Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.7

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,880 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Toyota Avalon steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Toyota Avalon:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Toyota Avalon Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #28

Apr 152016

Avalon

  • 78,150 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Had to replace entire rack and pinion assembly

- Long Grove, IL, USA

problem #27

Jul 022014

Avalon 6-cyl

  • miles
Issues I've complained about for year to Toyota only to find out now Toyota was aware of them all along there were recalls & service bulletin. That should have covered my Toyota issue the information below came from sites Toyota issued this warning too. The recall for steering column was on 2005 mine is a early model 2006 with the exact same safety issue. The resolve for me is that Toyota fix the vehicle and not try and hold me responsible for half the cost as the are now doing. My car has been cared for only by Toyota service since the day it was purchase from Toyota new in 2006, the district manager for Toyota [xxx] made the call not to honor this safety issue service bulletin no.: 00306 component(s): Steering NHTSA id number: 10019689 vehicle make/model year(s)Toyota avalon2005-2006 vehicle slight pull/drift feeling improvement procedure. Toyota: A new adjustment lever detent clip was developed to correct the looseness of securing the telescopic on steering column for some vehicles. Model 2005-2012 Avalon. Item affected: Steering: Column date announced: 05/18/2005 description of recall: On certain passenger vehicles, the steering yoke was not welded to the steering shaft. If the vehicle is operated in this condition, there is a possibility that the yoke may come off from the information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #26

Sep 062005

Avalon

  • 81,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Avalon. The contact stated that the adjustable steering wheel would not lock securely. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 81,000.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #25

May 132009

Avalon 6-cyl

  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The steering column telescopic adjustment lever has "slipped out of its locked position" for at least several years. This is the problem that Toyota just issued the "warranty enhancement" for, and while I am grateful for that, I resent their saying "...the majority of vehicles will not experience this condition." From what I understand from other Avalon owners, this is not an isolated problem.

- Morris Plains, NJ, USA

problem #24

Nov 012010

Avalon

  • 100,000 miles
Telescoping steering wheel collapses while driving creating hazardous condition. Friction release doesn't stay locked, and driver must check it regularly while driving.

- Brick, NJ, USA

problem #23

Jul 242012

Avalon 6-cyl

  • 88,360 miles
On 03/22/2010 Toyota replaced a vvti oil hose under recall # 90K because the rubber portion of the hose was subject to failure that would cause the engine oil to spay out. On 07/24/2012 the replacement hose ruptured causing engine oil to spray out. The engine oil soaked the serpentine belt which is attached to the power steering pump as well as other components. This caused a loss of steering control which nearly caused an accident.

- Huntingtown, MD, USA

problem #22

May 132008

Avalon 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2006 Toyota Avalon(touring) has a loud knocking/clunking noise when turning steering wheel at low speeds. Dealer said this was a problem with the 2006 Avalons and can be fixed by replacing the steering column at a cost of $700-800. Car had 42K miles just out of warranty and offered no Toyota help until I told him I had an extended warranty with Toyota repair was made. 15K-20K later, same problem. Second steering column replaced.15K-20K later..same problem..dealer lub the linkage,15K-20K later same problem, dealer lub the linkage again. At 98000, same problem, my Toyota warranty had expired at 96K and the dealer wanted $800 to replace the steering column, his cost amount.area Toyota repr.said it was not a safety issue, more of a nuisance factor. Should be a Toyota recall to find the fix. Just replied to a Toyota survey. Have not replaced the steering column..waiting for an update on the survey. Likely will not be contacted.

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #21

Sep 232010

Avalon 6-cyl

  • 63,663 miles
My 2006 Toyota Avalon steering wheel was getting stuck when I turned the car on. I would have to have to try and turn the wheel in order for it to release. Additionally the car was leaking fluid. On September 23, 2010 I brought the car into the Toyota dealer who identified the problem as "steering rack leaking from right side causing subframe to be wet with power steering fluid. Replace the steering rack and align". so at a cost of $1338.85 the steering rack was replaced. I agree that this is a problem that Toyota should have issued a recall to fix since they knew about it since 2004 and have issued various service bulletins on subject. On January 7, 2012 I brought the car back to the Toyota dealership because I am still experiencing an oil leak that has gotten worse. I have brought the car in numerous times for this issue with no resolution. Now they are telling me that there is a leak at two return hosed in the power steering column and are charging $500 for replacement and repair. So now in a year and half I have spent approximately $2000 to repair the steering on a fairly new car. Why has there not been a recall for this 2006 Avalon steering issue. Apparently Toyota has never rectified the problem with the steering and continues to make money on substandard, dangerous products. This is the seventh Toyota that I have owned and the only one that I have had problems with and recalls for. You would think that for the cost of this car, you would get better quality. I may have to reconsider buying Toyota in the future if this is the quality of car they are producing. This is not the only issue that I have had to date. I have also gone on-line and researched this issue and have found that there are many 2006 Toyota Avalon owners experiencing the same issue.

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #20

Jan 052009

Avalon

  • 36,561 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Avalon. The contact was driving approximately 20 mph when the rear end of the vehicle swerved unexpectedly. In addition, the vsc and check engine warning indicator began to illuminate until the engine was turned off. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnosis and the ignition coil was replaced. One year later, the failure recurred and a different ignition coil was replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 36,561. Kmj

- Prince George, VA, USA

problem #19

Jun 012010

Avalon

  • 58,200 miles
In July 2010 I took my 2006 Toyota Avalon to waldorf Toyota for the 60,000 service and reported a problem with my steering sticking when turning left. This problem occurs randomly. The problem was diagnosed as an alignment needed to correct the problem which I had them perform. However, after approximately a week and half I experienced the same problem. I returned the car again in early August 2010 but was informed that the problem could not be duplicated, consequently the car was not repaired. Fast forward to August 2011, more than another year later, I am still experiencing the same problem and the same explanation from the dealership that the problem could not be duplicated so there has not been resolution. This is a serious safety concern as when the steering sticks a very quick response is needed to correct the direction that you would like the vehicle go while in the middle of the turn. I never know when I will be surprised with this unfortunate situation. I am disappointed with Toyota and concerned for my safety.

