Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,685 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Toyota Sienna body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Toyota Sienna:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Toyota Sienna Owner Comments

problem #19

Nov 242008

Sienna 6-cyl Diesel

  • 93,224 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Ever since novmber, 2008, my 2002 Toyota Sienna passenger side power door, has intermittently failed to open either by activating the button on the inside of the door column, by pulling the door handle outside, or the instrument panel door button, or worse, after opening, will not close. The dealer had to reinitialize the ECU in November, 2008, and have had intermittent problems since. Now, since at least December, 2012, the sliding door will not open at all by any of the 3 methods and cannot be reinitialized. Also, at times the manual drivers side passenger door, in the past ~ 1 1/2 years will not open either from inside door button release or outside door handle and passengers have to climb over from the front seats to enter or climb over the front seat & console to exit the vehicle. I have been advised by my local Toyota dealer that I need to "start with the replacement of the ECU, " a part costing $730 and about $1000 with instillation. I have read other horror stories that replacing the ECU isn't necessarily the answer and many don't know what the answer is. Have there been any auto recalls on these power door mechanisms yet? I see a large volume of the exact same complaints on the internet for these Sienna as well as within the NHTSA database. In the event of an emergency evacuation of the vehicles' passengers, as it stands, a catastrophe is waiting to happen.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #18

Apr 182007

Sienna

  • 85,000 miles
Every door handle on the vehicle has broken from the inside and outside. Almost every Toyota Sienna I see on the road had atleast one of there handles broken off. I really think Toyota should have a recall on this. The door has actually swung open while I was driving because I could not tell if it was closed proper. It did not result in an accident or more damage but could very easily have.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #17

Jul 182011

Sienna 6-cyl

  • miles
Electronic automatic sliding door failures. July 2011, passenger side (sliding door) electronic outer door handle stopped working. The only way to enter or exit the vehicle is by pushing the button on the door jam or overhead console. Then the door stopped opening completely. The motor tries to open the door but seems like the door does not release. It will not open. April 2012, drivers side (sliding door) electronic outer door handle has stopped working. The only way to enter or exit the vehicle is by pushing the button on the door jam or overhead console. The door opens 80% of the time. When it does not work the motor tries to open the door but seems like the door does not release. When the drivers side passenger door does not open the family has to enter or exit through one of the front doors and climb through to the back seats. There is no internal manual override of these doors. This is not safe. In an emergency my family will have to go through the front doors or break and go through the windows. This is a safety hazard. The outside door handles and sliding door mechanisms should be repaired at no charge by Toyota.

- Nashua, NH, USA

problem #16

Nov 072003

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 15,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The door latches got stuck intermittently. Door is not closed while car moving.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #15

Jan 112010

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 125,000 miles
Passenger side power door jammed, would not open after slow speed crash which knocked off the outside door handle. Toyota of santa barbara, ca took a week and charged $2500 to fix just the power electrical door, no body work (that was extra). Door has never worked properly ever since. Many incidences of door not shutting or opening when using control buttons inside car. After 19 months, power door jammed while open and could not close it by power or manually, attempted to drive to service station while in the jammed open position and while moving, the door slammed closed on its own, popping the wire cable, which is now dangling. Door now works part of the time manually, not at all with power, no motor sound at all. Door opening mechanism on inside of door frequently jams in the pushed in position and then door is completely inoperable. This is severe safety issue. Children in back cannot exit on that side. Toyota should recall and have power doors converted to a safe, reliable, manual opening mechanism.

- Santa Barbara, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #14

Jun 012011

Sienna 6-cyl

  • miles
Sliding doors on both sides have stopped working electronically. The doors must be forced manually and this is very difficult. Toyota will not address this issue.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #13

Sep 202007

Sienna

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The power sliding door on my Toyota Sienna stopped working. It is very difficult to open when the power unit does not work. This seems to be a very common problem. Repair shops generally chage over $1000 to fix it (we were quoted $1200) and it makes one side of the vehicle practically inescapable.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #12

Jun 202011

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 111,000 miles
Have had the sliding door looked out & "re-set" 4 times. If we pull the door a little, it will close, but will not open or close with any button (front panel, key fob or side panel). Today it started to close on my child & she couldn't get it to stop, her backpack strap was caught on the seat. Pretty scary. Right now the kids are climbing in through the front passenger door. Also, about 1/2 the time even with manually closing the door, it remains open & will beep when I put it in gear, so I have to jump out & go push it closed. *

