If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

5.7

fairly significant
Typical Repair Cost:
No data
Average Mileage:
11,457 miles
Total Complaints:
23 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (15 reports)
  2. toyota replacing it (8 reports)
Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
2009 Toyota Tacoma accessories - interior problems

accessories - interior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Toyota Tacoma:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Toyota Tacoma Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

Oct 062014

Tacoma

  • Manual transmission
  • 68,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

RADIO TURNS OFF OVER AND OVER BY ITSELF, DISPLAY GOES OUT, AND WHEN YOU TRY TO TURN IT DOWN IT GOES UP.

- , Sanford, North Carolina, USA

problem #22

Aug 012011

Tacoma Prerunner,sr5,sport 4.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,000 miles

Radio would turn off at random. Every once in a while the screen would go all black or have some funky text so I couldn't see what's supposed to be there. I would have to slap the on/off button a couple of times to get it to go back to normal. I went to service the truck and mentioned it to Toyota and without question they ordered me a new radio. I haven't had any issues with the new one. This is the sole case I have had a good experience with the service department.

- , Havelock, NC, USA

problem #21

Jun 202011

Tacoma TRD V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,000 miles

I noticed that when i go over a bump that the radio will cut off. Or i go over a bump and the radio turns on. Annoying...

- , Keystone Heights, FL, USA

problem #20

Jan 102010

Tacoma SR5 4 2.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,942 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

toyota changed the radio once but now the warranty is 3 months over so toyota canada don't want to hear about it and the dealer referred me to toyota canada so i guess they say that there is no problem with the radio. radio that represents a real danger on the road..sometimes when it goes off the radio turns back on with full volume and i have to turn the ignition off to shut it off. why to go toyota, i should have followed my first idea to buy a nissan.

- , Montréal, QUÉBEC, Canada

problem #19

Jan 202010

Tacoma Extended Cab V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,500 miles

You would think Toyota would have better sound systems in thier trucks os at least be able to fix them the first time they are in the shop.... not the fourth!!! I am dissapointed in the quality of the truck over all. You cant see cup holders after dark, interior is falling apart and the truck is only two years old. Now it is broke down in my driveway waiting on a tow truck because the electrical system is acting like the radio; radio turns off, switches stations. instriment clusters are flashing on and off, warning lights blinking and the motor wont turn over........Nice!!!!!!

- , Cudjoe Key, FL, USA

problem #18

Sep 302008

Tacoma Access Cab 4 cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 100 miles

not much that I can add to what everybody has already said, except that I now have a few thousand miles on radio # 3 and it is functioning properly.

- , Au Sable Forks, N.Y, USA

problem #17

Sep 012010

Tacoma 4.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My radio went from bad to worse. It kept turning off with no ryhme or reason. then the buttons wouldn't work: I couldn't change functions. I blew my stack and went to the Toyota dealership requesting a new radio. At first they weren't going to replace the radio because it worked fine when they tested it. For some reason though, they caved and ordered a new radio for free which was installed pursuant to the original bumper to bumper warranty. I've got about 200 miles on the new radio at this point and haven't had any additional problems.

- , Burke, VA, USA

problem #16

Aug 062009

Tacoma V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles

I have the same problem with my 4Dr Tacoma. Radio just shuts off randomly but I can turn it back on. This is my second radio. Just called service and the 3rd is on back order. They assured me the problem has been fixed and the new radio won't do this. I am not sure why they have not recalled the truck!

- , Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #15

May 282010

Tacoma V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,200 miles

Radio shuts off without warning. Display goes blank and sometimes the controls are inoperative. Usually the problem can be corrected by the ON/OFF switch on the radio. A couple times the only way I could get the radio to work was to completely shut off the vehicle. Have called Toyota dealer and they told me to make an appointment for repair, but stated that intermittent problems are hard to pin down!

- , Hanover, MD, USA

problem #14

Apr 012009

Tacoma TRD Sport V6

  • Manual transmission
  • 250 miles

bought brand new truck in march 2009...am scheduled to install FOURTH radio next week--yes been dealing with this almost a year!--as previous units displayed all the problems mentioned before (shutting off randomly, switching stations by itself, inability to adjust volume.) dealer service department has been very professional about all this, but c'mon, Toyota! i am getting to the point where i feel like i want to just give the truck back and go buy a Nissan (too bad those trucks are so ugly!)

i know Toyota is dealing with a lot more urgent and serious problems with their vehicles now, but that shouldn't mean i have to take a back seat and settle for poor workmanship when i spent $25,000.00 on a product i expect to work!!

- , Makaha, HI, USA

problem #13

Oct 222009

Tacoma 4.0L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

the radio will work one day and the next it won't. It'll be working and then all of a sudden just shut off. The screen display goes away and just nothing. It's very annoying having paid all that money for what you think is a reliable vehicle and then have to deal with this. I'm told they are working on the problem and that I'll just have to wait until they find a fix which has been months now! I even paid the extra money for an extended warranty but that doesn't help if they can't find the parts to fix it. This will most surely influence the next vehicle we buy

- , Dixon, IL, USA

problem #12

Sep 012009

Tacoma 4 Yl

  • Manual transmission
  • 22 miles

Not only does the raio just shut-off the volume is so low you cannot hear with the windows down - incredible design there.

