Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
20 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
33,926 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Toyota Sienna engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Toyota Sienna:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Toyota Sienna Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #17

Apr 112010

Sienna

  • 51,398 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Engine accelerated while parking in a parking spot and crashed into a pole.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #16

Apr 012010

Sienna

  • 22,553 miles
Vehicle traveling 35mph on a level street. Warm, dry, windy, cloudy afternoon. Sudden acceleration! brief (1-2 seconds) ended before I could depress the brake. No damage, collision or injury occurred. Just startled. Checked for floor mat or other visible obstruction/ impedance, none apparent. This was the first time I was sure of the occurrence. There have been a variety of what appear to be electrical /electronic "glitches" : ac green light on button comes on by itself, summer or winter and sometimes I can not get it to turn off. Seatbelt light sometimes comes on when they are properly in use. (and nothing heavy resting on the seats) also airbag light sometimes. Service light remains on sometimes after oil change service. Brake highly sensitive gas pedal very touchy, especially from stop, ie at light. Hard to not spin wheels on starting. (especially when pavement wet, even on level St.). fortunately, having lived in snow territory, I know the importance of slow starts and stops when possible. I have not checked any sites to see if Sienna 2008 has any problems listed yet.

- Cedar Lake, IN, USA

problem #15

Nov 032007

Sienna

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Sienna. While the contact was driving at a speed of 5 mph attempting to pull into his driveway the vehicle had suddenly surged forward causing the contact to crash into his screen door. No one was injured and a police report was not filed for the incident. The vehicle was taken to the dealership where the contact was informed that the failure could not be reproduced. The contact noticed prior that he could smell braking fluid coming from the rear of the vehicle. The current and failure mileages were 30,000.

- Ocala, FL, USA

problem #14

Aug 202009

Sienna

  • 44,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2008 Toyota Sienna.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #13

Sep 082009

Sienna

  • 12,000 miles
Making a sharp left turn crossing a rr track brake was applied to negotiate curve, car did not decelerate resulting in wide turn, striking rr track, swinging car, and running down the track. Repairs roughly $12,000.. second incident: November 2009. Backed out of parking space, car accelerated in reverse across lot, a sidewalk and street stopping about 20 feet from gas pumps at a station across the street. No crash, no apparent damage to car.

- Albany, MN, USA

problem #12

Jan 302010

Sienna

  • 39,500 miles
Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) Toyota Sienna le 2008 did not stop when braking. Issue with acceleration on tachometer after braking. I have taken the vehicle to Toyota collision center on 2/1/10 the first business day after the accident. The collision center hold onto my vehicle till 2/15/10 [xxx] mention he will start working on it and every time he ask me if I will file a claim which he state the vehicle would take longer to repair then. And be ready this wed 2/24/10 which I call yesterday and he mentioned he was not sure. I have tried to find a lawyer (1800lawyers) but they did not want to take cases relating to Toyota. Now I'm without me vehicle for several weeks and I cannot do anything. I have reported this issue with Toyota case[xxx] and I have geico insurance case [xxx] (1800654-5896 ext 5608 [xxx] ). I was traveling westbound, sunny day, clear road with my wife and child. The vehicle in front stopped, I pressed on the brakes to stop, first the tachometer sped up then their was not braking. I was traveling 15-20 miles per hours at the time on regular street. I have been without my vehicle for almost one month which I need the car for work.

- Rancho Cordova, CA, USA

problem #11

May 102008

Sienna

  • 1,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Sienna. While driving 35 mpf with the cruise control engaged, the vehicle began to reduce speed when the senor recognized another vehicle approaching. The contact stated that whenever a vehicle in front of him changed lanes, the vehicle accelerated to the set speed. The contact is concerned about the safety risk involved. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer who was unable to diagnose the failure. The contact would like for the manufacturer to have the laser sensor removed. The failure mileage was 1,000. Updated 03/17/10.

- Escondido, CA, USA

problem #10

Apr 012008

Sienna

  • 9,000 miles
On April 1, 2008, at about 9:30 P.M., my two sons, 19 and 16, and my youngest son's friend drove South on interstate 35 out of downtown minneapolis upon conclusion of a twins game. About three blocks North of crosstown highway 62, going 60 mph I passed a car by putting the accelerator on the floor. Traffic is somewhat heavy of course. The car continued accelerating despite the fact that I took my foot off of the accelerator. I calmly told my 19 year old son sitting next to me that the accelerator was stuck. He shifted the car into neutral, and then into park and reverse when the shift into neutral didn't seem to correct the problem. He then shifted the car back into neutral, my foot was on the brake, and I was able to slow the car down on the 80 degree turn onto the crosstown 62 from I35. I slowed the car down to about 45 mph and, luckily, was able to get to the shoulder. I took the car in to my local maintenance shop the next day. The owner of the shop suggested that I ask the dealer I purchased the minivan from, bloomington Toyota, to check at least the following three items: Throttle position sensor, engine control module, and idle control motor. On May 15, 2008, I brought the minivan into bloomington Toyota and told them what my local shop owner suggested. After testing the vehicle, the service manager told me that they found nothing wrong with the vehicle and that if the accelerator had malfunctioned, their computer testing devices would have detected it and had detected nothing.

