Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
64,448 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Toyota Tacoma body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Toyota Tacoma:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Toyota Tacoma Owner Comments

problem #19

Sep 012016

Tacoma

  • 72,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. Per a Toyota customer satisfaction campaign, the contact was informed that the vehicle experienced severe corrosion. The vehicle was coated in anti-corrosion adhesive, but the corrosion worsened on the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was approximately 72,000.

- Norwood, MA, USA

problem #18

Sep 022016

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 158,000 miles
During a recent safety inspection, the inspector noted that the frame was rusted and in one spot was rusted through. Contacted the manufacturer and was told that a recall had been initiated but had expired in March of 2016. Additionally, the manufacturer stated that the recall was not safety related. I have never been notified of this recall. Driving the vehicle with a frame that may fail is not safe. I believe that Toyota should be required to issue a safety recall and that they should be required to repair this unsafe condition caused by lack of a viable quality control program.

- Providence Forge, VA, USA

problem #17

Jul 012016

Tacoma

  • miles
2006 Toyota Tacoma. Consumer writes in regards to dealerships refusal to repair vehicle frame corrosion/holes safety recall. The consumer was informed there was no recall, but a limited service campaign.

- Council Bluffs, IA, USA

problem #16

Apr 302015

Tacoma 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received a manufacturer recall for the subframe, but the VIN was not included. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the subframe was severely corroded and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 60,000. Updated 1/15/16 updated 02/05/16

- Lake View, OH, USA

problem #15

Sep 152015

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
Cpsc: Toyota Tacoma: Consumer stated he experienced sudden acceleration, as well as frame corrosion, that allowed for the rack and pinion to wear and loosen prematurely. The consumer stated as a result, he experienced greater steering effort, reduced vehicle self-centering and noise in the front suspension.

- Pikeswille, TN, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #14

Aug 262015

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that when the vehicle was taken to be serviced, the technician stated that the frame of the vehicle was rusted. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact mentioned that the failure occurred after the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 09V444000 (structure). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 85,000. Updated 11/09/15 the consumer stated the vehicle experienced a broken leaf spring. Updated 1/20/2016

- Bomoseem, VT, USA

problem #13

Oct 012014

Tacoma

  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the frame was corroded. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician verified that the frame was rusted and there was a hole in the cross member. The vehicle has not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 25,000.

- Lake Como, PA, USA

problem #12

Sep 012010

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 37,000 miles
I had my truck inspected by Toyota of bristol for frame rust. At that time they said it was surface rust and Toyota would not do any thing about it even though it was still under warranty. Now the truck has rusted to the point that I can not drive it and it only has 63500 miles on it. The spring shackles on the rear of the truck have completely rusted away leaving the rear end of the truck almost completely unattached to the truck frame. Even though Toyota has a campaign # SC-eod to repair 2005-2008 Toyota Tacoma frames the said mine was not covered.

- Damascus, VA, USA

problem #11

May 152014

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 155,000 miles
I have owned my truck for about 2 1/2 years. The frame of the vehicle has significant rust and rot. There are several holes through the frame due to rot and corrosion which are not normal for a vehicle less than 10 years old. On the drivers side next to the catalytic converter there is a hole. On the drivers side in the rear of the body mount there is a hole as well as on the bottom of the frame where the C channel butts together right below the body mount. The passenger side also has a hole by one of the exhaust hangers about 2"X3". there is significant rust and flaking along the entire frame. The tow hitch has signifiacnt rust and holes as well. About 6 weeks ago in mid June after filing a complaint with Toyota and having the service manager at the local dealership, in riverhead NY, look at my frame and submit some pictures to Toyota corporate only to be told too bad we aren't replacing frames in NY. I had a gas tank support strap fail while driving home from work, luckily I didn't lose the gas tank and end up in a ball of flames. I also reported this to the dealership and was told I was liable to replace the gas tank straps. There is a limited service campaign to address the issues with these frames but when I log on to the Toyota owners website I can not find any mention of such campaign. However there is thread on a Tacoma enthusiast site, tacomaworld.com where people are posting and tracking their respective progress with Toyota and the issues with their frames. The manager of the service department at my local dealership stated that they are aware of the frame problems however right now Toyota is not replacing frames. I spoke to someone at Toyota corporate about my particular frame and she stated that they are aware of the issues and my frame meets the criteria to be replaced, however they are going to replace it. So basically Toyota told me I'm sol.

- Hampton Bays, NY, USA

problem #10

Jul 052014

Tacoma 4-cyl

  • 47,380 miles
Due to the rusted frame issues that I reported to Toyota on 04/16/2014 (muller Toyota and Toyota corporate) my clutch pedal stuck to the floor when crossing an intersection almost causing a crash when the rusted clutch slave cylinder stuck. There are big rust holes in the frame and Toyota freely admits that they are defective frames, but won't have a recall on those model Tacoma until enough people complain or get injured or killed ! something should be done about these defective frames that rust from the inside out.

- Vienna, NJ, USA

problem #9

Apr 142014

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 125,247 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The frame on my 2006 Toyota Tacoma is rusting through and I'm not happy about it. I believe there was a recall for 2004 and earlier Tacoma models. The manufacturer should be held responsible for more recent models with the same defect. How do I get Toyota to do the right thing? when I called my dealer they told me there that there was no recall or directive to fix it, therefore they wouldn't!

