Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
49,127 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Tacoma miscellaneous problems

miscellaneous problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Tacoma:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Tacoma Owner Comments

problem #16

Sep 292016

Tacoma

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Excessive rust on frame of truck. Frame coating/ protection insufficient. Toyota re-coated the frame on February 7th 2015 however the frame has continued to rust unabated as coating is flaking off.

- Sound Beach, NY, USA

problem #15

May 242016

Tacoma

  • 60,903 miles
For "limited service campaign", my Tacoma was inspected for excessive rust holes in it's frame on 09/25/2015. The dealership declared that my truck passed this inspection. On my next visit,05/24/2016, for a highway noise problem & oil change, the dealership decided on their own to re-inspect for frame rust and declared it had failed the frame rust inspection. They said the campaign was over and I would have to pay for the frame rust repair. The dealership did this inspect & re-inspect in this manner to avoid their responsibility. I filed complaint # 1606271989 with Toyota and was denied. I have service reports #6207015 and 6240379 that document this service and results.

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #14

Jun 102016

Tacoma

  • 84,000 miles
Takata recall there was a recall on the 2007 Tacoma that ended on 03/30/16, but I did not get a notice, called the company and there will not do anything about it. I did notice on some web site a lot of complains that not getting the recall for the frame. Is there anything that I can do?

- Unity, ME, USA

problem #13

Dec 112015

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Last fall I received a limited service campaign follow-up notice from Toyota motor sales, U.S.a., Inc. Regarding potential hazardous situations arising from possible frame perforations. Their letter said and I quote 'some vehicles may not have sufficient corrosion-resistant protection...this may contribute to the development of more-than-normal rust in the frame of some vehicles'. the letter suggested the owners of said vehicles schedule an inspection at a participating dealership no later than the March 31, 2016 expiration date. The inspection was performed on December 11, 2015 at sunrise Toyota, 4002 sunrise hwy., oakdale, NY 11769, (631) 589-9000 and a perforation of the frame on the front drivers side wheel well was discovered. The dealership informed me that it presented a safety concern that would require total replacement. At this point I was told it was ordered and would take 4-6 weeks to arrive. At 8 weeks I had to make the first contact. They said now it could be between 3-4 months but never reached out to inform me of this change. At 12 and 16 weeks I called the dealership again to no avail. They have no idea of a delivery date and don't seem to care. At this point I called Toyota corporate customer service and they provided me two things. They would have sunrise Toyota customer relations manager call me also to absolutely no avail and to provide me a reference number [xxx] for my complaint. Please exercise influence on sunrise Toyota to address this hazardous situation promptly and with full disclosure. Thank you very much. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Sayville, NY, USA

problem #12

Dec 102015

Tacoma

  • 96,000 miles
Received a recall from Toyota regarding unusual frame rust for my 2007 Tacoma. I brought it to a Toyota dealer for inspection. They determined the frame was rusted through in places and had to be replaced. The inspection was in Dec. 2015. They told ne they had to order parts and it would take 3 to 6 months for them to arrive. I checked with the dealer this week (3/14/2016) and was informed the parts are still on order and they could not give me an eta for their arrival. I think 3 to 6 months to repair something as fundamental as the frame in a truck is excessive. This recall should have a higher priority. The service technician told me they are awaiting frames and related parts for numerous Tacoma trucks at this time. In the meantime, I am reluctant to drive the truck any distance or with any significant load in the truck. I also cannot trade in or sell the truck in this condition. This recall has a potential for a major accident if the frame fails while at highway speed.

- Chantilly, VA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #11

Jan 042016

Tacoma

  • miles
When heat control dial is turned from cold to hot, an inside door within the heating/cooling system closes off. This keeps any hot air from blowing into the cab and through the defroster. This decreased air volume from HVAC vents will not heat the cab in cold weather and will not properly defrost the windshield in wintry conditions as no hot air will blow. Toyota service bulletin (T-sb-0072-09) covers this costly repair. The inability of the defroster to provide hot air to the windshield has caused me to pull over several times due to inability to see through it either from internal condensation or from ice buildup during times of precipitation and freezing conditions. Further, with the heater not able to provide hot air into the cab, occupant safety is at risk in times of extreme weather during both driving and/or times the vehicle might become stranded. This condition occurs in all modes of operation, both driving or idling in park. Air velocity tapers off as the heat control is increased (to the right) to the higher settings effectively cutting off hot air flow into the cab. This is both when the vents are open and when in recirculation mode. See attached file for reference. Primary safety concern is visibility through the windshield during inclimate weather and occupant safety in colder conditions. This is not a new problem with my vehicle- but has recently become a very significant safety concern due to recent weather conditions and temperatures. I cannot load the pdf file (T-sb-0072-09) as it is too large.

