Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.1

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
76,200 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Toyota Highlander brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Toyota Highlander:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Toyota Highlander Owner Comments

problem #2

Jan 262011

Highlander 6-cyl

  • 78,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I took my 2004 Toyota Highlander V6 to longo Toyota for brake booster recall in November 2010. They kept my car nearly 7 weeks before repair was completed. A few days after picking up my vehicle, while I was parked dropping off my passenger, most of the control panel lights illuminated (brakes, ABS, trac off, vsc, check engine). I reported this to the dealer. They said to bring the car back. I took the car back and diagnostic tests were run and concluded that a code was stored but it was nothing specific that had failed. Brake system was bled. In June 2011, the light cluster ("christmas tree" is how the dealer refers to it) illuminated again while I was attempting to pick up my car from my local Toyota dealer (bob smith Toyota). Again, the car was left. Again it was reported to me that the system had stored a code but no specific component was in failure and the brakes were bled. Approximately, July 20, 2011 and July 23, 2011, the lights illuminated again, only four of them (trac off, vsc, ABS, brakes). I contacted the Toyota dealer on Tuesday, July 26 and was forcing the issue on July 29, 2011 and made an appointment for August 1, 2011. On July 31, 2011, the same four lights illuminated while driving and stayed on. I stopped, turned off the engine, restarted the vehicle, and experienced a very spongy, squishy brake pedal. I contacted Toyota motor corporation to further address the concern of my vehicle now being unsafe as a result of their recall. Toyota motor corporation was vague and said that the matter could only be addressed by longo Toyota, the dealer that performed the recall, since the parts warranty would only be with them. In contacting bob smith Toyota, the service advisors swears that the problem can be resolved by them. It appears that performing the recall weakened the integrity of my brake system. As one representative said, "you will not have a catastrophic failure and you will still be able to stop. It will just take longer."

- Montrose, CA, USA

problem #1

Mar 072010

Highlander 4WD

  • 74,400 miles
The check engine, vsc, trac-off lights appeared on my dashboard of my 2004 Toyota Highlander on or around March 7, 2010. On March 9, I went to my local mechanic whose Toyota diagnostic machine informed them that since this vehicle had under 80,000 miles - it was still covered by my original warranty. I made an appointment with sunrise Toyota, in oakdale, NY where I purchased this Highlander. After showing sunrise Toyota service rep: Charles salvato the diagnostic printouts - he refused to address the problem because the previous mechanic inadvertently cleared the warning lights. They wouldn't accept the diagnostic printouts as proof of a problem nor would they agree to check-out or re-run the diagnostic test. After formally complaining, I did hear from a bob johnson at sunrise Toyota who ask me to stop in. When I did stop by, I was told he was at an all day meeting. My distinct feeling is that they are hoping to let the clock run out (let the mileage go over 80,000) so that nothing has to be done. I am asking for NHTSA's assistance with this important safety concern. A concern, I feel, Toyota is still responsible for. Thank you for your assistance in this matter.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?