Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
8,657 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Toyota Tacoma engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Toyota Tacoma:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Toyota Tacoma Owner Comments

problem #7

Jul 132010

(reported on)

Tacoma 4-cyl

  • miles


2008 Toyota Tacoma. Consumer states vehicle experiences lack of return to idle in 4th and 5th gear. The consumer also stated the vehicle would accelerate on its own at random times. The consumer stated he was unable to get the vehicle to achieve a steady speed. He stated he was attempting to do the speed limit of 55 mph. However, the speed went to 56 mph instead. Updated 08/10/10. Updated 05/10/11 the consumer stated the vehicle doesn't return to idle and continues to go at the same RPM when trying to stop. Updated 08/23/11. The consumer stated the acceleration problem was caused by a non-reinforced vacuum tube. The line from the top of the engine to a sensor collapsed. It then locked the sensor with obsolete information. The consumer replaced both lines with a semi-rigid high temp emission vacuum line. Updated 10/14/11

- Edgewood, NM, USA

problem #6

Nov 082008

Tacoma 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 26,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the vehicle has a 5-speed manual transmission. The vehicles RPM levels increased although the vehicle was not in gear. When the vehicle speed was 70 mph and the contact shifted into 5th gear, the vehicle accelerated to 95 mph without him pressing on the gas pedal. The failure mileage was 15. The current mileage was 26,000. Updated 03/30/10 the consumer stated the vehicle has an electrical problem and the vehicle doesn't go back to idle in between gears; especially between 4th and 5th gear. And a slight to moderate down hill the RPM's don't go to idle. Updated 08/18/10

- Edgewood, NM, USA

problem #5

Apr 272008

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tacoma. While the vehicle was idling at a complete stop, the rpms increased rapidly. The contact was not depressing the accelerator pedal at the time. The vehicle acted as if it was going to lunge forward. He took the vehicle to the dealer at least four times and they stated that the manner in which the vehicle was driven caused the surges and increased rpms. The failure still persists. The failure mileage was less than 100 and current mileage was 4,515. Updated 4/6/09 the consumer stated the vehicle would suddenly surge on its own. Even when he shifted gears the truck would make a loud noise as well. Updated 06/09/09. Updated 03/19/10.

- San Carlos, CA, USA

problem #4

May 022008


  • 602 miles


The truck will suddenly accelerate without any pressure on the gas pedal. It primarily occurs when slowing down or sitting still. Most of the time it is subtle (approximately 200-400 RPM) but has gone over 1200 RPM on occasion. I am now driving with one hand on the gear shift so I can shift into neutral when this occurs and avoid an accident. This is a recurring condition that Toyota says is not a problem but they have offered no help in resolving the issue.

- Clover, SC, USA

problem #3

Sep 112008


  • 10,000 miles
While entering an on ramp the truck accelerated on its own going out of control, crashing sideways into a guard rail...once it took off on its own it kept increasing speed on its own, applying the brake had no affect on getting it under control...damage $8,000....took to dealer next day to which they found no problem...we have found many instances as this one with this same truck and model on the internet.

- Bradenton, FL, USA

problem #2

Jul 162008

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tacoma. The throttle suddenly and unexpectedly went wide open while driving at an unknown speed. This caused the vehicle to accelerate unexpectedly. The contact managed to keep control of the vehicle and avoid any crashes. When the vehicle finally came to a complete stop, it was towed to the dealer. The dealer could not find any failures with the vehicle. The failure was diagnosed and no failure or codes showed up on the dealer's system. The current and failure mileages were 13,000.

- Hiawassee, GA, USA

problem #1

Jun 162008


  • 10,900 miles
2008 Toyota Tacoma, June 16, 2008 I took my truck to the dealers garage and told them that the pickup motor was engine speed would race when I was as a stop, with my foot on the brake, and that my fuel miles had drop 5 miles a gallon. Also that the transmission would slam in and out of low gear going up and down a hill. They claim they put it on the computer and it did not show any error. So that the truck is fine, they told me that it was probably from when my air conditioner was on I told them I don't run my air conditioner. But the told me to just watch it because they could not find anything wrong.

- Unity, ME, USA

Not what you are looking for?