Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.9

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
31,723 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Toyota Prius wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Toyota Prius:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Toyota Prius Owner Comments

problem #8

Aug 122015

Prius

  • 38,922 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Yokahama avid tire(185-65-RL15, ccly 84P 2013X3,84P 3613X1) on the front passenger side blew out on Aug. 12, 2015 forcing me onto the shoulder. It was 4;00 pm and the road was crowded. If the left tire had blown out there would have been a major accident. I immediately replaced the tire with another brand. And since I have no storage, the tire dealer disposed of the tire. On August 20, I had to replace the rear passenger tire because I noticed a quarter sized bubble on the sidewall. I have a photo of that bubble and copies of the replacement tire bills. All four tires were installed 12/19/2013 at the auto dealer. At that time the car had 32,228 miles. When the first tire blew the speedometer read 38,992 miles ( 6,644 miles), the second tire was replaced after being driven another 50 miles with a different brand and also disposed of. The remaining yokahama tires were placed on the rear of the vehicle. I spoke with a yokahama representative who said I needed the tires to proceed with an investigation. He said there was nothing else I could do.. since this tire defect could have had disasterous consequences. I would like an investigation and information regarding the safety of yokahama tires. Any action you can take on behalf of myself and other motorists would be appreciated.any further information including the photo and receipts I will be pleased to share with you at your request. Looking forward to your response.

- Wilmington, DE, USA

problem #7

May 042014

Prius

  • miles
2008 Toyota Prius. Consumer writes in regards to defective tires. The consumer was informed on two separate occasions, when having the tires balanced and rotated, the tires were defective. The consumer was informed, a bad alignment could have caused the tires to become defective.

- Anthony, NM, USA

problem #6

Apr 242014

Prius

  • 43,170 miles
We have had two catastrophic failures of Continental pro contact tires (195/55-16) - one on 12/11/2012 (right front) and one on 04/24/2014 (left front). Both tires had been in service less than 5,000 miles, were correctly inflated and in no way misused. No road obstacle has hit - the tires simply disintegrated after a few seconds of tire pressure warning light indication. Both look as though a tiger saw had been used to cut around the circumference where the sidewall turns to meet the tread.

- Cheverly, MD, USA

problem #5

Oct 252011

Prius 4-cyl

  • 100,289 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased four Continental 185 65 R15 tires for 2008 Toyota Prius and had them installed at a Nissan dealership on 10/24/2011with mileage 92526 due to curb strikes, I incurred two road hazard sidewall claims within 2 days of install; one bulbous section and one flat. Installation of warranty replacements occurred 11/08/11 at mileage 93335. Another curb strike sidewall warranty claim for third tire installed on 2/28/12 at mileage 98658. Fourth and final replacement of originally purchased tires yet to be processed/installed from curb strike road hazard on 4/9/12 at mileage 100289. Prior to purchase of Continental tires, no road hazard has occurred with the vehicle on two other brands of tires. I had to purchase an extra oem spare tire due to the length of the warranty process and the number of occurrences. The last and final time, since I had not yet replaced my oem spare again(it hadn't been six weeks since the last replacement) I purchased a less-expensive brand and model, as each local Continental dealer is unable to order this model of tire from their distributor and has to call Continental for replacement directly. The second oem spare was unfit for driving.

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #4

Sep 172010

Prius

  • 19,000 miles
I had a blowout on I-75 in lexington ky. Went to walmart to get tires. When I got to charlotte nc I went to the Toyota dealership to have my remaining back two tires checked. He said they were defective. The tires were original equipment on my 2008 Prius. The tire information is 15" P185/65R15.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #3

Aug 142009

Prius

  • 18,000 miles
My 2008 Toyota Prius slides when I brake on wet roads. It is very scary and I'm concerned this will cause an accident...especially because occasionally when my 77 yr. Old mother is driving it and is not accustomed to it.

- Soddy Daisy, TN, USA

problem #2

May 072009

Prius

  • 19,900 miles
I had a sudden blow-out while driving my 2008 Prius on the freeway. All four tires are Goodyear P185/65R15 and came with the vehicle. The car mileage is about 19,900. Without any warning (low tire pressure light, etc.), the left rear tire blew out due to tread separation almost causing me to lose control of the vehicle. I went to the local Toyota dealership who described the damage to the tire as "tread separation" on their paperwork. They replaced the tire as a "one time customer courtesy" but would not acknowledge it was defective. I am now very concerned about the remaining three tires on the car.

- Pomona, CA, USA

problem #1

Oct 142008

Prius

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,500 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Prius. While driving 10 mph, the front driver's side tire went flat. The contact replaced the tire with a spare. The vehicle then began experiencing numerous failures. The instrument panel gauges illuminated and the odometer began to fail. The dealer stated that it would take a few days to diagnose the cause of the failure. Days later, the mechanic explained that there was an issue with the computer system not recognizing the oversized tires. The mechanic placed the regular size tire back on the vehicle, which corrected the issue. The contact is concerned that the spare tire could cause dangerous driving conditions if it ever needed to be used again. The current and failure mileages were 14,500. Updated 11/14/08. Updated 11/18/08.

- Leesville, LA, USA

Not what you are looking for?