Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
81,203 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Toyota Sequoia engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Toyota Sequoia:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Toyota Sequoia Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #50

Oct 012015

Sequoia

  • 170,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Skid control ECU issues. I have read enough about this that it is unreal that a recall for the 2004 seqouia has not been issued. Why for the 2003 with same issue but not '04" why isn't Toyota being held accountable"

- Olalla, WA, USA

problem #49

Jul 102014

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
Sometimes while driving on freeway my brakes light warning on the dashboard would come on and would only turn off the light if I turn off the engine. Many times on street speed (10-45 mph) if the vsc, track off and brake light comes on at the same time, the car will loose power on the brakes and will have a grinding and vibrating noise. I went to a Toyota dealer and told me bring the car when it happen again so they could do a diagnostic test. Why wait for something serious to happened before they could check my car?

- Murrieta, CA, USA

problem #48

Feb 162015

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
I have a '04 Sequoia 4WD ltd, my vsc trac, vsc off and ABS lights come on and stay on, they never go off. The visit to a dealer ended with them stating that they could not read any codes, so the vsc computer needs to be replaced, about $1,500 total. The car is not experiencing any problems, but, the lights stay on.....Sequoia has 83K miles. Anyone offer any advice or help to solve the problems?

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #47

Nov 122014

Sequoia

  • 98,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Sequoia vsc trac sensor lights turning on and off. This problem affects Toyota Sequoia from 2003 - 2005. There is a recall for 2003 model but not 2004. Other drivers report a loss of power (total loss of power - the vehicle shut off) while the car in driving. Here is the recall for the 2003 model: Recall id # 68549 - electronic stability control plus recall date: Apr 30, 2010 model affected: 2003 Toyota Sequoia summary: Toyota is recalling certain model year 2003 Sequoia passenger vehicles manufactured from April 1, 2002 through April 17, 2003. The center position of the steering angle sensor (SAS) may not be stored correctly due to improper logic of the skid control ECU programming. The vehicle stability control (vsc) system could activate at low speed for a few seconds during acceleration from a stopped position. Consequences: Should this occur, the vehicle may not accelerate as quickly as the driver expects, increasing the risk of a crash. Remedy: Toyota will notify owners and dealers will re-flash the ECU. If the re-flash cannot be completed on a particular vehicle, the ECU will be replaced with a new one. This service will be performed free of charge. The safety recall began on June 11, 2010. Owners may contact Toyota at 1-800-331-4331. Potential units affected: 50000.

- Mequon, WI, USA

problem #46

Oct 012007

Sequoia

  • miles
This appears to be exceptionally common. The vsc trac, vsc off and ABS and parking brake lights come on, the brakes are degraded and the front end vibrates as the brakes appear to be pulsing. This has happens spare-attic ally over the years. At first we thought it was the emergency brake and we had the tightened, since it seemed that there might be something loose and it was engaging as we drove. That wasn't it, obviously and it continues to occur. With such a heavy, large truck, we have nearly rear-ended others, but got lucky. Each time the car pulls to one side sharply and you have to stop and restart the car to get all the lights to turn off and come back to normal. I have had the brakes done and redone several times and this still occurs.. on each occasion we could get out of it, but its only a matter of time before someone gets hurt. Toyota has obviously ignored this..I have download the complaints and there are >500 on this very topic. As I read through all these, the similarity between them is beyond coincidence and it appears that nothing actually fixes this. As of right now.

- Addison, TX, USA

problem #45

Aug 222014

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 165,000 miles
Sequoia vsc trac sensor lights turning on and off and hearing grinding noise when it auto-engage and disengage. This problem affects Toyota Sequoia from 2003 - 2005. They a recall for 2003 model but not 1004 and 2005. Other driver report a loss of power (total loss of power - the vehicle shut off) while the car in driving. Here is the recall for the 2003 model: Recall id # 68549 - electronic stability control plus recall date: Apr 30, 2010 model affected: 2003 Toyota Sequoia summary: Toyota is recalling certain model year 2003 Sequoia passenger vehicles manufactured from April 1, 2002 through April 17, 2003. The center position of the steering angle sensor (SAS) may not be stored correctly due to improper logic of the skid control ECU programming. The vehicle stability control (vsc) system could activate at low speed for a few seconds during acceleration from a stopped position. Consequences: Should this occur, the vehicle may not accelerate as quickly as the driver expects, increasing the risk of a crash. Remedy: Toyota will notify owners and dealers will re-flash the ECU. If the re-flash cannot be completed on a particular vehicle, the ECU will be replaced with a new one. This service will be performed free of charge. The safety recall began on June 11, 2010. Owners may contact Toyota at 1-800-331-4331. Potential units affected: 50000.

