Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
148,656 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Toyota Sequoia steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Toyota Sequoia:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Toyota Sequoia Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #52

Nov 142016

Sequoia

  • 12 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased my Sequoia in 2003 and the trac off/vsc trac lights started turning on a few months after purchase. I have told the dealer every time I bring the car for service and have always been told that they cannot find a problem. Once I turn off car the lights go off. Well, on July 2015 while traveling on a windy road at 35 mph, we heard an warning alarm sound for the first time and the steering locked for about two seconds and the car felt like we had a flat tire or dragging something underneath. After about 10 seconds the car resumed back to normal as if nothing had happened. About two weeks later, I was backing out of a parking stall and it did the exact thing, including steering wheel locking. I thought I had raned over something, but the car went back to normal. Now every two weeks after I get on the freeway this seems to happen, one time it sounded like my engine fell off. Sometimes is worse than others and it doesn't matter if I'm going 25 or 65 mph. A few months ago I was traveling at 65 and the alarm came on, the grinding and dragging noise and my car started slowing down and swirved to the right. I just barely missed a motorcyclist. Lucky no one was behind me or I would have been rear ended. I purchased Toyota for their safety and quality reputation. I take good care of my car and safety of my family is my priority. As I stated before, I have been complaining about this issue to my Toyota dealer for years and they tell me there is no problem with my car. Now my problem is much bigger than just a light turning on. This should be a major concern and we should not wait for a loss of life to happen. Any car that loses power in the middle of a freeway without warning should be of grave concern to all. I love my car but cannot afford to trade it in.

- Downey, CA, USA

problem #51

Oct 272016

Sequoia

  • 295,000 miles
Complaint - electronic stability control, steering, vehicle speed control while driving my 2002 Toyota Sequoia while turning on city street & highway I encountered two significant safety issues the traction control system comes on while driving at various speeds, the vsc and traction warning lights ABS & engine lights are illuminated as the vehicle pulled to the left/right. When the issue occurred, the vehicle makes a grinding sound and pulls very hard to the left/right. The vehicle loses acceleration and feels like the anti-lock braking mechanism is being engaged. The jerking pull resulted in crossing multiple lanes of the highway before control of the vehicle was regained. This is going to cause deaths known issues with other Sequoias.

- Daytona Beach, FL, USA

problem #50

Nov 062015

Sequoia

  • miles
The brakes of the car, and we I drive I can't drive more than 80 miles pr hour because it checks.I fixed the brakes and the light stay on for ever now every time I have to remember to take the foot brake.

- Westn, FL, USA

problem #49

Jul 012016

Sequoia

  • 190,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving my 2002 Toyota Sequoia, I encountered two significant safety issues that were recalled as part of a prior nhsta campaign (10V-176). While my Toyota is manufactured within the same window of a recall, my VIN was not included. Nhsta has opened an active investigation (PE16006) in response to other owners with the same issues. Issue #1: traction control system on several occasions, the vehicle would not accelerate properly from a stopped position. The code based on the vcs warning light indicated an issue with the center position of the steering angle sensor (SAS). The sensor was replaced and the ECU programming was updated to resolve the safety issue. Issue #2: electronic stability control on multiple occasions, the vehicle lost control while driving due to an issue with a faulty yaw rate sensor. While driving at various speeds, the vsc and traction warning lights illuminated as the vehicle pulled to the right. When the issue occurred, the vehicle makes a grinding sound and pulls very hard to the right. The vehicle loses acceleration and feels like the anti-lock braking mechanism is being engaged. The jerking pull resulted in crossing multiple lanes of the highway before control of the vehicle was regained. The mechanic experienced the same issue, and had to pull over to regain composure after almost getting into an accident. The faulty yaw sensor was replaced to repair the defect. After experiencing the issues with the Toyota sensors that almost caused an accident, I had the faulty sensors replaced. I have requested reimbursement from Toyota but was denied. The repair was for the safety issues which are under recall for the same model year (April 2002 April 2003), as my vehicle is manufactured in May 2002. The repairs included the defective steering sensor and the yaw stability sensor required to safely drive the vehicle.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #48

Aug 232016

Sequoia

  • 189,000 miles
When driving 70 mph on the interstate, the vehicle periodically yanks hard to the right, it sounds like I have a flat tire, front right tire feels and sounds like it stopped turning. Car slows, vsc system idiot lights flash and beep. After I have successfully though unintentionally run another car off the road it returns to normal. The idiot lights stay on until the car is turned off. Has been taken to mechanics numerous times in last few weeks, cannot find a problem. But keeps happening. Mechanic is aware of 2003 and newer recall for the same reason, tried recalibrating yaw sensor successfully. 3 days later it happened again mechanics says the sensor may be periodically malfunctioning, over correcting for a nonexistent problem. It has happened going 30 mph once, as well as today the lights and beeping went off at a dead stop in my driveway. Went straight to mechanics, turned off car to go inside, nothing found when he pulled it

- Holt, FL, USA

problem #47

May 252016

Sequoia

  • 149,700 miles
Vse/trac light and trac off light comes on, beeping sound. Traveling at 70 mph or 65 mph vehicle veers left and steering becomes difficult. Just this happened three times within 24 hours on interstate driving. This is the same problem discussed in a recall of the 2003 through 2005 models. Many problems of the same nature are reported on internet forums for the 2000 T-model. This is very dangerous. It happens when the road conditions are dry and no hazardous conditions.