- Fort Washington, MD, USA

problem #18

May 202011

Avalon

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 Toyota Avalon, telescopic steering adjustment loosens by itself causing the steering to move unexpectedly..40K miles

- West Monroe , LA, USA

problem #17

Dec 142010

Avalon 6-cyl

  • 107,300 miles
Power steering pump leaking. Told by dealer it will need to be replaced.

- Harrisburg, NC, USA

problem #16

Nov 222009

Avalon 6-cyl

  • 17,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Avalon XLS. While driving 5 mph, the contact noticed that the steering column made a clunking noise. The dealer offered no assistance when contacted. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer had not been notified. The current mileage was approximately 27,000. The failure mileage was approximately 17,000. Updated 01/24/11 updated 02/03/11

- Garden Grove, CA, USA

problem #15

Oct 042010

Avalon

  • 55,400 miles
My 2006 Toyota Avalon XLS exhibits loud knocking noise when turning steering wheel at low speeds. Dealer said this is a problem with the 2006 Avalon and can be fixed by replacing the steering column at a cost of $911. This is a problem that Toyota should have issued a recall to fix since they knew about it since 2004 and have issued various service bulletins on subject.

- North Providence, RI, USA

problem #14

Oct 082009

Avalon

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Avalon. The contact was driving approximately 70 mph when without warning, the steering wheel column unlocked in a downward motion, causing the steering wheel to travel towards the instrument panel. Immediately the contact reduced speed and attempted to correct the steering wheel failure. The contact cautiously drove to the side of the road to re-lock the steering wheel. The vehicle resumed normal operation. The failure occurred four times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired for the failure. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was approximately 120,000.

- Sharpsburg, GA, USA

problem #13

Jan 022010

Avalon

  • 35,000 miles
2006 Toyota Avalon limited - telescopic steering column collapses under normal driving conditions.

- Advance, NC, USA

problem #12

May 172010

Avalon

  • 80,000 miles
I was experience what I believed to be a "sticky" steering wheel. I first noticed it in December of 2009. In 2010, I went to Toyota numerous times about this issue but they said that they couldn't look in to it because 1. it was intermittent and 2. "like looking for a needle in a haystack". I saved the paperwork of where I had came to the dealership complaining of such issue which proved to be fruitful when Toyota issued a recall about the problem in July. I took my car back to the dealership the next day with my papers stating my previous inquires. Still they were unable to do anything because Toyota had not issued any fixes to the dealerships. There were numerous times I felt like the car would not come out of a turn. I have since sold my 2006 Toyota Avalon. One good thing is that though my local dealership was unable to reach corporate to get guidance on the issue, they opened up a case number to bring it to Toyota's attention that this problem was occurring in a 2006 model and the owner had proof that she had been complaining about the issues months before a recall was issued.

- Odenton, MD, USA

problem #11

Jul 242010

Avalon

  • 2,000 miles
Issue: After a period of approximately 2,000 driven miles, the locking device on the telescoping steering column will loosen to the point where it becomes fully disengaged. The vehicle is driven with the telescoping column fully extended and the driver is unaware of when the locking device has become disengaged. During hard braking situations the driver naturally applies support pressure to the steering column causing the disengaged steering column to fully collapse. This sudden and unexpected collapse of the steering column causes the driver an additional concern and an emergency reaction, up to and potentially including the loss of vehicle control, to an already hazardous situation (hard braking). The above incident has happened on several occasions over an extended period of time. Reporting: This incident has been reported to the Toyota dealer at every scheduled 5,000 mile check up for at least the last 2+ years. This issue is not new and at my request the service agent continues to add the issue to the service order. Toyota response; Toyota service personnel state that they can not address the issue since they can not replicate the issue. As was stated above the issue occurs after approximately 2,000 driven miles. How Toyota expects to replicate 2,000 driven miles by driving the vehicle around the parking lot is absolutely unbelievable to any reasonable person. Two months of driving can not be condensed into 10 minutes. For safety issues, especially for one consistently reported over a period of years, to be dismissed after a 10 minute cursory inspection or none at all, is beyond willful neglect and is evident that Toyota's safety culture has not improved. The issue within Toyota remains unreported, unacknowledged and unresolved.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #10

Oct 012009

Avalon

  • 45,000 miles
Unintentional and unexpected unlocking of the telescopic steering column while driving causing potential loss of control of the vehicle.

- Waco, TX, USA

problem #9

Feb 142010

Avalon

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns 2006 Toyota Avalon. While driving 65 mph on cruise control the vehicle continued braking on its own. The contact deactivated the cruise control because the brakes continued to engage on their own. When the cruise control was turned off, the vehicle surged forward and almost hit a another vehicle. Two weeks ago the contact surged forward while driving 30 mph. She took the vehicle to the dealer and suggested that it was the computer in the vehicle. The dealer inspected the vehicle and stated that the computer did not have any problems. The contact stated that her steering wheel became stiff several times and the dealer stated that there was nothing wrong with her power steering. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 35000 and the current mileage was 42800.

- Corsicana, TX, USA

Read the next 8 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?