Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

5.4

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
16,756 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota Tacoma suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota Tacoma:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota Tacoma Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #24

Nov 272014

Tacoma

  • 86,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated a remedy had not yet been determined to deter the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. In addition, the contact stated that the rear suspension sat lower then normal. The failure mileage was 86,000.

- Keaau , HI, USA

problem #23

Sep 292014

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Update 9/15/15

- Moneta, VA, USA

problem #22

Jul 282015

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Muskogee, OK, USA

problem #21

May 132014

Tacoma

  • 44,946 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

May 2014. Middle leaf spring (of a total of 3 leaf springs) on left side of vehicle cracked. Toyota charged $275 to repair it. November 2014. Toyota issues a safety recall notice for possible leaf spring fracture. They do not issue a remedy and do not offer to replace any leaf springs. They mention a second letter that will authorize leaf spring replacement, which as of today (27 July 2015) has not yet been issued. July 2015. One leaf spring on right side of vehicle cracks and is removed by Toyota dealer. Customer is told to drive vehicle until replacement spring arrive with only two leaf springs on right side of vehicle. 27 July 2015. Leaf springs replaced on both sides of vehicle with a heavier construction 4-leaf spring assembly. My complaint is that Toyota issued a safety recall notice in November 2014 and 9 months later they do not have a solution. They have replaced my leaf springs only because they broke. I do not think that Toyota takes the obligations of vehicle safety seriously. They are negligent in allowing people to drive around in vehicles with underrated leaf springs. They allowed me to drive around with one fewer leaf spring on the right side of my vehicle. And they have not to date reimbursed me for my first leaf spring repair (Toyota customer service tells me it may take one or two years from now before I receive a letter allowing me to apply for reimbursement). I appreciate your investigation of this situation.

- Norwich, VT, USA

problem #20

Sep 292014

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #19

Jun 162015

Tacoma

  • 56,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Tacoma. While driving approximately 25 mph, the contact heard a bang emerging from the rear of the vehicle. The vehicle was driven to an independent mechanic who stated that the rear passenger side leaf spring fractured and needed replacement. The contact also stated that the rear driver side leaf spring was replaced in March. The contact stated that a recall notification was received for NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (rear suspension). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 56,000.

- Wolcott, VT, USA

problem #18

Sep 292014

Tacoma

  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V604000 (suspension) and 11V48000 (tires). While driving at 45 mph, the rear shock failed. The failure recurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. In addition, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 25,000.

- Pittston, ME, USA

problem #17

Sep 012014

Tacoma

  • 100 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Tacoma. When driving over a bump, the bed frame of the vehicle made contact with the frame of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the leaf springs needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The contact mentioned that NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension) was received in September of 2014. The failure mileage was 100.

- Hakel, CO, USA

problem #16

Nov 032014

Tacoma

  • miles
Received letter from Toyota in November of 2014 about a pending safety recall to my Toyota Tacoma. The letter stated that there was a defect in the rear leaf springs that could cause the leaf to break and rupture the gas tank. The letter stated that an additional recall notice would be mailed to me when parts are available. Today May 22, 2015 (7) months later, I contacted Toyota and was informed the parts are not available. Toyota has failed to remedy the defect within a reasonable amount of time.

- West Amana, IA, USA

problem #15

Sep 292014

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension) and stated that the part was not available for several months. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Mariposa, CA, USA

problem #14

Sep 142007

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle recalled for bad leaf springs. Nothing has happened since, over 6 months and they do not even have an estimate of when repairs to be accomplished. Not finding that there seems to be any authority that can require the repair of the vehicle and cannot sell it to anyone with repairs not made.

- Terre Haute, IN, USA

problem #13

Dec 012014

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
Received a safety recall notice from Toyota for the rear leaf spring on 12/1/2014. It states the leaf springs can rust, fail and accidentally puncture the gas tank causing a fire. They have yet to produce a remedy and continue to stall instead of taking action to fix the problem. This could ultimately be a life threatening situation and Toyota continues to delay. I do not feel Toyota has the customers best interest in mind and are purely stalling for monetary reasons.

- Dacula, GA, USA

problem #12

Apr 032015

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received a notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 5/29/15 the consumer stated after 8 months the vehicle had not been repaired. Updated 7/2/2015

- Brunswick, GA, USA

problem #11

Apr 022015

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #10

Mar 052015

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension) and stated that the parts were unavailable. The dealer was uncertain when the parts would become available to service the vehicle under the recall. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 03/30/15 updated 6/23/2015

- Rome, GA, USA

problem #9

Sep 292014

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
I received a recall dated 9/29/14 for defective leaf springs. It is now 2/27/15 and I have had nothing but an initioal notice and no estimate of repair date. I have comunincated with Toyota through thier channels and received no new or updated information. I have had a trip planned for some time that involves using the truck and towing a boat that a feel I may need to cancel due to safety conerns and find it to be unreasonable that it is taking this long for a solution. It would appear that there will have to be someone injured or worse before this gets attention.

- Terre Haute, IN, USA

problem #8

Apr 012011

Tacoma

  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that after inspecting the vehicle, the contact discovered the vehicle was covered in rust. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the vehicle needed to be detailed and waxed. The vehicle was repaired however, the failure recurred. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 1,000.

- Fort Pierce, FL, USA

problem #7

Dec 132011

Tacoma

  • 10,000 miles
Dear sir or madam: I purchased a 2010 Toyota Tacoma double cab 4X4 at the end of 2010. And within months of my purchase I noticed excessive corrosion under the vehicle taking place. I reported the problem to the dealership and my concerns were either dismissed or simply ignored. Approximately 1 year later, during the corrosion recall of the previous Tacoma's, I reported my observations to the Toyota safety recall department. This time I was told I could pay for a corrosion treatment, but no recalls were yet taking place for the 2010 models. I ask you to please look in to the Toyota corrosion problem, it extends from 2004 to the present. And it is not about just leaf's that could fracture. It is about Toyota failing to acknowledge a problem that was already taking place in other earlier models.

- Yonkers, NY, USA

problem #6

Sep 292014

Tacoma

  • miles
I just found my truck is subject to recall number: E12. The safety risk: States possible punctured fuel tank and possible fuel leak could result in fire. The recall status: States "remedy not yet available". this is unacceptable in my mind. Replacing a leaf spring assembly is not that complicated. I hope NHTSA will encourage Toyota to react quickly to this design failure. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Layton, UT, USA

problem #5

Aug 092014

Tacoma

  • 52,000 miles
Drivers side leaf spring broke. This truck has never been off road or had anything heavier than 200 pounds put in the bed. I bought it used in March 2010 with 622 miles. Garage that did the repair said it was the result of bad metal/improper casting.

- Dover, NH, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?