- Lafayette, LA, USA

problem #46

Mar 012016

Sequoia

  • 155,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power steering fluid was leaking.

- Clarksburg, MD, USA

problem #45

Jun 012012

Sequoia

  • 175,000 miles
Normally happens at low speed while accelerating. The skidding car symbol flashes, a warning beeper beeps several times, there is a noticeable swerve to the right accompanied by a grinding noise. The, trac off and the vsc off, lights come on and I am able to continue merrily on my way unannoyed, there is no apparent reduction in braking ability or steering control. I just have the "idiot" lights on the dash until I turn off the ignition. When I next drive the vehicle I am very wary until it happens again, maybe immediately, or 10 to 20 miles. But it always happens. The dealer says a new yaw rate sensor and vsc ECU will fix it. About $1800 above the $105 already paid for the diagnostic fee. What really gets my "goat" is: There is a recall for the "early" 2003 models for this same problem.

- Valdosta, GA, USA

problem #44

Jan 012016

Sequoia

  • 262,000 miles
I have a 2002 Sequoia and the dealership has been doing the repairs since I purchased it in 2003. I took in the recall for the ball joints and even before I received it I had an issue. When turning right, mostly in curves there is a loud grinding in the frontend and has been doing this since I purchased the car. They told me that here was not a problem but I am still having this problem and now the trac has to stabilize my car, this has happen while traveling no turns. The trac light is on and off constantly for whatever reason they can not explain it to me. This is getting dangerous for me I have spent money on this car lately but this is a very large repair and need to know what can be done to get this fixed I was also told that there is not an issue with my airbag as well that my car was not affected. I need help with this, this is my only transportation and this is getting dangerous.

- Shreveport, LA, USA

problem #43

Oct 012015

Sequoia

  • 140,000 miles
Identical problem as described by many others. Vsc-trac and trac-off lights randomly illuminated on dry, level pavement when brakes were applied, causing a loud grinding noise (much louder than normal application of anti-lock brakes), and car pulled and would not stop no matter how hard the brake pedal was pressed. First couple times, brakes were applied to slow the vehicle in traffic, so the failure to fully stop wasn't noticed. This now happens consistently whenever I drive and does not matter how fast or slow I am going. These failures clearly put vehicles at risk of accidents, and it is difficult to understand why the 2003 Sequoias were recalled for vsc issues, but not the 2002, when the parts being replaced fit both years. I have only had the vehicle for 2 years with 140,000 miles.

- Kaneohe, HI, USA

problem #42

Aug 112015

Sequoia

  • 183,139 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This has happened about 10 times when the skid light will come on and the vehicle will go left to right and the brakes do not stop the vehicle. Then the vsc off & vsc trac off lights will come on. This has happened at speeds from 15 - 60 mph at times you loose control of the vehicle at the higher speeds for a few seconds. If this ever happens in heavy traffic it will cause an accident. Vehicle has been taken to a Toyota specialist mechanic and they are still replacing parts. I understand that Toyota recalled all 2003 Sequoia's for this problem. My wife now refuses to drive the vehicle until it is fixed properly.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #41

Apr 242015

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 81,069 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Sequoia. While driving 70 mph, the vsc track warning indicators illuminated. The contact stated that there was a loud grinding noise under the vehicle. The contact also stated that the vehicle started grinding and shook when braking. The vehicle was driven to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 81,069. Updated 8/21/15 the consumer stated the alarm sounded, vsc and traction control lights illuminated. The vehicle veered to the right while driving in the left lane. Updated 08/27/15

- Missouri City , TX, USA

problem #40

Aug 132014

Sequoia

  • 107,500 miles
Driving on paved public road, dry road conditions in summertime at low speed,10-20 mph, the vsc and trac off warning lights on instrument panel light up with and audible bell type alarm at the same time the right front wheel makes a loud thump causing the vehicle to pull hard to the right and with very hard front end vibration. At which time there is no brake control, steering control or acceleration control for approximately 20 seconds that has caused a few near miss vehicle collisions with other vehicles or off the road towards an embankment. The Sequoia was taken to a Toyota dealership service center where the technician stated they can only clear the fault code in the vehicle's computer. Since the fault code has been cleared, 5 more episodes of the same identical senerios with both wet and dry road conditions but not standing water on the roadway, and also a couple of times during speeds between 60-70 mph. This is an intermittent anomaly, but happens 3-4 days in a row between instances.

