Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
33 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
12 / 2
Average Mileage:
27,630 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Tacoma engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Tacoma:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Tacoma Owner Comments (Page 2 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #72

Sep 252010


  • 33,500 miles


We were pulling into a covered carport, and there was a bbq grill and house addition in front of us. My husband applied the brakes to his 2007 Toyota Tacoma and the vehicle accelerated causing us to hit the grill/addition that was in front of us. He had both feet jammed on the brake pedal and the vehicle did not stop until after we hit the grill/addition. This is the last time it happened because the vehicle is still sitting at the scene of the accident, we are too scared to drive it. Toyota and the insurance company have been contacted. Toyota recorded the complaint, told me that someone would call back in one business day...that did not happen I had to call them back. After reaching a person in the second claim department, he then took my statement again and said that the case was being transferred yet again and that someone would contact me in 10-14 business days. After that contact they will set up an inspection of the vehicle and Toyota will issue a ruling 30 days after the inspection takes place. The gentleman said that he does not recommend that we fix the vehicle or drive it until the inspection takes place, but it is our choice. Well the dealership refuses to fix the vehicle until Toyota resolves the claim so our hands are tied. We are hoping that the vehicle gets repaired and that Toyota can guarantee that this will not happen again. But for now we are just waiting, and paying on a vehicle we cannot drive while they take their good old time to call us and set up an investigation....very frustrating. We received the recall floormat notice on or about the week of 8/30/2010 but were moving on 9/17 so decided to wait until after the move to schedule the appt. Needless to say that we didn't make it that far. I also feel it important to note that the floor mat is rubber has teeth on the back of it and was and is no where near the accelerator pedal. I do not believe that this is a floor mat issue I believe that this is a sudden acceleration issue.

- Lock Haven, PA, USA

problem #71

Apr 222010


  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Tacoma. The contact was attempting to brake from unknown speeds while driving downhill when the vehicle abnormally accelerated. The vehicle proceeded downhill where the vehicle crashed and ended up on top of a boulder. The steering wheel was damaged due to the rear axle being struck when the vehicle went over the boulder. The contact sustained injuries to his head and shoulders. The vehicle was towed to a service center by the insurance company a for an inspection of the damages and failure. A police report was available. The manufacturer advised they were unable to find the failure within the vehicle. The failure and current mileages were 100,000.

- Cedartown , GA, USA

problem #70

Apr 222010


  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Tacoma. While the vehicle was at a complete stop, the vehicle suddenly accelerated and rear ended a vehicle in front. The vehicle continued to accelerate although the contact had his foot on the brake pedal. The contact called the dealership and was told that they would diagnose the problem and repair it. The vehicle had not been repaired at the time of the complaint. The current and failure mileages were approximately 42,000.

- Alexandria City, AL, USA

problem #69

Nov 242009


  • 70,429 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that when attempted to pull out of his driveway, the vehicle suddenly accelerated when he depressed the accelerator pedal. The ground was wet so the contact was unable to control the vehicle and it stopped in a ditch. The vehicle was destroyed but not inspected. The currrent and failure mileages were 70,429.

- Lenardtown, MD, USA

problem #68

Mar 222007


  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Tacoma. The contact was driving approximately 10 mph in a parking lot. A sudden acceleration occurred unexpectedly, and pressure was applied to the brake pedal. The vehicle continued to accelerate. When the accelerator and brake pedal were depressed the vehicle came to a stop. The contact stated the brake and accelerator pedals were positioned extremely close together, 2 ½ inches apart which could possibly cause interference during application with a large foot. The VIN was unavailable. The failure and current mileages were 40,000.

- Mableton, GA, USA

problem #67

Oct 152009


  • 55,000 miles
I had come to a complete stop at a red light. With my foot on the brake, my 2007 Toyota Tacoma started to accelerate. I freaked out, thinking that I may have accidentally pushed down on the accelerator pedal. I moved my foot over to the left a little, with no change. I then looked down to make sure that my foot was not on the accelerator pedal. Luckily, the light changed not long after this incident. It has never occurred again.

- Abbeville, LA, USA

problem #66

Feb 012008


  • 7,000 miles


Unintended acceleration. The vehicle started speeding up like cruise control was engaged even after the gas pedal released. The only way to disengage was to pump the gas pedal until it released.

- Nolensville, TN, USA

problem #65

Mar 122010


  • 32,500 miles
Unexpected acceleration incident at approx 12:30 pm, Friday, 12 mary 2010 in Virginia beach va. Road dry, traction good. Speed limit 35 but I had begun slowing (coasting) in anticipation of red light as I approached an intersection. When light changed to red began to brake and experienced rapid pulsing of the brake system (somewhat similar to operation of anti-lock brakes on icy roads) at about 2nd or 3rd pulse, engine RPM increased rapidly from approx 1200 RPM to 4000 RPM plus. Cut the ignition and brought vehicle to a safe stop. Interval to car ahead had opened as I slowed prior to braking so was able to stop without collision, but would have rear-ended car ahead if I had been an normal interval when this incident occurred.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #64