- , Warwick, NY, USA

problem #11

Jun 012009

Tacoma V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 500 miles

WIthin one week of getting my Tacoma Double Cab, the radio volume control stopped working. It took the dealer six weeks to get a replacement. Now, three months later, the replacement radio is randomly shutting off. I have to take it back for a third radio which will probably fail again. I expected a high level of quality from Toyota. This is a joke. I hope their supplier is catching hell for this.

- , Seabrook, TX, USA

problem #10

Aug 012009

Tacoma 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,600 miles

This seems a comon problem. Possible causes could be associated with Blue tooth,Satellite radio etc. When this radio is working it"s fidelity is not very good.

- , Summerton, SC, USA

problem #9

Dec 112008

Tacoma 4.0L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,500 miles

my truck is brand new and the radio shuts off randomly. The radio shuts off probably 10 times in a half hour of driving...really annoying. I have taken my truck to toyota 3 times now so im on my third radio. The first radio would turn off once or twice every couple days so i took it in waited a month to get the new one. i got the new radio and it worked for a while then one day it turned off, i was like ok, but it didnt do again for maybe a week or so. after some time the radio got worse and worse now it turns off so much i cant even listen to the radio because its so annoying. well anyways its been over a month and im still waiting for the new radio...the dealer says there on back order. so im going crazy with no radio. ive been tempted just to put in a radio in...but i shouldnt have to.

- , Highland, CA, USA

problem #8

Jul 012009

Tacoma V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,000 miles

My radio quit at around 2000 miles, showing the same symptoms everyone else is seeing. Randomly goes off, may be 1 minute to 1 hour before I can get it turned back on. Reported problem to dealer on 07/25/09, they said they would order a replacement, may be a week. Called back in a week, still had not come in. Called today 08/26/09, they said it was on back order, may be a week to a month. Very annoying that I just paid quite a bit of money for it. No other problems that I am aware of yet.

Update from Oct 10, 2009: Got a new radio installed today. The radio actually came in a week ago, just now got a chance to take it in to the dealer.

New radio works fine so far. Took about an hour for dealer to install.

- , Russellville, KY, USA

problem #7

Aug 052009

Tacoma Access Cab SR5 Pre 2.7L I4

  • Manual transmission
  • 15 miles

Problem happened to me as I was driving it home from the dealership (less than 15 miles on it). Same problem as described all over the internet (Just Google "Tacoma Radio Problems"). The radio will turn off after displaying random characters on the display and no amount of button pushing will get it to come back on. 5 or 10 minutes later it'll work again. This makes it very hard to prove it to the dealership as it's a very intermittent problem and they'll want to see it before they fix it.

COME ON TOYOTA! This is not a very confidence inspiring thing to happen as I'm driving a brand new car off the lot! This is my first new car in my life (I've always bought "proven" used vehicles) and so far, on an issues-per-mile basis, it's the LEAST reliable.

PLEASE, please, please, please, Toyota, tell Fujistu to fix the problem.

- , Plano, TX, USA

problem #6

Feb 182009

Tacoma 4 cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 4,000 miles

Starting having problem with my radio around 4k miles. Would turn on & off, no volume control, crazy inscriptions on the display. Toyota was very cooperative about replacing it (said it was an outside vendor product). Now my second radio is doing the same thing, only it's getting worse the longer time goes by. Again, Toyota has ordered another for me. I have absolutely no complaints with Toyota, but I think I would change vendors on next year's model!!

- , Jefferson, TX, USA

problem #5

Jul 252009

Tacoma SR-5 2.7L 4 cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 725 miles

I can't wait to hear what I'll be told after reading complaints already. This has occurred on the day I drove my new truck off the dealer lot. It was traded with another dealership 700 miles away. You'd think driving it that far, someone might have noticed the problem and at least tried to start the repair under warranty process, but then, from the previous posts, it doesn't appear too likely that's going to happen any time soon.

As in previous comments, mine turns off and on at will, and has gone up from a station it was set on by .2 for a bit, then changed back to the one it was set on...i.e. went from 104.5 to 104.7, then back to 104.5. There was no station to receive at 104.7. Fun....

Update from Jul 30, 2009: So far, so good. Service department is ordering another radio as of yesterday when I called them, and should be in next week. Additional info on symptoms is it only seems to misbehave after it has warmed up outside. First thing in the morning I have no problems. But let it sit in the SC sun and heat for a few hours and symptoms show up.

- , Summerville, SC, USA

problem #4

Jul 102009

Tacoma SR5 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 450 miles

Radio turns on/off, changes stations and volume settings by its self. Dealer says Toyota is aware of radio problems, BUT dealership cannot order new one until Toyota solves problem. Not a way to inspire customer satisfaction! Can't wait to get new owner survey

Update from Jul 28, 2009: When I asked the dealer for the service bulletin the described that described the problem they couldn't produce one and offered to swap out my radio - seems to work OK now.

- , Cape Coral, FL, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?