- Newburyport, MA, USA

problem #8

Feb 152014

Tacoma

  • 86,000 miles
On 2/15/2014 I changed the tires on my truck and noticed that the frame is experiencing severe rust nearly everywhere. I took the truck to the local dealership for routine maintenance based on the mileage. At that time I explained to the service department representative at the dealership my concern regarding the amount of rust to the frame and might this become a safety problem leading to a failure. The dealership service department representative told that there is no problem with the frame and the frames will rust but will fine and there is nothing to worry about.

- Harleysville, PA, USA

problem #7

Feb 102013

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 121,000 miles
The frame on my 2006 double cab Tacoma is severely rusted. Huge metal flakes with quarter size thickness is flaking off the main frame & all cross members. There is a hole that has developed under the truck bed in the frame. I took the truck to a Toyota dealer and they looked at the frame and said it was very rusty but right now there was not anything they could do to help because Toyota had not issued any official "recall" or "tsb" for frame repair for 2006 models. I called the Toyota customer line. The lady took all my information and concern, but informed me that at this time I was on my own to have any frame work repaired. I feel the Toyota corporation should stand behind the 2005+ years Tacoma frame rust issues as they have with the 2001-04 model. It is obvious that the severe frame rust issue did not end with the 2004 model Tacoma.

- Harold, KY, USA

problem #6

Jul 242011

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 55,800 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the latch for the center console, located between the front seats failed and would no longer close. The vehicle was taken to an authorize dealer where the contact was advised to replace the entire center console. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure, but offered no assistance because the failure was not covered under warranty. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 55,800. Updated 8/30/11 updated 09/23/11.

- Carson City, NV, USA

problem #5

Jul 012010

Tacoma

  • 135,843 miles
2006 Toyota Tacoma tailgate is dangerously weak, and is unable to support what most consider normal weight for a truck tailgate. Although substandard design may be considered "buyer beware", truck buyers expect a tailgate to support the weight of normal truck use activities. Toyota provides no warning or caution anywhere that the tailgate is of insufficient strength to perform normal 1/2-ton truck duties, and typically (per internet forum threads) tells their customers that it is their problem and that they should not expect to be able to safely use the tailgate for anything more than hiding the inside of the bed. Since Toyota has produced a substandard designed part, they should have provided a visual warning on the part to alert customers to the danger their product imposes if used in a traditional manner. Since they did not do so, they should be held liable to provide a redesigned part to their customers or full restitution for the purchase price of the vehicles. A google or similar internet search on "Tacoma tailgate forum" will substantiate my statements beyond my personal experience with the tailgate bending.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #4

Mar 012009

Tacoma

  • 30,000 miles
Starting in March 2009, cast aluminum wheels have paint bubbling and surface corrosion. Contacted Toyota and they would not address the issue stating out of warranty condition. A professional wheel reconditioner has stated that if even if repainted it would return since the corrosion is embedded into the metal. My opinion is that over time, surface corrosion can lead to weakening of the wheel structure potentially causing failure and serious injury.

- Farmingdale, NY, USA

problem #3

Sep 272009

Tacoma

  • miles
The carpet is wearing off in my 2006 Toyota Tacoma, due to the manufacturing mat not being/designed in the right spot. It will cause a safety issue as the hole gets bigger. The carpet not has a hole and my hill can get stuck there as it gets bigger.

- Weare, NH, USA

problem #2

Apr 302008

Tacoma

  • 25,000 miles
2006 Toyota Tacoma tailgate is dangerously weak, and is unable to support what most consider normal weight for a truck tailgate. Although substandard design may be considered "buyer beware", truck buyers expect a tailgate to support the weight of normal truck use activities. Toyota provides no warning or caution anywhere that the tailgate is of insufficient strength to perform normal 1/2-ton truck duties, and typically (per internet forum threads) tells their customers that it is their problem and that they should not expect to be able to safely use the tailgate for anything more than hiding the inside of the bed. Since Toyota has produced a substandard designed part, they should have provided a visual warning on the part to alert customers to the danger their product imposes if used in a traditional manner. Since they did not do so, they should be held liable to provide a redesigned part to their customers or full restitution for the purchase price of the vehicles. A google or similar internet search on "Tacoma tailgate forum" will substantiate my statements beyond my personal experience with the tailgate bending.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #1

Oct 162006

Tacoma 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 6,242 miles
: the contact stated when accelerating in 1st gear at 15 mph, the vehicle stalled on 9 occasions. At other times, the shifter would not go into reverse. There was a clunking noise when shifting occurred that became constant as the problem worsened. The vehicle was taken to a service dealer but the problem was not corrected. An appointment was scheduled with another service dealer. The fuel warning light was not activated at the proper volume of fuel. These problems happened shortly after the carpeting was replaced due to water leaking through the firewall. The manufacturer was notified. The consumer stated the vehicle jumped out of park and into reverse. On numerous occasions the truck stalled. Updated 12/18/06.

- Bahama, NC, USA

Not what you are looking for?