Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.9

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
49,179 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Toyota Sienna body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Toyota Sienna:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Toyota Sienna Owner Comments

problem #13

Sep 012014

Sienna

  • 240,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When I attempted to open driver side sliding door it would not open electrically or manually. After several failed attempts to open I cut the cable and was able to then open the door. At this point in time both sliding doors will not open electronically but will open manually.

- Holley, NY, USA

problem #12

Jun 202009

Sienna

  • 68,000 miles
The carrier, cable, mount and bolts have severely rusted causing the mechanism to bind and lock-up. The entire mechanism has no corrosion resistance and is exposed to the environment and thus is susceptible to corrosion and severe rusting. Spare tire carrier jammed when changing a flat tire with spare making reinstalling difficult. Lowering of spare tire will jam preventing replacement of a flat tire.

- Deer Park Il, IL, USA

problem #11

May 182010

Sienna

  • miles
2002 Toyota Sienna xle recurrent power sliding door cables snapping and motor failing. This is the second time since I bought it in 2008.

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #10

Nov 102002

Sienna

  • 10,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The sliding passenger door on my minivan does not open from the outside. This started when the van was less than one year old and under warranty. Toyota lubed and adjusted it and said it was ok. Over the next 7 years it would work for a while and then start again. Toyota continued to lube and adjust and at one point said their engineers had realized that the spring wasn't strong enough so they put a heavier spring in it. It is still not working. Now Toyota says it won't do anything else because the warranty is long gone. I told them they lubed and adjusted me out of my warranty and they never fixed it. So now I have a door that cannot be opened from the outside.

- Taylors, SC, USA

problem #9

Jul 142009

Sienna

  • 60,000 miles
Sliding door on 2002 Sienna van has been a problem several times. First time was within 40,000 miles as the tension on the cable had to be adjusted. Kept sticking closed and could not open the door. The door locks have stuck locked and could not unlock them, door had to be taken apart. Has been fixed by Toyota dealer once for $200 plus dollars, now the cable came off its track. The door no longer works, keeps getting stuck, and now the cable sticks out when you open the door.

- Alexandria, KY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #8

Aug 102009

Sienna

  • 73,316 miles
Sliding doors on 2002 Toyota Sienna fail to open. 7-17-06: 73,316 miles, both sliding doors will not open due to product defect, repair at dealership. 9-22-06: 76,829 miles, sliding door will open but not close, repair at dealership. 11-16-07: 92,730 miles, sliding doors not working, repair at dealership. 3-13-08: 97,991 miles, passenger sliding door not working, repair at dealership. 8-10-2009: 113, 814, passenger sliding door will not open. This vehicle has been in no accidents and well maintained. These doors continually fail.

- The Colony, TX, USA

problem #7

May 252009

Sienna

  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driver's side sliding door (not a power door) will not open from the inside or outside. The mechanism has failed. I have had several problems with both sliding doors (passenger side is power door) with the latch mechanism getting stuck. This time, it is completely inoperable.

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #6

Mar 172009

Sienna

  • miles
I have 2002 Sienna. I have power rear door problem.: the door will open properly using any of the "door open" buttons but will not close--all I hear is a clicking sound when any of the buttons are pushed again. I'm assuming that the relay to "close" is working but the motor is for whatever reason not receiving the input.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #5

Apr 092009

Sienna

  • miles
Toyota Sienna driver side window vertical scratches I have pass multiple Sienna's on the highway that have the same scratches.

- Milford, CT, USA

problem #4

Jul 012008

Sienna

  • 59,000 miles
Passenger side power sliding door on Toyota Sienna le (2002) is bad. Went to the dealer and they slapped me with a 1400 estimate. Left to deal with safety issues for my children with mechanical malfunctions and if power door button is accidentally engaged. I feel L am left with no option. This repair is much to expensive and does not fall under any warranties. How can buyer beware of such traps. I am only mid way through payments and I already have a major repair cost that hardly makes the initial purchase worth it. The dealer offered no alternative than to push the power button off. This is not an acceptable option with children at risk!

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #3

Mar 062008

Sienna 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Both sliding passenger doors and rear hatch door will break and not open. We have had at least 8 incidents of doors not opening, and latches breaking not allowing access to vehicle. On one occasion, door was jammed in the open position and not able to close completely. Toyota advised door cable in door was too long and dealer took care of it and there should be no more problems. Problem recurred on 3/6/08.

- Bumpass, VA, USA

problem #2

Sep 252007

Sienna 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,006 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Sienna. At 34,006 miles, the brakes began to make squeaking noises and the brake warning light illuminated. The failure occurred while driving 45 mph. At 36,000, 46,000, and 49,000 miles, the dealer replaced the front and rear brakes, the rear and front rotors, and also resurfaced the front and rear drums. The repairs were performed under warranty. Nevertheless, the brakes continued to squeak and the brake pedal must be depressed very hard in order for the vehicle to stop. The dealer stated that the noise was due to the brake buster and it needed to be replaced at the cost of $1,000 since the vehicle was out of warranty. The manufacturer stated that they could not be of assistance since the warranty expired. They provided the contact with reference number 2007-0220392. The current mileage was 78,000 and failure mileage was 34,006. The dealer stated arm rests, replaced brake light bulb, squeak in the inside cabin. Updated 11/26/07

- Lilburn, GA, USA

problem #1

Jun 252006

Sienna

  • miles
I have a 2002 Toyota Sienna van. Last year the driver's side rubber holding and sealing the windshield came out. Allowing water into the car under and around the steering column. Toyota charged me for the repair and said it was a fluke. Yesterday, the passenger side failed again allowing wind and water into the car. I have since learned of another Sienna owner that had the same problem.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?