Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
51,505 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Sienna electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Sienna:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Sienna Owner Comments

problem #15

Oct 202015

Sienna

  • 50 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The drivers side electric sliding passenger door has failed to close and lock automatically while in a parked situation.

- Two Harbors, MN, USA

problem #14

Sep 102014

Sienna

  • 105,000 miles
Driver side automatic sliding rear door fails to open with remote or interior front controls. Will only open with sustained pull on outside door handle. Will also only close with sustained pull on outside handle.

- Endwell, NY, USA

problem #13

Apr 042015

Sienna

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Sienna. The contact stated that the rear windows and vent windows failed to open. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that the part needed to do the repair was on back order. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was unknown. Updated. 5/28/15

- Lakewood, NJ, USA

problem #12

Oct 232013

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 94 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Traveling on East bond hwy 66 around 07:00 am with a speed around 20 mph the fire started to come from engine driver side. Stopped the car & took children out and watch the whole car burned until fire engine showed up.

- Vienna, VA, USA

problem #11

Feb 012013

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
The automatic sliding doors no longer work properly.

- Encinitas, CA, USA

problem #10

Jul 312013

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
The rear hatch opener is made of some rubber composition that has melted away and will at times not even open rear hatch. Numerous online incidents reflect similar description of melted rubber that leaves fingers coated in hazardous material when attempting to open rear hatch.

- Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #9

Jul 222013

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 33,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Rear door latch handle became hot and melted. Used duct tape to cover handle. The handle stopped working in December. The door will not unlock.

- Manassas, VA, USA

problem #8

Jun 122012

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
June 12, 2012, odometer 45,000 miles, 2 hours from home, drivers side manual door would not close and latch shut. Called nashua, nh Toyota dealership, told lots of problems with doors, need to make appointment, average repair over $1,000. Took to my regular mechanic and problem temporarily fixed for $244.80(latch assy seized up. Remove, lube, reinstall. If repair doesn't last, new part needed. Cost for part only, $570.23, plus labor). July 2013, odometer 65,000 miles, same door not latching again, door slides open during acceleration. Called Toyota dealership in nashua, nh, told door not covered under "latch assembly extended warranty" because door is manual. Have made appointment with my regular mechanic again to see what can be done to fix problem. My vehicle has 2 sliding doors, drivers side is manual, passenger side is automatic. However, the manual door has a motor and latch assembly to pull the door in and latch it after it's been slid closed. This function is not working properly. The extended warranty I received from Toyota in July 2012 states " this warranty extension is for your rear sliding door latch assemblies for a period of 9 years from the vehicles date of first use or 120,000 miles whichever comes first". there is no mention the door must be an automatic door. I believe Toyota is trying to limit how many warranty fixes they do by giving customers incorrect information. I'm also beginning to have problems with the passenger side automatic door not closing. However I can only afford the time and money for one fix at a time. There are huge safety issues here and Toyota should be held responsible.

- Amherst, NH, USA

problem #7

Jan 262013

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 34,700 miles
Rear door latch rubber assembly has melted and becomes hot to the touch. The circuit under the melted rubber has direct contact to my fingers while attempt to open the back door. And appears to be a fire issue. Since the back door is no longer operational, it may cause safety issues for passengers sitting in the back row of the van.

- Columbia, MO, USA

problem #6

Dec 312012

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 108,000 miles
I was in a parking lot with car completely off, the side passenger door was fully opened. I was leaning into the car putting groceries in when the door automatically starting closing on my body. It did not stop and started crushing me. I could not get out and as a result have left hip and right knee pain. The door finally opened on it's own. The door should have sensed resistance or something there but it did not. If I were I small child I would have been seriously injured or killed.

- Vallejo, CA, USA

problem #5

Apr 012010

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2007 Toyota Sienna rear door latch rubber assembly has melted and becomes hot to the touch. Appears to be a fire issue. A relative with the same make and model in the Maryland area reports the same problem. Numerous incidents online report the same problem, with a disturbing issue of the rear tail gate inoperable in freezing weather. Which would appear to be another safety issue of retrieving individuals in an emergent situation.

- Laurel, MD, USA

problem #4

Feb 012012

Sienna

  • 112,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Sienna. The contact stated that the air bag warning lamp was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the right front seat air bag and wiring harness were defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was no longer under warranty. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 112,000.

- Grants Pass, OR, USA

problem #3

Sep 262011

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 79,300 miles
Passenger power sliding door not working properly. Passenger side power sliding door opens on its own. Passenger power sliding door will not close on its own. Toyota dealer diagnosed as power sliding door motor and cable failure. The cost was quoted at $1700. This is a safety concern because when the door is manually closed it will just automatically open when driving down the road.

- Dresser, WI, USA

problem #2

Jul 112010

Sienna

  • 140,000 miles
The installed dvd navigation system in our Sienna has failed. This in it's self is not a safety concern, but it's failure has also caused the back-up camera to become inoperative. We use this extensively and the sudden loss of it is almost as bad as loosing all your rear view mirrors.

- Miramar, FL, USA

problem #1

Aug 062007

Sienna 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 430 miles
1. we bought Toyota Sienna 2007 le #3 on July 21, 2007 2. after 2 weeks on Aug 4 2007 maintenance required and all other lights were on and ac was stopped working. We called the dealer and he scheduled earliest appointment on August 7 2007. 3. on August 6 2007 Toyota Sienna broke down on interstate and I towed this van to the dealer. 4. dealer first found problem with the alternator and replaced alternator in a week. 5. then he found another problem as two computer inside car were not functioning properly and he worked with Toyota specialists and order replacements of computer harness equipment. 6. after installing these new equipment he found that all the lights on the dash board are turned on with this vehicle. 7. he scheduled inspection to resolve this issue by Toyota technicians. They are flying in from California to resolve this.

- Creve Coeur, MO, USA

Not what you are looking for?