- Upland, CA, USA

problem #44

Jun 022008

Sequoia

  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The ABS and vsc track lights started to come on. Currently these lights come on intermittent. Sometimes when these lights come on, the brakes seems as if they are applied.

- Davis, CA, USA

problem #43

Jun 272014

Sequoia 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
The vsc, trac off and break light all came on while I was picking speed from the stopping at the light. Previous to that, my husband has brought the car in to inquire about the break light coming on and off and Toyota stated there was nothing wrong with the car. Initially, I was told I could drive the car without any difficulties and once my car /account was pulled/viewed in the system then I was told to bring the car in immediately - within 30 minutes. Now I am being told that flush brake system - all, booster assy, cylinder sub assy, master cylinder seal,2 gaskets which is now costing me over $2,000. I have seen many complaints and recall on this same problem. Please advise. Thank you.

- Jacksonville, NC, USA

problem #42

Jun 012014

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 93,243 miles
Yes, we just purchased this used 04 Sequoia from a private party seller and everything was fine the first month we drove it then the vsc light and the trac off light came on. Now the check engine light is on and we had it tested at autozone for free. The testing showed a bad O2 sensor. The car still drives fine its just the lights are on. Its really irritating. I googled it and read a bunch of customer complaints about this same issue. I read that the 03 Sequoias were recalled for these issues.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #41

May 012014

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 206,178 miles
Vsc, traction control light, and check engine light activated and is now staying illuminated. Slight loss of power and hesitation during acceleration.

- Fort Worth , TX, USA

problem #40

Dec 202006

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 48,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We purchased our Sequoia in July of 2004. On Dec. 20, 2006 the vsc off and vsc trac lights came on. We took the car in to our Toyota dealer on Jan. 3, 2007 (48,127 mi) to have them take a look at it. We were told the lights were on because of a charcoal canister that needed replacing. We replaced the canister on Aug. 8, 2007 (58,184 mi.) at a cost of approx. $425. We believe this cost should have been covered under the emission system's warranty but the dealer said 'no' and we reluctantly paid it. On a trip to ca, the oil pressure gauge quit working. We went to a Toyota dealer in victorville, ca on Dec.3, 2007 (66,587 mi.) we were told the oil pressure was fine but the 'combo meter' needed replacing at an estimated cost of $900. We declined the service. At some point after that, the vsc off and vsc trac lights came back on. On April 1, 2009 (87,456 mi.) we took the car in to the Toyota dealer to have them check on the lights. We were told the 'skid control ECU' needed replacing at an estimated cost of $1400. We declined the service. The lights are still on to this day at 165,977 miles. In Dec. 2011, after a snowy day, we were traveling about 25 mph when the car broke traction and sent us spinning 180* out-of-control. If it wasn't for a snow berm we would have rolled down a hill into a pond. This vehicle is unsafe!! I'm sure we have paid dearly for the stability control feature in this car but it has been inoperable for most of time we've owned it. This is definitely a manufacturer's defect that should be recalled and made right. We don't believe we should have to bear the cost of fixing this problem ourselves.

- Ozark, MO, USA

problem #39

Apr 012014

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
This appears to be exceptionally common. The vsc trac, vsc off and ABS and parking brake lights come on, the brakes are degraded and the front end vibrates as the brakes appear to be pulsing. This has happened at least 10 times over the years. At first we thought it was the emergency brake and we had the tightened, since it seemed that there might be something loose and it was engaging as we drove. That wasn't it, obviously and it continues to occur. With such a heavy, large car, we have nearly rear-ended others, but got lucky. Each time the car pulls to one side sharply and you have to stop and restart the car to get all the lights to turn off and come back to normal. I have had the brakes done and redone several times and this still occurs.. on each occasion we could get out of it, but its only a matter of time before someone gets hurt. Toyota has obviously ignored this..I have download the complaints and there are >500 on this very topic. As I read through all these, the similarity between them is beyond coincidence and it appears that nothing actually fixes this. As of right now, I cannot let my family drive this car. I am bringing it into to the dealer (with copies of all these complaints) and see what comes of it. My hopes are not high. The recall in 2003 seems like they tried to address this (not clear if it was same issue). My concern really is that someone has to get killed. The issue with that logic is that dead people don't fill out complaints and if there was a death, it appears that the error/diagnostic codes do not register and get saved for retrieval (from reading all these complaints). Serious crashes would be investigated, codes would be looked at and nothing would come up. Case closed. What would happen, Toyota, if all accidents got re-investigated" how much would that cost" ask the GM CEO how much their investigation is costing.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #38

Feb 222014

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 124,965 miles
The skid control light flashes at randomly at low speeds causing the vehicle not to accelerate; and at times during a left turn;took vehicle to Toyota dealer I was informed that skid computer was identifying a skidding condition during wet conditions, but the surface was dry. This defect can cause an accident from the rear or oncoming traffic. Other 2004 models have reported similar problems with ESC, trac control and ABS.

