Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
89,155 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Toyota Highlander Hybrid steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Toyota Highlander Hybrid:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Toyota Highlander Hybrid Owner Comments

problem #12

Jul 052016

Highlander Hybrid 6-cyl

  • 105,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Highlander hybrid. While driving ar any speed, the power steering warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. The steering wheel became very difficult to turn. When the contact turned off and restarted the vehicle, the steering returned to normal. The steering failure occurred intermittently. The approximate failure mileage was 105,000. Updated 09/06/16 the consumer stated the power steering didn't always return. Sometimes, the consumer had to sit for several hours. Updated 09/08/16.

- Joliet, MT, USA

problem #11

Jun 212016

Highlander Hybrid

  • 105,200 miles
It is a 2006 Highlander hybrid with 105200 miles and well maintained.. it looses power assist in steering at all speeds intermittently. It is very dangerous as I have to put lot of muscle in steering at low speeds but it had lost power assist even at 65 mph as well which made me very nervous. I cannot drive the vehicle as the power steering P/S light comes on most of the times now. Only once a while it is off which is when I drive but few miles of driving gets the light back on with no power assist. I have seen many people in forums with the same problem for that years hybrids. Therefore I am requesting to help me out with either a recall or getting this fixed at my local rochester mn dealership. Anything you could do at the earliest would be appreciated.. customer request to be removed from complaint list, cell phone, address. Not to be contacted. Updated 08/12/16

- Rocheste, MN, USA

problem #10

Dec 282015

Highlander Hybrid

  • 170,000 miles
Power steering failure. Car was in motion turning when ps light came on and no power since then

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #9

Mar 212015

Highlander Hybrid

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Stall steering wheel

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #8

Sep 102009

Highlander Hybrid

  • 45,100 miles
I apologize for the delay in filing this complaint. I just learned of the complaint process. We took delivery of the vehicle on 12/7/09 from burnsville Toyota in burnsville, mn. On 12/10/09 while traveling from eagan, mn to omaha, ne the power steering went out on the vehicle. We were able to get the power steering repaired in bellevue, ne on 12/12. I felt fortunate to have repairs made as it was a Saturday and the vehicle is a hybrid. The bellevue dealership made the repairs at no charge and informed me of the open recall on the power steering. Upon returning home I contacted the dealership. They apologized and offered a free update on the gps. I also later contacted Toyota corporate. My notes from that contact indicate a reference number of 1001108638. Upon learning of the complaint process I also learned that it is illegal for a new car dealership to sell a vehicle with an open recall. I do not know if that was the case in 2009. I am pleased to be able to submit this complaint as I have always felt consumers should be protected from purchasing products with known defects

- Eagan , MN, USA

problem #7

Apr 172015

Highlander Hybrid 6-cyl

  • 49,936 miles
I was driving on a straight highway between 45 -50 mph. Sudden a bunch of lights and warnings came up in the dashboard. I lost power steering and motor propulsion too. I pressed the accelerator and nothing happened. Although I had the ability to brake, it seemed that the braking was also impaired. However because I was going up an incline I did not need strong braking. I managed to coast over to the breakdown lane. Luckily there were only a couple other cars near me so it wasn't too difficult to maneuver by them and coast to the other side of the road where the breakdown lane was. Once I was completely stopped I shut the car down completely and restarted in the normal hybrid startup manner. The car propulsion and steering came back but now the message was alternating between "maintenance needed" and "check vsc system", and the check engine light and symbol was on. I shut off everything electrical to minimize electrical drain. I was able to drive the car another 8-10 miles to get home but I was constantly looking to see where I could pull over if the car stopped again. I made it home. Tomorrow bring it to the Toyota dealer. Significantly, I recently had the brake actuator replaced at a cost of around $2700, specifically because they warned me that I could lose braking and other electronic facilities unpredictably. I thought that expensive repair would avoid this. Unfortunately it appears that what they were predicting could happen did happen, but after the repair! I was on a highway when the car died but with not much traffic and an easy access breakdown lane. Had it been 10 minutes later I might have been on a much busier highway in a place where a breakdown lane is much harder to reach. That would have been a dangerous situation. Had it been daytime and in a safer area I would have stopped and called for a tow truck.

