated the "service engine" light was reported by me to be on, which it was not. This should be verified by the incident report #1002144206 of 2-24-2010 as taken over the telephone by Toyota csr don lombardo; phone # 800-225-2769. I would bet my life this was not a mechanical related cause, but a programming issue which caused the throttle body to go wide open. I do not know if the computer "black box" information was downloaded by the dealer or if it is too late. When the dealership general manager was told by the service technician there was "zero" wear on the gas pedel joint, he was speechless, but eventually said Toyota needs the vehicle to go through it from bumper-to-bumper since it has such low mileage.

- Broken Arrow, OK, USA

problem #2

Aug 122006

Avalon

  • 100 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Avalon. The contact was pulling away from a stop sign, when she heard a thump in the gas tank. The contact spoke with the manufacturer and was advised that the thump was normal. The contact took the vehicle to an authorized dealer who tested the vehicle and found no failures. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 100. The current mileage was not available.

- St. Peters , MO, USA

problem #1

Sep 152009

Avalon

  • miles
I have a 2006 Toyota Avalon XLS and I had problems with sudden acceleration when stopped at a red light with my foot lightly on the break pedal, the engine is running, and the car is in gear (drive). All at once, the car would accelerate forward really fast but stop when I push hard on the break pedal. I was thinking that maybe my foot was slipping from the break and onto the accelerator pedal without me noticing it, however, in light of the recent publicity about the gas pedal problems with Toyota, I am thinking that maybe my foot was not slipping and this piece of information may help in the fault isolation process. It doesn't happen all the time, I would say about once every few months. My reaction on the break pedal is fast and it does stop the car.

- Waterford, VA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?