- Crestwood, KY, USA

problem #10

Dec 192015

Tacoma

  • 117,634 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving fuse panel under dash caught fire after using horn excessively. Fire was put out immediately but damage resulted in a melted fuse panel and wiring harness

- Diamond Bar, CA, USA

problem #9

Oct 022015

Tacoma

  • 96,000 miles
2007 Toyota Tacoma, rusted frame.. I purchased used in austin Texas on Oct 2015 from a dealership. The truck is from a northern state, affected by massive amounts of rust on the frame. I took the truck in for a look over, I was told I had a few years left in the truck before the rust rots completely through. Toyota needs to recall the 2007 models as well. I just bought this truck thinking this was going to run for a very long time, I was mistaken and buyer beware.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #8

Oct 052015

Tacoma

  • 150,000 miles
Bought this truck last year. Took to Toyota to get inspected and do recalls. Not inspectable. Rusted frame. 9 month wait to fix. Rear leaf spring also recalled, but cannot fix, don't know how right now. Amoungst many other safety issues!!! owe $15,000 plus on truck, cannot drive or do anything with!!! cant even sell it. Why is this huge corporation allowed to continue to get away with this"?? they have known problems stemming several years and have not fixed anything. How many people have to die that are not aware of these issues???"

- Stephens City, VA, USA

problem #7

May 262015

Tacoma

  • 143,000 miles
Toyota can't build frames for their trucks. Mine is rotted. Toyota plans to spray it with a rust inhibitor. They have recalled every 2006 and older Tacoma for this issue and won't recall the 2007's. I now own a pile of junk and Toyota won't do what's right even though they clearly know there's an issue.

- West Pittston, PA, USA

problem #6

May 012011

Tacoma

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought an undercover truck tonneau cover to cover the bed of my 2007 Toyota Tacoma truck. After three years of use the cover developed severe fatigue cracking around the mounting hinges. Fearing a catastrophic failure, with the cover possibly flying off into traffic, I removed the cover from the truck. The failure has not been corrected by undercover and the part remains in my possession. Their response was that they would not replace or repair the cover since it was out of warranty and that it should be removed if I felt it was a safety hazard. Pictures of the cracked hinges are available.

- Banks, OR, USA

problem #5

Dec 192008

Tacoma

  • miles
My son and I were going to the courthouse. I do not know what component to blame the problem on, so I will just describe what happened. My son was a witness to the incident: I was trying to parallel park. My right foot was still pressing on the brake as I put the gear in R. when I did this, I heard an extremely loud whir from the rear wheels. I immediately put my truck in neutral. My truck was still not properly aligned in the parking spot: There was a car parked on the left that could hit me. I put the car in D. then I again heard an extremely loud whir from the rear wheels, so I pressed down completely on the brake, but my truck still moved forward and crashed into the car parked in front of me. My truck kept pushing into that car parked in front of me, so I immediately put my truck into parking gear and this stopped my truck. I took my truck to the Toyota dealer and the dealer blamed the problem on the floormat. The dealer made the process of investigating the case and getting a satisfactory resolution too bureaucratic, so I just gave up and did not pursue the matter so I do not know what the case # is at the dealership. An example of the bureaucratic headache: I wanted to do a trade, but if I did that, I had to pay another $7,000, and I did not have that kind of money. There was another witness identified in the police report. According to the police report, this "witness #1 advised that he came to his vehicle and adjusted where he parked. He advised that as he was getting out, he observed vehicle #1's [my vehicle] tires began to spin. He jumped back into his vehicle and observed it [my vehicle] crash into the curb and vehicle #2." the police report ends with: "there were leaves on the ground around where the crash occurred."