- San Juan, PR, USA

problem #6

Apr 032014

Highlander Hybrid 6-cyl

  • 107,732 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Started vehicle, power steering fault indicator came on. No power steering. Does steer while in motion but extremely hard to turn, impossible while standing still.

- Newark, DE, USA

problem #5

Mar 302014

Highlander Hybrid 6-cyl

  • 88,889 miles
I just bought the car 2 weeks ago (3/17/14) and it has been driven for 500 miles without any incident. Last night I parked in my usual spot across the road from my house. On the morning of Sunday (3/30/14) I went to turn on my car and I notice a P/S red light came on and did a quick search on the internet and realized it was my power steering failing. Did a quick test, confirmed that my steering wheel was difficult to turn. I did some further research on the internet and realize this is a common problem with highland hybrid and there was already a NHTSA action (PE06055) filed previously but had no conclusion. I want to make sure that this problem was brought up again, that it hasn't gone away, it is dangerous and I have seen numerous web blog about this: www.greenhybrid.com/discuss/F12/2006-hch-lost-power-steering-briefly-25044/ answers.edmunds.com/question-power-steering-failure-on-2006-highlander-hybrid-9455.aspx it is absurd that Toyota refuse to do anything about a bad quality product they produce. If they don't want to recall, at least fix the one that actually experience the problem rather then have people shelling out their money (on top of what they already paid to purchase the car) to fix a problem that Toyota created in the outset.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #4

Jun 092013

Highlander Hybrid 6-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
We were driving on the NJ turnpike. Suddenly, the car stalled and the steering locked. Luckily, we just started the hour long drive and were on the slow lane and was able to glide the car over safely to the shoulder. The check "csv" and "check hybrid system" lights came on and the hybrid battery showed no energy. The car would not start and was towed to the closest Toyota dealership. There were no prior warnings about battery errors or problems before completely stalling. It is understandable problems will arise, but with no warning and a car stalling on a major highway, the incident could have been extremely dangerous.

- Cedar Grove, NJ, USA

problem #3

Feb 152013

Highlander Hybrid 6-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
I was driving my 2006 Toyota higlander hybrid on I 95 in 4 lanes of dense traffic all going at least 60-70mph, when I noticed that I was losing power and my car was starting to slow down. I glanced at the dash to see multiple warning signals - check hybrid, check vsc and others. Fortunately, there was a big enough gap on the left for me to pull across the left most lane because I knew if I did not I was going to stall and likely be in a major accident. It was a very scary moment. I could not restart my car and had to wait to get towed, ( DC rush hour). The dealer said my inverter needed to be replaced. After hearing the news I remembered that I had a notice from Toyota, a recall for part of the inverter. Initially, I was told this would not cover what I needed. In the end, I was covered. I am thankful to all who reported similar issues so that this would be addressed.

- Hyattsville, MD, USA

problem #2

Nov 302011

Highlander Hybrid

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns 2006 Toyota Highlander hybrid. The contact was driving 10 mph when the contact crashed into a curb and the power steering failed. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the dealer confirmed that the power steering and the hybrid computer system failed. The manufacturer was not contacted and the vehicle was not repaired. The failure and the current mileages were 60,000.

- Arcadia, CA, USA

problem #1

Feb 192011

Highlander Hybrid

  • 118,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Highlander hybrid. The contact was traveling 65 mph when the vehicle suddenly stalled; there was no prior warning. When the failure occurred, there was also a loss of power steering. The check vsc and check hybrid system warning lights illuminated. The dealer stated that the inverter failed. The VIN was unavailable. The current and failure mileages were 118,000.

- Cos Cob, CT, USA

Not what you are looking for?