Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

1.5

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
113,376 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Toyota Sequoia body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Toyota Sequoia:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Toyota Sequoia Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #21

Apr 012015

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 160,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Took vehicle in for safety inspection and was informed there was a rust hole in the frame. Called Toyota 800-331-4331 spoke to [xxx] C and was informed that Toyota will do nothing to help me at all. Case # [xxx]. help information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Spokane Valley, WA, USA

problem #20

Sep 292014

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 178,960 miles
After hearing a clunking noise while driving, I took the Sequoia to the Toyota repair center where they inspected it and told me that the entire frame underneath the car was rusted through and had actually cracked in half towards the front end of the vehicle making it dangerous to drive. They informed me that Toyota had issued an extended warranty several months prior, but which had expired 1 month before I brought the vehicle in. Upon calling Toyota customer service, they told me that the extended warranty was only issued for Sequoia's to receive an under-coating to prevent freeze rust during the colder months and that if they noticed the frame was already broken down, only then would they replace it. Since I had already gotten an under-coating done by my mechanic prior to Toyota sending us the notice, I did not bring our vehicle to Toyota's repair center. For this reason, Toyota said they could do nothing about our broken frame since we never came in for our under-coating. I cannot understand how my Sequoia, at only 10 years old, can have such extensive damage if it was supposed to be properly created and installed in the first place. To have the frame completely rusted through and actually crack in half, all while my wife was using the car to drive my children to and from school, practice, etc., is especially disconcerting after hearing how dangerous it was to be driving it by the Toyota mechanic. I believe that it is Toyota's duty to fix this issue with my vehicle since it was their negligence that created this poorly constructed vehicle/frame and I am issuing this complaint in order to pursue Toyota in this endeavor.

- Poughquag, NY, USA

problem #19

Sep 162014

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 64,263 miles
After purchasing my 2002 Toyota Sequoia with only 64K miles I have since learned about a rust issue with the frame. With me not being the original owner and not having my name updated in Toyota's system so I did not receive a recall notice or service champagne as they call it. I have emailed Toyota Corp and have received a call back as well as calling them direct at 1-800-331-4331. I am being told that due to the service campaign ending July 2014 that I will have to pay out of pocket for any testing or repairs. This vehicle was originally purchased in NJ and then went on to Utah so it's seen its share of snow and salt. There is a considerable amount of rust all over the frame and I am concerned about its safety and drivability. I could understand if this was damage caused by the owner however this is an issue of quality from Toyota however they are not willing to correct the issue anymore. As I diehard Toyota owner I am very disappointed in the way I am being treated and feel for the safety of myself and my family.

- Litchfield Park, AZ, USA

problem #18

Jun 232014

Sequoia

  • 153,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Sequoia. While the vehicle was being inspected, the contact was informed that the underbody frame was completely rusted. The dealer stated that the frame needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 153,000.

- Cantonment, FL, USA

problem #17

Jan 182013

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 180,000 miles
The vehicle was inspected by the Toyota dealer in January 2013 per a recall for possible rust in the frame. Per the inspection, rust was not noted and the frame was treated with an undercoat rust inhibitor. Had rust been noted, the frame would have been replaced according to the dealer/recall. In September, 2013 a noise was noted in the front end area when turning and going over bumps. Upon inspection by a certified mechanic it was found that the sway bar had become separated from attachment to the frame due to rust. It was further noted that the sway bar could not be reattached due to a hole in the frame caused by rust. This was later confirmed by the Toyota mechanic on 11/15/13. Therefore, the vehicle is neither repairable nor safe to drive. Either Toyota's treatment for rust prevention was not effective or rust had already compromised the frame but was not noted during the inspection. Toyota is not honoring the original recall and is offering no solution in addressing the problem. Toyota claims it's responsibility for addressing the rust in the frame ended on 1/18/13. Yet, the problem still exists and we are left with a vehicle that is neither safe, drivable, or repairable due to a condition for which it had been recalled just a few months earlier.

- Alto, MI, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #16

Nov 052013

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 199,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Sequoia. The contact stated that after being service under a manufacturer's recall for frame corrosion, the sway bar became fractured and a hole was found in the frame due to excessive corrosion. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician verified the failure and advised the consumer Toyota denied the replacement frame. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 199,000. Updated 01/07/14 the consumer stated he had the vehicle inspected early on, and was informed no rust was present, and the vehicle was given an undercoat treatment to the frame as opposed to a replacement. Several months later, while on a trip, the consumer heard a significant noise and vibration while turning and going over bumps. Upon his return home, he took the vehicle T his mechanic, where he was informed the sway bar had detached from the frame. He informed the consumer there was significant rust in the frame creating a hole and the sway bar could not be re-attached. The consumer believed the undercoat treatment the vehicle was given was ineffective in inhibiting further rust. The consumer was informed the undercoat inhibitor applied to his vehicle was no longer used due to a short shelf life. Update 01/09/14

- Alto , MI, USA

problem #15

May 092013

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 0 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2002 Toyota Sequoias under carriage has excessive rust. I have a family with 4 kids and is very dangerous to drive and can lead to catastrophic failure, I need help immediately and this is a known problem with these cars.

