Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.2

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
69,171 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Toyota Highlander electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Toyota Highlander:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Toyota Highlander Owner Comments

problem #18

Nov 012015

Highlander

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Highlander. When the vehicle was started, the brake light, antilock brake light, and the check engine light illuminated. The vehicle did not accelerate and the antilock brakes did not work. The vehicle was taken to a local dealer where it was diagnosed that the computer core needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 90,000...updated 05/02/16

- West Long Branch, NJ, USA

problem #17

Oct 242014

Highlander

  • 175,000 miles
While in the mountains in heavy traffic, the vehicle all the vehicle warning lights went on and the vehicle shutdown. While negotiating the vehicle to the side of the road, I barely avoided an an accident with another vehicle. I turned the vehicle off and it restarted and drove it to a mechanic who disconnected the battery and all of the vehicle warning lights disappeared and it drove fine. It has happened twice since including today (July 7, 2015). Was told by mechanic that it was likely an inverter that would cost about $10,000. While checking the Toyota recall website, I noticed that there were a number of other recalls involving inverters and electrical system malfunctions in 2006 Toyota Highlander hybrids but was told that these did not impact this VIN #.

- Bayfield, CO, USA

problem #16

Aug 282012

Highlander 4-cyl

  • 63,035 miles
I had closed the windows to discover the rear passenger side window was stuck in the down position. I had written to Toyota regarding this on 08/29/2012 their response -they had no data to share on what complaints they receive to provide to the public as that is proprietary. Toyota sent it to their national headquarters, giving me a file #. the window is now stuck again. And happened another time since 08/28/2012 I just searched Toyota power window controls, there is a recall, dated announced October 10, 2012, they are saying certain models 2007-2009 highland and more. If Toyota did send my complaint to their headquarters a month and a half earlier, they should have checked their records, this has happened to other 2006 Highlanders.

- Millis, MA, USA

problem #15

Oct 282014

Highlander

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Our 2006 Toyota Highlander hybrid would not start on several occasions. The car had been running for some time, turned off for 5 minutes and then it would not restart. After sitting for a few hours it restarted. Some times it had to be jumped and the code read "shift to park" even though it was already in park. I took it in and everything checked out and of course they said that they never heard of this happening before.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #14

May 102014

Highlander 6-cyl

  • 116,000 miles
I have owned this Highlander hybrid 2006, for exactly 1 week. There were no incidents leading up to this one while owner drove vehicle that week. Owner started car on Saturday morning to get kids to soccer game and vocal class, both missed. Upon starting vehicle driver noticed P/S warning sensor light on dashboard. Then put car in reverse and realized there was no power steering in vehicle? this was the one and only light that came on. Contacted dealership who says they will contact owner on Monday.

- Yacolt, WA, USA

problem #13

Mar 012012

Highlander

  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Highlander hybrid. The contact stated that she received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 11V342000 (electrical system) and the dealer was contacted to make an appointment. The dealer advised the contact that the parts needed for recall repairs were not available.the vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was unable not advised the contact of when the parts would become available. The contact stated that she did not feel safe driving the vehicle until the recall was repair was performed. The failure and the current mileage was 42,000.

- Wilmette, IL, USA

problem #12

Dec 122011

Highlander 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Highlander hybrid. The contact stated that the lights on the instrument panel remained illuminated and the contact was unable to start the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to the dealer but not repaired. The failure and the current mileage was not available. Updated 02/09/12 the dealer replaced the inverter assembly. Updated 02/29/12

- Angleton, TX, USA

problem #11

Aug 082011

Highlander

  • miles
I went to the dealer related to NHTSA campaign id number: 11V34200. The dealer check the Highlander and said that the recall not apply and did not need to be installed or repair the inverter. The next week ll the panel warning lights turn on(brake, slip, vcs warning, exclamation sing and ABS). Then a return to dealer, they check the Highlander. Now they said that the problem is the ABS module. How I can corroborate that my car is not included in the safety recall.

- Hatillo, PR, USA

problem #10

Jul 092011

Highlander 6-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
I was driving in my Highlander with my daughters in the back seat when suddenly out of no where all the alert lights came on and there was no power at all - the gas pedal was non functional - I was in the far left lane of a an interstate and fortunately I was able to get off the road and pull the car out of traffic as it rolled to a stop. I waited on the crowded interstate for two hours for a tow. I was told that the Highlander hybrid inverter had failed - the dealer replaced the part that week and the car drives normally now. I was advised that in fact this is a known problem. One month later ironically I received in the mail notice from Toyota that my model of Highlander is being recalled for the inverter replacement that had just caused this extremely unsafe vehicle failure just one month prior.

