Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
20 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
3,694 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota Prius brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota Prius:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota Prius Owner Comments (Page 3 of 26)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #462

Mar 142010

Prius

  • 6,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The brake fix on my 2010 Toyota Prius did not solve the problem with the brakes releasing under certain conditions. I experienced the problem 3 times before the fix and 2 times after. The only way I could reproduce the problem was while braking on a snow covered road. Since having my car repaired under Toyota's recall program, I had the brakes release once on wet roads (3/14) and once on ice (3/25).

- Copley, OH, USA

problem #461

Mar 192010

Prius

  • 16,250 miles
Recall on Toyota Prius (2010), did not receive recall notice until after returned to dealer for recall, service performed, still has same issue, returned to dealer ron hibbard Toyota 3/23/10, mechanic stated they have done all they can do, milage, date, and speed at time of incidents are approx. Same issue occurred 2 times since recall service

- Mt Juliet, TN, USA

problem #460

Dec 282009

Prius

  • 350 miles
On 12/28/09 at aprox. 6:30 a M, while driving my 2010 Toyota Prius, I attempted to stop on a rough ice/snow packed surface. I was traveling at about 5 mph. The vehicle slid for about 20 to 25 feet before crashing into a snow bank. The ABS did not operate, as I never felt the distinct pulsating in the brake pedal. The vehicle seemed to actually loose all breaking power for a instant and surge forward. No other vehicles were involved and no one was injured. The front bumper was damaged and the vehicle was repaired for about $1,400. After the vehicle was repaired, while driving over rough surfaces, at times, I noticed that the brakes did not stop properly. At that time, there was no recall for the 2010 Prius brakes. It feels as if the brakes stop working for an instant and the vehicle surges forward. I even remarked to my wife, while driving, that the braked did not feel right when stopping sometimes. There has since been a recall for the 2010 Prius brakes. My Prius is now at the Toyota dealership where the brake recall will be preformed. I have been driving over 38 years and have a very good driving record. It is my opinion, that the accident would not have occurred had the brakes in my 2010 Prius been working properly.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #459

Mar 202010

Prius

  • 6,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The recall repair to the brake system on my Toyota 2010 Prius did not fix the intermittant brake failure that is the Focus of the Prius recall. Dealer installed "fix" twice but the delay in braking and feeling of additional torque when braking on rough and/or wet pavement still occours.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #458

Nov 152009

Prius

  • 6,000 miles
Prius 2010 brake disfunction. Filled out report to nhsta appx 3 months ago but was notified case was closed a few days later, no reason was given for closure. Will someone please follow up on this issue.

- Fountain Hills, AZ, USA

problem #457

Mar 222010

Prius

  • 10,624 miles
On my drive home from the Toyota dealership after having the ABS brake fix recall fix applied, I applied my brakes to slow down for a speed bump and while the car rolled over the speed bump the brakes slipped and the car seemed to surge forward. Please note this is immediately after the car received the brake recall fix.

- Arvada, CO, USA

problem #456

Mar 232010

Prius

  • 10,060 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2010 Toyota pirius issue with brakes. I received a recall notice, brought it to dealer, they supposedly fixed the problem. The recall did not correct the problem. There is still an issue with the brakes. If you have to brake on an uneven surface the car does not respond immediately. It seems to float or glide over bump before the brake catches. It is a constant cause of aniexty while driving. Extremely dangerous because you can crash into car in front of you especially when city driving as I do when I commute to and from work each day.

- Breezy Point, NY, USA

problem #455

Mar 132010

Prius

  • 4,500 miles
I was driving down laurel canyon in los angeles, I hit my brakes, they accelerated and I hit the car in front of me. I did have the code in my 2010 Prius fixed however there were still some minor acceleration problems and I was so annoyed that I didn't say anything. However now I have ran into the car in front of me.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #454

Mar 182010

Prius

  • 4,600 miles
I leased a 2010 Toyota Prius in December. Immediately upon leaving the dealership I noticed that the vehicle's brakes do not hold when you hit a bump/pothole. In fact, the car shoots forward and you must be prepared. I filled out the on-line form for Toyota customer service to go on record with them I had the recall software upgrade installed 3 weeks ago, and while the problem is much less severe, the upgrade fix does not fully correct this issue. This morning, my vehicle's brakes did not hold when I was braking to drive over a bump in the road at 20mph. I have had a few more minor occurrences, but today was noticeable.

- Encino, CA, USA

problem #453

Mar 012010

Prius

  • 12,000 miles
Braking issues in my 2010 Toyota Prius- after "recall fix".

- Levittown , NY, USA

problem #452

Mar 162010

Prius

  • 5,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving on the freeway with my cruise control on. It was set to 56 mph. All of a sudden, the vehicle started lurching. It was like it was trying to accelerate then slow down, then accelerate, then slow down. I immediately shut off the cruise control. It has also happened again today when I tried to use the cruise control.

- Aiea, HI, USA

problem #451

Mar 172010

Prius

  • 9,000 miles
I bought a 2010 Prius in June 2009. Shortly after getting the car I noticed that it seemed to "slip" when I was driving slowly over uneven surfaces (railroad tracks, uneven road surfaces, utility covers). When the recall was announced I realized the "slip" I was feeling was the brakes not working momentarily. I went to a dealer and the car was serviced. However, I have continued to experience this issue even after the supposed fix.

