Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,429 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Toyota Tacoma wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Toyota Tacoma:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Toyota Tacoma Owner Comments

problem #10

Jun 012007


  • miles


The warning light for low tire pressure keeps coming on and the dealer cannot fix it and simply puts more air into the tires. I have checked the tire pressure according to the label on the inside of the driver's side door and cannot determine if any tires have low pressure. This warning light keeps coming on again and again. This must be a faulty valve or a faulty tire pressure system.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #9

Apr 262016


  • 50,000 miles
Dunlop rover H/T 265/65-17 tire blew out sitting in driveway. The vehicle had not been driven in over a week. Tire tread only half worn.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #8

Jun 052015


  • 77,000 miles
The left front wheel bearing failed at about 72000 miles. A year later both rear tire bearings failed at about 77000 miles. In both instances I noted an abnormal low pitched rumbling sound coming from the wheels as I drove the vehicle. The need to replace three bearings on a vehicle that has less than 80,000 miles is clearly abnormal and suggest a manufacturing defect. No unusual loads or road travel was undertaken by this vehicle. This is a revised report for ODI # 10746795

- Stroudsburg, PA, USA

problem #7

Dec 122006

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 20,000 miles


December 2006 truck parked with emergency brake off and would not move below freezing temperature. All four wheels locked up. Towed to dealer, after numerous attempts to fix he stated the wheel bearing were leaking grease and freezing up so truck would not move. Truck operates good all year till it gets below freezing and wheels lock up. Dealer does not know the problem, but only happens when parked and below freezing. December 10 2012 rear wheels lock up while driving in below freezing causing truck to slide and miss two on coming cars, truck ends up in ditch. Would sell vehicle but afraid anyone driving it in cold weather would be stranded or in a fatal wreck. Are other trucks having same issue as I hunt and go back 30 miles into the woods and if freezes I would be stranded.

- Kiezer, OR, USA

problem #6

May 012010

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
The frame on my 2006 Tacoma is totally rusted! the finish on my wheels is peeling off as well!!!! total crap!!

- Mount Prospect, IL, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #5

Aug 072012


  • 76,288 miles
While rotating tires, I have had three different wheel lugs break, one approximately 10000 miles previously and two on the same wheel on the date indicated above. The lug nuts where not cross threaded. These lugs where broken while torquing the nuts per the manufacturer specification. The torque wrench was not professionally calibrated, but was compared to a recently calibrated torque wrench, both wrenches coincided. Granted the lugs have had a small amount of oil for lubrication. However, I had a gentleman whom was a metallurgist his working career and did failure analysis for a oil company. Based on visual inspection of the failure, he indicated the part failed from fatigue and was not over torqued. Therefore, if a fatigue is proven by further analysis, my concern is that these parts could cause failure while traveling at highway speed with detrimental results.

- Linville, VA, USA

problem #4

Jul 142012

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 117,000 miles


Spare tire cable snapped on the morning of 7/12/12.snapping of the cable resulted in the rear of the vehicle becoming airborne and shifting to the side while in mid air. Luckily time was on my side. I was working nights and had this incident unfolded while working my normal day shift, I am positive there would have been contact between my vehicle with another vehicle, or another vehicle with tire and rim on route 287 North in New Jersey as the roads are packed like sardines in a can yet moving at a brisk pace. I did not know what is was at first but immediately pulled off into the shoulder. Found the wheel and noticed that the unused spare tire is now in need of replacement at a cost of $180.

- Bayonne, NJ, USA

problem #3

Jun 012008

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 22,000 miles
The vehicle frame and included tow hitch and misc areas of the undercarriage are extremely rusted to the point of cracking and flaking metal. Also of a less serious concern, the alloy rims are heavily corroded, both conditions were noticed within two years of ownership. I am the original and sole vehicle owner. I will be mailing pictures along with a hard copy of this form to the address below. Updated 02/01/12 updated 04/18/12

- Dingmans Ferry, PA, USA

problem #2

Nov 202010

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 17,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. While driving approximately 60 mph, the contact noticed that the tire pressure warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing where the technician was unable to diagnose a failure. The contact inspected the vehicle and noticed that the front driver side and the front and rear passenger side rims were corroded. The vehicle was included in the recall under NHTSA campaign id number: 06V061000 (tires:bead) and taken to the dealer for inspection but the tires were not replaced under the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 58,000. Updated 01/03/12 upadted 01/05/12

- Nashua, NH, USA

problem #1

Mar 152011

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 6 miles
Wheels corroding slightly noticed when purchased new and progressively worsened over time. Now out of warranty says manufacturer and thousands of complaints of same online blogs. Affected only 2005 - 2008 certain vehicles.

- Gulfport, MS, USA

Not what you are looking for?