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #11

Jun 102008

Sienna

  • 100,000 miles
My husband and I purchased a certified used 2002 Toyota Sienna in 2005. Since purchasing the vehicle we have had problems with opening and closing the sliding doors and issue with the trunk. It first started when the trunk would not open any more. The little piece to click it open broke off. Next, the right passenger sliding door would not open from the inside, but could be opened from the outside. Eventually, the outside handle broke off (probably due the inability to open it from the inside). Next the left passenger sliding door started to show similarities to the right sliding passenger door. Eventually, this handle broke off as well and would not open from the inside. To date, the sliding door on the left or the right can not be opened inside or out. This is a safety issue for us and our four kids. The kids have to come through the front to get out of the van. It became somewhat strange to me when I noticed that other Toyota Sienna minivans had handles missing off the back passenger sliding doors. I thought, what is up with the quality of the vans? most individuals driving minivans are transporting children, so I would assume that the vans were constructed to handle the constant opening and closing that occurs from the back passengers. I think this problem should be addressed in a fair way. When we went to inquire about the trunk we were told that it would cost over $200, so we took the optional route of loading groceries, luggage, etc. From the inside. The door incidents have happened this year, 2010. We have owned other vehicles with the kids, namely 1997 Honda Odyssey that did not have any of the handles missing or any problems with getting in and out of the vehicle. I sent a letter to Toyota corporate office on August 22, 2010 via email, no response. I phone Toyota corporate office on August 30, 2010 and was informed that the car was not under warranty (I already knew this) and that there was nothing they could do at this time.

- Montgomery, AL, USA

problem #10

Jun 062010

Sienna

  • miles
2002 Toyota Sienna passenger door behind driver not opening. Automatic door doesn't close. Have been to the shop for these problems. Problems persist.

- Pearl River, NY, USA

problem #9

May 012010

Sienna

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1. trunk door latch broken and cannot open. Toyota does not provide a manual trunk release inside the van. 2. passenger side automatic sliding door would not stay closed. It just kept popping open.

- Mchenry, IL, USA

problem #8

Jan 212010

Sienna

  • 15,000 miles
When using my remote door opener, my automatic sliding doors do not fully open.

- Redwood City, CA, USA

problem #7

Feb 022009

Sienna

  • 90,800 miles
2002 Sienna driver side sliding door stop working. I took it to dealer and they said it is a cable and known issue.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #6

Oct 042008

Sienna

  • 82,000 miles
Drivers side sliding door (power) will no longer work except manually. An annunciator on the dash indicate "pwr door" in red.

- Redmond, OR, USA

problem #5

Aug 312008

Sienna

  • miles
I had a Toyota Sienna le 2002. I went to the dealers 3 years ago to replace the sliding door, during that time it was still under warranty. Somehow the problems appear again, my sliding won't open is like it stick with glue. It's totally stuck no matter what I do it won't opened. I need to know does Toyota still helped me fixed this problem or I had to used my own problem to fixed it. First of all there is nothing wrong with the car, the only problem is the sliding door, I am afraid it will happened to other doors soon. Can somebody help me out with this problem. Thanks alot.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #4

Jan 222004

(reported on)

Sienna 6-cyl

  • miles
A rattling noise was heard in the sliding door. The car vibrated when driven at any speed and the ignition switch was defective. The owner was frustrated with all that was happening with little or no results. The check engine light had come on and was taken to the dealer on several occasions for the same problem. The front end was unstable.

- Huntington Park, CA, USA

problem #3

Apr 162002

(reported on)

Sienna

  • miles
Power doors can not be stopped by a child. Requires considerable force to reverse direction. Dealer told me they will inform Toyota. No further info. There was no crash. **dimsii IVOQ entry posted after 12/12/02 cut over to artemis**760751 ***dimsii IVOQ entry posted after 12/12/02 cut-over to artemis***760751

- Dover, NJ, USA

problem #2

Mar 012002

Sienna

  • miles
Automatic door opens, but will not close. Owners manual rescue information does not work. Three major and several minor failures. Door opened while on vacation and was not closed until we could get away from the beach. Today opened door in rain storm and it would not close. Have taken it in under warranty repair was lubricant. Today took it in and they want $70 dollars to diagnose the problem plus repair. They closed it again with massive lubrication.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #1

May 292002

Sienna

  • miles
Power sliding door will not close. When pushed by hand, the safety mechanism engages and re-opens the door. I have disengaged power to door using dashboard switch. Will bring in for repair later this week.

- Mechanicsburg, PA, USA

Not what you are looking for?