Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
20 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
3,694 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota Prius brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota Prius:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota Prius Owner Comments (Page 11 of 26)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #302

Dec 082009

Prius

  • 1,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2010 Prius iv - braking is delayed in wet conditions and when I drive over a bump or pothole. Have to keep the brake pedal pressed and it feels and sounds like the engine accelerates before the brake come on. It lasts for few seconds and does not happen always.

- Kildeer, IL, USA

problem #301

Jan 082010

Prius

  • 4,000 miles
Upon braking approaching a stoplight, my 2010 Toyota Prius hit a pothole and suddenly jerked forward, then returned to slowing. I kept my foot on the brake and the car stopped normally.

- Ashburn, VA, USA

problem #300

Jul 252009

Prius

  • 1,200 miles
Toyota 2010 Prius intermittent brake failure when braking on rough pavement- I purchased a new 2010 Toyota Prius on June 30, 2009 and have approximately 6400 miles on the vehicle. We experience two issues when braking on rough pavement. First is that the brakes seem to fail when applied in normal non panic stopping if there is wet or rough pavement. Second when the first symptom occurs it is also accompanied by what feels like an increase in torque at the front wheels so that not only do the brakes feel like they are failing the car lurches forward from the added thrust.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #299

Dec 202009

Prius

  • 1,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Upon entering the road to my driveway there are a small series of dips and bumps or short sequence of small potholes from the rain. When I lightly apply the brake to slow down the pedal seems to have "no braking affect" when I go down into an come out of the first of the series of dips. The brakes then return to normal in my drive way. What I have been doing is avoiding the dips and thereby avoiding the eerie feeling that my brakes have failed.

- Santa Rosa, CA, USA

problem #298

Jan 022010

Prius

  • 250 miles
On December 29, 2009 we purchased a 2010 Toyota Prius. Within a few days we experienced brake problems while backing up and applying the brakes lightly. The Prius stopped abruptly many times before we were in a position to move forward. This has happened on a number of times; however, this behavior is intermittent. And on another occasion the car veered to the right while traveling forward and applying the brakes in an emergency situation.

- Casa Grande, AZ, USA

problem #297

Feb 052010

Prius

  • 0 miles
Toyota Prius 2010 purchased July 2009. This vehicle has the braking problem which is described in the media. The brake "intermittent release" on uneven road surface is repeatable and has been symptomatic since new.

- Fairbanks, AK, USA

problem #296

Nov 222009

Prius

  • 1,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Started up morning after rainy day, drove down hill to stop sign. Approaching stop sign I applied brakes and noticed brakes didn't immediately slow me down. Only after flooring the pedal and feeling a metal on metal type reaction did I come to a stop. This problem has not repeated itself.

- Fountain Hills, AZ, USA

problem #295

Aug 282009

Prius

  • 100 miles
Vehicle - Toyota 2010 Prius. This particular problem is ongoing yet intermittent. Description - the brakes grab unexpectedly. Happens after vehicle has been driven, parked and then re-started. We never know when it is going to happen. We have to completely stop the vehicle (not turning it off) and begin again. Then the problem appears to go away. The description of the brakes grabbing is as follows: When the brake pedal is pressed ever so slightly, they grab and the car comes to a jerky halt. We try it again and it repeats. This is not normal vehicle behavior. I cannot answer incident date since the problem is ongoing and intermittent. I will insert the approximate fist incident.

- Carlsbad, CA, USA

problem #294

Jan 012010

Prius

  • 2,500 miles
Around the first of January, 2010, we had turned into the drive of our home in grenada, Ms. As the drive curves in front of the house it is bordered by a brick retaining wall. We were going slowly and intended to apply the brake. Instead of slowing the 2010 Prius speed up and struck the wall. The resulting damage was between $4500 and $5000. I assumed we had mistakenly used the accelerator instead of the brake. I still believe that is exactly what occurred. However, with the issues around the Prius, I wanted to report this incident. There was no injury and the car has been repaired with insurance proceeds. I'm happy to provide more information if you like.

- Grenada, MS, USA

problem #293

Aug 302009

Prius

  • 200 miles
My 2010 Prius has seemed to 'go airborne" when I hit a certain spot on a local freeway exit ramp. When I apply my brakes at the end of the ramp, the brakes seem to miss as there is a depression in the pavement. It has happened more than once in that spot. I know it is the car because when I drove my Saturn over that spot it never happened in three years of exiting there. I called my dealership two weeks ago and they had not heard about this problem. I called again this week and they were very aware of this. I did tell them that this was a potential hazard and hoped that all Prius 2010 cars will be fixed. To be fair, I did not ask for them to repair my car since I had figured out how to prevent the skip (braking earlier, slowing more). But I think this should be part of a recall because this defect can happen quite out of the blue, which could cause an accident depending on road conditions. I experienced a similar incident last month on a slippery road (ice) but didn't make the connection.