- Bowie, MD, USA

problem #37

Oct 182013

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 113,000 miles
2004 Toyota Sequoia SR5 with 4WD with about 113,000 miles. We started out on our first road trip Saturday and were having no issues until we stopped to get gas an hour and a half into the trip. After getting gas we got back on the highway. Once we sped up to about 70mph the vcs light started blinking and the vehicle started slowing down on its own from 70 to about 45. We would try to accelerate the car with the gas peddle while this was happening, but it didn't help. Once the speed dropped to about 45 the gas peddle would respond and we could speed back up to about 70 or 80. Then the cycle would start all over again. Over the course of a 13 hour road trip this happened off and on about half of the trip. While the car slows down on its own, pressing the gas peddle either doesn't do anything or at times it just revs the RPM's without increasing speed. We tried several different things to get this problem to stop. We disconnected the battery to try to reset the computer but that did not work. We also tried to put it into 4WD and take it out and it seemed that sometimes helped and at other times it didn't. sometimes the light will flicker and doesn't seem to really affect the acceleration as much. Other times it will really act up and we have to put on the hazard lights and finally get off the highway to try something out of desperation. All of this happens on dry, smooth highways. It has happened multiple days in a row. It only seems to act up when we are going above 55 or 60 mph.

- Duncan, OK, USA

problem #36

Sep 012011

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • miles
Vsc off, vsc trac lights go on and off all the time. Along with the check engine lights.

- Port St Lucie, FL, USA

problem #35

Jul 312013

Sequoia

  • 85,000 miles
While decelerating towards an intersection that I had to stop at vsc dash indicator light, brake light, & trac light all came on. Then, as I pressed the brake pedal I heard deep crunching noises from the braking system (sounded like front end). There was also loud "clanking" noises, as if something was banging around the inside of the rim or brake rotor. All the noises were also physically felt on my braking foot at the same time they sounded. My foot was being dropped and pushed noticeably by the brake pedal. I almost rear-ended the car in front of me because the braking power from fluctuating independently from strong to almost none within a matter of a few seconds. The same dash warning lights have been continuing to turn on for the last 5 or 6 weeks (sometimes all of them, sometimes one at a time), but the physical braking issue happened to me again today 9-11-13. I was on a back street so I tried to video it with my phone but couldn't get the camera set to video in time; and it stopped after occurring at three different braking attempts. The car fluctuated its way to a stop with the same crunching noises (no clanking) this time. The pressure fully changed on the brake pedal as the issue took place and I had little control of exactly when braking would happen. Have you seen the amount of times this is happening" are you reading these threads" I'm concerned to take my kids in the car. I'm concerned in letting my less experienced 18 year old drive it as usual. I went to the dealer and they were clueless and said that was part if the way the car kept me safe on wet roads. Neither incident occur on wet roads. I've been driving for 25 years; I did not have control of the braking in my vehicle two times in last 6 weeks due to a vehicle system going haywire! driving this vehicle is a hazard! please do something before someone gets hurt or killed because of this!

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #34

Mar 012013

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 151,000 miles
Driving to a stop when vsc lights, ABS, check engine light, trac off dashboard indicator lights turned on. When brakes were applied, experienced a jumping. Already had brakes replaced, tires rotated and alignment done. Contacted auto service technician and was told after a diagnostic was performed that issue is due to a faulty computer system with the ABS system how the computer reads the car performance. Was told that only a Toyota dealer would have to replace the entire computer system which is costly. The warning lights go on and off randomly as if the computer system is malfunctioning.

- Essex, CT, USA

problem #33

Aug 252013

Sequoia

  • miles
Vsc off light on trac off light is on.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #32

Aug 172013

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 111,063 miles
Vsc, vsc trac off, and brake light indicators come on and off at will. Toyota service center said that there is a skid control ECU malfunction. Fixing costs~$1100. Just noticed that this issue has been reported a lot on online forums and on this website.

- Edison, NJ, USA

problem #31

Jul 172012

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 123,000 miles
1.when slowly turning out of the driveway the vsc light came on and there was a grinding noise from front wheel 2. at highway speed the vsc light came on & the vehicle lost power.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?