- Prattville , AL, USA

problem #39

Apr 172015

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 132,000 miles
This has occurred several times: Grinding noise, car pulls to the right and vsc and trac lights come on indicating vsc and trac are disengaged. Can drive ok after this occurs. However, when car is turned off and started again the warning lights go out and it's impossible to predict when it will occur again. There was a recall issued in 2010 for the 2003 model Sequoia with this same issue, however this recall for some reason did not cover the 2002 which is having the same problem! please have Toyota expand the recall to include other years as this is a common problem in Sequoias!!!..updated 10/26/16

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #38

Apr 252015

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 264,585 miles
The vehicle was being driven on a dry paved road. The vsc and traction warning lights illuminated on the instrument panel as the vehicle pulled hard to the right, nearly causing an accident. The steering wheel becomes difficult to steer, the vehicle loses power, and the brakes inadvertently engage, making a terrible grinding noise. The problem happens at least once, each time the vehicle is restarted. There was a recall under NHTSA campaign id number: 10V176000 (traction control system) for the 2003 Toyota Sequoia - this failure is most likely related.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #37

Jun 152014

Sequoia

  • 165,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Sequoia. The contact stated that the frame on the rear of the vehicle was corroded. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician diagnosed that the frame needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. However, the contact stated that two weeks later, the tie rods fractured from the rear of the vehicle and the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 165,000.

- Anitioch, TN, USA

problem #36

Jan 272015

Sequoia

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Sequoia. The contact stated that the track warning lamp illuminated upon making a turn and that the steering wheel was tight and vibrating. The contact mentioned that the suspension was unstable. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who was not able to replicate or diagnose the failure. In addition, the contact was included in NHTSA campaign id number: 14V312000 (air bags) and stated that the parts needed were not available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and the delay. The approximate failure mileage was not available.

- Chattanooga, TN, USA

problem #35

Sep 292014

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 178,960 miles
After hearing a clunking noise while driving, I took the Sequoia to the Toyota repair center where they inspected it and told me that the entire frame underneath the car was rusted through and had actually cracked in half towards the front end of the vehicle making it dangerous to drive. They informed me that Toyota had issued an extended warranty several months prior, but which had expired 1 month before I brought the vehicle in. Upon calling Toyota customer service, they told me that the extended warranty was only issued for Sequoia's to receive an under-coating to prevent freeze rust during the colder months and that if they noticed the frame was already broken down, only then would they replace it. Since I had already gotten an under-coating done by my mechanic prior to Toyota sending us the notice, I did not bring our vehicle to Toyota's repair center. For this reason, Toyota said they could do nothing about our broken frame since we never came in for our under-coating. I cannot understand how my Sequoia, at only 10 years old, can have such extensive damage if it was supposed to be properly created and installed in the first place. To have the frame completely rusted through and actually crack in half, all while my wife was using the car to drive my children to and from school, practice, etc., is especially disconcerting after hearing how dangerous it was to be driving it by the Toyota mechanic. I believe that it is Toyota's duty to fix this issue with my vehicle since it was their negligence that created this poorly constructed vehicle/frame and I am issuing this complaint in order to pursue Toyota in this endeavor.

- Poughquag, NY, USA

problem #34

Feb 112009

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 41,000 miles
In Feb. 2009, while driving to work, the brakes on my Sequoia began to lock and the engine started making a loud grinding sound and sensor lights began to blink uncontrollably. I could not control the car steering and was lucky that I was able to pull over the side of the road. This problem continued and I took it to my Toyota dealer who charged me $2700 and blamed the problem on rats. After picking up my car from the dealership the problem continued a few weeks later and the same dealership still insisted that it was rats and charged me an additional $2300. Yet this problem persisted so I took it to a local mechanic who has no ties with Toyota and he replaced a computer sensor. The problem went away for at least two years until recently during a recent rain storm it started to act up again. Driving this car has been unpredictable and scary at best. I came into several close calls with other vehicles on the road while driving when my car would loose all ability to steer and my brakes would lock during several instances. The experience has been a mind game and has taken a toll in my confidence in driving because I believed my dealership when they told me it was not the car, but because of rats, which I now know after reading other customers complaints on line that it was the way the car was manufactured. I lost a lot of faith in my Toyota dealership here in guam. I need your help to tell these people to recall my car to fix it even though it is 12 years old. I spent a lot of money when I invested in this car and I don't have the money to buy a new vehicle at this time. I am afraid an accident will occur to customers like me unless Toyota admits they have a problem with their vehicles.

- Hagatna, GU, USA

problem #33

Aug 012011

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Sequoia. The contact stated that while traveling 75 mph, the brakes and steering wheel seized. The contact also mentioned that the traction control warning light illuminated. The failure was experienced multiple times. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic who stated that the rotors and brakes needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 110,000. Updated 09/18/14 the consumer stated the failure concerning the vehicle is identical to the failure described in the 2004-2005 model year vehicles. Updated 2/3/2015

- Perry , GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?