If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

9.0

really awful
Typical Repair Cost:
No data
Average Mileage:
1,106 miles
Total Complaints:
2 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. replace the unit (2 reports)
Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
2011 Toyota Avanza cooling system problems

cooling system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Toyota Avanza:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Toyota Avanza Owner Comments

problem #2

Nov 152011

Avanza J 1.3L

  • Manual transmission
  • 1,840 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought a brand new Toyota 2011 Avanza 1.3 J M/T Extreme Black at Toyota Shaw, Inc. last July 29, 2011. I only used my unit for city driving with total daily distance of 44km. I have NOT use it for long distance driving yet. I have a very low driving mileage.

Last August 26, 2011 it went to service for the replacement of the ROOF DRIP SIDE FINISH MOULDING - RIGHT PART because it was deformed. My first 1000km checked up was done September 20, 2011.

My mileage of using it as of Nov. 15, 2011 was 2961km only. My unit lost it airconditioning/cooling effect and OVERHEATED at the evening of November 15 while driving less than 1.5km distance. I managed to bring it to the nearest gasoline station for checking ABOUT 30 TO 45 MINUTES ON OVERHEAT. I have parked the unit thrice for cooling down until I reached a gas station. The gasoline attendant at first checked on the radiator water level, it was full, checked the coolant level, it was 3/4 full, check the fan, it was running, then he dose of for 30 to 45minutes the radiator with running water. Then a very hot air escaped through the radiator, then the temperature went down... Then came the technician, he checked again everything, water level, coolant level, oil, motor fan, fan belt, pressure cups, leaks - all was running well, tightly placed and in level. The technician advised me to return the unit to toyota because he believes the problem is already in the engine. Went to the toyota shaw service in the morning of November 16. November 17, they've asked me to gas up worth PhP1000 of unleaded fuel for their test - until now (Nov. 22) they cannot detect the reason for the overheating. I am demanding a replacement for the unit that I bought. But they are offering to change the engine only. I told them that I will not accept anymore the unit until it is replaced. I bought a brand new car and not a second hand car that's been overhauled. The Customer Relations Department of the Toyota shaw told me that they are to process my request, they have not given me a definite answer for the unit replacement. They've just offered me a service unit (which I got only today-Nov. 22) while I am waiting for their tests and diagnosing.

- , San Mateo, Rizal, Philippines

problem #1

Dec 122010

Avanza Avanza A/T 1.5g

  • Automatic transmission
  • 373 miles

This is with regards to the Toyota Avanza 1.5G A/T which I purchased last December 4, 2010.

While driving in NLEX last December 12, 2010, the car engine overheat. The overheating occur within seven (7) days after the released of the unit and the kilometer used is only around 600 kilometers before it had an overheat. It was very frustrating on my part that I bought a brand new car and yet I experienced engine overheating in that span of time.

Then we brought the car to the Toyota Service for check up last December 13, 2010. The engineer in charge told me that the car will be release on December 15, 2010 but after having final check up they told me that the technician from the main office had requested to hold the unit for final check up. After five days of waiting they told me that the unit is still not in good condition.

Until today, the car is still with them and the service center of Toyota can't give me specific time where it will be in good condition. I demand for replacement but they don't want it. They must consider the fact that I purchased a brand new car not a repaired car.

In my own experience, I will not recommend to anyone to buy Toyota cars, they are not that durable. And the Toyota Motor Philippines is not that capable of taking full responsibility with that defective unit. I think they sold me a defective unit based on the report of the work performed which they had given me. Many parts are being replaced. That is the main reason why I demand for the replacement of the unit or better refund my payments.

Hoping that this website could help me convince Toyota Motor Philippines to replace the unit for a brand new car or better refund my payments.

Update from Jan 6, 2011: This is with regards to the Toyota Avanza 1.5G A/T which I purchased from Toyota Marikina, Philippines last ¬December 4, 2010.

While driving in NLEX last December 12, 2010, the car engine overheat and we have no choice but to stop. The overheating occur after 30 minutes driving and it is within seven (7) days after the released of the unit and the kilometer used is only around 600 kilometers before it had an overheat. It was very frustrating on my part that I bought a brand new car and yet I experienced engine overheating in that span of time. It had also a hard starting and a smell of fuel inside the car while the engine is on.

Then we brought the car to the Toyota Service for check up last December 13, 2010. The engineer in charge told me that the car will be release on December 15, 2010 but after having final check up they told me that the technician from the main office had requested to hold the unit for final check up. After five days of waiting they told me that the unit is still not in good condition. The car is still in their service center until now, it is almost a month that they cannot fix the trouble of the Avanza I bought.

I requested to the Toyota Marikina, Philippines to replace the unit or refund the payment for the reason that I suspected that the car given to me was defective from the very start or I should say it has a factory defect, since the unit was only 7 days and the mileage was only 600km but overheating already occur. I purchased a brand new car and expect to have a good one. I did not purchase a brand new repaired car. It is their responsibility to give me a good brand new car.

I demand from Toyota Marikina Philippines a replacement for the car that I purchased since I bought it in cash basis and it was fully paid to their office and the car was already in their service center since December 13, 2010 until now January 6, 2011. And I am not benefiting from my car since then. But they don’t want to replace it. They said it should be repair free of charge. I don’t want to accept that car anymore because the problem happen to the car is not minor. I am saying it is a major problem since they are not able to fix the car in few days, and until now the car is still not in good condition. They said that they still have to study some parts and fix it.

I went to Toyota Marikina Philippines last January 4, 2011 to talk personally to the President, MR. LEO FERERIA, but the CRO told me that the President does not entertain clients. The CRO in charged Ms. Ghia Buenaventura was the one told me that they will not REPLACE the unit, even though she gave me her word last December 18, 2010 that they will recommend the replacement of the unit

I kept on calling the Customer Relation Officer in Toyota Motor Philippines (main Office) but the other CRO always telling me that the CRO in Charged in my case is not around. I think they are hiding from me. As a customer, they must give me a good treatment because I am their client, but they did not.

- , Binangonana, Rizal, Philippines

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?