Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.7

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,410 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Toyota Avalon body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Toyota Avalon:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Toyota Avalon Owner Comments

problem #13

Jan 272015

Avalon 6-cyl

  • 49,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Dashboard is sticky and shiny. The sheen on the dash also creates a glare on sunny days, which creates a safety hazard. Toyota is avoiding a recall for the use of inferior parts.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #12

Jan 012014

Avalon

  • 103,000 miles
There was one crack that appeared on the dashboard, on the drivers side. Since then, there is one long deep crack along the top front edge of the dashboard that extends almost the entire length. Additionally, there are 23 more cracks between the driver and passenger side. Because this dashboard has the airbag inside on the passenger side we don't feel safe driving with the cracked dashboard. Anything that would make an airbag go off too soon or go off too late could be very serious. It is our opinion, that this is a defective part and Toyota should recall the car and issue a technical service bulletin or policy that gives dealerships direction to fix the problem.

- Pompano Beach, FL, USA

problem #11

Dec 082014

Avalon 6-cyl

  • 71,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Avalon. While driving between 55-60 mph, water leaked into the vehicle through the roof. The failure recurred on multiple occasions. The vehicles was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 71,000. Updated 02/24/15 updated 3/4/15 updated 03/17/15 10/7/2015

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #10

May 012014

Avalon 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The dashboard is melting and becoming very sticky. Parts of it have also cracked. When the sun is shining through the window, it impedes visibility.

- Saint Paul, MN, USA

problem #9

Nov 032014

Avalon

  • miles
Consumer writing in regards to 2008 Toyota Avalon. Stating that there is a crack in the passenger side air bag cover. The consumer also stated there was a two inch crack in the upper corner in the same area, and a crack under in the vinyl under the passenger heat and air vent.

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #8

Oct 172014

Avalon

  • 67,000 miles
In the sunlight the dashboard has emitted a sticky substance, which is reflected onto the front window, impairing the drivers vision. Toyota is not doing anything about the problem, per their representative.

- Delray Beach, FL, USA

problem #7

Oct 152013

Avalon 6-cyl

  • 27,580 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Avalon. The contact stated that there were several cracks in the vinyl cover of the passenger side air bag. One crack was eleven inches across the front cover. The dealer stated that nothing could be done to repair the vehicle because it was out of warranty. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 27,580. Updated 11/20/14 updated 12/9/14 the consumer stated that the manufacturer was notified on 9/26/2014. Updated 5/4/2015

- Boyton Beach, FL, USA

problem #6

Dec 212012

Avalon 6-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
December 2012: I noticed a small crack at right side of dashboard. By April 2014 at least 10 more cracks appeared on upper, lower, and side surfaces of dashboard. Some cracks extend the entire width of the dashboard and some around the air bag. I am concerned that if there is an air bag deployment; occupants could be injured by dashboard debris.

- Hialeah, FL, USA

problem #5

Aug 302014

Avalon 6-cyl

  • 12,500 miles
The dashboard of my Toyota Avalon started melting over a year ago. The front dashboard panel is all cracked up. The car was purchased new and is kept in the garage. It never been in an incident and has very low mileage on it. It's obviously a manufacturing defect and should be fixed.

- Sunny Isles Beach, FL, USA

problem #4

Nov 152011

Avalon 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
In November 2011 a crack developed on the right side of the dashboard of my 2008 Toyota Avalon. I contacted the dealership regarding the problem. The dealership contacted gulf states Toyota in houston who refused to replace the dashboard under warranty. I then contacted Toyota headquarters in California and they also refused to cover the replacement of the dashboard. Two years later another four cracks have appeared on the dashboard. Once again I approached the local dealership, who then contacted gulf states Toyota, and once again they refused to replace the cracked dashboard under warranty. This car is garaged and when it is parked outside a sun shade is always placed in the windshield. I paid for a platinum Toyota extended warranty covering 72 months or 100,000 miles and Toyota refuses to cover this problem under the warranty. I have seen many complaints of cracked dashboards on 2008 Toyota Avalons on different websites.

- Sugar Land, TX, USA

problem #3

Apr 262013

Avalon

  • 89,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The rear window sunshade comes up uncontrollably and will not go down. I was driving at night and the sunscreen came up blocking my view of cars behind me and was extremely distracting. The system malfunctions and there is no way to get the shade down. A dealer suggested that if I can craw in the back seat and manually maneuver it into the down position, I could remove the fuse and it would become inactive; thereby, keeping it in the down position. I have checked various websites and customers are removing the fuses to resolve the problem.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #2

Dec 042012

Avalon

  • 70,250 miles
It just rained the pass 4-5 days. My wife went to look for something she thought dropped underneath my seats. She said my carpet/floorboards were wet. I went to the vehicle and pressed down on the carpet. Water instantly raised up and formed a puddle around my intire hand. This is happening driver and passenger side front and back seats. No moister on headliner doors pillars dash seats etc etc etc. Only carpet. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Santa Ana , CA, USA

problem #1

Nov 012009

Avalon

  • 30,000 miles
2008 Avalon has unexplained noises in the trunk, back seat area. Sounds like a loose part which make a "bumping " sound when the car moves over a dip or uneven surface. The auto rear sunshade also rattles continuously.

- Abilene, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?