Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
61,842 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota FJ Cruiser brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota FJ Cruiser:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota FJ Cruiser Owner Comments

problem #4

Oct 012010

FJ Cruiser

  • 72,069 miles


Summary: The primary safety system (brakes) in my 2007 Toyota Fj cruiser failed twice. The local Toyota dealership utilizing Toyota national resources were unable to isolate the problem. The solution was to completely replace brake system and charge it to me. The lack of availability of parts nationally (backorder) resulted in a completely unreasonable repair timeframe. The vehicle was out of service for 49 days and cost $2503.99 to repair. October 1, 2010 driving in traffic depress brake. The pedal goes completely to floor board. No indication of problems via interior warning lights. October 6, 2010 problem determined to be brake master cylinder. Part ordered (47025-35111 cylinder sub-assembly) through internet site of lakeland Toyota in Florida. The cost of the part is $981.37 and the part is on backorder. Estimated deliver is 10/26/10. October 26, 2010 part arrives and is installed. Multiple warning lights are indicated on interior display. November 1, 2010 Toyota dealership determines the new master cylinder assemblies computer is defective. November 4, 2010 Toyota dealership replaces new master cylinder computer with my old computer. The result is the warning lights turning off and indicates the problem has been fixed. The mechanic take the vehicle on a test drive activates the antilock brakes which results in an unexpected loss of vehicle control. The service manager refuses to return the vehicle claiming it is unsafe to drive. No warning lights are indicated on the vehicle. November 10, 2010 Toyota dealership determined that the master cylinder within the new master cylinder assemblies is faulty. Brake solenoid components are also determined to be faulty and a contributing factor in the loss of vehicle control. Toyota recommends that complete brake assembly (47050-35072 $1823.87) be replaced. This is virtually the entire brake system of the vehicle. This assembly is on backorder as well. November 18, 2010 vehicle repaired and returned.

- Greenville, SC, USA

problem #3

Jan 012010

FJ Cruiser

  • 65,000 miles
I experienced braking failure while driving in wet conditions with melting snow in town at speeds from 0 to 30 mph. Brakes felt extremely mushy and vehicle only slowed by applying extraordinary pressure to brake pedal. At stop, pedal continued to depress all the way to floor and despite standing on brake, vehicle continued to creep forward. I am 6' 1" tall and over 190 pounds, depressing the pedal as hard as I could, completely standing on pedal, I could not keep this vehicle from moving ahead. I believe if this vehicle had been being driven by a shorter, lighter person, the potential for a serious accident would have been greatly increased. Vehicle exhibited same failure two or three more times while driving home (total of 5 mile trip). Next day inspected fluid reservoir, lines and hubs for any fluid. Reservoir was at proper level and no sign of any leakage. Since that isolated incident vehicle brakes have performed appropriately.

- Dover, NH, USA

problem #2

Feb 042010

FJ Cruiser

  • 53,000 miles
I bought my fj used in March with about 26K on it. Love this truck to death until the brake failure slide!!!. I was coming to a stop at a busy intersection, I live in a busy city "newark NJ" (I know I know, hold back the joke/sarcasm just for a bit ;-)). Anywho, I was only doing about 25 or less and about 5-10 miles on a flat surface my car started to slide, I thought maybe it was oil on the ground or something so didn't pay it much mind. It was a very slow slide but it still slid a few feet where I had to pump the pedal to stop. It did it again when I was coming to an off ramp on rt 22. This time the truck slid super far the brake pedal was pressing just as hard against my foot as I pressed down to stop it, luckily there were no cars in front of me. Scared the crap out of me!! this is when I found this forum and searched for similar problems. I found a few post printed them all out with suggested fixes and brought them to the dealer. I showed the service techs, and they like took a quick look and through them to the side. I said don't you want to keep these. They said no we don't need this stuff. They checked a bunch of stuff said brakes and pads were good, and said the problem was the brake fluid, so they changed it. Road around for about another month or so and with no problems. Until it happened again this time while I'm in stop and go traffic on my way to work. Again slow pace but I still had to dip around the car in front of me and on to the shoulder to avoid hitting the car in front of me really sucks!! also it has happened to me with different tire pressures. I won't let my mom ever drive or borrow my truck because of this. If there is no recall soon I will rather sell my truck then kill someone. :-(

- Newark, NJ, USA

problem #1

Jan 152010

FJ Cruiser

  • 57,300 miles
I drive a 2007 Toyota Fj cruiser and have experienced problems with braking on at least three occasions. I have heard from many other Fj cruiser drivers who have also experienced this problem: When driving at relatively low speeds (below 40 mph) and attempting to brake, such as at a stoplight, the brakes will lock up causing the vehicle to continue to roll forward even while the brake is being pressed. It seems as though the ABS kicks in as you can feel the "scraping" feeling through the pedal. From all other accounts and based on mine, it seems the common factor is rolling over uneven terrain while braking, such as a pothole, manhole cover, or just bumpy asphalt. So far I was fortunate not to have another car directly in front of me. However, I cam dangerously close to rolling through a red light which could have caused a collision with the traffic which had the green light. There are at least dozens of these same reports which I've read on just one Fj cruiser owner forum. All are consistent with braking over uneven terrain which results in the vehicle continuing to roll forward.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

Not what you are looking for?