Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
43,466 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Toyota Tacoma wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Toyota Tacoma:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Toyota Tacoma Owner Comments

problem #10

Sep 012009

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles


2003 Toyota Tacoma. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle frame rust recall notice issues. The consumer stated the mechanic discovered the frame on the front driver's side near the spring hanger was rusted. In September 2009, the vehicle was inspected and no rust was found. In January 2009, the spare tire carrier was replaced.

- Winterport, ME, USA

problem #9

Apr 102004


  • 2,400 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the vehicle was equipped with Goodyear dunlop tires, size 215/70/15. The contact stated while driving approximately 35 mph the tire pressure warning indicator illuminated and a loud noise emitted outside of the vehicle. The vehicle was maneuvered to the side of the road. The contact noticed that the rear passenger's side tire exploded. The spare tire was mounted temporarily. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the spare tire was replaced with a new tire. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 2,400. The VIN and dot numbers were unavailable.

- Brentwood, TN, USA

problem #8

Aug 252013

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 163,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated the frame was corroded. The vehicle was inspected by an independent mechanic. The mechanic stated the frame would had to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 163,000. Updated 11/21/13

- Chester, NJ, USA

problem #7

Aug 012011


  • miles


Letter to the secretary from re complaint regarding the safety of the 2003 Toyota Tacoma the consumer stated while driving, another vehicle slid into his vehicle and he hit the passenger front tire of the other vehicle at 40 mph. The air bags failed to deploy. The consumer also stated the tires and front fender ratio had a design defect. The consumer was injured in the accident...updated 01/31/12..updated 11/19/13

- Santa Ana, CA, USA

problem #6

Jul 142010


  • 80,000 miles
I have had 3 out of 4 tires purchased in 9/08 develop large "bubbles" at the rim and 1 one of them went flat. The others were noticed and changed and all tires had tears in them that were not visible when the tires were on the rim. The first tire had around 25000 miles on it when it developed a large bubble while we were traveling. The receipt from the dealership that replaced the tire said it had a cut in it. Last week another tire went flat after I had driven over 400 miles and this caused me to inspect my tires and I noticed a "bubble" that started on the rim of another tire. When I took the vehicle in I had to buy 2 new tires because both of these tires had tears or cuts 1 1/2 - 3 inches long that were visible only after the rim was removed. These tires had around 40,000 miles on them. I have contacted the dealer I purchased the original tires from and I am in the process of working out a resolution with them. The 4th tire has a "ripple" in it in the middle of the tire, not around the rim, and the dealership has told me that is from separation and is not unusual. I am also asking that they replace that tire for me. I still have the last 2 tires but will have to give them to the dealership when we work out a resolution.

- Bentonville, AR, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #5

Apr 142010


  • 159,000 miles
Wednesday April 14,2010 at approximately 8:30 am while I was getting onto a highway (101 E/B in bedford nh) my spare tire broke off from the underbed carrier. There was a motorcyclist right behind me that had to make a evasive action to avoid being hit by my spare tire. The plate had rusted out.

- Bedford, NH, USA

problem #4

Jun 262006

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,750 miles


The contact stated a recall letter was received pertaining to the lower ball joints. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for the recall on 12/27/05 where the ball joints were replaced and the vehicle was realigned. The vehicle began to shimmy after about three month later and it was taken to an independent repair shop. The front tires were balance which resulted in difficulty of steering due to the tires becoming worn. The contact expressed that the worn tires were a direct result of the improper alignment performed by the dealer on 12/27/05. After 3 days, the vehicle was taken back to the independent repair shop for tire rotation because the difficulty in steering had worsened. The rotation fixed the problem for awhile however after a couple of months the steering worsened. On 6/26/06, the vehicle was taken to another independent tire dealer for realignment. The contact can provide specifications for the realignment of the tires before the alignment, after the alignment and the specified ranged.

- Lexington, NC, USA

problem #3

Jun 152004

Tacoma 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,500 miles
While rotating the tires on my new 2003 Toyota Tacoma P/U for the first time (6,000 miles), I noticed a buldge in the drivers side front tire (Goodyear wangler hp P205/75R15) local Goodyear dealer(auto world) called Goodyear, they said no warranty, but they will sell me a replacement tire at there cost of $97 (as if I'll buy another Goodyear tire)! how many have to be hurt or injured before something is done! or are they following Firestone / Bridgestone's lead.....

- Columbia Heights, MN, USA

problem #2

Nov 142003

Tacoma 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9 miles
While driving 55 mph, the left front tire exploded. The consumer was able to pull over to the shoulder and called road side assistance to change the tire. Three days later the left rear tire blew out, the consumer was told that the spare tire was in the process of about to fail as well. The next day, Toyota had the vehicle towed and all 5 tires were replaced.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #1

Oct 102003


  • miles
Driver replaced front driver's side tire. Three studs broke while checking the wheel due to corrosion. Dealership was aware of the problem.

- Fayetteville, NC, USA

Not what you are looking for?