Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
23 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
19 / 2
Average Mileage:
36,627 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Avalon engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Avalon:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Avalon Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #21

Feb 112010

Avalon 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,300 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Avalon. The contact stated that while driving at approx 60 mph with the cruise control engaged, the vehicle did not slow down as it should have when sensing a vehicle in the near front. The vehicle was equipped with a laser cruise control that was capable of scanning another vehicle and slowing down as to not hit that vehicle. The contact would have to depress the brake pedal in order to avoid hitting a vehicle. He noticed the problem at least 12 times. He took the vehicle to the dealership and the dealer stated that they had heard nothing about such a problem and arranged for the vehicle to be inspected 02/23/2010. He had not called the manufacturer to-date. The current mileage was approximately 40,000. The failure mileage was approximately 39,300. Updated 03/19/10. The cruise control failed to disengage. The vehicle was repaired on Feb 23, 2008. Updated 09/21/10

- Danville, VA, USA

problem #20

Dec 152009


  • 26,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Avalon. While shifting gears from park to drive, the vehicle began to roll backwards. The vehicle was parked on level ground. The dealer was unable to duplicate or diagnose the failure. The contact is concerned about the safety risk involved while driving the vehicle since a crash could occur. The failure mileage was 26,000.

- Upper Marlboro, MD, USA

problem #19

Dec 152006


  • 1,800 miles
I purchased a 007 Toyota Avalon limited in 11/2006 before a month passed I had to take it to the local dealership in visalia, ca. I told the shop manager the footpedal had gotten stuck and the car was wide open, I stomped on the gas pedal and it wouldn't come up, then I reached down and grabbed it and pulled it up, I told the shop manager if I had been in traffic or town there would have been injuries or death and this was a serious problem, they checked it out and told me I didn't know how to drive the car and it was ok. I was a mad customer, then I told him there was also a problem with the computer, the thing wouldn't idle down coming up to a stop sign, and if you put the car in neutral as you braking coming up to a stop it would almost put you through the window, and they needed to fix this, I got the same answer the car is ok. Well by then I really mad, but I also knew then they had no intention of fixing or acknowledging there was a problem, the car has 85K miles on it now and I'm on the 3rd set of tires, 2nd set of brakes, 2nd set of rotors, and had the front end aligned and new bolts installed in the front end so the camber could be adjusted, what a !@#$%, I have been asked to leave dealerships for raising !@#$% about this car, I've also said the paint on this car is junk to and they refuse to do anything about it. I have three years of diesel and gasoline mechanics, was the top of my class and sought after by many large corporations when I graduated in 1978, and I used to work at a Chevy dealership as a line mechanic when I graduated. I can assure you Toyota knew they had problems, and refused to do anything as far back as 2006, if I had the extra money or the time I would have sued them a long time ago, but they are so big as a company I probably didn't have a chance until now. I will bet you if you interview workers at the Toyota plants where the cars were built you will find they have had gas pedals stick at the factory too. Want to bet me?

- Morgan, UT, USA

problem #18

Jan 012007


  • miles


Re: Toyota Avalon as per my conversation with Toyota, my car has had involuntary acceleration since the day we leased it. Each time I was told no problem could be found. It is not a case of the pedal sticking because the car has jumped many times when I was not pressing the pedal at all. Therefore, I do not have confidence that the proposed fix will solve my problem.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #17

Feb 062010


  • 30,000 miles
I received a mat recall letter from Toyota for my 2007 Avalon back in the fall. I still have not received a remedy notice to have it fixed at the local dealer. When I call the dealer, they bounce me to the Toyota 800 number. Why is it taking so long. I have to wonder if the cars at the Toyota plants and on dealers' lot are being repaired first. I also have not received a recall letter for the sticking gas pedal. What can I do to get faster action before an accident happens?

- Dripping Springs, TX, USA

problem #16

Jan 222010


  • 41,000 miles
I was driving my 2007 Toyota Avalon on route 80- East in New Jersey towards New York at highway speed approximately 65 to 70 mph. The car abruptly lurched forward and accelerated for a few seconds. I did not react except to press on the brakes. Fortunately there was light traffic at the time. I reported this to Toyota and was given a case number 1001134776. I returned the car to my local dealer and was given a temporary replacement vehicle.