- Northfield, MN, USA

problem #9

Jan 292010

Sienna

  • 45,000 miles
I approached the intersection of cortz rd. And 34 St. In bradenton, fl in heavy traffic. The traffic light changed from red to green, the line of traffic started to move forward. I applied accelerator and brake as needed with traffic, then the car in front of me stopped suddenly, I let up on the accelerator and pressed the brake and they did not respond as they should hitting the car in front of me. This all resulted in a 5 car chain reaction crash. It seemed as my car wanted to keep on going as if I had not done anything to stop. This is the second time I have had trouble with acceleration and brake control with this car in just over 30 days. The car is still in the repair shop. I do not have any confidence in this car to operate correctly or in safe manner. Toyota has done nothing for me to fix this problem. I have tried to contact Toyota by phone and computer without success. I have been to a Toyota dealer twice and they refer me to Toyota customer service phone no. Because the Sienna model is not part of the recall. However when I go to the NHTSA.dot.gov web site there are several cases listed of acceleration problems with the Sienna. Please help.

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #8

Dec 242009

Sienna

  • 44,500 miles
I own and drive a 2008 Toyota Sienna. I pulled out of car wash and drove over to a car vacuum center at less than 5mph. As I approached the vacuum area I touched the brake and the car accelerated fast, ran into a metal post, metal fence and over a curb almost hitting individuals in the area. This occurred in palmetto, Florida. This car seemed to have a mind of its own. There did not seam to be any reason for the acceleration at least not from my operation. I have to drive back to fort wayne, in and I'm concerned about the safety of this auto for me and my wife and all other on the highway.

- For Wayne, IN, USA

problem #7

Jun 102008

Sienna

  • 1,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2008 Sienna. There is an acceleration problem that I can replicate. It occurs when stopping at the bottom of an incline. Although Sienna is not on the recall list, it should be. It occurs often, the majority of times when going down a hill. My concern is that it will occur unexpectedly. No response from Toyota on this complaint.

- Fairport, NY, USA

problem #6

Sep 012008

Sienna

  • 1 miles
This is a follow up to my 2/4/2010 report (ODI #10305864) about my 2008 Toyota Sienna. Ever since I bought it new in fall 2008, there is noticeable momentary unintended acceleration briefly whenever I press the brake pedal at speeds of about 30-40 mph. Then the brake takes hold. I had not given my VIN #. this time I will do that. (this is an ongoing problem that Toyota service says is normal, due to the nature of Sienna's transmission)

- Oxnard, CA, USA

problem #5

Jan 152010

Sienna

  • 28,756 miles
We drove from pembroke to North Carolina, taking a few breaks in between two weeks ago. We pulled into a service station to use the rest rooms and purchase cold drinks, in roanke springs, nc. My wife pulled into a handicapped parking spot in front of the store. She was only 10 feet from stopping the vehicle when the car accelerated forward and fortunately crashed into a concrete pillar otherwise we would have gone directly into the store. The surge of the car accelerating pushed me back into my seat, passenger. Our vehicle Toyota Sienna struck the concrete pillar directly in the middle of the front end. I then reached down and turned the car off. We were traveling with another couple, they had parked their car and heard the squeal of the brakes being applied and then the crash of our vehicle into the concrete pillar. The car is being repaired in roanke springs, nc at the bones Toyota dealer. We then rented a vehicle and continued our trip to Florida.

- Pembroke, MA, USA

problem #4

Jan 292010

Sienna

  • 45 miles
On Jan 29, 2010 my 11 yrs. Daughter and I were traveling in our 2008 Toyota Sienna South on hwy 51/I39. The roads and weather were basically dry. I had just set the cruise on 71mph when the vehicle surged ahead, the speedometer said 80, and within a minute had reduced to the 71mph I had set. It was very sudden and very scary to both of us. There was no foot on the accelerator and no floor mat was the problem. I feel this is a warning of what could happen and there are documented C/O since 2006 for Siennas that have this same problem.

- Marathon, WI, USA

problem #3

Jan 102010

Sienna

  • 25,000 miles
Toyota Sienna 2008 model. Halted to make a turn in a parking lot, less than 5-10mph. Suddenly accelerated and hit another vehicle eventhough I was pressing hard on the brake pedal. Not mentioned in the recent vehicle recall by Toyota.

- Edmond, OK, USA

problem #2

Dec 282009

Sienna

  • miles
A Toyota Sienna 2008 was turning slowly on a curve and then it suddenly accelerated very fast and went through a fence hitting a wall. The airbags opened up as well.

- Pasadena, CA, USA

problem #1

Oct 202009

Sienna

  • 10,000 miles
I accidentally hit the cruise control in my 2008 Toyota Sienna when the control lever was over the windshield wiper control in a slight left turn, resulting in the cruise control going unexpectedly into "resume". because of inclement weather I had slowed down and was not expecting the instant acceleration. Took a couple seconds to realize what had happened when I had tried to operate the windshield wiper control. The Toyota cruise control lever mounted on the steering column where it turns with the wheel appears to be a less than desirable engineering decision from a safety standpoint. Trying to express this concern to my local Toyota dealer, (pine bluff, Arkansas, where I bought the car) was unsuccessful. I had been trying to be helpful with Toyota's more generic problem of a complaint of uncontrollable acceleration, which Toyota has been trying to blame on improper floor mats being jammed into the accelerator pedal.

- Sheridan, AR, USA

Not what you are looking for?