Feb 262010


  • 40,300 miles
I have a Toyota on recall for floor mats. I did not have the Toyota floor mats, not provided when purchased. On 2/12/10 40K maintenance was done on my vehicle I expressed concern about the accelerate / brake issue that Toyota was having said my vehicle was not on the recall list. I asked the adviser if the mechanic would please check the accelerator & brakes while performing the maintenance check, he stated he that it would be done with the inspection. Upon receiving my Toyota from the service adviser, I again asked if it had been done. He stated that my Toyota was in perfect condition. Prior to the accident, I did not notice any problem with either the accelerator or braking system. On the morning of 2/26/10 approximately 10:15 - 10:30 I was taking my child to school. I parked my Toyota in a car space and took her to class. I returned to my vehicle to drive home. I was wearing my seat belt. I stepped on the brake, started the truck, shifted to reverse and gentle tapped the accelerator. The truck accelerated out of control at least 53 ft backwards into a tree. I tried to stop the vehicle with the brakes but the didn't work. I remember glancing forward for a split second to make sure my foot was completely on the brake pedal and applying additional pressure turning back around and then the back of my truck hit the tree. Per police there was a 53 ft skid mark from one of my tires. Tires were still spinning per witnesses after car hit the tree. I turned off the truck. At that point the fire & ambulance arrived and shortly after that the police. Police report. I do not know the exact speed I was traveling. I do not know the exact mileage on the truck.

- Safety Harbor, FL, USA

problem #63

Mar 072010


  • 30,000 miles
Periodically the vehicle will attempt to accelerate I.e. the engine will rev up as if the accelerator pedal was being depressed when the brake was applied. This has occurred three or four times since I purchased the vehicle on 1/9/10. The majority of the time this has happened at low speeds like when I was in a parking lot but the most recent incident happened when I tried to make a sudden stop to avoid a puppy in the middle of the road. I was unable to stop in a safe period of time. If there had been another vehicle or person in front of me I would have been unable to avoid hitting them. If I continue to press firmly on the brake the acceleration will stop but the time it takes to stop is greatly increased.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #62

Apr 012007

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 100 miles


Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) vehicle information: Year: 2007 make: Tacoma acc cab 4X4 V6 VIN:[xxx] current mileage: 54,320 dealer information: Toyota of the black hills 601 E. omaha po box 1765 rapid city, sd 57701 605-342-2490 vehicle condition: Stationary, transmission in gear, brake applied, at engine ideal, with or without air condition or heater on problem: Suddenly without warning, engine RPM increases to between 200-300 RPM causing the vehicle to lurch forward consequences: Example 1: during winter, while sitting stationary at a slippery intersection, this sudden increase has slid me out into oncoming traffic. Example 2: while stationary at a stop light, the sudden lurch forced me forward coming close to hitting the vehicle in front of me. Example 3: while being marshaled forward inch by inch by an employee of a quick oil change chain the sudden lurch forward caused the employee to jump out of the way to avoid injury. Attempted correction: This problem, which occurs on regular bases, noticed within the first 100 miles of the first month of purchase. I have brought this to the attention of my Toyota dealer service managers sheila malone and les nelson numerous times. They stated that similar ¿problems have occurred on other Toyota models and Toyota would wait to fix problem when they get enough complaints¿. I sent three letters to Toyota (28 May 2008, 30 November 2008, 10 December 2009) describing the problem in more detail; I have not received a response as of yet.

- Sturgis, SD, USA

problem #61

Feb 062010

Tacoma 4-cyl

  • miles
On or about February 6, 2010, a 2007 Toyota Tacoma was being driven in los angeles, ca when the driver lost control of the vehicle and crashed. Both the driver and passenger died from the injuries. Updated 04/05/10 update 9/28/11 according to the police report, the driver was traveling at an unsafe speed due to the wet road conditions. Updated IVOQ 08/23/10

- Oxnard, CA, USA

problem #60

Jan 012008


  • 6,000 miles
Toyota 2007 Tacoma. Reg cab 4X4. Vehicle's accelerator stays at current speed when foot is removed from gas pedal at speeds over 50 mph. This is still occurring even now. It is like the vehicle has cruise control! that was that is turned on. This vehicle does not have cruise control. This has occurred on at least 10-15 times over the last 2 years since it was purchased. The throttle ECU control seems to be corrupt. This truck cannot be safely driven anywhere. I still have payments. The truck is un-usable.