- New Rochelle, NY, USA

problem #15

Aug 162007


  • 250 miles


2007 Toyota Avalon- rapid acceleration problem. When we first got the new car and were using the cruise control, it shifted down on a hill and went speeding up like crazy. We almost ran down the cars in front of us. It was way above the set speed, so I turned off the cruise control and it stopped speeding up. I thought it was a new car and just doing something strange. I have never had it do that again. But I never use cruise on steep hills. Thought it was my problem until now of not knowing how or when to use cruise control.

- Bellingham, WA, USA

problem #14

Jan 012007


  • 100 miles
This complaint is related to the recent reports of unintended acceleration. Ever since my 2007 Avalon was new, I have experienced a rapid acceleration when the cruise control tries to return to the pre-selected speed after bring slowed by the laser gap distance controller or when selecting a higher preset speed setting. This condition is most prevalent as the difference between set speed and actual speed increases. Initially, I thought that it was merely a design quirk that was just slightly irritating. However, since learning about other more serious complaints of unintended acceleration, IżM thinking that I could have a more serious problem in the future.

- Port Hueneme, CA, USA

problem #13

Dec 292009


  • 35,000 miles
Avalon 2007 XLS the accelerator pedal is a problem. When I park to the garage, I could not stop the car. The brake did not work. The gas pedal was hard, no control.I hit to the garage wall. My front bumper was broken after the hit. The hit impact caused a big shake on my 2 babies ( both under 2.5 year old).

- Garden Grove, CA, USA

problem #12

Oct 182009


  • 49,500 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Avalon. The contact stated that while his wife was driving the vehicle, she turned into a parking lot and the vehicle suddenly surged forward. Although she had her foot on the brake trying to slow down, the vehicle ran into a tree after surging.the vehicle was not totaled.there were no injuries reported. The contact had not spoken with the manufacturer or the dealer to-date. The vehicle had not been inspected. The current mileage was approximately 49,500. The failure mileage was approximately 48,000

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #11

Dec 232009


  • 32,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Avalon. In December 2009, while driving 30 mph on a bridge the vehicle began to fishtail but she was able to control it. The vehicle began to accelerate suddenly and although she depressed the brakes, the vehicle would not slow down until she hit another vehicle while driving approximately 30 mph. The ABS and skid assist lights were both illuminated on the dashboard. There were no injuries and a police report was taken. She also stated that the air bags did not deploy. She had not spoken with the manufacturer or the dealer to-date. The current and failure mileages were approximately 32,000.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #10

Dec 282009

Avalon 6-cyl

  • 107,404 miles
In the past 6 months I have experienced 5 events where the car accelerated on its own prior to the final events leading up to this report. Several times I experienced the car accelerating without my foot on the gas pedal as I drove through town. The car would go back to its correct rpms after driving a few miles or after the car was stopped and put into park. After experiencing the sudden acceleration the third time I took my vehicle to be checked at my local auto shop. They could not find anything wrong with the vehicle. After 2 more incidents I brought my car to a Toyota dealership to be checked. After keeping my car for 2 days they found no unintended acceleration problems and confirmed that the factory mats were installed properly. On 12/28/09 I was driving to work on a major highway. The car began to accelerate without my foot on the gas pedal. As I pushed on the brake, the car continued to accelerate. At that time I was not able to stop my vehicle by pressing hard on the brake. The only way I was able to slow the car down was to put the car into neutral. I took the next exit which was the exit for the Toyota dealership. I called the dealership and told the service manager to meet me outside because I was experiencing acceleration problems. I drove approximately 5 miles by alternating from neutral to drive and pressing very firmly on the brakes. As I pulled into the front of the dealership I put the car into neutral and exited the car. With the brakes smoking from the excessive braking and the car's RPM's racing the mnger entered my car. He confirmed that the mats were properly in place and confirmed the RPM's were very high. They contacted a Toyota tech to look at my car, after 1 1/2 weeks with my car they were told by Toyota to replace the throttle body and accelerator assembly including both sensors. I no longer feel safe driving this car and I am not convinced that Toyota has found the root cause of this problem. Received bill invoice from customer. Updated 01/26/10.