- Tacoma, WA, USA

problem #14

Mar 212013

Sequoia

  • 100,891 miles
Rusted frame, undercarriage on 2002 Toyota Sequoia. 100,000 mi. Toyota wants $2,500 to replace for parts around frame not covered. This limited service campaign is a farce. Consumers who get inspected and/or drive vehicle are liable if there is an injury or incident. They should be forced to buy back vehicles that are rusted, not charge consumers for the repairs and/or replacement of rusted parts to replace frame. It would cost them less to buy back then to replace. Please consumers complain about this. Toyota is not being accountable for this problem on their Sequoia. This is not a free service, replacement. As many consumers will be required to pay something to replace. Currently they are not required to buy back, it is their own remedy and a good one, as once inspected and found to be rusted the consumer is responsible. Please help ntsb to stop Toyota from this unfair practice! for those consumers that have a rusted out vehicle, make them buy it back to keep the roads safe and the consumers. It is unjust and dangerous to allow this remedy to continue if it is not a totally free replacement includung the parts to repair and make safe. Should not cost any consumer to recify the problem, please please investigate this!! my vehicle is now worthless, and I am not or will not be the only one. Toyota is getting away with shirking their responsibilty to the consumer who purchased in good faith. Please have mercy on us!! this is not fair!!! and it is dangerous and should be unlawful for Toyota to conduct business like this.. this is not a free frame replacement to every one. They should be compelled to replace at no cost to consumers. Some but not all are free due to degrees of corrosion which clearly is dangerous and unsafe and if it cannot be remedied by the frame replacement, a buy back should be instituted for the above. Thank you.

- Forked River, NJ, USA

problem #13

Mar 222013

Sequoia

  • 125,500 miles
My vehicle frame was replaced by Toyota due to a recall. When I got the car back, I noticed a whining sound, but did not think much of it since the mechanic said it might take a month for the frame to settle. I returned one month later to have the whining sound checked and was told the power steering lines were rusted and needed replaced at the cost odf$ 750. Toyota assured me that the Sequoia should last a long time!!! I no longer feel safe driving this vehicle. I wonder if the rusted power steering lines are part of the rusted frame recall. I have really loved my Sequoia, but I do not want to pay for any more repairs!!!! please let me know if others(either the Toyota truck frame or Sequoia frame), have had a similar problem.

- Trafford, PA, USA

problem #12

Jan 252013

Sequoia

  • 233,107 miles
My vehicle was recalled for frame rot. Toyota would not buy the vehicle back. Instead they spent $11,000 +/- repairing the vehicle and giving it back to me. The recall was for all of the northeast and upper midwest. Sand and salt use on the roads causes the frames to rot and make the vehicle unsafe to drive. I want Toyota be forced to buy the vehicles back instead of repairing them. I know my local dealership has done over a dozen recalls.

- Newton, MA, USA

problem #11

Dec 122012

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 112,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Over a year and a half ago my husband noticed rust developing on the frame of his vehicle. He repeatedly mentioned this to the dealership, whose response was there are no recalls so you should be ok. In December during the vehicle's maintenance the dealership informed my husband that the frame was rusting out. There was no proposed solution other than to scrap the thing. Two weeks later we received a letter from Toyota stating that they were conducting research regarding frames rusting out on like vehicle. We were instructed to take the vehicle to the dealership for inspection and possible frame patching or replacement. The dealership received the ok to replace the frame. However multiple parts around the frame are also rusted out. The cost for complete repair including the frame is 15K. We were told that we would not be responsible for the cost of the frame replacement, however we would have to pay for everything else, around 10K. It would seem if the frame has a known rust issue, other parts on the vehicle would have the same problem. Why would the company not be responsible to pay the total cost of the repair. We have contacted Toyota and are waiting to talk to a case manager.

- Annapolis, MD, USA

problem #10

Mar 022011

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 158,000 miles
While getting a routine oil change at Toyota of wallingford inct I was shown frame rot near the rear strut and other declining areas of rust/ rot. It is on record and a call was made to Toyota which nothing was done as far as recalls go. The Tundra which has the same frame has been recalled.