- Grapevine, TX, USA

problem #59

Feb 202010


  • 19,150 miles
2007 Toyota Tacoma - suddenly accelerated when approaching a traffic light. Would not stop when brakes were applied. After putting truck into neutral, brakes began to slow the truck enough to where the driver was able to put the truck into park and turn the truck off. Truck stopped before intersection; thankfully no accident or injuries occurred. Immediately called Toyota dealership where truck was purchased new in 2007. Since it was a Saturday afternoon (Feb 20, 2010, about 5pm), we were advised to bring truck to the service dept on Monday morning. Truck was inspected by service mechanics on mon, Feb 22, 2010. No problems were found. The mechanic "road tested the truck, could not duplicate any throttle problems. All scan tool data is normal. All throttle values are normal. Found nothing sticking or binding. No fault codes current or pending. No tsb found. Carpet mats are secure on their clips. Found no problems with the pedal." We are still driving the vehicle because we have no other alternative. Toyota will not investigate further into the problem since there is no active recall notice on the Tacoma for sudden acceleration. This is the first time the problem occurred. It has not occurred again since Feb 20. Nothing was done to correct the problem.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #58

Feb 142010


  • 44,000 miles
The 2007 Toyota Tacoma accelerates on its own. The cruise control also accelerates on its own. Both of these events occurred twice on February 14, 2010. On March 1, 2010, the truck was taken to the Toyota service center in oxnard, ca.

- Ventura, CA, USA

problem #57

Feb 252007


  • 27,500 miles
Pulled into a parking space and applied brake. Engine accelerated causing vehicle to jump a curb and strike a tree with the engine still racing. In a few seconds, the engine returned to idle. This is the second time this occurred. The first time, I concluded that I had caught the edge of my shoe on the accelerator pedal. However, this time, before releasing the brake, I looked at my foot and it was clear of the accelerator pedal. I know there is a major Toyota recall for similar problem. However, this model is not included in the unintentional acceleration problem. After these two incidents, I'm concerned that problems also exist with this model Toyota and it needs to be investigated.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #56

Feb 062010

Tacoma 4-cyl

  • 47,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Tacoma. While driving 20 mph the vehicle accelerated out of control and hit a fence as she was driving 20 mph on a winding road. The contact sustained minor injuries. The front bumper was damaged. The police were not called. After the vehicle was driven home the Toyota dealer was notified. The dealer informed her to wait until she received a recall notice in the mail before bringing the vehicle in so they could check her accelerator pedal. The manager was very rude and advised her not to call the office again. The failure mileage was 47,000. Updated 3/30/10 updated 06/17/10

- Hilo, HI, USA

problem #55

Aug 212008


  • 6,000 miles
2007 Toyota Tacoma accelerated aggressively when approaching a left turn after slightly pressing the gas. It continued to accelerate after taking foot off the gas and applying brakes. Was unable to slow truck sufficiently to make it around the corner and struck a light pole. Truck was totaled. Injuries were fairly minor - shoulder/neck stiffness, scratches, bruises, etc. Incident occurred in torrance, California (torrance collision report). Reported to Toyota customer service - case #1001122516. I did not follow up on a complaint at the time because the Toyota accelerator problems were not published and I was unaware of how to escalate the issue.

- Torrrance, CA, USA

problem #54

Mar 042008


  • 10 miles
The engine throttle controller on my 07 Toyota Tacoma does not release the throttle when the gas pedal is lifted. The engine continues to rev excessively. This is true at startup, between gear changes and when letting off the throttle to slow or stop. Also, of greater concern is that the engine surges when attempting to slow the vehicle. After letting off the gas the engine initially slows but then abruptly the engine rpms surge propelling the vehicle ahead. I complained about this condition to my Toyota dealer at the 5,000 and 10,000 mile services. Both times they alleged that the engine was performing satisfactorily. The service manager tried to suggest the gas pedal was being caught on the floor mat but the mechanic dismissed that cause. The mechanic further informed me that this complaint was not uncommon and that a fix could be made by purchasing an after-market chip to be installed in the engine controller. Toyota is totally in denial that the electronics are responsible for these engine revs and surges. The gas pedal fix is a farce.

- Banks, OR, USA

problem #53

Sep 192009

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 16,472 miles
Driving my 2007 Toyota Tacoma (V6, 4-wd, automatic, access cab), I experienced sudden unintended acceleration as I was turning from w. seventh avenue in eugene, Oregon onto northbound interstate-105. I was traveling at a safe rate of speed (approx. 20 mph) as I made the turn from the surface street to the left-hand, curving, on-ramp which is the beginning of an elevated freeway structure. It was mid-morning and, although there had been some light rain overnight, the pavement was dry. About halfway through the curve the Tacoma inexplicably accelerated. The rear of the truck swung out to the left at which point it was moving sideways up the on-ramp. The front of the truck jumped the curb and the truck proceeded 20-30 feet sideways along the curb and eventually slid up a concrete wall where the curb transitions to the bridge rail of the elevated structure. Just short of the start of the actual bridge railing the front right wheel and fender struck a tree. At this point, the vehicle bounced back, continued to rotate to the left and came to a rest, straddling the transition wall, having turned 150-170 degrees. At this point I realized the motor was still racing and I switched the engine off. My foot was on the brake pedal. The air bags did not deploy. No one was injured, no other vehicles were involved. Police were called to provide traffic control while the vehicle was removed from the scene but no report was filed. I have lived within two-and-A-half miles of this intersection for more than 36 years. I have been through this intersection thousands of times as a private citizen and in my role as a transportation planner. I have been and am baffled by this incident. The collision damage was repaired. Other than that all parts are original. Original equipment Toyota floor mats had been removed previously.

- Eugene, OR, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?