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #4

Dec 192008

Tacoma

  • miles
My son and I were going to the courthouse. I do not know what component to blame the problem on, so I will just describe what happened. My son was a witness to the incident: I was trying to parallel park. My right foot was still pressing on the brake as I put the gear in R. when I did this, I heard an extremely loud whir from the rear wheels. I immediately put my truck in neutral. My truck was still not properly aligned in the parking spot: There was a car parked on the left that could hit me. I put the car in D. then I again heard an extremely loud whir from the rear wheels, so I pressed down completely on the brake, but my truck still moved forward and crashed into the car parked in front of me. My truck kept pushing into that car parked in front of me, so I immediately put my truck into parking gear and this stopped my truck. I took my truck to the Toyota dealer and the dealer blamed the problem on the floormat. The dealer made the process of investigating the case and getting a satisfactory resolution too bureaucratic, so I just gave up and did not pursue the matter so I do not know what the case # is at the dealership. An example of the bureaucratic headache: I wanted to do a trade, but if I did that, I had to pay another $7,000, and I did not have that kind of money. There was another witness identified in the police report. According to the police report, this "witness #1 advised that he came to his vehicle and adjusted where he parked. He advised that as he was getting out, he observed vehicle #1's [my vehicle] tires began to spin. He jumped back into his vehicle and observed it [my vehicle] crash into the curb and vehicle #2." the police report ends with: "there were leaves on the ground around where the crash occurred."

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #3

Dec 192008

Tacoma

  • miles
My son and I were going to the courthouse. I do not know what component to blame the problem on, so I will just describe what happened. My son was a witness to the incident: I was trying to parallel park. My right foot was still pressing on the brake as I put the gear in R. when I did this, I heard an extremely loud whir from the rear wheels. I immediately put my truck in neutral. My truck was still not properly aligned in the parking spot: There was a car parked on the left that could hit me. I put the car in D. then I again heard an extremely loud whir from the rear wheels, so I pressed down completely on the brake, but my truck still moved forward and crashed into the car parked in front of me. My truck kept pushing into that car parked in front of me, so I immediately put my truck into parking gear and this stopped my truck. I took my truck to the Toyota dealer and the dealer blamed the problem on the floormat. The dealer made the process of investigating the case and getting a satisfactory resolution too bureaucratic, so I just gave up and did not pursue the matter so I do not know what the case # is at the dealership. An example of the bureaucratic headache: I wanted to do a trade, but if I did that, I had to pay another $7,000, and I did not have that kind of money. There was another witness identified in the police report. According to the police report, this "witness #1 advised that he came to his vehicle and adjusted where he parked. He advised that as he was getting out, he observed vehicle #1's [my vehicle] tires began to spin. He jumped back into his vehicle and observed it [my vehicle] crash into the curb and vehicle #2." the police report ends with: "there were leaves on the ground around where the crash occurred."

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #2

Jan 302007

Tacoma

  • 500 miles
My 2007 Toyota Tacoma, I had experiencing the engine revving quite high when my foot is on the brakes. This happened intermittently over the past 3 years. My other symptom is sometimes I feel like there is no brakes. That is I hit the brakes and nothing happens. I had to pump the brakes a few times.

- Weatogue, CT, USA

problem #1

Aug 152009

Tacoma

  • 38,000 miles
After pulling into a parking spot, prior to changing the gear from drive to park, the engine revved up violently on it's own. My foot was no longer on the accelerator. Luckily, I was able to apply hard and fast pressure to the brake pedal as soon as the engine roared, and put the truck in park before lurching into the brick wall in front of me. I turned the truck off, and restarted it. It started normally, and I had no more problems with it. This happened in the summer of 2009, and hasn't happened since. I marked it up as being some strange eletro-mechanical anomoly, but after receiving Toyota's ridiculous 'floor-mat' explanation and hearing how wide-spread this problem was, I wanted to go on record that the 2007 Toyota Tacoma suffers from the same unexplained safety hazard as the vehicles listed in the January 2010 Toyota recall. It would have been bad enough hitting that wall, but someone could have been walking in front of me. This is not a good thing.

- Middletown, NJ, USA

Not what you are looking for?