- Englewood, NJ, USA

problem #450

Mar 172010

Prius

  • 6,000 miles
I had my 2010 Toyota Prius serviced in order to address a loss of brake power when braking while going over a bump. After the servicing the problem has continued. It is a brief event but concerns me as when it happens it feels momentarily as though the car is speeding up.

- Nyack, NY, USA

problem #449

Mar 172010

Prius

  • 4,220 miles
I have been having two issues with the 2010 Prius since I bought it on 29th Dec 2009. 1. unable to stop and sudden acceleration when hitting rough /uneven road condition and trying to stop and control the vehicle. 2. unable to stop some times when drive at city speed limit and going between slow and stop and slow and fast and slow kind of driving, sometime when pressing brake, instead of decelerating it start to accelerate and takes longer to stop. I have already been to Toyota dealership 3 times over this issue. First time they fixed brake issue. Second time it was recall that they told will fix the problem I am having. 3rd time they said they can reproduce the problem. But I know I feel the issue sometime. And I can not just leave the car with them for days to investigate and I can change my driving pattern or behavior either for this car.

- San Ramon, CA, USA

problem #448

Mar 102010

Prius

  • 4,500 miles
I have a 2010 Toyota Prius that has had the software update recall performed. Since having the recall done, the brakes on the car seem to work even worse than before. It still occasionally feels as though the brakes are slipping while going over a bump, and the brakes also do not seem to work as well under normal operation.

- Vancouver, WA, USA

problem #447

Mar 172010

Prius

  • 200 miles
My 2010 Toyota Prius has had a defect that I noticed after purchase. Every time I brake, when I hit a bump, my car accelerates. There was a recall in which we participated on March 15, 2010 however it did not correct the problem. We are extremely dissatisfied and fearful of the possible danger it could bring to our family and children.

- Crescent, IA, USA

problem #446

Mar 122010

Prius

  • 4,930 miles
I brought my 2010 Prius to service the recalled brake software issue. Previous to this, I noticed braking problems when on slippery and/or bumpy roads where the brakes would 'stop braking' for 1-2 seconds, and give a feeling that the car was lunging forward when attempting to decelerate. I brought the car in to have the brake software upgraded. On March 12th I was driving on wet roads, with some potholes, it was fairly bumpy. I slowed the car as usual and near the stoplight the car failed to decelerate for 1-2 seconds, and I thought I was going to crash into the car in front of me. After 1-2 seconds the brakes caught again and I had to slow down much much faster to avoid hitting the vehicle in front. My concern is that the brake software upgrade did not fix the problem, and I continue to be at risk.

- Chesterton, IN, USA

problem #445

Mar 132010

Prius

  • 5 miles
My prior Prius was repurchased by Toyota 09/09 with severe electrical issues which only escalated. I believe the man in ca because that happened to us on the highway, and our car behaved as if it were 'possessed'. now my 2010 is having intermittent issues, including an anti-skid/ braking light that we'd thought was remedied by resetting an ABS actuator Friday-it was on since test driving the car-but I was told many excuses, and eventually they were aware but did not know how to correct this. (?) I'm concerned about driving this vehicle as my 2007 trapped us in the car twice-911 called in a panic-plus my small daughter's safety was at risk just by owning that crazy car. Please see if you can locate that car and inspect it-you will see this is not some chance situation-and now I am extremely concerned about our new car 'performing as designed' when brake warning light comes on when applied! feel free contacting me on this!!

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #444

Mar 122010

Prius

  • 4,250 miles
While driving on a residential street at approximately 25 to 30mph, I put on brakes for a speed bump and my 2010 Prius lost brake power for a (very short) period of time. This same event happened on 3 separate occasions from November of 2009 to the past week. In all cases the street was dry and the car was traveling at or below the speed limit. One occurrence was as described above and the other two we on somewhat of a rough spot in the road.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #443

Mar 052010

Prius

  • 800 miles
Purchased 2010 Prius on Aug ll,09. Have returned to dealer 5 times, beginning on Sept.29, 09, to report same problem...which is that at random times when I shift from "P" to either "D" or "R", the vehicle lunges and when I apply the brake, it is like hitting a brick wall. This process is repeated several times in sequence...lunge, brake, lunge, brake..then it corrects itself and drives normally. I cannot predict when this will occur, sometimes it is weeks and hundreds of miles between occurrences; sometimes only a few miles and hours between incidents. The dealer always says they have not been able to reproduce the problem, therefore no diagnosis or repair. I have reported to Toyota customer ser. And was assigned a case #. have had ongoing conversation with tcs rep to report this and several other problems, I.e. various warning lights at inappropriate times..."key detected in vehicle" while driving down the road... etc. Am always told "scan shows no problems". I think there is a problem with electronics. Unsafe, frightening. Latest incident on 3/05/10. Dealer installed software fix for brake recall on 2/10/10. At times must repeatedly move gear shift lever before it responds.

- Young Harris, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?