Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
43,990 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Toyota Sienna body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Toyota Sienna:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Toyota Sienna Owner Comments

problem #18

Jun 222015

Sienna 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Sienna. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V273000 (tires); however, the part was unavailable to perform the repair. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. MA 09/03/15

- Buena Vista , VA, USA

problem #17

Jul 302010

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
As I was trying to open the tailgate, the lock (rubber layer) felt squishy and I saw some black rubbery deposit on my fingers. Same thing every summer. In 2013 and 2014 December, noticed that it'd take significant effort to open the tailgate in the middle of winter. And now, in January 2015, it just doesn't open. The rubbery area is extremely hard and it can't be pressed to trigger the tailgate unlocking mechanism. I heard that it's a common problem with Toyota Siennas. Would appreciate NHTSA to look at this.

- Herndon, VA, USA

problem #16

Sep 082014

Sienna

  • 84,000 miles
My dashboard is melting and it gives a very bad glare of brake lights, traffic lights and the sun. It also has a very bad glare when raining and reflects tail lights at night. It is extremely difficult to see. When I reported this to Toyota they said it would not be covered by my warranty.

- Saint Petersburg , FL, USA

problem #15

Jul 242014

Sienna 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Received letter,7/24/14, advising that my 2008 Toyota Sienna had a potential problem with the cable, holding the spare tire underneath the vehicle, which needed to be replaced. On 8/26/14, my spare tire was relocated to the luggage compartment of my van which rendered the area unusable for folding the rear seats down to use that area for transporting larger items, etc! I checked several times with my local dealer regarding a permanent solution/repair and was told they had not yet received notice of and/or repair parts for the identified problem.on 11/20/14, I contacted the Toyota customer experience center and spoke, at length, with a representative who stated that they had been receiving numerous calls regarding this issue and that she was aware of several meetings regarding the issue but no resolution as yet and no idea when a resolution will occur. It would seem that by now, if the situation is being actively worked on, an acceptable repair would be available! I am frustrated and disappointed with Toyota for their seeming indifference to those of us waiting for their action on this matter. Thank you for your prompt attention to this situation.

- Winona Lake, IN, USA

problem #14

May 202010

Sienna

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Sienna. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 10V160000 (structure) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Beloit , WI, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #13

Oct 162014

Sienna

  • miles
The dashboard is sticky and produces a glare. It gets stickier when it's hot. The sun seems to be melting it. It causes a glare while you're driving that is dangerous. I have researched this and it is happening to other Toyota dashboards pre 2009, especially in the state of Florida, which is where we live. There needs to be a recall before someone gets hurt. Thank you.

- Hernando, FL, USA

problem #12

Jan 012014

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 58,799 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased this vehicle used from hoselton auto mall in rochester NY in August 2013.I was talked into a "Toyota platinum care" bumper to bumper extended warranty.I was told this warranty was exactly the same as the new vehicle warranty but for an extended time.I was told it covered everything.I specifically asked if it covered all parts on the sliding doors, the dvd player, etc.I was told yes. In January 2014 I experienced a problem with one of the sliding doors.my local dealership said the center hinge was bad and was not covered under my warranty.I insisted that hoselton pay for the repair, they reluctantly did so.I have since had both siding doors repaired multiple times due to the lock assembly not working.the lock assembly is covered under a new special condition warranty because Toyota has received so many complaints.now the other doors center hinge is bad.I was told if I don't replace the hinge that the lock assembly will keep going bad.so these are obviously related issues.this combined issue causes my doors to either be stuck open, be stuck closed, or to open while I am driving.all safety issues as I have children in the back seat.I have contacted Toyota and the warranty people and neither want to assist.I want the hinge replaced at Toyota cost.this is dangerous and it is a known issue by them.they need to resolve this asap.my vehicle is unsafe to drive. I have contacted them via telephone and their email system, all with no luck with assistance.

- Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #11

Jul 072014

Sienna

  • 120,000 miles
The dashboard seems to be melting, is sticky and is cracked in several places.

- Hobe Sound, FL, USA

problem #10

Mar 012014

Sienna 6-cyl

  • miles
My dashboard is melting and cracking. It is sticky and impossible to clean. Over the last few months, it's also cracking on the front edges, both on the driver's and passenger's side.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #9

May 102014

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 96,723 miles
Bought this vehicle used from a dealer on 5/10/2014. Noticed "stickiness" on the entire top of dashboard. Thought it could be cleaned or washed off. It never came off. Saw in the media that this is a problem with Toyota dashes-melted dashboards, sticky and can scrape surface off with your fingernail. There is a shiny glare to the dashboard.

- Port St Lucie, FL, USA

problem #8

Aug 242010

Sienna 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Sienna. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 10V160000 (structure) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact did not experience a failure. Updated 8/29/14 updated 09/17/2014

- Lafayette, NJ, USA

problem #7

Jul 012013

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 112,000 miles
Dash is sticky and is producing more of a glare/reflection on my inside windshield. Extremely distracting.

- Weeki Wachee, FL, USA

problem #6

Nov 022013

Sienna

  • 85,000 miles
Approximately six (6) months ago, I started to notice my dashboard getting sticky when the sun beats down on it. It started in a small area of the dashboard about the size of a quarter, but now appears to spreading. I have contacted the Toyota dealership that I purchased the vehicle from and they claim that they have never heard of such a condition. After doing some research on the web, I found the following news segment that pointedly identifies the exact problem that I am having: www.wptv.com/money/consumer/Toyota-dealer-calls-melting-dashboards-A-defective-product-and-wants-auto-makers-to-pay-for-repairs I am not certain what can be done, however in my opinion there should be a factory regarding on this extremely hazardous condition. Please look into this matter and advise. Thank you for your consideration and prompt attention to this important matter. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #5

May 012013

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
Dashboard melts when driven in 80 degree weather. Becomes sticky and shiny. Glare from shine makes it impossible to see out windshield.

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #4

Sep 262013

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
My sister and I had just returned home from the store and I pressed the button to lift the back door to get our things out. We were in the middle of getting our things out when the door started closing on us. I got out and my sister got caught and it came down on her back and scratched her up pretty good. Ever since then just out of the blue it will not stay up and it will close down on you. I think this is a major safety issue especially since I have two little children. It could really do some harm to them. The sliding doors stop closing if someone is in the way and it should be the same for the back door. I bought this vehicle because it is supposed to be one of the top of the line fans for safety. So far I am not impressed. Someone needs to resolve this issue! I am scared to even open up that back door because of this.....and that is not good.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #3

Jul 262012

Sienna

  • 57,000 miles
The rear hatch of my 2008 Toyota Sienna xle closes automatically when opening by using either the remote opener or by opening manually. The door crushed my son.

- Palatine, IL, USA

problem #2

Jul 252010

Sienna

  • 18,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Sienna. The contact received a recall notice, NHTSA campaign number 10V160000, structure in reference to the corrosion on the spare tire assembly. The vehicle was inspected by the dealer who informed him that there was nothing wrong with his vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 18,000. The VIN was unavailable. Updated 01/11/11

- Staton Island , NY, USA

problem #1

Jun 012010

Sienna

  • 27,300 miles
Sunroof glass shattered while driving on the freeway with no apparent reason (no collision, no bad road condition).

- San Marcos, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?