- Willoughby, OH, USA

problem #292

Feb 052010

Prius

  • 10,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Toyota Prius 2010 model - bought July 2009 - periodically (taken place over a period of 6 months or so) when pressing the brake pedal, there is a short period of time when it is apparent that no braking action is taking place and than all of a sudden you can tell that the braking action has taken place. It is scary when this takes place. I do have an appointment with the dealer this coming week.

- Dandridge , TN, USA

problem #291

Dec 152009

Prius

  • 2,000 miles
On two occasions my 2010 Toyota Prius 3 brakes have failed as described in recent NY times article. I was driving on rough road with pot holes and man hole covers, slightly wet pavement and there was a momentary loss of braking (sort of like the car was hydroplaning). I purchased my Prius in November 2009.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #290

Aug 052009

Prius

  • 1,000 miles
Driving our 2010 Toyota Prius over bumps and potholes the car braking system is not working properly. It doesn't stop immediately after the brakes are pressed. We have brought the car in for service and Toyota they say the car is fine.

- Basking Ridge, NJ, USA

problem #289

Jan 012010

Prius

  • 100 miles
Experienced exact same temporary loss of braking after driving over bumps, pot hole as described in your investigation. Have experienced this problem repeatedly since first days of ownership.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #288

Jan 132010

Prius

  • 1,000 miles
Noticed the braking on my 2010 Prius has a few problems every now and then. When pressing down on the brake pedal it feels like the brakes aren't working or that the vehicle is accelerating. I live in fairbanks, Alaska and having brakes that work is especially important here where the roads are covered with ice six months of the year. I called the Toyota dealership and informed them of the problem and they told me that there wasn't a recall for the Prius and transferred me to the main Toyota line to answer my questions, but that call ended due to high phone call volume.

- Fairbanks, AK, USA

problem #287

Nov 122009

Prius

  • miles
February 5, 2010 Office Of Defects Investigation national highway & traffic safety administration Washington DC re: On-line customer complaint Toyota Prius 2010 dear madam or sir: My husband and I purchased a Prius 2010 in September 2009. In November 2009, I experienced a sudden jolting forward of my new car as I pulled into my driveway. Shortly thereafter, as I was driving on a major commercial thruway in my area (route 10), I experienced a similar unexpected acceleration while I was stopping at an intersection light (although milder). I was concerned and alarmed by the problem and called Toyota morristown, New Jersey (the car dealer where we bought the car) to report the problem. I was told the problem was not serious and that I did not need to be concerned about it.. while I did not really believe the dealer's story, it did not happen again so I did not pursue the matter. After today's article in the New York times, I now see that a number of Prius 2010 owners are having the same problem and I want to let you know I experienced it as well. Toyota needs to fix this safety issue as soon as possible without extensive investigations and delays. Thank you for protecting the public's interest in this regard.

- Livingston, NJ, USA

problem #286

Jun 152009

Prius

  • 200 miles
Brakes grab too quickly, jolting the car to a stop.

- Boise, ID, USA

problem #285

Jan 212010

Prius

  • 500 miles
I recently purchased Toyota Prius 2010 and already have an accident due to faulty brake system. When the brake is applied, the care does not slow down instantly but kind of accelerates and the slows down which is a major safety hazard.

- Clive, IA, USA

problem #284

Feb 022010

Prius

  • 2,500 miles
I have a 2010 Prius. If something happens where I need to use my brakes firmly and the road is not 100% smooth the brakes stop working for a few seconds. I thought it was something I was doing, but I am realizing now its not, its something in the car. In wet weather it does it even more. I have had more then 10 instances commuting 50 miles a day where I thought I was going to rear end someone. The brakes don¿T work or feel like normal brakes even when the roads are smooth. I have brought it up to the dealership I purchased it at right after I got it. They gave me the impression that it was me getting used to a hybrid car. There was no offer to bring it in and let them look at it.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #283

Nov 152009

Prius

  • 3,000 miles
Deceleration, rough road surface, brakes fail for a short time. This has happened 3 or 4 times since purchasing the car. I did mention this to my service person on Tuesday Feb 2 when I was at the dealer for a different issue and he said he hadn't heard of issue on my Prius, after hearing the new on wed that this is a known problem I called dealer back and will have car inspected Monday morning Feb 8.

- Allenwood, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?