- Wethersfield, CT, USA

problem #9

Sep 162012

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 185,000 miles
Our 2002 Toyota Sequoia has a completely rusted out frame, rear differential and other parts such as brake lines etc. While driving on the highway the rear differential exploded and the car would not drive any further. I put the car in park, turned off the car and the car kept rolling despite being in park. I applied the emergency brake to stop the car. The rear differential housing was completely rusted through and leaking fluid. We then discovered that in addition the frame of the car was completely rusted through. The car is no longer safe to drive because of the rusted frame and under carriage. Our dealership has been wonderful and rented me a car and will replace the frame but Toyota is saying that I am responsible for the differential replacement.

- Cossayuna, NY, USA

problem #8

Jun 272012

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 103,000 miles
Dealer reports that frame (crossmember) is rotted to the point of being unsafe to drive.

- Swansea, MA, USA

problem #7

Apr 272012

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 147,175 miles
The rear frame has excessive corrosion along longitudinal structural members and the cross member above the spare tire.

- Greenville, RI, USA

problem #6

Jan 052012

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 76,000 miles
The vehicle was examined at our local Toyota dealer on 1/5/2012 because of making a grinding noise and shaking with acceleration at speeds above 20 mph. It was found to have extensive rust damage to the frame with a large rust hole in the right front area at the sway bar bushing bracket. The rear differential housing was rusted and leaking fluid, the right and left sway bars were broken, both front brake calipers were stuck and the rotors badly rusted. Repairs for the frame alone were estimated at over $10,000 with more than that amount to take care of the other issues. This Sequoia has been well maintained on a regular schedule, washed regularly and kept at night in a garage. The body and interior are in excellent condition. The car has only 76,000 miles on the odometer. It was quite a shock to go from a car we relied upon to carry us safely in winter weather to one which has had to be abandoned for scrap. I understand that frame rust issues have been a serious problem for many Toyota models including the Tacoma and Tundra resulting in recalls. The Sequoia needs to be added to this list.

- Elkview, WV, USA

problem #5

Dec 192011

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,005 miles
Driving on NY thruway transmission went. Towed to nearest service station where new transmission was installed after which we were told that the chassis was extremely rusty. Two days later, the engine light came on - took car to sears to find out trans fluid leak and frame rotted and declined servicing vehicle. Followed up at Toyota dealer for leak and frame inspection. Technician found power steering line leaking power steering fluid and excessive frame perforation / corrosion. They would not work on it. Technician installed a new hook lock and cable assembly as hood would not lock.

- Malta, NY, USA

problem #4

May 172007

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • miles
I have a 2002 Toyota Sequoia. The frame, undercarriage and hitch are all rusted. The undercoating peels right off at the carwash. I asked my Toyota dealer about it when it was in for a oil change and he said nothing to worry about. Every year it is getting worse and my husband said it is something to worry about. Is Toyota going to stand behind there products? I am worry this year about it passing inspection.

- Curwensville, PA, USA

problem #3

Aug 262011

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
I recently learned from my mechanic that the frame of my 2002 Toyota Sequoia has multiple rust holes and is so badly rotted that it will not pass the state safety inspection. Therefore, I had my local Toyota dealership schedule an inspection by representatives from Toyota. These representatives agreed that my Sequoia frame is badly rusted and full of rust holes, but are blaming the salt used in the northeast and not taking responsibility for the materials used to construct the vehicle. I was also told that it is unsafe to drive this vehicle on freeways or interstate highways that require higher speeds. In addition, I was told not to tow anything behind it, because the strength of the undercarriage was compromised and whatever I was towing could separate from the car. Needless to say this is a major concern regarding the safety factor and use of the car. My wife and I intentionally bought our Sequoia for towing purposes and long trips with family. They took pictures, measurements of holes, and other info and told me that they would file a report and get back to me within two weeks. After reading many statements from other Toyota Sequoia owners, I am not confident that Toyota will resolve this major issue with the Toyota Sequoia, and will continue to refuse to resolve this serious situation to protect the consumer. Therefore, I want my complaint to be added to the NHTSA database and the NHTSA to take action on this serious "frame rot" safety issue with Sequoias.

- North Hampton, NH, USA

problem #2

Sep 202011

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • miles
My 2002 Sequoia has been maintained by the book yet the rust of the frame and the differential have left this vehicle as potentially dangerous to drive. I am told that the leak of transmission fluid is because the differential is almost rusted through. I know Toyota has had rust issues and my previous Toyota landcruiser had rust issues as well. Now that it has happened a second time I decided to investigate. Please update me.

- Newfoundland, NJ, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?