- Pittstown, NJ, USA

problem #9

Jan 092010


  • miles
I was driving my 2007 Toyota Avalon on I-95 S in va when it accelerated on its own. I applied the brakes as well as the emergency brakes which slowed the car to around 30/35 mph. It would not stop but continued pulling as if it wanted to go faster. After pulling to the shoulder I called 911 because my car was about to go down a hill and I was approaching a merging entrance /exit ramp. In order to avoid this as well as stop the vehicle, I drove into a ditch. The car was cleared by firemen and towed away. The police gave me a ride home.

- Stafford, VA, USA

problem #8

May 242009


  • 8,600 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Avalon. While driving and attempting to slow down and avoid hitting a vehicle in front of her, the vehicle began to accelerate. She was able to avoid an accident with another vehicle; however, she crashed into a drain pipe. She was sustained a minor injury to her leg. A police report was filed. She has not spoken with the dealers or the manufacturer. She received recall notice 09V388000, vehicle speed control, accelerator pedal after the failure occurred. The current mileage was 8,877. The failure mileage was approximately 8,600.

- New Iberia, LA, USA

problem #7

Nov 262009


  • 1,000 miles
We have a Toyota Avalon 2007 & have noticed that after we reengage the cruise control there is a sudden acceleration up to the preset speed, there has also been numerous incidents when the car accelerates past the preset speed & we have to disengage the cruise control & then reset it.

- Hamburg, NY, USA

problem #6

Jul 042007


  • 3,723 miles
The contact owned a 2007 Toyota Avalon. While driving approximately 10 mph into a parking lot the vehicle accelerated without warning and crashed into a pillar on July 4, 2007. The contact was unable to stop the vehicle. The crash occurred three months after the vehicle was purchased. All 5 of the air bags deployed and injured the driver and passenger. The computer system that controls everything in the vehicle was damaged and repaired for $17,859.81. The air bags were also replaced. A police report and photos of the crash are available. She spoke to a customer service representative and filed case#0910100910 with the manufacturer on October 2, 2009. The contact was advised that she must submit proof to confirm if the crash was related to the floor mats. The failure mileage was 3,723.

- Jamestown , NC, USA

problem #5

Oct 162009


  • 23,000 miles
Dear NHTSA, I bought the Toyota Avalon limited edition 2007. My wife is the main driver for this vehicle. She recently experienced the gas acceleration on this vehicle for the past 6 weeks. I just called Toyota manufacture and complained to them about my concern and they gave me the documentation #. they advised me to bring the car to the dealership for check up. I told them that when the car accelerates by itself on and off sometimes, it's very difficult for the technician to identifies the issue. I asked Toyota customer care to mail me a letter in regarding the issue if they identify the cause. Please send me any information regarding the gas accelerator for Toyota cars and trucks. I thank you for your support and assistance.

- Alhambra, CA, USA

problem #4

Jun 152009


  • 29,758 miles
2007 Toyota Avalon limited. Defective laser cruise control. Note: Vehicle has keyless ignition. When activated the unit would register obstructions that were not there or would not even recognize a vehicle directly in front. When the unit recognizes the object it starts to slow down, apply the brakes, and when the obstruction is far enough away it resumes speed. The problem is when it resumes speed. The accelerator is almost pushed to the floor and acceleration is rapid. The best way to disengage the system is from the control stalk on the steering column. I had this problem from the time I bought the vehicle in July of 2007. After two years of complaining to the dealer the unit was recognized as being defective and replaced in June 2009. The dealer claimed that he had not received any directive from Toyota usa concerning a problem with the unit. With all the publicity that Toyota is receiving concerning accelerator problems, I thought that in some cases the cause may be related to computer problem in addition to a 'jammed" or stuck accelerator.

- Mineral, VA, USA

problem #3

Nov 012009


  • 25,000 miles
Find when I am on cruise control in my 2007 Toyota Avalon and I reduce speed on resuming speed using my remote engine surges at a high rate of speed and brakes are slow in responding. This has happened on numerous occasions ;latest being on date listed below

- North Hollywood, CA, USA

problem #2

Aug 072007

Avalon 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,600 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Avalon. The consumer accelerated to pass a vehicle ad it took off and wouldn't slow down or stop. The brakes would hold the vehicle at that speed. The consumer placed the vehicle in neutral and stopped. The engine needle had redlined. The vehicle would also delay when accelerating from a stop and then take off rapidly. Updated 12/12/07

- Spartenburg, SC, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?