- Providence, RI, USA

problem #9

Feb 102011

Highlander 6-cyl

  • 35 miles
Vehicle Toyota 2006 VIN #[xxx] Highlander limited prior complaint sent to Toyota & dot 2/4/2010. After a stop when accelerator sometimes there is a second or two pause before the engine responds causing a sudden lurch forward. Additionally when diving at in town speeds and the accelerator is released and then a resumption of pressure on it there is a second or two pause before the engine engages, also causing a lurch forward. I have learned to "expect the condition" and make allowances for it, however it still causes concern and possibly a dangerous acceleration. The accelerator and engine activation need to be corrected for this "pause and lurch forward response". parts of this document have been redacted to protect personally identifiable information pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Sierra Madre, CA, USA

problem #8

May 012007

Highlander 6-cyl

  • 5,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 hybrid Highlander reported and went to mediation with nothing done. Car has lots of issues, it jumps forward when stopping about 3 feet on occasion, it will go dead for no reason, the gps fails and puts you in pa when in va, and electrical and mechanical nightmare, had written testimonials but they ignored it saying all tests were fine and it started when the car was only about 3-5 months old. I went on htn meds because of this and am afraid to drive car and had to buy another for my kids to drive as it is not safe. There are website with lots of others with the same issues being told all along that noone else reported it but they all did...please help!!

- South Riding, VA, USA

problem #7

Dec 162010

Highlander

  • 145,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Highlander. While driving approximately 55 mph, the contact stated that the vehicle lost all power without warning and would not restart. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the contact was informed that the inverter needed to be repaired. The manufacturer offered no assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The current and failure mileages were approximately 145,000.

- Destrehan, LA, USA

problem #6

Nov 292010

Highlander

  • 29,500 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Highlander hybrid. The contact stated while driving approximately 55 mph when the began vehicle loosing power. The hybrid warning light was illuminated and the vehicle then stalled. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed as a failure in the battery cell. The dealer advised the contact that the inverter would need to be replaced. The contact stated that the dealer had replaced the battery a few months prior to the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer engineer inspected the vehicle and advised that the towing company caused more damaged to the vehicle battery while attempting to get the vehicle started. The failure and the current mileage was 29,500.

- Irvine, CA, USA

problem #5

Nov 222010

Highlander 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Highlander hybrid. The contact stated that while driving approximately 55 mph the vehicle completely stalled and coasted until it stopped. The vehicle was towed to a dealer who inspected the vehicle and informed the contact that there was an inverter failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 130,000. Updated 02/08/11 updated 11/30/2011

- Hermosa Beach, CA, USA

problem #4

Aug 242010

Highlander

  • 115,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Highlander hybrid. While traveling 65 mph the contact noticed that all warning lights had appeared on the dashboard, seconds later the vehicle had suddenly shut off without warnings. The vehicle was taken to the dealership where the contact was informed that the inverter needed to be replaced. There were no prior warnings and the vehicle was not repaired. The current and failure mileages were 115000.

- Columbus, NJ, USA

problem #3

Aug 252010

Highlander

  • 136,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Highlander hybrid. While driving 70 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer where the contact was awaiting a replacement of the hybrid inverter assembly. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileage was 136,000.

- Crestline, CA, USA

problem #2

Jun 042010

Highlander

  • 29,500 miles
Re: 2006 Toyota Highlander hybrid 2wd SUV 29,500 miles. Upon entering a highway I experienced total failure of the hybrid system in my SUV, which slowly drifted to a halt, nearly causing several accidents. The nearest dealership replaced the inverter portion of the hybrid system. It was covered under warranty but I was told that had it not been covered it would have cost me between $9,000 and $10,000! or about 1/4 the cost of the entire vehicle new!

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #1

Aug 112006

Highlander 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,000 miles
2006 Toyota Highlander. Consumer states that the vehicle stalls due to a electrical problem which drains the battery. The vehicle has stalled 6 times and the battery has been replaced 3 times. The dealer did find an internal short by the engine and the theft deterrent switch was replaced. The consumer stated the dealer has been unable to rectify the stalling problem.

- Suisun City, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?